This business is not BBB accredited.

Hyatt Regency Maui

Phone: (808) 667-4470 Fax: (808) 667-4498 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761 View Additional Email Addresses


Click for BBB Rating on Hyatt Regency Maui

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is an 806-room full service hotel.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Hyatt Regency Maui. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Hyatt Regency Maui.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 1985 Business started: 04/19/1980 Business started locally: 04/19/1980 Business incorporated 09/25/1975 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20215130-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Murphy, Director of Rooms Mr. Allan Farwell, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Murphy, Director of Rooms
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Hyatt Corporation Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Nohea Kai Drive

    Lahaina, HI 96761

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a sales offer in the mail advertising $75/night rates at the Hyatt Regency in Maui if we agreed to tour their neighboring property. The eligibility criteria in the fine print on the back of the offer states that participants must have an annual income of $125,000, be at least 27, and have not toured any ***** ********* **** in the last 12 months. In addition, it states that you must be a permanent U.S. Resident, have a continuous source of income, and be creditworthy. However, when I called about the offer, the customer service representative asked me if I was a homeowner and, when I told him no because I am in the military and move around too much, he said that I could not get the special offer since I was not a homeowner. I told him this was unfair to military personnel who often are too transient to buy a home and he simply replied that the terms do not allow me to get the special rate. After this conversation, I referred to the fine print again to make sure I didn't miss the homeowner requirement and confirmed that no such stipulation is listed in the offer. I called back today to speak with another representative and hoped to get clarification. Unfortunately, I was treated rather rudely and told that I must be a homeowner and it didn't matter what the advertisement says because it is Hyatt's policy. I asked why and she couldn't tell me the reasoning behind the policy. I told her that their flyers were misleading and she didn't care. I am complaining because the advertisement we received from Hyatt is deceptive and because Hyatt's arbitrary policy in favor of homeowners is discriminatory against active duty military personnel. One can be creditworthy without buying a home but both of the Hyatt representatives were unable or unwilling to explain their company's policies. I hope to be given the chance to take advantage of the offer as advertised. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to take advantage of the $75/night promotional rate as advertised. If not, I would like an explanation of Hyatt's homeowner requirement and recognition that this is unfairly limiting military personnel from participating. At minimum, Hyatt should correct the advertisements they send to their own Hyatt Gold Passport loyalty members in order to truly describe the conditions of their offer.

Business Response:

Re: Complaint from Mr. **** * *****- ID ********


Thank you for forwarding the above complaint to the attention of ******* ******. For your records, Mr. ****** is no longer at this property and you should direct any future correspondence pertaining to the Hyatt Regency Maui to my attention.

Mr. *****'s complaint is directed toward the sales office of ***** ********* ****, a timeshare property which has been built adjacent to the Hyatt Regency Maui.  However, the two entities are completely separate operations and the Hyatt Regency Maui has no involvement in the sales or management of the ***** ********* ****.

We would therefore request that you close your file on this complaint to the Hyatt Regency Maui and re-file it with the ***** ********* ****. You may direct your correspondence to the attention of Mr. ******* ********, Director of Sales and Marketing, ***** ********* ****, *** ***** *** ****** ******** ** ******

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Sincerely,

Michael S.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I was actually contacted by the Hyatt property offering the discounted rooms and they have changed their policy to be more amenable to military personnel. Thank you for your assistance. 

Sincerely,

**** *****

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incessant noise due to construction fronting our lanai. When I made the reservation online, obstruction was mentioned. The source of the obstruction was not indicated. Obstruction was minimal & was not the problem. The noise from the construction was. At the time of check-in, the clerk mentioned obstruction & work which would begin at 8:30 or 9:00 am. When we got to our room about 4:30 pm construction was in progress & continued for several more hours. The next morning work began at 7:15 a.m. & continued for hours. The incessant beeping from backing up was easily heard through our closed lanai door. Thankfully, we left the hotel the next day about 9 am as scheduled. This was a personal family business trip, not a vacation, therefore, we were in our room much of the time not out shopping & sightseeing. I believe it would be fair to get a partial refund as Hyatt did not properly disclose the situation before the room was paid for. Small compensation for very irritating noise & not being able to enjoy the fresh air on the lanai because of the noise & dust.

Desired Settlement: I think a partial refund would be fair & show that Hyatt has some integrity.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I made my reservation on the Orbitz site and was aware of an obstructed view beforehand but not the construction. I checked the Orbitz site on April 28 as the Director of Rooms, ****** ******, claims the the construction is revealed on both the Hyatt site & the Orbitz site. It is not revealed on the Orbitz site.