This business is not BBB accredited.

Pacific Beach Hotel

Phone: (808) 922-1233 Fax: (808) 923-2566 2490 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hotels and restaurants services. In addition to the three Hawaii hotels, HTH Corporation owns office buildings, apartments, and residential buildings throughout the island of Oahu. HTH Property Management manages all of the property assets for the corporation, which includes retail space within each of the hotels.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pacific Beach Hotel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Beach Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Beach Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 22, 1975 Business started: 12/01/1976 Business started locally: 12/01/1976 Business incorporated 05/30/1975 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40553356-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sean Borges, Asst General Mgr Mr. John Hayashi, President Mr. Robert Minicola, Regional VP, Operations Ms. Corine Watanabe, Chair & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Borges, Asst General Mgr
Business Category

Hotels Restaurants

Alternate Business Names
HTH Corporation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2490 Kalakaua Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815 (808) 922-1233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a room for the pacific beach hotel on ************* a week in advance. I paid $244 for an ocean view room with a king size bed. When I arrived to check in the clerk told me the would be down graded to a mountain view room with two twin beds for the same price. They basically bait and switched me. They made no attempt to contact me and tell me they could not sell me that room before I arrived to check in. The weekend I stayed there was a particularly busy weekend involving a street festival. I tried to get a different hotel but they were all book because of this. They basically knew I had no other options so they sold me room for a higher price and downgraded me.

Desired Settlement: Please give me my money back. This situation ruined my anniversary vacation with my wife. I will also except the room that I paid for.

Business Response:

Aloha Ms. *****,  

I personally spoke to Mr. *********** on November 11, 2015 to extend my deepest apologies for not providing the exact room type as booked.  As a hotel gesture, I extended to refund the $20 amenity fee charged that evening and send Mr. *********** a certificate for a future two-night complimentary return stay.  Mr. *********** accepted the gesture and seemed pleased with the service recovery.  

If you are willing to go over anything else that has been amiss or that you may like to address regarding this experience, please feel free to reach out to me at ***** ******** or via email at *****************************.

Regards, 
  Shaun B*****
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
**** ******** **** ********* ** ***** *** ***** ******** * **** ***** ******** ************************* 

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False fire alarm in the middle of the night resulted right leg injury. Wednesday 8/27/14 1:30am, the hotel fire alarm went off. I was startled by the arm in the middle of the sleep and fell off the bed, which resulted pain and injury on the right leg. The injury disabled me to do any physical activities on 8/27 and 8/28. Furthermore, the pain was immense that I was not able to sleep for the rest of the night on 8/27 and was not able to rest well on 8/28. Hotel was notified 8/27/14 of the injury and the shift manager demanded that this be a formal complaint, as if the verbal complaint to a manager is "not formal enough". 8/28/14, I requested additional icepacks through the front desk. After a long hold, front desk says she will call back, but no one ever called back or deliver ice packs to the room. There was not even a single call from management to ask about the condition of the injury.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of at least 2 nights (out of our 5 nights) stay at your hotel as I was unable to rest due to your false alarm going off as a result of accumulated dust. I also request reimbursement of medical costs associated with the right leg injury.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ***,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with the life safety alarm that alerted our guests late on the evening of August 26, 2014. We take all life safety alarms seriously and properly investigate each instance to ensure the safety of our guests and associates. It was fortunate that this was only a false alarm and there was no emergency. Additionally, it is truly unfortunate that an injury to your leg was sustained during your stay. After researching this matter further, I see a security report was filed in result of the injury. At that time, the security officer that responded to the room administered first-aid by providing and wrapping a cold compress. Further medical assistance was offered and declined at that time.

We pride ourselves on high standards of service. I am confident that prior or immediately after your departure from the hotel, if we had been given the opportunity, the hotel management team could have extended our sincerest apologies and offered a mutually agreeable resolution to this matter. Regrettably, since you have requested for medical reimbursement in your desired resolution, I will have to defer this issue to our insurance company for further involvement.
If you are willing to go over anything else that has been amiss or that you may like to address regarding this experience, please feel free to reach out to me at (***) ******** or via email at sborges@pacificbeachhotel.com.

Regards,

***** ******
Assistant General Manager

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bed bugs in hotel room. My friend & I both acquired bug bites all over our body staying there. My friend ****** even killed a bedbug. My friend ****** *** & I stayed at the Pacific Beach Hotel from Sat Jan. 25 thru Sat Feb. 1st. While staying there we both noticed bites on us the entire week....****** had them extremely bad & was constantly itching. On the way earling morning of Feb. 1st ****** awakened & turned on the light & immediately pulled back down the bed covers. She saw a bed bug moving away fast. She smashed it & then she immediately called the front desk. Two maintenance men were sent to the room to investigate. One of the maintenance men saw the bug & said "yeah it's definitely bed bugs". He then said they get worse every year. I also proceeded to show him the small blood stains on my sheets which to me looked like fecal matter or blood from dead bed bugs I might of smashed in the night. Our bites also matched the description of bed bug bites we have read about on the internet. There are a lot of red bumps with 3 bites in a row. We then requested to speak to one of the managers, I believe her name was ***. She was totally cold & said that the exterminators come every Tuesday & they will investigate it then. Well it was Saturday & I can't believe management would wait till Tuesday to look into this problem. It wouldn't surprise me if the room was rented out until then. The manager said we could stay in the room later than the checkout time if we wanted to stay till four when our flight was to leave. There was NO WAY we were going to stay in that room any second longer than we had to. I thought that was very rude under the circumstances. She then said she would call us by Thursday & let us know what the exterminators found. I then stated I wanted the report from the exterminators showing the results. She said she probably couldn't release that information. ****** stated how concerned she was that she may transfer the bed bugs to her home. *** said to wash all our clothes in hot water when we get home. On Saturday Feb. 8th we still hadn't heard anything from the hotel regarding the bedbug investigation. My friend ****** *** called the hotel & spoke to ************** who said that the exterminators result was negative. Of course he wouldn't show us any proof of the findings. We paid over $1300 to stay in this hotel for a week & got absolutely nothing but bed bug bites & the run around as a cover up. After returning home to Colorado we couldn't relax from traveling because we had to leave all of our luggage & belongings from the trip in the garage. We then had to wash EVERYTHING right away in hot water. This took hours. At least 4 of our clothing items we washed shrank due to the hot water we had to wash them in. We had just bought this souvenir clothing items in Hawaii. We are still praying that our houses will not get a bed bug infestation now which is not cheap to rid oneself of. Of course the hotel has offered us absolutely NO compensation for our pain, suffering, & troubles. If a person pays for a stay in a hotel I expect it to not affect ones health in any way. We left there mentally scarred, bitten, & itching. I feel like the hotel let us down & did nothing but to cover up their bed bug infestation problem. I feel they are just out to make money & don't care about the health of their guests.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund from the hotel Pacific Beach which was well in excess of $1300.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Beach Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)