Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Phone: (808) 661-0031 Fax: (808) 661-0458 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is 10003225.

Business Management
Mr. Tets Yamazaki, General Manager Mr. Mike Masterson, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tets Yamazaki, General Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Kyo-Ya Hotels & Resorts, LP

Additional Locations


    2605 Kaanapali Pkwy

    Lahaina, HI 96761


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am notifying the BBB of an infestation problem the Sheraton hotel has with bugs found in two different rooms we had stayed in. We notified the front desk and their remedy was to spray the room we were in ( which was not an option for us in our situation) or move to a higher floor. We choose to move to a different room and still found bugs by the fridge area and on the furniture. The hotel stated that they spray as often as they can to keep the bugs out. This stay here at the Sheraton was unacceptable and the bugs are hidden health hazards to guests.

Desired Settlement: Notify guests of the infestation problem if it can not be resolved, and a refund for the hotel failing to provide a room without bugs.

Business Response:
Aloha Ms. ******,

We have received the complaint of our guest Mr. ***** ******* from your office.  Please see attached the letter to this guest.  Please let me know if there is anything else you need from me.  


CAROL S******
Director of Front Office, Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
* *** *** **** * *** *** **** * *** *** ****  ***************** * **** ** ** ******** * ****** ** ** ******* ******** **** ****** * *** **** ********** ******** ******** ****** *****  ******* **** ****** ****** ** ****** * ****** * ******* **** **** ********** ******* ************ ******** *********** **** *** ******* **** *** ** ************ ************ ****** *********** *** *********** ** ******** **** *** *** *** ** *** ************* ** ****** ***** ****** ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********** ** ***** **** *** *********** ******* ** ************ ** *** ** *** ******** ** **** *********** ** *********** ** *** **** ******** **** ********** ************ ** ****** ****** ****** *** ****** *********** ** ******** ** *** ******* ****** ** *** ******* ****** 

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed in the resort from Aug 2-9. The hotel and our room was very shabby. Staff uncooperative. Both of us became ill eating in the restaurant. Upon arrival, we could see the resort was in disrepair and not as advertised online. The grounds had a strong sewer gas smell that made us nauseous if we dared to walk around. Our room had dinged up old furniture, dirty handprints, loose shower fixtures, mold in bath and a nonfunctioning closet door and safe. The hallway to the elevator had carpet unraveling which I could my heel on and feel. The wall paper was peeling off the walls in the public areas. On our room's balcony, there was drug paraphernalia that looked like what might have been a crack pipe. We tried to get another room but were told the hotel was full. We felt mislead by the online ads for this hotel and had we known it was so awful, we would have selected another hotel in the area. We both became ill eating in the restaurant. We have asked for at least a partial refund given this experience. This hotel is more like a one star and should not be advertised as a resort. It is awful! Staff are rude and surly. We are both busy doctors with limited time to take vacations and have never had such a poor quality hotel--in particular at a Sheraton-in all our years. We want a refund. They wasted our precious vacation time and made us both sick in their terrible restaurant.

Desired Settlement: While we spent thousands of dollars not to mention the time from our mutual careers to take a romantic holiday away at the Sheraton Maui, we are only seeking a refund of the room and resort charges. No where in their advertisements which must be quite dated does it mention how run down the facilities are, understaffed and how there is an environmental hazard of sulphuric gas likely from a faulty septic wafting around the grounds of the so called resort. The swimming pool smells so strong of chlorine, it is unhealthy to swim or be near as the gas is evidence that the chemicals are off balance and the pool unclean. We have tried other avenues to resolve this but have only been offered some stupid points on our Starwood accounts which would not even be enough to stay one night in a comparable resort. If they don't want to refund what we paid, they can offer us 120,000 starwood points which is what we would need to stay in a comparable resort (that's what it takes to stay at Sheraton Maui for instance). Thank you for your help. This is very upsetting that a big corporation such as Sheraton could allow something like this to happen and then treat their guests so poorly after we spent thousands to be there on holiday.

Business Response: Dr. *****,

We thank you again for choosing the Sheraton Maui Resort for your recent vacation.  I am very sorry that your expectations were not met and you feel that the Sheraton Maui does not qualify as a one star hotel or resort of that matter.   The issues in which you have raised with Hawaii Better Business Bureau are the same list of issues that you and I discussed on the phone on August 21, 2014. As we discussed on the phone, the issues you and your partner encountered were never brought up to resort management during your stay to be corrected.  When I asked you this question your response was simply “there was no management around to be found at any time therefore nothing could be reported”.  I would like you to know that our property did perform a thorough investigation with regards to the issues you raised and have not come across the same issues that you stated. 
Beginning with the alleged food borne illness which stemmed from the food you consumed on the evening of August 7, 2014.   The resort has not received any complaints of the similar nature for the same food items in which you and your partner consumed.   The resort did not receive notice of your complaint until after you had departed the grounds and returned home.  This prevented us from completing a part of the investigation which the complainant needs to be present for.

In reference to the sewer gas smell that prevented you from walking around the resort grounds during your stay, this is something that has never been reported by any guest in the past.  At no point in time does Sheraton Maui release any chemicals into sewer lines or sewer drains and pool levels are always maintained at a proper pH level in compliance to the state Health Department.  
Upon investigating your room we did observe normal ware to the room that is fixed during our preventative maintenance program which was
most recently completed in June, 2014.  During our investigation we also found the same drug paraphernalia in the planter box buried under the dirt. 
The placement of the paraphernalia was in a different location from where you and your partner had the paraphernalia when the picture was taken as
well this was never brought up to management after you stated you  found this on your second day of the stay August 3, 2014.    

Sheraton Maui realizes that a vacation to Hawaii is a very special experience and we strive to exceed all guest expectations.   It is apparent that your expectations during your stay with us at the Sheraton Maui was not met.   Given the issues that you brought forward to management attention after your stay was finished we find that by depositing 15,000 Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) points to your account on August 25, 2014 is sufficient at this time.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact me directly.  


***** ********
Security Manager

Consumer Response: From: **** *** (mailto:*********************)
Sent: Wednesday, September 24, 2014 9:58 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: Re: FW: Case #********


We are not happy with *****'s response. We discovered after we filed our complaint with Starwood that ***** had googled us online and looked at my partner's ******** profile. His investigation seems to be more about discrediting what we observed rather than about accepting and admitting any responsibility on behalf of the resort. This is not acceptable to us. We reported the illness the day we checked out as it happened the day before. We also asked for a better room the day after our first night at the resort as we were very disappointed in the condition of the room. We were told the hotel was full and nothing else was available.

Both of us have traveled all over the world and stayed at Sheraton in countless locations. My partner, Dr. ******, has to travel frequently for work and often stays in Sheraton hotels. We would not be pursuing this complaint if we felt this was handled appropriately. *****'s response is indicative of the lack of sincere concern about the customer experience at the Sheraton Maui. Given the thousands we spent to stay in the worst Sheraton either of us have been to, we feel his offer is insulting and inadequate given the fact that we qualified for the Starwood points just by staying there. Please let me know how to proceed. Thank you very much.


Dr. *** ***** (***) ********

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Sheraton charged the wrong card, which I did not authorize, costing me $174 CAD in exchange fees. I stayed at the Sherton in Lahaina from January 12th to the 20th, 2014. I paid the deposit prior to arrival on my Canadian VISA. When I checked into the hotel on the 12th, I handed the girl my US Mastercard and told her all other charges were to be put on that card. I was admit about it as I purchased US cash with my bank in Canada at a better rate to pay off my US card when I returned to Canada. On the 21st when I got home, I realized they charged my Canadian VISA. I called them right away and asked them to remove the charge and put it on my US Mastercard. I asked why this was not done and why my Canadian VISA was on my room. After two to three days back and forth and my persistence and calling, they put the charge for the stay on my US Mastercard. The charges on the VISA were still in the pending stage so the Sheraton Manager I was dealing with said hopefully they will not go though. I had also called VISA and put a preliminary complaint on their charge, saying it was unauthorized. VISA agreed with me. When I got my statement from January, the charge DID go through and then refunded, but as I explained to the Sheraton, when buying and selling money, you lose on the exchange!! I called the Manager back at the Sheraton and she checked with their accounting department...sent me an outline AGAIN of my bill and never got back to me. I let them know I was a valued customer and stayed at many Sheratons, it would be great to just settle this reply. This is horrible service and not my fault. I provided them the card to charge and they choose to charge the card I had used on the phone to secure the hotel. Their only other reply was to speak with my bank?? How can I speak with my bank about them charging my VISA that I did not authorize them to do??

Desired Settlement: I want my $174 back + something for all my time and energy to sort this out. Something that makes me want to enjoy the Sheraton again. I spent money calling the US, VISA, LOTS of my work time and added stress to the end of a vacation. It is not that complex. You charged the wrong card and I want all the money back for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/28) */ From: *********, **** (mailto:****.********* Sent: Thursday, March 27, 2014 4:33 PM To: ***** *. ***** Subject: Case #******** Aloha ****, I am reaching out to you regarding case number ********. I spoke with the guest and she explained that upon departure from our hotel the wrong credit card was charged. Since then, she has made contact with our resort and we have refunded the original card and charged another that she has provided. However, as a result, the guest has incurred a fee of $174 due to exchange rates. In an effort to make things right for the guest, I have advised that we will refund her credit card in the amount of $174 and she was very pleased with my assistance. Please close this case and feel free to contact me directly should you have any questions. Mahalo, **** ********* Director of Front Office t -- 808.662.8136 m --808.357.0730 f -- 808.661.0458 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)