This business is not BBB accredited.

19 Kamaka LLC

Phone: (808) 669-6205 Fax: (808) 669-0129 5441 Lower Honoapillani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a hotel.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for 19 Kamaka LLC include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for 19 Kamaka LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 19 Kamaka LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1999 Business started: 09/18/2003 Business started locally: 09/18/2003 Business incorporated 10/14/1981 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is 10555605.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Gates, President Mr. Nane Aluli, General Manager Ms. Wilma Oskius, Front Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Gates, President
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Mauian Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5441 Lower Honoapillani Road

    Lahaina, HI 96761

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made hotel reservation for Dec.28-Jan.1,2014 I paid a total of $****** deposit. On Nov. 4,2013 I cancelled. They kept entire deposit They r soldout. They have rented the space and kept my deposit. They told me that is their policy. I plan to file a complaint with ******* ****** of ********* in the San Francisco Bay area as this is a grossly unfair practice and the public should know about it.

Desired Settlement: My deposit should be refunded since they have rented the space I reserved. They are collecting 2 times for the same space.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ I need to state VERY CLEARLY that we advised Mrs. ***** at the time she made her reservation, 06/27/13 (refer to attached document), that the Mauian Hotel had a very strict cancelation policy during the Christmas/New Year dates of December 23 to January 6. A confirming email was sent to Mrs. *****. (Ref. #1) On 10/17/13, I emailed Mrs. ***** to advise her that the 2nd deposit for her room would be due on 11/01/13. (Ref. #2) On 11/01/13, I emailed ALL GUESTS (this included an email to Mrs. *****) holding Christmas/New Year reservations that we were going to charge their credit card the 50% of their stay that we had discussed and emailed them about. On 11/04/13, Mrs. ***** called to cancel her reservation for 4 nights in one of only 4 ocean front units we have. I advised her that as she had been well advised, we were going to keep the 50% deposit that was required to hold the room she had reserved. At this point, WE HAVE NOT resold the room Mr. and Mrs. ***** reserved. The Mauian is willing to, even though it is NOT our policy, refund the money to the ***** party IF we are able to resell every day of the dates they reserved our OCEAN FRONT room, Dec. 28 to 31/2013. (Ref. #3) Like an airline seat, there is NO shelf life for a hotel room. If it goes empty for a night, that unsold night is lost forever. During Christmas/New Year the demand is high but the challenge to resell the room gets more and more difficult to resell closer to the Holiday. The resale is more difficult because the airfares are very high during that time period. ************* ******* ******* The Mauian Hotel ******@mauian.com www.mauian.com ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/11/07) */ my computer acted up so I am not sure my last attempt at this was sent On the confirmation from the Mauian,they said:"The Mauian reserves the right to cancel this reservation and refund your deposit with a 30 days notice:.How can this reservation be valid if they can cancel any time up to 30 days prior but I can't cancel at any time? Their website shows no vacancy for that period. Thank you *** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 19 Kamaka LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)