BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

This Business is not BBB accredited

Hilton Waikoloa Village

Phone: (808) 886-1234 Fax: (808) 886-2903 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, HI 96738 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hilton Waikoloa Village include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hilton Waikoloa Village
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 14, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1988 Business started locally: 08/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20471336-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Debi Bishop, General Manager Mr. Roger McDonald, Director of Sales Mrs. Shelley Root, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Debi Bishop, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Convention Services & Facilities Health Clubs

Alternate Business Names
Global Resort Partners

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    69-425 Waikoloa Beach Dr

    Waikoloa, HI 96738

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Hotel and we were inconvenienced on many occasions with the service provided with their guest service reps. We spent a great amount of money at the Hilton Waikoloa the dates of March 26 through April 2 of 2013 and I believe we were not given the excellent customer service that would go with spending over $2000 at a luxury Hilton Hotel. When we checked into the hotel we had reservations already completed, but the front desk attendant tried charging us for extra hotel fees that we had opted out of before wee could get the keys to our room and argued with my wife that we were required to pay them. The hotel charged us for self parking when we communicated that we had a handicapped placard for my wife and that handicapped parking was free through valet. Our hotel room had a bath tub with a malfunctioning drain plug, The clock radio light did not work forcing us to wake each other up to verify the time. The dresser drawers had a missing cupboard and half way through our vacation we had to move rooms to a higher balcony floored room because the hotel could not prevent the guests above us from pounding loudly on their floor and running what sounded like their luggage across the floor. We had restless sleep for three nights, which took out of our vacation time. The hotel room they moved us to had a safe that was a low battery and so we could not keep our valuables safe. My wife has bad knee problems and they placed us in the bank of rooms located between the two usable elevators. The wheelchair that security supplied us with was rickety and not safe. On several occasions while trying to push my wife in the wheelchair it got caught on the pathway and my wife almost was thrown forward out of the wheelchair even when I went very slow. While attending the Legends of the Pacific Luau, I was forced to wheel my wife in the wheelchair backwards for fear of her being thrown forward out of the wheelchair as the walkway was dangerously sloped and no one offered us to use the service elevator until after the event was completed. Although even while traversing to the service elevator the wheelchair got stuck and my wife's toe got pinched as she barely caught herself from falling forward out of the wheelchair and no one thought to send us a safer more sturdier wheelchair. During the Luau event my wife was told that the tickets we were given were for purchasing alcoholic drinks, but when she tried ordering Guava Juice, they tried charging her for it when she had given me, her husband, her tickets as she was not drinking any alcohol. We almost missed our connecting flight as we had called down to the concierge desk to have our bags taken to the valet area so we could leave with plenty of time to get the rental car we rented back and check-in to the airport. The concierge desk attendant wrote our room number down and after four calls to the concierge desk they finally realized their error and one hour had already passed which made us late getting the rental car back to the agency and the bus driver had to make a special exception and rush us to the airport. The delay in time of the hotel and their error almost made us miss our flight, which would cause us to miss the last connecting flight of the day from Maui and thus resulting in me missing my important business presentation that could have cost me my job and we would have had to pay for different day airline tickets plus extra days for airport parking. If it were not for the rental agency picking up the slack for the Hilton Waikoloa employees' blunders we would have missed our flight. As it was the plane was delayed getting out of Kona airport and arriving at its gate in Maui thus the plane keeping its doors open for us as the last passengers made the plane delayed getting into the gate terminal in Maui. I tried getting compensation from the hotel manager and the executive hotel corporate official for the calamity the hotel brought to our vacation, but they did not want to do anything.

Desired Settlement: I am proposing that Hilton Waikoloa refund half of the money I spent for the calamity they caused my family on our vacation, the unsafe wheelchair they gave us that caused my wife injury, the improper and incompetent guest service they provided us, the low quality of the room they gave us to stay in, and the inconvenience they caused us and other entities due to their error and mistakes. I have never been to a Hilton hotel and had so many mistakes made and treated with such indifference to my complaint of poor service by managers and executive officials. I would have hoped that a luxury hotel carrying the Hilton name would have treated their guest more appropriately.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/16) */ Originally assigned to rm 1063-rm moved to 6037 due to noise complaint from rm above 1063; Resort Fee was waived/not chged; $17.parking chge was removed & parking comped; shower in rm 6037 not working properly, at gst request 1 comped luau ticket for child provided; Wheelchair provided at no chge-gst did not report any injury nor did gst call to exchange wheelchair which is in good working order, so unaware of wheelchair issue during stay. Willing to reimburse 50% of Room charges & tax or $937.23 ($275.68 + $11.48 State Rm Tx + $25.50 Occ. Tx=$312.41 x 3=$937.23)to MC CC used upon check out. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do accept the response from the company. I feel satisfied that the issues with our vacation though very stressful and full of calamity will be resolved with the offer that they presented of the reimbursement of $937.23. I hope tat if my family finds themselves staying at the Hilton Resort at Waikoloa Village in the future that our stay will be more enjoyable and free from incident.

11/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor food, poor and odd service, poor atmosphere Thank you in advance for your time and consideration reading this. We ate the breakfast buffet today, we had some concerns.....I am not a person to complain about meals or service, I usually just try to forget it and never go back but I am on my honeymoon and your place is the only buffet nearby. So here are some observations to help you see my point of view. 1st, the price. In this day and age of internet savvy eaters, your prices should be online. A $***** breakfast sticker shock was not in my plans but I dealt with it. 2nd, the service. The waiter was kind of bothersome as he hovered waiting for the check to be paid (he had presented the check the instant we had sat down from getting our plates and stood there as if he was waiting for payment). He was nice, but seemed rather concerned that we wanted to pay cash instead of charge to our room. His name was ***** or ***** I think. His actions made us feel unwelcome until after we settled the check so I paid and then tipped him with a fork in my hand and a mouthful of food and then stayed another hour or so while we ate and attempted to enjoy our first Hawaii honeymoon breakfast. 3rd.....the food. It was OK....not great, but OK. The omelet guy (*****)aside from not smiling once needs a small refresher on how to cook an omelet. Mine was way underdone and runny. Much of the fruit we had was over ripe and at room temp. as well. The bacon had gone rubbery and the scrambled eggs were also quite watery. Everything else we had was good. I would love to try it again, but at this point we will most likely not attend or recommend......sorry. thanks again for reading.

Desired Settlement: Do what you think is right.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *****, Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x***** Contact Email: *****@*****.com Aloha Mr. ******, I recently received a copy of a complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding your experience at the Big Island Breakfast while visiting our property from the Hilton Grand Vacations Club on the morning of 30th Oct. I would like to express my sincerest apologies for the unacceptable dining experience you had, let me assure you that we strive to deliver a higher level of service and product quality than you received. I also take very seriously any guest concerns about our team members' service performance when interacting with guests. Guests like yourself are the lifeblood of our industry and the reason for our success. I have shared your product quality concerns with our Executive Chef and have addressed the service issues with the team and management at Big Island Breakfast personally. Thank you for the gift of your feedback, we do use these candid insights from our guests as tools for improvement. I would like to offer you a refund of the cost of your breakfast, as well as send you a small memento to remember your honeymoon here in Hawaii Mahalo nui loa and best wishes to you and your bride,

8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service