This business is not BBB accredited.

Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki

Phone: (808) 922-3861 View Additional Phone Numbers 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815 http://www.oceanresort.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2000 Business started: 01/11/2002 Business started locally: 01/11/2002 Business incorporated 01/11/2002 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40088620-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Tanigawa, Mgr. Mr. Jerry Kimoto, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Kimoto, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Wayne Tanigawa, Mgr.
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
OR Hotel, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    175 Paoakalani Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at Hyatt Place Waikiki from November 9-16. Throughout our trip the person staying with me and I both had what we thought were heat rashes or mosquito bites that were itchy and caused us to avoid spending time in the sun and we were both miserable. We sent pictures to our doctor back home and she believed the bites were from bed bugs, but couldn't confirm it until we came into her office. We were told to look on the sheets for blood spots or small bugs. The morning we were checking out we found three small poetential bed bugs on the mattress and brought it home to our doctor. She confirmed the bug was a bed bug an that's what our bites were from. We were shocked because our hotel seemed so clean. She said it that they can find their way in no matter how clean or new a hotel is but places where large groups of traveling people are its hard to avoid bed bugs. I am asking for a full refund of the amount of $914.69. These bites made us miserable and ruined our vacation. I contacted Hyatt Place about this on November 17. I sent them pictures of the bites and bugs and they said that they would get back to me about this. On November 26, I called the Hyatt Place customer service line because I still hadn't received an answer from the hotel. They informed me that within two days I would be contacted by someone from Hyatt Place Waikiki. After two days I still haven't been contacted by anyone and am disappointed in their service and actions to resolve this matter. Product_Or_Service: Hotel stay

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund 914.69

Business Response: