Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ala Moana Hotel?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ala Moana Hotel

Phone: (808) 955-4811 Fax: (808) 947-7338 410 Atkinson Dr, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.alamoanahotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ala Moana Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ala Moana Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ala Moana Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated: 10/16/2006 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W46945743-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Comstock, General Manager Mr. Ron Takayama, Assistant General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Comstock, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Ron Takayama, Assistant General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
ALM Management Services LLC

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/18/14 at 10 HST I followed a recent email I received regarding a deal at Ala Moana hotel I never was able to purchase it online due to error. 3/18/14 at 10 am HST I received a email regarding a deal called tax relief code "1040" for 10 dollars a night at Ala Moana hotel. Tuesday 3/18/14 at 10amHST tried to book a online deal except the online site went down at 10:00am that day the outrigger.com site kept giving me errors and tried contacting reservation agents they said said there's nothing they can do its out of their hands go online and keep trying. I tried that all day pressing the refresh button with nothing except errors after errors and I calked corporate they said nothing we can do keep trying on your computer not our problem but it is their problem that their site crashed off the whole day. Basically nobody would assist or help me very frustrating and nobody in management would even help very hard to believe this is happening at such a huge hotel . I've sent several emails with no real answers just sorry will try this again on Facebook what? So that we can get errors because their computer system crashes again .

Desired Settlement: I've sent several emails with no real answers just sorry will try this again on Facebook what? So that we can get errors because their computer system crashes again .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/21) */ On behalf of the Ala Moana Hotel please accept my sincere apology. Also refer to the statement below which is posted on Facebook: Aloha Ala Moana Hotel Customers, Mahalo for the unbelievable response to our Tax Relief 1040 promotion on Tuesday. We knew that many would want to take advantage of the special low rate, but the response was more than we even imagined. Our team has read through all of the feedback that came through on social media, our call center, and by email, and we know how important it is to you that everyone gets a fair shot once we restart and complete the promotion. We want to make this as smooth and easy as possible for you moving forward. For that reason, we need more time to finalize the details for a solution that will be efficient and respectful of your time. Once we have those details in place, we will share them here on our Facebook page. Thank you for your enthusiasm and participation. Mahalo, The Ala Moana Hotel Team Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the whole experience at this hotel was horrible! I will NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!! THE ASSISTANT MANAGER, *** ******** CHARGED MY VISA CARD WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION, I DID NOT SIGN ANYTHING FIRST TO APPROVE IT, HE NEVER TOL ME HE WAS CHARGIN MY CARD $150.67 THIS MORNING!!! I COMPLAINED TO HIM ABOUT BEING TREATED LIKE A COMMON CRIMINAL BY THEIR HORRIBLE SECURITY COMPANY, WACKENHUT, *****, SEC GUARD LAST FRIDAY, INSULTED ME, TOLD ME TO PROVE IM A GUEST HERE IN MY OWN HOTEL ROOM, AND SHE DEMANDED A DL IMMEDIATELY & CALLED IT IN DOWNSTAIRS AFTER INTERROGATING ME OVER A BURNT CHURRO I PUT IN THE MICROWAVE!!! I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO BRASHLY, I AM DISABLED AND MY FLIGHT TO THE EAST COAST WAS DELAYED DUE TO THE SANDY STORM! I TOLD THDE MANAGER, *****, LAST WEEK, WHEN I PAID HIM $542.00 CASH, FOR THE REMAINDER OF MY STAY, TO NOT CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD ANY FURTHER OR IT WOULD OVERDRAW MY ACCOUNT! ***** CAME DOWN TO PERSONALLY HANDLE THE TRANSACTION LAST WK AND I HAV THE RECIEPTS FOR THE REST OF MY STAY CHKING OUT TOMORROW, NOV 6TH, AT NOON!!! SO I COMPLAIN TO ASST GM *** ******** AND HE WAS NOT APOLOGETIC AT ALL ABOUT THE HARASSMENT BY 2 SECURITY GUARDS, ONE FRIDAY, AND ONE ON SUNDAY FOR NO REASON..HE SAID, "WELL, YOU CAN JUST LEAVE TODAY THEN! JUST GIT OUT OF OUR HOTEL! YOU ARE NOT WELCOME HERE!" NO APOLOGY FOR THE MAIDS NOT CLEANING MY ROOM 5 OUT OF 9 DAYS, NO APOLOGIES FOR THE ***** SECURITY GUARDS RUDE UNPROFESSIONAL BEHAVIOR, NO APOLOGY FOR FRAUDULENTLY CHARGING MY CARD TODAY FOR $150.00 WITHOUT A SIGNATURE & NO PERMISSION??? I HAVE ALL MY RECIEPTS PAID IN FULL IN CASH & CREDIT UP TILL TOMORROW NOV 6 AT NOON WHEN I CHECK OUT OF THIS "BLACK SHEEP" OF ********* *****.THAT WAS FROM GUEST MANAGER ****** MOUTH..HE SAYS THIS IS THE BLACK SHEEP THAT ********* JUST MANAGES THIS PLACE BUT ITS NOT REALLY A PART OF ********* HOTEL! THAT EXPLAINS THE OFF BRAND CRAPPY **** POOR SERVICE AND UNEDUCATED, IGNORANT, BIASED STAFF!!! HOW DARE THAT *** FOOL TRY TO ROB ME AND TRY TO KICK ME OUT WHILE IM STILL PAID

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I WANT MY $540 FOR NOV 2-NOV 6 BACK IN CASH! BC I PAID IN CASH & I HAVE THE RECIEPT FOR IT! THE PAST 4 DAYS HERE BEEN PURE SUFFERING!!!!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/08) */ I can assure you that the hotel did not overcharge Ms. ********** for the number of nights that she stayed in the hotel. Our records show that she stayed at the hotel for 8 nights at an inclusive rate of $135.60/night for which we collected $584.88 from her VISA card and $500.00 in cash. Our records also show that there is no money owed to Ms. **********. Copies of her folio can be provided with all of the transactions made to her account if desired. Ms. **********'s complaint regarding the security officers that responded to a smoke alarm caused by her burning her desert in the microwave oven reflects security's protocol which to ensure that the guest in the room is the actual registered guest. This is the procedure that they follow to ensure that our guest are not being robbed by an outsider. I did apologize to Ms. ********** when she called me on Monday, November 5. I also explained that we did not clean her room because of her placing the "Do Not Disturb" sgin on her door. I also attempted to explain the reason for security asking for her ID on Friday night but she would have no part of my explanation. I feel that we attempted to make Ms. **********'s stay at the hotel as comfortable as possible but was unable to satisfy her every need. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) THIS FOOL CANT ADD I HAVE RECIEPTS SHOWING CASH PAID OF $540 AND CHANGE!!! NOT $500 FLAT!! THESE ***** ******* CANT READ WRITE ADD OR SPELL! ALSO THE VISA CHARGE IS ALSO INCORRECT! I HAVE RECIEPTS THAT SHOW DIFFRECNT! NOT ACCEPTABLE AT ALL! I WILL COMPLAIN TO MORE AGENCIES AND TELL MORE PEOPLE AND POST ON CRAIGSLIST ABOUT THE RACIST HORRIBLE SCAMMERS WHO CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD WITHOUT MY PERMISSION ON MONDAY WHEN I SPOKE TO *** AND COMPLAINED! HE MENTIONED NONE OF THAT DID HE! TELL HIM RESPONDE TO CHARGING MY CARD $150 ON MONDAY NOV 5TH THE DAY BEFORE ELECTION DAY! *** IS A ***** AND DISCRIMINATES AGAINST DISABLED PEOPLE AND IS A THEIF AND A ROBBER! Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2012/11/30) */ Copy of customers folio attached.

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service