Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hawaii Prince Hotel LLC

Phone: (808) 956-1111 Fax: (808) 944-4426 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Holomoana Street, Honolulu, HI 96815 http://www.princeresortshawaii.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a full service hotel and golf club.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawaii Prince Hotel LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hawaii Prince Hotel LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2000 Business started: 10/16/1990 Business started locally: 10/16/1990 Business incorporated 10/16/1990 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

GET-Oahu District Office
830 Punchbowl St, Honolulu HI 96813
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W49015100-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is 10420159.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kisan Joel, Controller Sharon ., HR Mr. Wade Gesteuyala, Hotel Manager Mr. Shane Hashemi, Hotel Manager Mr. Paul Yokota, Senior Vice President/COO
Contact Information
Principal: Kisan Joel, Controller
Business Category

Hotels Resorts Golf Courses - Private

Alternate Business Names
Hawaii Prince Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Holomoana Street

    Honolulu, HI 96815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on the web site (cut and pasted below) there is an advertisement to book 2 rooms and get a 3rd night free beginning at $280 for the dates April 1- September 2015. I called to book my staff for a training for six days and they said they were not able to honor that price for the month of July. However no indication on the web site that July had any other price or black out dates indicated. The advertisements are clear.. April 1- Sept. .beginning at $280. When I called I asked do you not have ANY rooms at that rate? She said they all start at $299... July is a busy month and they will not honor that rate for $280.. however. that is not what the advertising states.The standard for sophistication in Waikiki, this oceanfront property features every room with panoramic views, the finest island cuisine, and a unique 27-hole championship golf course. 3rd Night FREEStarting rate: $280 per night, Oceanfront MarinaChoice of complimentary self parking OR WI-FI when booking Oceanfront Vista category or higher.25% off ****** ***** Seafood Buffet for two25% off hotel guest golf rate for twoKids eat and golf freeNo mandatory resort feesValid April 1 September 30, 2015

Desired Settlement: I would simply like the rate to be honored. I run a nonprofit agency and we were excited about sending 3 staff at a reasonable rate. It was disappointing to spend the time we had to spend trying to learn why they were not honoring their web site advertisement. I feel it is false advertising. They did not black out July on the web site.. they clearly said April-Sept 2015 with rooms starting at $280 yet when I called she (**** the manager) stated there were no rooms at that rate. not fair practice

Business Response:

Aloha,
The Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki is currently advertising our 'Spring Into Summer' promotion fot the period of 4/1/15-9/30/15.  The rate for this promotion starts at $280 per night with a 3rd night free.  The $280 rate is the lowest rate available during the period, but is not available for all of the dates.  We have dates during out peak travel period starting at $299 per night, 3rd night free.  Our advertising campaign tagline was 'Starting rates from $280 per night, Marina category' to highlight where or rate offer starts from.  This is similar to an airline sayng that they have rates starting from $80 and the rate is not available for all of the dates that are noted on the promotion.  It is the same seat, but a different rate applies at different times or dates.  On our website, we do include our standard verbiage of "Some restrictions and blackout dates may apply."

Unfortunately, the booking period selected by the guest does run during peak travel times, and we communicated the current rate of $299 to the guest.  However, the $280 rate is still currently available, and the availability of these rates can be checked by the guest through our online booking system or by calling our Reservations Office.  

We apologize for the confusion.  We think the $299 per night rate with the 3rd night free is still a fantastic deal, and we would love to have the guest stay with our hotel.  Mahalo, and let us know of any further questions.

Sincerely,
**** **********

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

Mr. **** *********

 

I do not accept the response made by the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki as I feel the advertising was deceptive.  I understand the point they are trying to make.. simply stated.. the rates start at one value and may increase.  However the advertisement did not reflect what they are now saying.. that there are black out periods, or even reference a higher price at peak travel periods.  No reference was made to the month of July not being included in reduced pricing-- the advertisement  said 4/1/15-9/30/15.

To add salt to the wound I called and attempted to communicate what I felt to be deceptive advertising and the hotel staff clearly communicated, as they did in this letter, they felt there to be no fault on their part and no reason to accommodate my request.  .  This concerns me as I feel strongly that the ad was miss leading and they clearly do not.  The reduced rate certainly caught my attention and in fact I did book rooms, but not at the reduced rate. The pricing changed as soon as I entered the reservation dates.  This was not related to "room upgrades" but actual dates.  There was no reference to dates being blocked, blacked out or not available in any part of that advertisement. Yes- there was a reference to rooms "starting at the $280 rate".  However I understood form the ad that upgrades would increase price.. not dates for the reservation.  I would understand how base level rooms would begin at the reduced rate and increase with a better view for instance. However I do not understand why the time frame noted was not honored when not referenced in the ad.

It felt misleading to me, and I feel others would understand the advertisement in the same manner I did. This advertising could fool anyone.   it did not feel truthful to me and what most concerns  me is the staff did not see any problem. 

So, I do not accept the response.  There was no mention of dates that would not be honored in any part of the ad. I feel the hotel should cease and desist this advertisement as it does not truly offer this rate for the month of July- nor does the advertisement reflect any statement related to not being available during peak travel times. Perhaps a new ad that indicates peak travel dates would also inflate the rate?   I am a fan of this hotel chain and I am looking forward to staying there in the future. I have already paid for my trip-- and not at a reduced rate.    I am not trying to cash in on anything  free.  I simply don't want others to experience the same challenges I experienced. I eel the staff at the Prince Hawaii Hotel do not understand that this is deceptive pricing and is miss leading to people like me who operate small not for profit organizations who rely on discounted deals such as the one advertised by them. It is disheartening and I hope we can clarify the communication on what the ad is truly advertising.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******