This business is not BBB accredited.

Aston Kona by the Sea

Phone: (808) 327-2300 View Additional Phone Numbers 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua Kona, HI 96740 http://www.astonhotels.com/resort/overview/aston-kona-by-the-sea ! BBB Business Review on Aston Kona by the Sea is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    75-6106 Alii Dr

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (877) 997-6667 (808) 327-2300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved (and paid a 2-night deposit for) an "Oceanfront" room at Kona by the Sea for a 5-night stay beginning 2/21/13. What I received was a unit (#417) that was not parallel to the beach, and almost at the back of the hotel. I only had my room rate reduced by $14/night, even though the published rate difference between the top-of-the-line "Oceanfront" rate and the next best room category was far more than this. I believe Kona by the Sea is guilty of a classic "bait-and-switch" tactic, convincing the patron to buy a "premium" product, then delivering something much less substantial. My understanding is that the State of Hawaii has very strict standards about what hotels can describe as "Oceanfront", and in no way did my room fit this description. I urge potential travelers to avoid this hotel, and I urge local Big Island officials to investigate Kona by the Sea for its "bait-and-switch" tactics (especially when a traveler has paid a deposit for a particular room type).

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I expect an additional $36/night (for a total refund of $50/night) as appropriate compensation for failure to provide me with the "Oceanfront" accommodation I reserved. I also expect the BBB to audit Kona by the Sea to ensure that it is not misleading potential travelers by selling "Oceanfront" rooms, and then delivering less desirable rooms instead.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/24) */ This guest stayed with Aston Kona by the Sea from 2/21 to 2/26/13. After he arrived, he brought to our attention that he did not feel he was receiving an ocean front unit. We offered to move him to another room with the parallel view of the ocean that he said he originally preferred, but he refused to move because he now preferred the unit he was in, but asked to have his rate lowered. To accommodate his request, we lowered his room rate by the difference between our Ocean Front category and our Ocean View category which was $14 per day. As far as Aston is concerned, the guest was given an opportunity to be in a unit to his satisfaction but he opted for a rate reduction instead. The guest indicated he was happy with this resolution and never complained or brought it up for the balance of his stay. Based on the above circumstances, we consider this situation resolved. We would certainly welcome any audit by the Better Business Bureau as it pertains to any aspect of this complaint... Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If I could have had a "true" Oceanfront view room (as I requested), why wasn't one assigned to me at the initial check-in? My guess is that the property hoped I would not notice or complain. I still maintain that the property is guilty of a "bait-and-switch" tactic. I urge travelers not to book at this property.