Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hilton Hawaiian Village LLC

Phone: (808) 949-4321 Fax: (808) 947-7800 View Additional Phone Numbers 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815 http://www.hiltonhawaiianvillage.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a hotel.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hilton Hawaiian Village LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hilton Hawaiian Village LLC include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Hilton Hawaiian Village LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hilton Hawaiian Village LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1957 Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 06/01/1998 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20310542-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debi Bishop , Managing Director Mr. Jerry Gibson, Area V.P. Ms. Cynthia Rankin, Regional Director of Public Relations Mr. Pete Twyman, Regional Director of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debi Bishop , Managing Director
Business Category

Hotels Convention Services & Facilities Health Resorts

Alternate Business Names
Hilton Hawaiian Village

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase in ***** *******, Hilton Hawaiian Village Date:25/3:2016 Purchase Item: 14k ***** Pearl N/L(white) Total: 1300 dollars,500 dollars by cash and 800 dollars by credit card. I found the price is double or triple higher than many other Jewerly stores outside the hotle. I asked for return and refund, but was refused. No certificate,no regular sales receipt,no more detail discription about the item I bought. I paid much more money than the real price of the item.As a customer,Why I do not have any right to protect myself? It is unfair.

Desired Settlement: I want to return and refund.

Business Response:

***** ******* is independently owned and operated.

Per ***** *******, the customer had originally purchased the ******* at their Outrigger Reef Hotel location and the store has a no refund policy as printed on the receipt and at the register.  Next day after the purchase, the customer went to ***** ******* at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and said she wanted to exchange the jade/gold ******* which she had purchased the Outrigger location.  Store allowed the exchange for ***** pearl strand necklace and customer did not come back to get the appraisal paper.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

To whom it may concern,

I am writing you about my very bad experience on my trip to Hawaii at the ***** ******* store.   I came into the ***** store located in the Outrigger reef on the beach resort by chance.  I then met a saleswoman named Jenny.  She said she wanted to show me ‘the one and only item' which lay in their store for more than 20 years.  She boasted about this item and kept lowering the price on the item again and again in order to get me to purchase the item.  I hesitated a long time before I paid $1300.00 for it.   

A few hours after leaving the ***** ******* store, I realized I had been tricked by the fraud in the whole purchase that I had been lured into.  The items I bought were not what the salesperson Jenny had told me.  So I went back to the store later that day, thinking I could return the item and receive my refund (as with any other store policy in the USA), but I was told to go to another ***** ******* store located in the Hilton hotel.  I found the salesperson Jenny there and told her I wanted to return the item and wanted a full refund.  Her response was to show me a sign in this other store which stated - sales are final on the casher. After arguing with her for some time, she finally offered me a pearl necklace in exchange with an unreasonable price.  I told her that I was not interested in the pearl necklace she was offering me, but wanted my money back.  She would not give me any other choice.  Either I walked away with nothing, or the pearl necklace.  I hesitatingly took the necklace and began to check the value of the item in other ******* stores.  To my shock, the item was only worth $500.00.   

The ***** ******* store which is located in the hotel preys on foreign tourists.  It seems, the store has used this same scam on other tourists.  I was not told about the No Return policy until after I wanted to return the item.  How can unsuspecting tourists protect themselves from this kind of scam? 

I have heard about the return and exchange policy for customers in other stores in the USA, and I felt safe purchasing items there as a tourist.  I was lured into this store, tricked into buying something for a price that is not the value of the item, and then refused a refund and told about the store’s no return policy.  Being a tourist in a foreign country makes it very difficult to fight this and so I am writing to you in hopes that you could investigate this incident.  It ruined my vacation to Hawaii, a place I always wanted to visit.  I had planned this trip for some quite time and I loved visiting the state, but my encounter with this store and losing so much money has put a damper on my memories of Hawaii.

Thank you for your time and I hope you can help me in some way.  I hope to visit Hawaii again some day.

Sincerely,

***** ***

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband I stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village for our anniversary and left disappointed. We stayed two over nights and during our stay we found that it was packed with people. This left long waits for the elevator unless we wanted to get on one over capacity like most others. We also walked to multiple pools and found a ton of empty chairs, but all of them were held which was against policy. It didn't look like anyone was enforcing the rule which left us without a place by the pool our entire stay. The over packed resort was a nightmare and we seriously left the resort to get most meals, drinks, and layed by the pool at the near by **** ***. I am diamond status and have stayed at Hilton properties many nights a month and haven't had issues. I reached out to the property asking if they would credit my points for the two nights used which would be 100,000 points and they declined saying they could offer 15,000. I feel the 15,000 isn't a fair and good faith offering. I would like to now ask that 150,000 points be awarded for the less than desiable stay and the hassle of having to file a BBB claim to come to a mutual agreement. Kindly, ****** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like to now ask that 150,000 points be awarded for the less than desirable stay and the hassle of having to file a BBB claim to come to a mutual agreement.

Business Response:

January 21, 2016


Aloha,

Mr. David M****, our Director of Rooms, spoke with Mrs. ***** yesterday afternoon (01/20/16) and they agreed to meet halfway, wherein Hilton Hawaiian Village will refund 50,000 of the 100,00 points used for the Oct 28 – 30, 2015 stay.  We also upgraded M/M ***** to a 12 type (aka junior suite) in ******* ***** while they were here.

Mrs. ***** said she is satisfied with the outcome and we will purchase the points.  Mr. David M**** also advised Mrs. ***** to allow up to 30 business days for the HH points to appear in her account.


Should you have any questions, or require additional information, please contact me directly at ***** ******** or at ***********************.


Regards,

Mumi M******

Executive Office

Hilton Hawaiian Village

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

1/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed in that hotel from 8/11/15 through 8/15/15 (Room # **********). I left a ** bag in the safe and forgot to take it out when I checked out. The bag has many credit cards in it. Six days later, I called the hotel. I was told that when a guest is checked out, the housekeeping will check the safe. If it is locked, they will call hotel security to come and open the safe. A hotel staff checked the safe and told me that it was open with no bag in it. She also checked the record of Lost/Found Office and didn't see a bag was turned in. But how can this be possible? I am 100% sure that the bag was in the safe. The safe was locked. Whoever opened the safe should have my bag.

Desired Settlement: I want the hotel to investigate this incident and find my bag. Thanks.

Business Response:

This is our formal response to complaint ID ********. After the review of internal reports, we have the following summary:

The guest called six (6) days after check-out to inquire about apurse left inside the in-room safe. Several guests arrived and departed from the some room without requesting to access a lock safe in the room. Housekeeping serviced the room multiple times within the six days without requesting Security assistance to unsecure the In-room safe. Lost and found databasewas searched with negativeresults. Lastly, there is no record on lock interrogation report of Security accessing the room.

In conclusion, there is no evidence to indicate that the guest left the purse secured inside the in­ room safe.

For more detailed information, please see the attached inter-office memorandum from our Safety & Security Department.

Should you have any questions. or require additional information, please email me at ******************.

Sincerely, 

Tracy W******

General Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I appreciate the efforts made by the hotel to investigate the incident. However, I still don't understand the outcome. I locked the bag into the safe when I checked in. I still have the code with me. According to the hotel staff whom I spoke to, the safe would not unlock by itself. Someone must unlocked it after I checked out. They need to interview the housekeeping staff who cleaned the room when I left. 

I know that most likely I will not be able to get my bag back. Thank BBB for your help!

Sincerely,

**** **

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HHonors Number : ********** I had some problems in hilton hawaiian village. (I and my family were in Lagoon tower on May, 4th ~ 8th.) I had some problems in this holtel. And I claimed this problem to hilton cutomer service center. But anyone never solve this problem and they insisted that hilton's owner is diffrent for each hotel. So they have to solve this problem directy. We don't have to solve it instead of each hotel. Wow!! But hilton never solve my problem and ignore my message constantly.

Desired Settlement: Actually I did not receive any compensation for my problem. But hilton's employee absolutely informed me that their hotel's manager will compensate for my lost time. I can accept any compensation. Because I don't consider money or etc. I only get any compensation from hilton along with their customer service's policy. Thanks.

Business Response:

From: ***** ***** ************************
Sent: Tuesday, July 07, 2015 9:42 AM
To: **** ********
Subject: Cas # ********

 

Aloha ****,

 

It was nice speaking to you this morning on the phone.

 

I just wanted to let you know that I spoke to the guest which is from Korea with a translator and the issues has been resolved. We do not have anything in writing since it was all done via phone.

 

Please let me know if you need anything further on this iisue.

 

***** ****** **** ***

General Manager

Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Grand Waikikian Tower, Lagoon Tower, Kalia Tower, Grand Islander Tower

at Hilton Hawaiian Village

**** *** ***** ***** ********* ** *****

****** *************

**** *************

****** *********************** ** ***************

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being over charged on my card they call it a buffer I am sorry it took so long to complain deal with care of my in-laws. When we were in Hawaii we stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village I took my kids out for drink at one of their bars. On the menu it state very clearing about the extra charge if your table has six or more. We ordered a few rounds and closed the tab. The next day I ask my wife to check my account and she told me that I was charged an extra $21 dollars I talk to the manager and she told me she would get back to me I waited a day for an answer so I was told that Hilton always charges everyone what they call a buffer every time anyone charges. I told them I never heard of anything I like that so I stop charging and buy with cash. This happen on July 14 on my master card

Desired Settlement: That the practice of over charging or what they call buffing to stop

Business Response: Our system is configured to pre-authorize 25% above all credit card transactions to allow possible gratuities. This is only a pre-authorization. Once actual charges are settled, any unused authorization are released by the financial institution. This is not an overcharge, we apologize for the inconvenience and for the confusion. We are able to provide a scanned copy of the final settlement if Mr. ******** wishes.

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hotel rooms reserved in March were canceled 2 days prior to arrival. We reserved 3 rooms at the Hilton Hawaiian Village on March 23, 2013. The rooms were reserved for August 11 through August 16, 2013. On August 9, 2 days prior to arrival, the rooms were canceled. Calls to the hotel were not able to reverse this decision. We believe they were able to sell the rooms at a higher rate, and so the rooms that we reserved at a discount rate through ************* were canceled. We were rebooked at a different hotel by ************* without being notified or consulted by Hilton Hawaiian Village. The replacement hotel is not on the beach. We did not have sufficient notification time to rebook suitable rooms in a beachside hotel. We believe this is likely a common bait and switch tactic being used by Hilton Hawaiian Village, and are requesting that it be investigated.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that Hilton Hawaiian Village refund us the amount we originally paid for hotel rooms at their establishment, a total of $4151.25.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/24) */ We are unable to locate reservations under the name of ****** *******. Are there other names we may check or are there confirmation numbers we may check? Mahalo Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/09/06) */ Mr. ****** is correct. The three reservations noted herein were relocated to the Modern Hotel, which is near the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The Hilton Hawaiian Village paid for all 5 nights for each of the three rooms at the Modern Hotel and will not be billing the third party utilized in the booking. Accordingly, any refund inquiries should be routed to the booking agent as they received payment. We apologize for the relocations and hope we have an opportunity to welcome the ******s on a future visit. Mahalo. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Millions of people use travel agents or booking agents every year to make hotel reservations. It is the responsibility of the hotel to honor a confirmed, paid for reservation - not the booking agent. It is the Hilton Hawaiian Village that canceled our reservation 2 days prior to arrival, not the booking agent. We invested many days of research and planning and had over four thousands dollars invested in pre-paid reservations. The reservations were canceled without providing us sufficient time to recover our funds and make new reservations at a place of our choosing. I believe the Hilton Hawaiian Village is involved in an unethical business practice of overbooking their hotel rooms, and is involved in an unethical business practice of canceling paid reservations made through discount travel agents if they can rent the room for a higher rate.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hilton Hawaiian Village LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)