Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Kauai Beach Resort

Phone: (808) 245-1955 Fax: (808) 246-5539 4331 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, HI 96766 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kauaibeachresorthawaii.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kauai Beach Resort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kauai Beach Resort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2006 Business started: 06/04/2009 Business started locally: 06/04/2009 Business incorporated 06/04/2009 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W53941476-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
David Sosner, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: David Sosner, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Kauai Beach Hotel & Resort SFI Kauai Owner LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4331 Kauai Beach Dr

    Lihue, HI 96766 (808) 245-1955

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This hotel is advertised as a non chlorine pool and since my daughter is highly allergic to chlorine I contacted the hotel multiple times to make sure before booking my stay they promised it was a non chlorinated pool. After my daughter went in the pool 1 time. She had a major allergic reaction. I talked with the engineer of the pool and he stated that it was in fact a non chlorinated pool that maybe she went into the hot tub which is chlorine.She did step into the hot tub but I told her to get out just in case. After the hives, welts and burns subsided 2 days later, we allowed her to go back into the pool since the engineer of the pool promised there was no chlorine. Within 2 hrs she had hive, rash, welts and burns all over her body twice as bad. We called her Dr back in Washington and she told us to keep her on Allegra and benadryl which made her very lethargic. I went back down and talked with the engineer and he stated that the pool in fact does have chlorine when it gets shocked and that their system does generate a level of chlorine. This put my daughter in harms way. She spent the rest of our stay in bed or sleeping in the car on road trips. She was miserable which in return made our stay miserable. I was in contact with **** (manager) once I was able to change our flight and leave a day early. She said she would reimburse us for our $70.00 parking and that she would talk to Expedia which I was under the assumption would reimburse us for some of our stay because of their lack of knowledge with their pool and my daughters reaction to the pool. **** was not good about contacting me back and I spoke with another manager and then another manager **** contacted me and I told him the issue and he said he would contact his manager and get back to me.He got back to me stating he would credit us for the day early departure and 2 free nights to come back to their hotel. My child could have died and you offer me 2 nights to come back. I am not returning to their hotel. EVER!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I asked for 3 nights accommodation plus the 1 night we left early to return home to her Dr. The reason I asked for this amount of days is because this was the amount of days she was bed ridden because of their pool. He hasn't called or written me back. I feel that the hotel does not care about my child and the fact that this allergy could have hospitalized her or potentially killed her. I am very disappointed in this hotels management and that they don't take ownership for their mistake.

Business Response:

KAU BEACH RESORT
**** ***** ***** *****
Lihue, Kauai, Hawaii  96766

September 26, 2014

***** ****** ***** ********* ******* **********
Better Business Bureau Serving Hawaii
**** ****** ****** ***
********* ****** *****

Re:  Case # ********

Dear *****,

Thank you for your assistance. As an update to Case #********, we recently contacted Expedia once again on behalf of the Guest, and they agreed to provide  an additional refund of 2-nights. The actual transaction could take up to 2 to 3 weeks to finalize, depending on the credit card company.

Furthermore we have reviewed the details of this case and would like to address some of the issues that were brought  to light in the attached Complaint
Activity Report.

First of all, the welfare and comfort  of our guests is of the utmost importance.   Four (4) members of our management team  - including  our Guest Services Managers,  Chief Engineer, and  Resort Manager  - were actively involved with the Guest, either  in-person  during  her  stay  or by  telephone after  her departure in order to gather information and seek fair resolution within our control.

Guest's reservation  was booked and  paid  for directly  with a 3rd party  company Expedia (an online wholesale tour operator). Normal procedure would be for the Guest to request refund directly with the booking party, as we are not involved in this transaction  and therefore unaware of what  the Guest paid.  It was explained to the Guest twice by two (2) members of our management staff that due to this situation, the hotel was not able to provide  a direct refund to the Guest. However
we did make the exception on two (2) occasions  to initiate the request on behalf  of the Guest, which resulted in a total refund from Expedia to date of 3 nights.

In addition, the hotel did credit  Guest for $70.00 of parking fees and waived the resort early check  out fee.  The Resort Manager also credited the Guest an additional $45 for a meal charged to her account from Driftwood Grille, and offered to send a 2-night complimentary certificate directly from the hotel to use in
the future, which Guest refused.

In regards  to  advertising  as it  relates  to  the  terminology used online or by  our  team  members  in describing  our pools, our webmaster has verified
that  we have only used the terminology  "saline" in describing our pools on our website, and  have  never advertised  our pools as being  "non-chlorine".   If any details can be provided otherwise, we will make a formal inquiry into it, and implement corrections as needed.

Our Chief Engineer has verified that on the two (2) occasions he spoke to the Guest - by phone after her daughter's first reaction; and in person after her second
 reaction- he confirmed that  the pools were chlorinated naturally  via the saline process, which  Guest advised  she understood.   The hot tubs are chemically chlorinated, which  Guest also mentioned she was aware  of and  admitted her daughter entered  the  hot  tub.   The term  "non-chlorine" was never  used  by  our
Chief  Engineer.   The shock treatment mentioned is only performed 1 time per year as needed; the last one occurred 3 months prior to Guest's stay and no residue would have remained from that treatment as the chlorine dissipates after 15 to 20 minutes, and the pools are backwashed daily.

In order to better  assess the situation, the Chief Engineer asked to see the Guest's daughter  on both occasions and the guest declined each time.

Other than her statements, we have  no record  or evidence to gauge the severity of her daughter's condition and thus make a fair determination of the situation.

When this incident was reported to our management team, we  did  offer  to arrange  local medical assistance for the Guest, but that was also declined. Guest advised she sought medical assistance over a long distance phone call.

In closing, we assert that the hotel extended assistance and every courtesy to seek resolution within our means and also on behalf  of Guest during and subsequent to her stay. Our concern for their well-being was our primary intention  and  we believe our actions  support  that statement.  Resort guests from 350 rooms and 190 villas utilize our pools on a daily basis. We literally have hundreds of thousands of guests that enjoy our pools annually without any such incident.

It is unfortunate that the Guest and her family were dissatisfied and decided to shorten their stay due to her daughter's reported illness and  the side effects of her medication. We feel that the steps taken by the hotel to date  have shown good  intent and goodwill, and are a fair response and settlement to this matter.

Thank you for your consideration of our response.  If you have  any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ************ or via email at ***********************.

***** ** ******
General Manager 

Consumer Response:

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do want to state a few false statements on their letter that was written by the hotel manager in regards to the situation.
#1 I was never asked by the Chief Engineer if he could look at my daughters(hives, welts, etc). The hotel knew my room number and since we spent a lot of time in there they could have easily arranged to stop by and look for themselves at the reaction my daughter was having. I also took pictures which I stated to 3 different employees that I could send to whomever needed documentation.
#2 We were never offered to have my daughter looked at by a local physician at the hotels expense. If that had been offered we would have made them pay for a hospital visit.
#3 Their hotel advertising DID state that their pools were non chlorinated. (otherwise we would have NEVER booked with them) I contacted the hotel 2 times before booking to make sure this was accurate which I was told that their pools were chlorine free. It mentioned non chlorinated until I brought it to the engineers attention and by the following day when I check again that wording had all been removed. Changed to saline pool.
#4 Expedia contacted the hotel on several occasions to assist in a refund for our stay but the hotel declined each time except for the 1 day we left early. This was a very simple process and Expedia agents explained this to the hotel manager and still they declined in accommodating us for a portion of our stay.
#5 My daughter stepped into the hot tub but never emerged herself in it to cause the kind of reaction she had all over her body. But mind you the hotel staff told me on several occasions that this was a non chlorinated pool so why wouldn't we think the hot tub to be the same.
#6 Their statement for the well being of our family was their primary concern is a joke. They took no initiative to care for my child at all and I explained this to the manager that I insisted call me 3 weeks after our return from Hawaii. He apologized that no one even said they were sorry that this had happened and that he would be upset too.

All I have to say to this hotel is that I am unhappy with how this whole situation was handled on their end. We will never step foot on their resort again. I will accept the refund of three days and the $70 and $45 refunds but I will never recommend this hotel to anyone because of how this was handled. A simple I am sorry goes along way. Maybe your hotel should take some responsibility for what took place instead of trying to act like you did everything you could to accommodate my child.

Also we would have NEVER been given a refund if I didn't submit a claim to BBB.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kauai Beach Resort
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)