This business is not BBB accredited.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Phone: (808) 922-1941 150 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Queen Kapiolani Hotel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 2001 Business started: 05/22/1995 Business started locally: 05/22/1995 Business incorporated 06/25/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W75176677-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: General Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations


    150 Kapahulu Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issue is a billing, refund and customer service issue. I called Queen Kapiolani Hotel early Monday morning to first inquire about rates and early check in. I was told that the only available room was a Junior Suite and early check in was a possiblity. After I recieved a rate I told the representative that I would call back witha decision after a check a couple of other places in the area. When I called back the exact same lady booked my reservation and told me she'd note early check in. She then told me that she would recieve an email confirmation. Then she transferred me to the front desk. And the attendant at the front desk told me no rooms were cleaned or available and check in is afternoon. So I told the lady that I will have to cancel then. She said ok and I said I will call back in a few moments to do so. So when I called back I had made a reservation at a place that garuanteed me a room at 0830 in the morning. This is when I called Queen Kapiolani back to cancel and they tried to talk circles around me. Saying things like you cannot cancel our policy doesn't allow that. Two your room doesn't allow early check in. Three there are no rooms available in the type of room you purchased. I was then transferred to the reservations assistant manager and she told me she explain one thing to me and she didn't. She referred to me as someone else. Then I asked to speak to a manager over her and she said she'd relay my info to the GM Mr. Founders and he'd call me later that day which he never did. And the icing on the cake at like 10:58 I finally recieved my hotel confirmation. After the whole dispute.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my money. Because I didn't check in. Two I didn't get the service I wanted for my money.

Business Response:

Dear **** ********,

We advise all our guests of our 72-hour cancellation policy upon the time of booking and a deposit equivalent to 1 night is charged at the time of booking. Early check-in requests are granted upon availability at the time of arrival at the hotel. Confirmation letters are sent via email as a last step in the reservation process.

This guest booked his reservation by phone at 9:00 am on 10/12/15, the deposit was charged and a confirmation letter was sent soon thereafter. The room type reserved was not available for check-in at 9:00 am.

The reservation was cancelled at 12:17 pm on 10/12/15 upon the guest’s request and his reservation charge was promptly refunded on the same transaction.

Feel free to contact me again should you need further assistance.

Best Regards,


Gil A******

Director of Operations

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am accepting this response because: the refund is being promised. But to be clear I wasn't notified of a refund and the time line of my transactions are off. At 8:30 I made the reservation. While inquiring about early check in. At about 9:00 am I called to cancel and at 10:50 am I recieved a comfirmation letter. After that I was told the policy wasn't emphasized to me if it was I wouldn't make the purchase.


Damein W****

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 03, 2014, I booked a reservation through ********** at Queen Kapiolani Hotel at *** ******** *** in ********* ** ***** for a 1 night stay on January 24, 2015. On January 23, 2015, I contacted ********** and cancelled the reservation. After hanging up, I looked over my paperwork and realized I would still be charged for the reservation because I did not cancel outside the 72 hour window. I called ********** and asked the agent to reinstate my reservation because I would still be wanting to use it since I already paid for it. I was advised I would need to call Queen Kapiolani Hotel directly to reinstate my reservation. I immediately called Queen Kapiolani Hotel and advised them that I would like to reinstate my reservation because I would like to use it. The agent at Queen Kapiolani Hotel advised me they would not reinstate my reservation and flat out refused to provide the room I had paid for. I understand they have a cancellation policy but I did try to obtain the room for which I was billed but they refused to provide that service which is unacceptable. I highly doubt if they rented out this room in the few minutes it took me to call them back once realizing my error.

Desired Settlement: $156.02 which is the amount I was billed.

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose the Queen Kapiolani Hotel to host my wedding on January 25, 2014. We had met with and visited the site a couple of times prior to the wedding date and everything was fine. On friday January 24th we were told that we could have the Akala Ballroom at 6pm to start decorating. Upon our arrival, we were told that a pipe had bursted and we saw water dripping from the ceiling and the carpet was soaking wet. We were assured by the coordinator ***** that everything will be fixed by 4:30pm on the 25th in time for my reception. The morning of the 25th we went back to the ballroom to see that nothing had been done, and the carpets were still wet and the ballroom was not cool. We asked a gentleman and he mentioned to us that there would be no AC in the ballroom that evening. We immediately called *****, and ***** kept repeating to us that he assured us he would have the room cooled with portable AC units by the time the reception started. We went to our ceremony, and then back to the ballroom and again there was nothing but 5 commercial grade fans blowing hot air which could have been a big health issue having 212 people in such small area with no cooling system.Not only was my reception hall hot like a sauna, there was no dance floor set up thus making my guest having to dance on a wet floor, and my buffet line was opened and closed before 7:30pm and a few of my guests that came later did not have a chance to eat. Not only did I feel my wedding was a disaster, my guests left early because the ballroom was just too hot. The morning of the 26th we asked ***** to meet with him about a refund for all the things that went wrong and ***** told us he would work on it. We called him almost everyday we were on our honeymoon and he kept telling us he was working on it. It is now February 20 almost a month later and we still have not heard anything. We spent $9,160.78 and do not feel like our wedding, something that we want to remember for the rest of our lives was worth the $9160.78 that we spent. Product_Or_Service: Akala Ballroom for Wedding Reception

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We are very dissatisfied with the service we got the night before and the whole day of the wedding, but we would also like to make sure that this does not happen to anyone else's special day. We are more angry that we were assured that things we going to be done, and kept reminding the coordinator about everything, and put our trust into the hotel and their employees, but there was no follow through.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/10) */ When client came on Friday to set up room for next day's event, we had a major pipe rupture, I explained that we were going to work on it so it would be ready for next day, as they started setting up the room, it was very hot, they asked me if I could turn on the A/C but I told them since we had that pipe problem it was not available, I stayed with them for a while, when I left that night, one of the guests went to the Front Desk and asked if they could turn on the A/C, the front desk unaware of the pipe situation called maintenance department and they had turned on the A/C, I believed it was a miscommunication between areas, since there was no water on the system, our A/C system burned out. Since it was a Saturday event I did try to get some portable A/C units but I did not find anyone that could deliver the same day. I rented some industrial fans and had them put all over the room. About the dance floor, it was a rental, I do not know what happened, it was not the first time I rented from this vendor, apparently they did not get the order at their warehouse, I rented on Friday for Saturday delivery. We were not charging the rental to the client as the dance floor was part of the package. As for the food, we keep our food on floor for 90 as a food standard procedure, the food was served at the time the client wanted it, and we left it for 2 hours. I did offered a credit back but I needed to request it through our corporate office. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The AC problem was never mentioned to us as "not working", now whether someone asked to turn it on is completely not our fault as there should have been better communications between all areas of the hotel. Also there was nothing communicated to us saying that the portable AC units could not be delivered that same day. We were continuously told "I assure you, everything will be done, and the room will be cooled" multiple times. As far as the dance floor, communication is key, if you know you had problems with the vendor, then why even offer it to clients knowing you may or may not get the dance floor the day of the event, or better yet find a vendor that you can trust. And why rent it the friday before the event. The credit of $1000.00 was offered the day we sent the complaint into the BBB, but we feel that $1000.00 does not come close to all the problems that we encountered with the hotel, and the amount of time that it took us to finally get an answer back from the hotel. We feel that through everything that happened and the lack of communication, the lack of follow through, and the lack of sympathy towards everything we should be refunded at least a half of what we spent for the horrible experience we had. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/04) */ From: ***** ******* (mailto:******** Sent: Thursday, April 03, 2014 9:28 PM To: **** ******** Cc: **** ********* Subject: RE: Case #******** Aloha Mr. ********, Attached is a letter we sent to Mrs. Perkins responding to her complaint. If there is anything else you would like from me, please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, ***** ******* Food & Beverage Manager Kulana Terrace Restaurant & Bar ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)