Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Best Western The Plaza Hotel

Phone: (808) 845-7500 3253 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96819


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hotel;Restuarant


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Western The Plaza Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 1996
Business Management
General/Operations Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: General/Operations Mgr
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3253 N Nimitz Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96819

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was one rude cleaning lady who woke me up on purpose. She insisted that she clean my room. She didn't let me put a do not disturb sign up. Aloha, I stayed at the Best Western Plaza Hotel because my house was in a fire. I had to look for another place so all of my stuff and my cat stayed at the Best Western. The Manager was very nice and professional. However, there was one cleaning lady who was rude and had an attitude with me. She knocked wildly and yelled when I was in the showing to get the door. She didn't let me put a Do not Disturb Sign on the Door. She also was very pushy. She scolded me and said "she had to clean my room" against my will. She insisted that I had to have my room clean everyday - she said it was because of a pet. Then, she told me I could not have a Do Not Disturb sign on my door. I still put one anyway because I had a cat inside and she took it away. Then, I put post it notes and had to personally find her everyday to tell her not to clean. IF I hadn't gone out of my way to tell her, she would have bothered me everymorning. I study service quality and I feel like this is below my level of tolerance. The workers behavior and attitude need readjustment and need to be educated/trained on how to interface with the public. I think her name was Vernon or Senet. I couldn't recognize her name easily and when I called back to get her name, I was put on hold 4 times and then the head of household refused to help me. She finally read all the names quickly after I argued with her a while about it. There is a serious problem with the cleaning lady's attitude at The Best Western Plaza Hotel - a place that should be for business class is not very professional at all. I don't want to be scolded, especially after my house burned down in a fire. I stayed in the Best Western because I had to, but I believe in customer service as more than a profit margin - its about treating people right.

Desired Settlement: I want the manager to sit down and train all of his cleaning ladies and employees on this issue. If I stay at the Best Western and there is the same attitude problem, then I will have to do this again. Because I am complaining, means that I am giving The BEst Western another chance. I believe it is an excellent simple hotel that offers quality stay for business travelers. However, this is one glaring problem in that location. I ask that the manager teach his employees about: treating customers fairly, with sincerity, with care, honesty, hard work, helpfulness, clarity, speed, absense of hassles. Also, I want him to instill the Service Recovery Process and maybe he could install some Poka Yokes (look it up). He will see that the overall quality of the service will impove as well as the employee morale.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/08) */ From: ***** ***** (mailto:***********@outrigger.com) Sent: Thursday, November 07, 2013 3:17 PM To: **** ******** Subject: Reply for Ms. ****** ******* Aloha ****, Thank you for returning my call and for providing me with your email. Attached is the letter we are sending to Ms. ******* and hopefully this case will be closed. If there are any further questions, please let me know. Mahalo, ***** ***** Assistant General Manager Best Western Plaza Hotel