BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

This Business is not BBB accredited

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Phone: (808) 922-1941 150 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.queenkapiolani.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Queen Kapiolani Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 11, 2001 Business started: 05/22/1995 Business started locally: 05/22/1995 Business incorporated: 06/25/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W75176677-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
YHB QK HOTEL, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 Kapahulu Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose the Queen Kapiolani Hotel to host my wedding on January 25, 2014. We had met with and visited the site a couple of times prior to the wedding date and everything was fine. On friday January 24th we were told that we could have the Akala Ballroom at 6pm to start decorating. Upon our arrival, we were told that a pipe had bursted and we saw water dripping from the ceiling and the carpet was soaking wet. We were assured by the coordinator ***** that everything will be fixed by 4:30pm on the 25th in time for my reception. The morning of the 25th we went back to the ballroom to see that nothing had been done, and the carpets were still wet and the ballroom was not cool. We asked a gentleman and he mentioned to us that there would be no AC in the ballroom that evening. We immediately called *****, and ***** kept repeating to us that he assured us he would have the room cooled with portable AC units by the time the reception started. We went to our ceremony, and then back to the ballroom and again there was nothing but 5 commercial grade fans blowing hot air which could have been a big health issue having 212 people in such small area with no cooling system.Not only was my reception hall hot like a sauna, there was no dance floor set up thus making my guest having to dance on a wet floor, and my buffet line was opened and closed before 7:30pm and a few of my guests that came later did not have a chance to eat. Not only did I feel my wedding was a disaster, my guests left early because the ballroom was just too hot. The morning of the 26th we asked ***** to meet with him about a refund for all the things that went wrong and ***** told us he would work on it. We called him almost everyday we were on our honeymoon and he kept telling us he was working on it. It is now February 20 almost a month later and we still have not heard anything. We spent $9,160.78 and do not feel like our wedding, something that we want to remember for the rest of our lives was worth the $9160.78 that we spent. Product_Or_Service: Akala Ballroom for Wedding Reception

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We are very dissatisfied with the service we got the night before and the whole day of the wedding, but we would also like to make sure that this does not happen to anyone else's special day. We are more angry that we were assured that things we going to be done, and kept reminding the coordinator about everything, and put our trust into the hotel and their employees, but there was no follow through.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/10) */ When client came on Friday to set up room for next day's event, we had a major pipe rupture, I explained that we were going to work on it so it would be ready for next day, as they started setting up the room, it was very hot, they asked me if I could turn on the A/C but I told them since we had that pipe problem it was not available, I stayed with them for a while, when I left that night, one of the guests went to the Front Desk and asked if they could turn on the A/C, the front desk unaware of the pipe situation called maintenance department and they had turned on the A/C, I believed it was a miscommunication between areas, since there was no water on the system, our A/C system burned out. Since it was a Saturday event I did try to get some portable A/C units but I did not find anyone that could deliver the same day. I rented some industrial fans and had them put all over the room. About the dance floor, it was a rental, I do not know what happened, it was not the first time I rented from this vendor, apparently they did not get the order at their warehouse, I rented on Friday for Saturday delivery. We were not charging the rental to the client as the dance floor was part of the package. As for the food, we keep our food on floor for 90 as a food standard procedure, the food was served at the time the client wanted it, and we left it for 2 hours. I did offered a credit back but I needed to request it through our corporate office. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The AC problem was never mentioned to us as "not working", now whether someone asked to turn it on is completely not our fault as there should have been better communications between all areas of the hotel. Also there was nothing communicated to us saying that the portable AC units could not be delivered that same day. We were continuously told "I assure you, everything will be done, and the room will be cooled" multiple times. As far as the dance floor, communication is key, if you know you had problems with the vendor, then why even offer it to clients knowing you may or may not get the dance floor the day of the event, or better yet find a vendor that you can trust. And why rent it the friday before the event. The credit of $1000.00 was offered the day we sent the complaint into the BBB, but we feel that $1000.00 does not come close to all the problems that we encountered with the hotel, and the amount of time that it took us to finally get an answer back from the hotel. We feel that through everything that happened and the lack of communication, the lack of follow through, and the lack of sympathy towards everything we should be refunded at least a half of what we spent for the horrible experience we had. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/04) */ From: ***** ******* (mailto:********@kulanaterrace.com) Sent: Thursday, April 03, 2014 9:28 PM To: **** ******** Cc: **** ********* Subject: RE: Case #******** Aloha Mr. ********, Attached is a letter we sent to Mrs. Perkins responding to her complaint. If there is anything else you would like from me, please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, ***** ******* Food & Beverage Manager Kulana Terrace Restaurant & Bar ********@kulanaterrace.com