This business is not BBB accredited.

Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa

Phone: (808) 923-1234 Fax: (808) 237-6114 View Additional Phone Numbers 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815 View Additional Web Addresses

Click for BBB Rating on Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the services of a hotel/restaurant.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1976 Business started: 07/01/1976 Business started locally: 07/01/1976 Business incorporated 09/25/1975 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W15627629-01.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jerry Westenhaver, General Manager Mr. Brad Mettler, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brad Mettler, Director of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Jerry Westenhaver, General Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
W2007 WKH Hotel TRS, Inc.

Additional Locations


    2424 Kalakaua Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96815


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Didnt see any customer sites to go thru so I thought I would pass this info Im sending over to the better business bureau. My department I work for sends a lot of business to the Waikiki hotel. I am just upset that I cant get one night that was reserved on a website canceled with just a phone call. Attempted to book a hotel thru the website. Wanted a specific range of dates. However after I searched and the website populated results. Must have just populated available dates instead of the dates I wanted. Wasnt clear, thought I was booking the scheduled dates for a room rate. Reserved room for a date I wasnt even going to be on the island for. Tried to call hotel to cancel, no luck. Tried to call *******, all they agreed to do was just cancel my reservation and still charge me for the room. What happened should be just plain illegal. Especially when I called on the same day (to cancel) that I attempted to make my reservations. Support at the Hotel (Hyatt Waikiki) and ******* was not helpful at all and just pointed responsibility at each other. No help at all.I just wanted the one night on for 215.39 that was billed on my company credit card credited for the room I canceled. I mistakenly (thru the websites manipulation) made the reservation for 02/23/2015, on 02/07/2015. I know I can contact my billing department for my company c/c card and instruct them to refuse payment, but I thought it all could be resolved thru a few phone calls to ******* and the Hyatt Waikiki. No Luck.

Desired Settlement: Refund on c/c card.

Business Response:

From: ************************ *********************************
Sent: Monday, March 02, 2015 4:22 PM
To: Info
Subject: *********** ***** BBB Hawaii Complaint - Reference ID ********
Importance: High


Good afternoon,

I received the attached letter today from the BBB of Hawaii.  This guest was reserved at the Hyatt Place Waikiki and not Hyatt Regency Waikiki.  I have attached a screen shot below of the reservation that was cancelled for your reference.  I want to ensure that this complaint is sent to the proper hotel and not Hyatt Regency Waikiki as we were not the hotel reserved.  I have forwarded your letter to the hotel General Manager for review.  Please inform the guest of the mistake in hotels.  Mahalo. 


Dave M*******


David ** M*******
Director of Sales,  Marketing and Events


**** ******** **** ********* ** ****** *** ** ************  **  ************  ** ************************ *********************

3/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Furniture Medic did 4 jobs fall 2011 for Hyatt. 3 were paid, 4th was not. Despite calls, messages, emails, Hyatt's 4th invoice not yet paid. $376.96 Many phone calls, unanswered messages and "we'll look into it" emails, but no payment. Early on a Hyatt representative tried to shift the obligation to the shipping company they said caused the damage to the dresser. However, Furniture Medic's position is that Hyatt called us to do the repair, we did it at the hotel, the work was accepted as satisfactory by a hotel emplayee, and Hyatt should pay for it. It is not our place to go after a shipping company that we did no work for - that should be done by Hyatt.

Desired Settlement: It's been well over a year, but we're not asking for any late fees - Just pay the bill: $376.96 !

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/06/17) */ Hyatt Regency responded directly to us, and agreed to pay the outstanding invoice. They did not offer an explanation for the long delay, and I did not ask. With receipt of their payment I can say that the dispute was resolved satisfactorily.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfair Treatment Being Assigned to Noisiest Room adjacent to the elevator shaft plus daytime hotel renovation noise without advance notice to guests I thought I should let you know that I am NOT satisfied with recent stay at Hyatt Waikiki. When we checked in, Hyatt front desk staff did not let us know that the room to be assigned was right next to elevators. We could not sleep at all due to loud noise of elevators. I called front desk and the front desk manager on duty refused to change to a room away from elevators. Thus, we had to suffer the noise of elevator shaft at night. Also during daytime, there was renovation noise going on, which Hyatt did not inform us in advance, either. I feel it is NOT fair to us, pre-paid customers ended up being horribly unlucky assigned a noisy room adjacent to elevators shaft - None of us could sleep at night - It was like sleeping by a train station. Had I known this happened to us, I would not have chosen Hyatt. Why did you treat us like this, WHY?

Desired Settlement: Full refund and/or Hyatt bonus points for five nights pre-paid stay 3/24/2013 - 3/29/2013. AH

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/23) */ Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience of being checked into a room near the elevator. I have been in contact with the wholesaler that you booked your reservation with and they confirmed that on April 17th they credited back your credit card for one night room and tax. I understand that being near the elevator was a great inconvenience to you and negatively impacted your ability to get a good night sleep. In addition to the compensation already awarded I would be happy to award you an additional 18,000 Gold Passport points that you can use towards your stay at any Hyatt Hotel.