This business is not BBB accredited.

J W Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Phone: (808) 679-0079 Fax: (808) 679-0080 View Additional Phone Numbers 92-1001 Olani St, Kapolei, HI 96707 http://www.ihilani.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers resort and hotel services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J W Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J W Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 08/08/1991 Business started locally: 08/08/1991 Business incorporated 11/29/1994 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20106062-02.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Donna Lynn Nakai, Director of Operations Mr. Paul Toner, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Lynn Nakai, Director of Operations
Business Category

Hotels Health Resorts

Alternate Business Names
Marriott Hotel Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    92-1001 Olani St

    Kapolei, HI 96707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: stay was from 7/10 thru 7/16. Moved 2 times first day.Room 2nd room filthy. Drawers would not open.3rd room infested with ant.Food poisoning at luau. We had issues upon arrival. The first room was near the pool/play area for the children. We made it known that we were celebrating an anniversary. The first noisy room was changed. The next room was stale smelling and filthy. You could tell its was not used often as the it was so tiny that when you attempted to open the drawers they would hit the wall baseboards. The ice bucket was so nasty with debris and gross substance looked like snot, we refused to use even with the plastic bag. I do have photos to prove this. Though the room was filthy, there was no place else to move us so a desk manager sent up a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries. Which does not justify uncleanliness. The next day we returned and our belongs had been moved to the 3rd room. This was a great room until I started getting bitten by insects. We had no clue that the bugs were in our bed. Until our 3rd day into the room I believe. I was lying on the bed and noticed these tiny bugs. I was not sure what they were but called the front dest immediately. The housekeeping supervisor came up and verified that they were ants and that they do bite. I informed her that my husband and I had been bitten multiple time by something in the room. She then acknowledged some of the visible bites on my hands and arms. She stated that the ants bite and that they could spray but we would have to be gone for a while or they could switch the room. (inconvenience) and those darn bites hurt.We agreed to change rooms yet again! We had scheduled the day prior to go to the Luau next door at *************. We were lead to believe that we would have a fresh sit down, made to order meal, not a plate made to order off of a buffet. Long story short the food was horrible and made me sick. A chicken thigh (old /stale tv dinner quality. Mahi Mahi that was old and fishy and dry. Dryed out pig from the ground, macaroni salad that was not kept refrigerated. Overall just not JW Standards. I was sick until Monday 7/21/2014. I threw up during my entire flight home on 7/16 my actual anniversary.. i ended up in ER on 07/16 as soon as I arrived in my town. I was advised by the physician that I could not fly, thereby causing me to cancel a flight to Houston for a family event. The hotel gave me one nights stay for my ant infestation. The one night was to compensate me for being inconvenienced. However I was swollen on my legs and arms for over a week due to the bite wounds from the ants. My husband developed diarrhea but did not throw up. Although JW Marriott charged me 280.00 for the Luau, they refused to refund the money. Once I started complaining the Marriott had the nerve to give me 140.00 half of money back, claiming that my husband ate his food according to the Luau staff. (as if they sat there and observed how much he actually ate off of his plate (tacky). Marriott makes great money without having to gouge off of their Loyal customers. I stayed there for a reason. I felt like I stayed at ******* with all the tackiness and poor level of service from the staff. I could not eat for 6 days due to the crap that was fed to me at the Luau. I missed another vacation because of it and lost 10 lbs vomiting. Initially I requested the full refund for the Luau but this was before I got really sick. I am now demanding a full refund for my stay and for the Luau. I left messages for management and no one has called me back. I will be submitting a **** complaint as well so that the public is aware of the Hotels unethical practices.

Desired Settlement: All monies refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/09/03) */ August 29, 2014 *********** ********************************** Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. ************** ********* Honolulu, HI 96813 RE: Case ********: Mrs. ****** **** Dear Ms. *****, I am responding to a letter that you sent to **** *****, General Manager of the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa. We have been in contact with the guest, Mrs. ****** **** regarding her concerns. We have explained that the luau she attended was at ************* and is not affiliated with the JW Marriott lhilani Resort. In discussion with the management at *************, they stated that to their knowledge no one else on the night that Mrs. **** and her husband attended the luau got sick from their food. It is our understanding that ************* did not provide any compensation to Mrs. ****. As Mrs. **** was a guest of our hotel we paid for her luau and that of her husband's as a gesture of good will. Mrs. **** filed a security report on July 23, 2014 with our Security office with regards to the bug bites and the case has since been submitted to Marriott Corporate Claims division. Marriott Claims will review the case and work directly with Mrs. **** on a final resolution. We have had numerous conservations with the ****'s on these matters and have tried to work with them in good faith. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, **************** Director of Operations JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa ************ **************************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The only thing Mariott did was deny the allegations and they did not agree to accept responsibility. Initially refunding the money for the luau would have been sufficient. However due to me missing another planned trip due the the illness from this trip, I am requesting a full refund for the hotel stay as well. I had another trip planned for 7/17/2014 and could not attend due to the illness from this trip. I was advised not to fly and was unable to eat for many day after stating in Hawaii. The resolution would e to refund all monies for the stay. I still have a non refundable ticket to Texas that we were unable to use due to me being sick.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J W Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)