Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Attention Plus Care

Phone: (808) 739-2811 Fax: (808) 739-0169 View Additional Phone Numbers 1580 Makaloa St Ste 1060, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.attentionplus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers In-home healthcare assistance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Attention Plus Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Attention Plus Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Attention Plus Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 1993 Business started: 07/01/1983 in HI Business started locally: 07/01/1983 Business incorporated 07/01/1983 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20353454-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RN-23123.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carol E. Samples, President / CEO Mr. Wesley Chang, Chief Administrative Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Wesley Chang, Chief Administrative Officer
Principal: Ms. Carol E. Samples, President / CEO
Business Category

Home Health Services Personal Services

Alternate Business Names
Attention-Plus Private Nursing, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1580 Makaloa St Ste 1060

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 738-0137

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I previously filed a complaint against Attention Care Plus due to poor management of their in-home health services. After I wrote to the BBB, I was contacted by ****** ********, who reassigned a new case nurse for my mom. Services improved for a short time, but last week a caregiver didn't show up and we were not contacted before I called - After the shift. The same week, a new caregiver was assigned, without us being told that someone new was coming in, which we explicitly stated we were to be notified. She sat and tried to do the crossword puzzle until my dad told her that it was inappropriate that she should be actually working. Today my parents phone was forwarded to ACP's automated check in service for the caregivers. I had to contact the local phone company to disable this. During all of these problems I contacted ****** to ask what had happened, she sent me an email about what went wrong with the caregiver who didn't show up, but she didn't answer to it from the management stand point of what they are doing to correct it. Instead she asked that I have a sit down meeting with her and the staff involved. I have spent far too much time following up on their missteps to take the time to meet with them when they have failed to manage their business. I have far more to do for my parents then constantly spend my time trying to follow up with them. It is their responsibility, not the customers to amend these mistakes. When I didn't agree to meet with them, she tried to say that she wanted to meet to talk about "our communication", and tried blame me for "negative communication". I communicate with her when I have to follow up with her about what has gone wrong, which has been often, three times this week. The nurse and the scheduler I preferred I have thanked on every occasion. Also, mom's id and social security cards were missing for weeks, they suspiciously reappeared in a place we turned inside out . Mom is not cognitive enough to find or replace them and no one else comes to their home.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We have agreed to end services, which is best since they are very unreliable, but for all the time spent following up and trying to communicate with them, they should reimburse my parents for my time managing their in-home care and for the caregivers who never provided the kind of care Attention Plus Care claimed they would.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/15) */ April 15, 2013 ****** ******** RN, BSN *********************** Attention Plus Care 1580 Makaloa Street, Suite 1060 Honolulu, HI 96814 ******* ******** Operations Supervisor Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. 1132 Bishop Street Honolulu, HI 96813 Re: Complaint Case #: ********; Consumer **** *** Dear Mr. ********, Attention Plus Care is in receipt of your emailed Complaint Activity Report, Case # ******** dated 04/02/13, filed by consumer **** ***. On review of this report, we generally find some statements and claims made to the BBB by the complainant to be inaccurate, false, and inconsistent with the actions of a reasonable author acting responsibly and in good faith. However, in the interest of addressing the complainant's Consumer's Desired Resolution, we have noted our response below. In the past and present, the complainant has declined to meet as requested by company representatives to participate in client care planning meetings with the treatment team, which are a common and reasonable practice to address client treatment plans, concerns, or complaints. The complainant has also declined to receive company reimbursement in way of service hour credit for their time spent when participating in these meetings. Furthermore, while the complainant alleges having spent much time following up and trying to communicate with Attention Plus Care, and managing the client's in-home care, this is not inconsistent with the nature of home health care, especially where more than one family member is involved in coordinating client care, as this case has demonstrated. The company also notes that it is largely the client's spouse who lives and oversees care in their home, and not the complainant who is usually absent during a caregiver's scheduled shift with the client. The majority of caregivers caring for the client indicate they have not seen, or met the complainant, nor have they received supervision directly from the complainant about the client's care while on duty. The company has also responded beyond its scheduled services by providing 911 assistance for another family member not the client. The complainant has thereafter requested Attention Plus Care to remain on services to the client past agreed upon dates, and the company has agreed to make itself available for additional support during this time. For these reasons, we believe very reasonable attempts were made in good faith by the company to work with the complainant, and have addressed the Consumer's Desired Resolution noted by the BBB, in addition to already having credited the client without question, for complainant alleging a caregiver did a word puzzle while on duty. Attention Plus Care has cared for this client since 2010, providing thousands of hours of in-home care. Our team members and caregivers have enjoyed assisting the client and family, and despite reports made by the complainant, we sincerely wish them the best and much success in moving forward with their care needs. Very Truly Yours ****** ******** RN, BSN *********************** Attention Plus Care 1580 Makaloa Street, Suite 1060 Honolulu, HI 96814 Cc: CS WC Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Mr. ********, On receiving Attention Plus Care's response to my complaint, #********, I believe Ms. ******** tone and timing of the companies' rebuttal to be improper. Ms. ******** has knowingly responded to my complaint during of time of great distress to our family and without acknowledging any culpability on the part of Attention Plus Care. I wholly disagree with Ms.******** characterization of this situation. First I will respond to the current situation. Attention Plus Care has continued to provide support this week during a crisis, I appreciate this as the caregivers that we have asked for are very good, my issue is with the mismanagement of my mother's care. In reference to the company responding beyond it's scheduled service: My father fell from a stroke and hit his head last week, the caregiver on duty did call 911, but this isn't beyond the scope of expectation. Any person with the ability to do so would be expected to respond to a traumatic injury in a fashion that would save the injured person's life. She was not expected to treat dad for his injury. Attention Plus Care has benefited from the presence of my father during caregiver's shifts since some caregivers are not trained or prepared for their duties. Dad has often had to update them himself. As of this morning I had to update a new caregiver on mom, mom's condition, what was happening in the home - I am caring for dad in home hospice, and how to care for her. She had not been updated or briefed on any of this prior to her shift. I asked the caregiver to call the duty nurse to speak with her. Had no one been here to update he, she would not know the most urgent responsibilities. I have declined to meet with Attention Plus Care for several reasons: First - I have spent undue amounts of time following up and responding to their missteps and mistakes, they are thirty miles from my house and the time I would have to spend meeting with them would take away from my hours caring for my parents. I did offer to meet with them via phone conference. Second - I doubt the dollar amount that was offered for company reimbursements would be fair compensation considering for the time I have had to address these matters. I have communicated with them by phone and email several times, there should be no lack of information about how to care for mom, what needs to be attended to and when caregivers have missed shifts or acted inappropriately. I have often times had to try to contact the duty nurse while I was at work and never received a response. Third - Up to the time dad had his stroke, dad and I agreed we would look for alternatives to Attention Plus Care because it was causing undue stress for him since he would have to notify caregivers of what to do and when they were acting inappropriate, he had to stay at home when caregivers didn't show up for their shifts and no alternative was sent, he found that several months of invoices were not remitted to mom's long-term insurance company for reimbursement, though this had been agreed to upon initial hiring of Attention Plus Care. There were also times when replacement caregivers were sent without notice, though it was agreed I would be contacted and updated about the caregiver. Given that many caregivers in the last couple of years were not able to perform their duties, trained about how to handle Alzheimers patients or willing to attend to mom properly, her care wasn't fully met and we had narrowed the caregivers to the ones that performed all of their duties and often did an outstanding job. Sending replacements only agitated her condition if they were not compatible or acted professionally. In reference to meeting with caregivers personally, Attention Plus Care stated it was their responsibility to update and prepare caregivers. Also up to last week, when my father had a stroke, dad was updating caregivers in person and I was emailing and calling to update information. I am filing the complaint against Attention Plus Care in response to what both dad and I have experienced. He was the one to bring to my attention that caregivers did not show up for shifts, that no one called to report absentee caregivers, he let me know when caregivers were not doing their jobs and attending to their own personal matters on their shifts, and about problems with billing. The caregivers were hired to provide care when was at work, which is why I contacted Attention Plus Care to provide day time services in the first place, they were aware of this situation. If caregivers needed me to personally update them, I should have been notified to meet with them in my mom's home, which I never was. Though Attention Plus Care provided many hours of care over the last couple of years, it wasn't until the first complaint I filed with the BBB that the company tried to resolve our issues. It was the first time someone actually responded, but it took a consumer complaint to do so, with the intent of asking me to retract my statement. I will note that dad was afraid to tell me about the caregiver's inappropriate behaviors for the first couple of years because he thought he might be treated poorly, punished by the company or the caregiver. I often called about the request that Attention Plus Care agreed to and did not fulfill, the combined list of problems were resolved for a short time, but just prior to this complaint filed on April 2nd, 2013, three very poor decisions and mistakes were made in a week and there was no attempt to resolve them except to put more undue burden on me and my family to take more of our time to meet with them. I believe dad was only reimbursed for two to the three hour shift that the caregiver worked her personal crossword puzzle, so as fair as that may seem, the countless hours of other caregivers using their shifts for personal calls and activities and the duties requested that were not performed due to caregivers not being updated by management, is only a small resolve. Though, we have had a few very good caregivers from Attention Plus Care, the problem is how management of mom's case has been mishandled. I thank the managing nurse, ******** *****, ******* our scheduler, ****** ******** and the very good caregivers for their support during this difficult time, but it is unfortunately an inopportune time to deny: culpability for services not met, poor communication, rudeness, and the validity of any of our complaints. I believe that Ms. ******** response to my complaint does not show good faith in resolving our issues. Again, I thank them for continued service during a time of distress, I haven't had much time to look for alternatives, but I am actively looking to find a replacement for their services. Respectfully, **** ***

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated problems with scheduling, services, care givers who didn't do iwhat the were hired for and disrespectful attitude from schedulers. Over the last few months, while care for my mother has been more important, ACP has acted with disregard to her scheduling needs, they have sent over very poor caregivers unable to do their job and I have been met with poor attitude and no return phone calls. First, I have just experienced the second time since November that a scheduled caregiver didn't show up at my parents apartment. The scheduler I talked to tonight said that the caregiver call in from her shift, but dad promises there was no on that came today. Obviously ATP doesn't follow up on where the call is made from or when the shift ends. My mother has Alzheimer's and we even increased the level of care she would get so that her needs would be met, but I'm finding they have disrespectfully treated my mother's care as if it were less important, though her condition is worst. Secondly, there was a caregiver that was regularly scheduled that sat outside of my parent's apartment talked on the cell phone for most of her shift. My dad was afraid to tell me about it, maybe because he feared her. There was another young caregiver, though I specified someone with experience, that didn't know how to use a washing machine, threw it off balance and caused all the neighbors to complain. My dad had to do her job for her! We were never offered reimbursement for the shifts that she didn't do any of the work she was detailed to do, other than a load or two of laundry. I've had at least five interactions with schedulers who gave me excuses as to why the schedules weren't filled and/or never called me back after promising to. Shifts were filled that I cancelled, schedulers couldn't have cared less. I have had to call the nurse that is in charge of my mom's file, and although sympathetic by phone, she rarely calls me to follow up and doesn't seem to be tracking the lapses in care my mom is getting. I am very tired of trying to manage their services and am looking for a better quality care giver company. I would never recommend them to any of the other families I know who have elderly parents that will need in home care. They have offered solutions for every lapse of service and have never fully followed through.

Desired Settlement: I would've hoped that they would've paid more attention to the care they had promised to provide, but since they have been unable to, at least I would say they should reimburse my parents for the hours that the caregivers who were unable to do their job worked. There is little that they could do at this point to amend this situation other than monetary reimbursements.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/22) */ January 22, 2013 Aloha ****, I sincerely appreciate you taking time out of your day to discuss with me over the phone on January 14, 2013 regarding your concerns. Please know that your feedback is very important to us, and we will do all that we can to alleviate your concerns. To recap our conversation, the following is what we have discussed and agreed upon to address your concern and BBB complaint: 1. A credit for 15 hours of care, which has been adjusted to your statement for the week of January 6-12, 2013. 2. A Scheduling Specialist has been assigned to you, along with her email address and office hours. She will be your direct contact to make any changes or cancellations to your schedule. Please allow us at least 3 hours prior notice to your schedule changes, to prevent a late cancellation fee. 3. We have changed your Client Service Supervisor to a different Supervisor effective immediately. She will be your direct contact for any concerns over the care of your mother. This Client Service Supervisor has been with Attention Plus Care for over 11 years, and has much experience with clients who have Alzheimer's. She will review and/or revise the instructions our caregivers follow, and will maintain communication with you every week to ensure she is aware of any updates that are needed. If she is not available to answer your call, please call our Duty Nurse at ***-****, who has access to the information about your mom's care from our database and can take appropriate action immediately. 4. I will call you to review the status of your mother's care. If you have any concerns or dissatisfaction regarding your mother's care, please don't hesitate to call me at ***-****. 5. My Scheduling Director has informed her staff to schedule the weekend shifts with former caregivers whenever possible, and will coordinate to the best of their ability to satisfy you and your mother's needs. We know that caring for someone with Alzheimer's disease can be very exhausting and overwhelming. While we understand that you have done much for your parents on your own, more can be done when there is a healthy partnership between client and provider. We have provided care for your mother since August 2010, and hope to be of continuing assistance and a support going forward. Sincerely, ****** ********, ** ******** ** ****** ******** Attention Plus Care Main: ***-**** Direct: ***-**** **** CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION DISCLAIMER: This letter contains confidential information intended for the perusal of the recipient, sender, and Better Business Bureau. Attention Plus Care strives to protect the privacy of its employees' and clients' information to the greatest possible extent. Names, email addresses, and/or phone numbers from this letter may not be disclosed without the prior consent of Attention Plus Care. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/02/08) */ I would like to amend my complaint about Attention Plus Care. Although that last couple years of service have been inconsistent with a lot of non-communication, problems with scheduling, poor service from a few care givers and several issues I asked be taken care of were never addressed, I have seen quite a bit of improvement in service since filing this complaint. Unfortunately it took almost two years to get any of my concerns addressed and filing a complaint here at the BBB to get the attention of the Director of Client Services. After writing this complaint, Eileen Phillips did personally call and start to address my concerns. We were credited for a small but fair amount of hours in which care givers were not efficient or didn't do their job. The time credited was equal to about one week of service, but we have been using them for at least two years. Eileen changed the Client Service Supervisor for my mother, and she is very attentive and seems to update the caregivers throughly. We have temporarily added some evening shifts, but my dad still noticed that one of the new caregivers didn't know what to do other than about an hour and half worth of work. There is much more communication since we have added emailing as a way of updating information and I receive email frequently, as opposed to rarely getting a phone call back after calling in with a problem. One such problem was a care giver not showing up for her shift, calling in to say she did and this was never explained to me how the problem was never followed up on. We were not charged for the three hours she claimed to be there. As this complaint was being filed, one of the care givers noticed a bed sore which had developed on mom, in an area that should have been caught developing before it got to stage 3. I didn't know what it was when I was showering mom, but the care givers, previous to upgrading services due to this complaint, must have not been actually helping mom shower or toilet less they would have noticed before. All this said, ACP did promptly address the bed sore and brought medical supplies to care for it. It seems to be healing and the caregivers along with me and my dad have been vigilant about caring for the pressure sore and keeping the dressing clean and dry. Again, to date ACP has upgraded services and been much better, but I am disappointed that the service we are getting now is what we should've been getting all along.