BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

AlohaGiftsFromHawaii.com

Phone: (808) 777-8769 PO Box 643, Haleiwa, HI 96712 http://www.alohagiftsfromhawaii.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hawaiian Gifts and Products Online Super Store, offering:
dashboard hula doll, hawaiian lamp, surfboard rug, kukui nut, puka shell, mother pearl jewelry,
hibiscus, plumerias, shark tooth necklaces, coffee mug, beach towel, ukulele, hula skirt & supplies, hawaiian wear,
chocolate macadamia nuts, palm tree, pineapple home or office island decor, travel mugs, luggage tag & more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AlohaGiftsFromHawaii.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AlohaGiftsFromHawaii.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AlohaGiftsFromHawaii.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 07, 2009 Business started: 08/31/2003 Business started locally: 08/31/2003 Business incorporated: 09/28/2010 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W05617296-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W91310819-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Claudia Ferrari, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Claudia Ferrari, Owner
Business Category

Hawaiian Goods Party Supplies General Merchandise - Retail Gift Shops

Refund and Exchange Policy
This company will exchange your product if you don't like it.
Just send the product back to the company (shipping and handling fees are non-refundable)
in the original package and in salable conditions, within two weeks,
add a letter letting us know why you didn't like it.
Upon inspection we will exchange it (at your own shipping expenses), refund or credit.

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 643

    Haleiwa, HI 96712 (808) 777-8769

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quantity of product ordered was misrepresented. In one of the documents I uploaded, you can see what was contained on the order I found on the Internet. I found this information because I had entered the words "kukui necklace wholesale" into my Google search engine. Because I was there in Honolulu just a few months ago, I bought kukui necklaces from several different vendors in the International Market across the street from Dukes. All of my purchases were 3 necklaces for $10. I was looking for something similar on the Internet. With this recent experience in mind, I placed the order with Aloha Gifts, expecting to receive 3 kukui necklaces for $8.99, although I recognzied that my price was doubled because I had to pay shipping fees. In the other document I uploaded, you can read my complaint to Aloha Gifts, and Claudia's reply indicating that 3 only referred to the color, not the quantity. I know a few words in Hawaiian, but am not fluent. Perhaps, the number 3 does mean brown in the Hawaiian language, but I was ordering in English and assumed I was ordering 1 set of 3 brown kukui neclaces for $8.99.

Desired Settlement: I already rec'd one kukui necklace. I am seeking the fulfillment of my order, i.e., 2 more kukui necklaces.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/04) */ To BBB. I am sorry Mr. ****** misunderstood the listing number of the brown kukui nuts as the quantity of the product he was ordering. As you can clearly see on the file he has upload (the shopping cart page), the QUANTITY field shows CLEARLY 1 (one). There is no pre-set number to be ordered in any of out listings, the customer has to change the quantity desired in the QUANTITY FIELD while in the shopping cart. The price on the item's page also clearly shows: $8.99 each, 3 necklaces for $25.00, 10 necklaces for $80.00 or 100 necklaces for $700.00. We sell first quality kukui nuts jewelry and as an online store, we do have fees to pay (merchant service, store, credit cards and insurance fees) which needed to be added to the products price, still we sell for a very fair price considering the quality of our products. Unfortunately, Mr. ****** misunderstood the shopping cart fields and the #3 as the brown kukui nuts necklaces item listing number. He saw what he wanted to see, not what was clearly shown to him. He wrote to us and we have explained this to him. Apparently he doesn't want to accept that. We can't send him another 2 necklaces for the price he is demanding, but we will definitely refund his money in full if he returns the product to us in salable conditions. We do appreciate your time, understanding and help solving this matter. Please let us know if we need to provide any other information. For your information and review of all which was explained above, visit the items page at: http://www.************************************** Mahalo!! ******* www.alohagiftsfromhawaii.com Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******* has written, "He saw what he wanted to see, not what was clearly shown to him." This statement is a clear example of the dishonesty of this merchant! No, I saw what was clearly posted, and it is attached to this complaint for your review. Note that the description is plural -- "leis" and "necklaces." The options category indicates "3-brown." Why would it list 3 if it was not shipped as a set of 3? ******* has replied that the number 3 referred only to her assigned definition to identify the color. Why would the customer care what her numbering scheme is? No, the only purpose to enter 3 into this field was to deceive the customer. And I was taken in and fooled by *******! On the right, the price was listed as $8.99, and the quantity "1." Consistent with the 2 fields to the left that were indicating a plural item, I had every reasonable expectation that I was ordering one set of 3 necklaces for $8.99. Because this merchant lists BBB accreditation as a reference, the misrepresentation used in her sales practice reflects poorly on the BBB as well as on the community of Haleiwa. Thank you for taking the time to investigate this matter. ****** *******

4/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues