Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hanalei Inn

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 826-9333 Fax: (808) 826-9989 5-5468 Kuhio Hwy, Hanalei, HI 96714

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers studio units with kitchens for guests who need transient accomodations on the north shore of Kauai.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hanalei Inn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hanalei Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hanalei Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 1995 Business started: 11/01/1993 Business started locally: 11/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40962244-01.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Michele L. Walker Parnell Kaiser, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele L. Walker
Business Category


Additional Locations

  • 5-5468 Kuhio Hwy

    Hanalei, HI 96714 (808) 826-9333

  • PO Box 1373

    Hanalei, HI 96714


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was threatened by phone from Mr. ******. When a family emergency came up and we needed to cancel our reservations with the Hanalei Inn i called to cancel and immediately *********** the manager advised that there was no refunds. I advised that i thought that was insane and asked her to deal with my husband because i was at work. She advised my husband that it was in the contract we signed and was very rude about that the fact that we should have read that part. I explained that i was not doubting it is there i have just never heard of this before where i am trying to cancel 90 days prior to arrival and they are unwilling to refund our money. ****** did offer a credit good up to a year. I explained i do not think i can make it there in a year and if she could speak to her boss because i am very unhappy with this whole thing. She advised me she would call me the following day by noon. She called back and said well i spoke to mr ****** and he advised that its "Tough Luck" no refund will be given. i explained i just dont understand why they would want us to stay there if im already this unhappy with the company and its practices. She advised to bad. I advised her i have already spoken to my credit card and am disputing charges. She laughed and said thats your right good luck. I advised her the conversation is over due to her rudeness and please do not call back. I then got a call from ******'s phone number 20 minutes later. I answered and imeddiately said "****** i do not want to have a conversation right now". Mr ****** said" Its not ****** and begun cussing and calling me names. He told me to sue him and advised he cant wait for me to get there so he can show me unhappy. Mr ****** continued to threaten and call me names. I called the Hanalei police dept who advised to file a report with my local authorities. (Altadena Police Dept) This problem begun as a refund issue and now has turned into me being very fearful to take the room credit. I do not feel like a owner of a hotel or any business especially a hotel where i would be on the grounds sleeping should be able to make threats to do bodily harm to me. I refuse to lose the $720.28, but i also fear staying in this establishment.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive all of my money back. $720.28

Business Response: Business' Initial Response (1000, 8, 2013/04/19) I ****** am writing on behalf of Mr. ******. He states to have Mr. and Mrs ****** file a lawsuit against him. So this can he handled in court. Mr. ****** gives his permission for I ****** to respond on his behalf. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is unsatisfactory due to it not addressing any of the issues. Unfortunately the issue at hand is not a issue to take to the court system . The owner of an overnight establishment threatened me and my family and now I am suppose to stay there or lose my money? How is it fair because a man has a plethora of money he can speak and threaten people as he pleases? Don't get me wrong I understand their policy, but at some point it should be voided when there is a threat of bodily harm.