BBB Accredited Business since

Ilima Hotel

Phone: (808) 923-1877 Fax: (808) 924-8371 445 Nohonani Street, Honolulu, HI 96815 http://www.ilima.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a condominium style hotel in the heart of Waikiki.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ilima Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ilima Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ilima Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated: 05/10/1947 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20270036-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Phil Sammer, General Manager Ms. Christy Izuka, Controller Mr. Jay Takamiya, Assistant Mgr. Mr. Galen T. Teruya, Assistant Treasurer Mr. Raymond Teruya, President Mr. Wayne T. Teruya, AS/Director Mr. Roy T. Uyehara, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phil Sammer, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Condominiums

Alternate Business Names
Teruya Brothers, Limited

Additional Locations

  • 445 Nohonani Street

    Honolulu, HI 96815

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at Ilima Hotel with my family from May 24-June 1, 2013. The room for a family of 5 was a bit smelly; but it was livable. The couch that turns into a bed was a bit revolting. The mattress had black spots, which possibly could be molds. The air conditioner in the living room had some molds growing out of it too. My parent's room near the balcony had duct tape as a way to keep the cool air in. As for bed that I slept in, the bed pulls down from the wall unit. I noticed on my bed sheet- there was a yellow beige spot on the right side during the last night. It was the size of a golf ball. This definitely shows the quality of housekeeping service. Overall, the service of cleanliness is very questionable. After all, my sibling's neck developed a rash that is still trying to clear up as we speak (made MD appt)But for the customer service issue, it would have to deal with the management handling stolen jewelry worth. The total value is very hard to determine due to the fact, that the jewelry were mostly inheritance by my deceased aunt ( 4 white gold bracelets and 1 white gold ring with 16 diamonds in a row)On May 30, my family attended a late evening wedding. All dressed and decked out, the housekeeper happen to come right when we were leaving. The housekeeper came very late to clean On the May 31,late in the evening, I started packing and realized my jewelry was stolen! My entire family looked everywhere. The jewelry were practically and strategically planned on the time of being taken. I went downstairs to report the incident. She took a while to call the police. I informed the police exactly where I had my jewelry when they arrived. Next day, the front desk supervisor was very rude. She kept dodging all my questions on how to handle this situation. With shifty eye,front desk lady implied that my mother was lying when she spoke too. The customer service was inappropriate and the *** called 1x to handle the situation. He never called back until 4 days later when I called.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) This business is not reputable. The management is protecting their staff member on stolen property. They will brush this under the rug and repeated the same saying- 15 yrs ago the housekeeper has worked with us..quoted on TRIPADVISOR. Used the same answers over and over. I have never spoke to the general manger on this issue. Names would not be given to get help. Staff who stole jewelry needs to be prosecuted/ jailedHealth department need to be contacted. Roaches found in hotel per review.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/14) */ We have inspected the room identified in the complaint and have found that both the housekeeping and maintenance were not up to our normal high standards. We sincerely regret the inconvenience and are refunding one night's lodging cost to the consumer via the credit card used for payment as an expression of goodwill. In regards to the missing jewelry, we have conducted our own internal investigation and questioned the housekeeper who made up the room that day. She denies taking any of the guest's belongings. She has never had any issue with any other guest during her employment with us. We regret this incident but feel that no disciplinary action is warranted. A police report was taken at the time of the incident and we will cooperate with any follow up they initiate. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 18, 2013/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The so call "spirit of hospitality" from Ilima Hotel is unacceptable from the condition of the rooms to the theft issue confirmed by Honolulu Police of Waikiki district. The management chose to neglect the the client during the FULL ADVANCED PAY and afterwards. Due to the asinine staff and management, the compensation I am willing to accept is $700 EXCLUDING THE PREVIOUS REFUND. Ilima Hotel has given me a priceless hospitality of regret. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/07/25) */ We regret that the consumer chooses not to accept our offer which we consider as fair and final. As we indicated in our last message, the consumer made no complaints about the condition of the room during their stay which is the only basis for this refund offer. The alleged theft from the room has never been confirmed by the police. This is our last correspondence on this subject.