Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Outrigger Enterprises, Inc.

View Additional Phone Numbers 2375 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers hospitality services including hotel, resort and condominium accommodations. This company also operates and develops hotel properties and hospitality-related retail and real estate opportunities.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Outrigger Enterprises, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1985 in HI Business started locally: 08/12/1953 Business incorporated 10/01/1985 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20271266-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB16378.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB16366.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RS28262.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Barry Wallace, VP Hospitality Svcs Ms. Danette Bolosan, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Wallace, VP Hospitality Svcs
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Outrigger Hotels Hawaii

Additional Locations


    2375 Kuhio Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado resort during my recent stay in Maui this past January for 6 nights. The website stated: "When it's time to turn in, retreat to the comfort of your spacious condominium - each graciously appointed . . . Your desire for a unique getaway is ours to fulfill. . ... Book one of our deluxe condos in Maui with us for the authentic Outrigger experience." The bathrooms featured stained fixtures and tubs, tiles that were blackened by mold and cracked, windows louvers were missing handles, there were black lines from previous water damage in various locations, to name a few issues. Pictures of everything can be viewed at: ************************************************************************* On one of the last nights we were there, a grease fire broke out on the cooktop. In the commotion that ensued, my wife noticed that the smoke detector was not beeping. After getting the fire extinguished by smothering it (THERE WAS NO FIRE EXTINGUISHER ANYWHERE IN THE KITCHEN OR ELSEWHERE IN THE UNIT) I called the front desk and notified them that the smoke detector did not beep. They promptly sent someone down with a ladder who took down the detector. When he opened the detector the 9volt battery inside was disengaged from the contacts (I took a picture). Also, the date code on the smoke detector was from Nov 2005 which means it was more than 10 years old; smoke detectors need to be replaced every 7 years. There are no fire sprinklers in the unit. I sent an email to Outrigger corporate and they had the manager of the resort contact me. I sent them pictures of everything and she said she would comp two nights and then when she was back at the resort the next day she would review the pictures and re-assess. Despite several phone calls and emails to her, she has never responded. The unit we were placed in was in significant disrepair and was never inspected to ensure that it was fire-safe.

Desired Settlement: If I would have known that this unit was in such disrepair and was not made fire-safe for hotel goers, I would have never stayed at this resort. Pictures of everything can be viewed at: *************************************************************************

Business Response: Aloha Ms. *****,

We have investigated the customer concernsand will be sending an apology letter along with full compensation for our clientsstay. We have resolved all of the smoke detector issues in the unit with new equipment. By Hawaii State Law, fire extinguishers are not required in the unit but are available in the hallways outside the units as required. Unit quality standards have been addressed with the owner of the unit.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will add that the business has a very bad habit of not returning emails which just frustrated the situation and added salt to injury.


******* *****

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a reservation on January 11th and then cancelled it on January 13th and they stated they are charging a $75 fee due to the cancellation. The reservation was for May 7th to May 8th 2015. I want my full deposit of $199.61 returned to my credit card now that the reservation has been cancelled with more than three months notice.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my deposit

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting Outrigger Enterprises, Inc. regarding complaint # ******** involving Deposit and Cancellation Policy for ****** ****** **** by Outrigger.

As Ms. ******* ***** correctly stated, our records show that her reservation was made on January 11, 2016 and cancelled on January 13, 2016.

The reservation was for arrival on May 7, 2016 and departure on May 11, 2016, total of 4 nights.
Our records show that Ms. ***** made her reservation and cancelled it directly on our website at ****** *********** Our Deposit and Cancellation Policy is outlined and available to view online at the following link:
****** ******* *********** ******************************* * *** The policy states:
"A deposit of one night's room rate plus taxes is required at time of booking. If a reservation is cancelled more than 30 days prior to arrival, a cancellation charge of 75 USD plus General  Excise Tax will be retained  with the  balance refunded to guest. A reservation cancelled 30 days or less prior to arrival will be subject to full forfeiture of  the one night room rate plus General Excise Tax with the balance refunded to guest. Major credit or debit cards are accepted for room deposits."

In accordance with the above policy, Ms. *****'s credit card was processed for one night deposit + tax in the amount of $199.61 atthe time of booking on 1/11/16.

Subsequently, when the reservation was cancelled on 1/13/16, the $75 cancellation fee + 4.166% tax was retained and the remaining balance in the amount of $121.49 was refunded to the guest on 1/14/16.

We regret not to have a chance to discuss this matter with Ms. *****, as we strive to resolve customer complaints promptly. We have attempted to contact Ms. *****, but at this time, we have not been able to reach her.

In good faith, we will process the refund of the cancellation charge in the amount of $75 + tax and email Ms. ***** to inform her of our actions.

8/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 22nd of Jun I called the Outrigger Reef hotel to make a reservation for a room while I was going to be in Hawaii on official military orders. I asked them if they accepted the military rate which is a maximum rate the military will pay for a room. This rate is $ 177.00 per night. They told me they did. I went on to say my wife was going to be with me. At that time they said NOTHING about costing extra for my wife to be with me. As proof I have the email they sent me which has the $ 177.00 per night as the charge but no other charges or fees were shown, I will upload this to the BBB sight if I am given the opportunity. When we arrived at the hotel after a long day of flying the person at the registration desk told me that my wife would cost $ 50.00 extra per night. I explained that is not what I was told but it didn't seem to matter. At this point I had no choice because if I tried to cancel my reservations I was within the 3 day window so I would have had to pay for the nights anyway. I also did not want to go hunt another hotel at the last minute. The next day I came down and spoke to Stanley, a manager, who informed me the rate was going to be an extra $ 75 per night. I explained we were told $ 50 the night before. So he said he would change it to the $ 50. I said why not remove it all together since it is not was I was emailed by their reservations department. He said the government policy was to blame. I said no way, the government was not going to make them charge me more because my wife was with me. I went on to say that it had to be the policy of the hotel and that I wanted to see it. Needless to say I had to pay this extra $ 227.96 before I was able to checkout. However, now that I am back home I would like to pursue this further. I sent Stanley an email and he was going to check into what we were told by the reservations person. However I have not heard back from Stanley and am afraid he will shelf the complaint so I decided to open this complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I want the $ 227.96 returned to me since the practice they used to get it was at best a miscommunication on their part or outright deception.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

Please accept our sincere apologies for our breakdown in communication that occurred during your stay at our property. After further review we realize the error occurred upon the qualifying process when you requested the Military rate. Although our hotel does accept the $177 rate, this is only for our BPA (Blanket Purchase Agreement) reservations and consists of a 1adult maximum. This rate is usually reserved for Military crew and Military groups. We do have a Military / Government rate that is higher and based on 2 adults in a room, which is where the miscommunication occurred. Please know there were no bad intentions from our front desk personnel as they were simply following our standard operating procedures of how we handle the many types of military reservations that come to our hotel over the years.

I hope this helps explain what happened and again, we extend our sincere apologies. We would like to offer as a goodwill gesture a refund back to you of the disputed $227.96. In addition, we would like to invite you back to stay with us so you can experience what we truly pride ourselves in; providing genuine hospitality to all our guests that select to stay with us. If this is acceptable to you, please let me know where we can send a (3) night gift certificate for ocean view accommodations.

Outrigger is a strong supporter of the military and we have been providing hotel accommodations for our military service men and women for the past 50 plus years. Once again, we apologize for the miscommunication and we appreciate the opportunity to make this right with you.



Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I do accept the offer the business has made. If they could either credit my credit card or send me a check either is fine with me just please let me know what if anything further I need to do to accept the terms the business has laid out. Thanks


***** *****

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: While staying at the Ohana Waikiki West Hotel on the island of Oahu I was rudely attacked and accused of violating the hotel policies.Security was sent to my room, without a prior phone call, warning or any kind of notification. Security then knocked on the door and entered the room, I did let them in. Security then asked for our ID's without any explanation as to why this information was needed.Then, security wrongfully accused my boyfriend of smoking in the room.A verbal dispute ensued and the lead security was reporting on his walkie talkie that my boyfriend was not complying and being unruly. We gave all the security our identification, yet Zachari, the lead security officer was still reporting that we were not complying.I then met with the Hotel manager, Cindy, that evening and she wrongfully accused me of smoking marijuana in my hotel room. After, coming to the agreement that she would go upstairs and check the room, we both left to the elevators to check the room. She then arrived at the hotel room ahead of my boyfriend and myself and entered the room without us present. She then left the room and said there was no order.I was rudely interrupted on Sunday, February 1st 2015, by this whole debacale. I am still very upset about this. After speaking with the hotel manager, the morning after he ensued in an even longer argument with my boyfriend and I. This was horrible service and I have NEVER been accused of such behavior by any of the Outrigger hotels.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for my entire stay at this hotel.

Business Response: Security was originally responding to a complaint from another guest of the hotel.   Upon approaching the room of Ms. ******, security also noticed a smell of smoke coming from the ****** room.   The hotel is 100% non-smoking.    Security knocked on the door and requested identification as standard protocol to identify everyone in the room.   In this case, there were also unregistered guests in the room.    Guests were notified that there will be a reconditioning fee for smoke damage in the room.  
 At that point guests disputed this claim so the manager on duty advised them she would come up and verify if there is smoke damage in the room.   When she went up, the guests were not present, so she entered the room just long enough to verify if there was smoke damage in the room.
Outrigger is in the hospitality business and we treat all our guests with Aloha but we do have rules at the hotel to provide comfort and safety to all our guests and we need to enforce the rules. Security would never have gone up to the room to approach the guests if there was no cause.
In a gesture of goodwill, the hotel has already provided an adjustment to the room charges on 2/4/15 after speaking with Ms. ******.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am adjusted a $20 fee for one night for my three night hotel stay. I was not given this adjustment until I called back and spoke with the manager. He then lied and said he did not say that. He said it was either a late check out or a $20 adjustment. I paid $300 to stay at this hotel and for my disruption and disturbance I was given $20 off, that is outrageous!!!! 
I will be complaining on ***** **** ******* and many other travel sites. 
This is a prime example of horrible customer service. 
Lastly, I did not need to be reminded of what happened that evening in the response letter. Did you forget? I was there!


Leah ******

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: we were told it was going to be $273 total for are stay plus 12 a night for parking with would be $297.00 But ended up costing 388.68 And rude staff! So we had to come over to Oahu from the big island for a Dr appointment 5-25-14 And figured we would stay the weekend since we where already there. And last time we where in Oahu we stayed at Ohana West. And had an ok experience So we figured we would give Ohana East a try. We called and made are reservations over a month in advance and when we called in we told them there would be three of us and would need two beds. And we would like Kamaaina Rate, Witch we were told it was going to be $273 total for are stay plus 12 a night for parking with would be $297.00 But ended up costing 388.68 Well once we arrived there i went to go check in. the woman working the front desk asked me how many. And i told them 3. "Since that's what we made the reservation for" From the beginning her attitude was just rude. She asked like it was more trouble to her that there were 3 of us and we all had to fill out there quest cards. Then she told me there would be a 40$ charge for the third. Witch we did not get told this when we booked the room over the phone. Then she told us we had a king bed with a pull out. Witch is not acceptable even more so when we were getting charged $40 a night more for the third person. Then tried to charge me 24 a night for parking when Kamaaina Rate, So i asked to talk with a manager. The woman went in the back and about 5 mins latter the manager came out. I told her are situation and then she showed me the reservation card and told me it said nothing about a third person or two beds. And told me she did not believe us. "Witch why would i tell them about the third person if i was trying to get away with something in the first place" And we would have to live with the one bed. SO i asked her how it was are fault the person over the phone took the reservations wrong. And why i had to pay for there mistake. Witch i got an attitude back from her. And after threatening to post here on help and call the head office to file a complaint she finally got us a room with two beds. But still had to pay the extra charge. At this point we felt trapped and no other option but to stay here. Witch started off are stay in a bad way. And there is NO way we would ever stay here again. Or recommended staying here. We could of stayed at a nice place for the cost or a couple $ more and had a much much more pleasant time and been treated right.

Desired Settlement: I felt like they used a bait and switch on us to get us to there hotel then rack up charges. And treated us rudely the whole time as well. We felt as where trapped and had no other option but to stay there.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/05/29) */ Aloha Mr. ***********, Thank you for taking the time to write to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and misunderstanding you experienced during check-in. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. OHANA Waikiki East Hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important us, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Outrigger Hotels has been in the hospitality industry for 60+ years, we provide reasonable priced accommodations and care about our guests needs. Hotel room rate is based upon double occupancy and we do charge an additional $40+tax for the 3rd and 4th guest(s). In addition, according to the conversation you had with our reservation, your reservation was confirmed for 2 guests with no special request for bedding. It would definitely be helpful if we know in advance of your needs, as we try to accommodate all our guests' request. Again, your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated. As a good will gesture, we have credited your credit card for $50 (it may take 7-10 business days for the credit to appear on your account). I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from Outrigger & OHANA Hotels. Sincerely, *********** CFDM Front Office Manager OHANA Waikiki East Hotel ******************* Honolulu HI 96815 Tel: (808) ******** Fax: (808) ******** E-mail: *************************

4/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Outrigger Ala Moana Hotel execs approved a news release For $10 Tax relief rooms without adequate computer suppor. Site crashed at 10AM and still down I went to the outrigger site at exactly 1 second past 10AM Hawaii time utilizing Greenwich Mean Time which they recommended and the site has already gone down. I used three computers to attempt to connect with their site however the response was "unavailable" or later on "Site down due to maintenance" with a phone number to call. When I called they told me it was basically chaos and they stated I had to book online. I don't know if this was a hoax or total lack of technical competence however I can assure you that the thousands of folks who relied on Outriggers press release are disgusted with the Corporation and will (as I) take their future business elsewhere. In summary whoever approved this gimmick should be fired. It costs tens of thousands of hours in folks time and is unconscionable. I personally have now wasted 7.5 hours trying to get access to their special site for a 5 night stay. The site URL is: hotel/tax-relief. Talk about something ill planned and back firing on a Corporation ... most unfortunate for their reputation. *******

Desired Settlement: 5 Nights at the Ala Moana hotel during the stated "flash sale" time period at the "flash sale rate"

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/04) */ Aloha, this complaint has been resolved. As of March 26, Mr. ***** said he would contact BBB to withdrawl his complaint. Note, we were able to extend a room to him at the Ala Moana Hotel. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/04/05) */ Hi, Please close complaint as Outrigger Hotels accommodated me fairly. Thank you, ******* *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Outrigger Enterprises, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)