Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Plantation Hale Suites

Phone: (808) 822-4941 Fax: (808) 822-5599 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Plantation Hale Suites
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2014 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W81562457-01.

Business Management
Mr. Eric Napoleon, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Napoleon, General Manager
Business Category


Additional Locations


    525 Aleka Loop

    Kapaa, HI 96746


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We checked in to this hotel with a party of 5 people. The first room only had one bed so it did not work. They kindly switched rooms and gave us one that could accomodate us. Upon entry, we noticed the hotel was extremely dirty with dirt/hair all over the bathroom floor and had feces on the outside of the toilet. We knew immediately that the room had not been cleaned. I went back to the office with pictures and they gave us a third room. This room stunk like mold and had hair shavings on the counter and hand towels. Once again this room could not have been cleaned. My wife was worried that our clothes would smell like the hotel mold so she refused to stay there. I turned the key back in and we found another hotel down the street. I called Expedia (the company we booked with) and they contacted the hotel on our behalf and told us the hotel would NOT refund us our money even though we did not stay there. I checked the comments section on the hotel today and there was another person who stayed there about the same time we did. They wrote a similar review about the dirtiness of their room and also checked out early but the hotel did refund them their money for their unused days. So it is possilbe--they just chose to not give it back to us. Product_Or_Service: Hotel room Account_Number: Itinerary #*********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want $196.20 refunded to us ($182.20 collected by Expedia and the $14 resort fee). It was not our fault the rooms were not cleaned so we shouldn't be penalized for not staying there. I realize there may be some updated clean rooms in the facility but we were not given them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/14) */ Spoke with Mr. *********** on 1/27/14 and was updated as to what had transpired (same as complaint). Apologized and advise that at property level, we would process the refund for the Amenity fee of $12 (guest was not charged $14 as per complaint). Refund processed 2/14/14 with credit card provided by Mr. *****. Emailed Expedia Hawaii Market Assistance to proceed with refund of the one night room/tax of $136.66. Mr. ***** seemed satisfied with refunds to be processed.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Plantation Hale Suites
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)