BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Gutter King, Ltd.

Phone: (808) 737-7246 Fax: (808) 621-4633 View Additional Phone Numbers PO BOX 84, Waialua, HI 96791 http://www.808gutterking.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company fabricates, delivers and installs seamless aluminum & copper gutters--residential & commercial.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gutter King, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gutter King, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gutter King, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 06/01/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W20573840-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is C22641.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is C23936.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J. Manning, President Ms. Sandy Manning, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J. Manning, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandy Manning, Vice President
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts


Additional Locations

  • PO BOX 84

    Waialua, HI 96791

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 263-8228(Phone)
  • (808) 621-5115(Phone)
  • (808) 638-7246(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company seems to be reluctant to resolve our rain gutter issues regarding the proper drainage of rain water. Rain gutters were installed by Rain Gutter King on our new home construction thru our contractor, ****************** (2012) On or about mid Nov/2013, at our request, their service technician was sent to our home to check on our supposedly dripping problem regarding our rain gutters. Upon his inspection, he claimed the dripping problem was being caused by our lanai poly carbonate cover which we had installed by ***. *** checked on this problem and advised us the raingutters were not properly installed on a slanted pitch which has caused the rain water to collect and unable to drain properly. This applies to several sections of the installed rain gutters. Since late Dec/2013, we relayed this information to Rain Gutter King so that we could have this problem resolved. But, to date, they have yet to take any action. We have been constantly met with numerous excuses (staff shortage, heavy workload, broken promises, no return of our phone mssges, etc.) We cannot understand why Rain Gutter King has chosen to ignore this problem. Their lack of response is ridiculous. We would like to have closure on this problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our rain gutter's slant pitch corrected by Rain Gutter King. Or, have another rain gutter company correct the problem and have Rain Gutter King absorb the cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/15) */ We did not receive the initial complaint from BBB and are very sorry for the late response. We would be more then happy to fix the pitch of the gutters if that is the problem. Sometimes standing water is due to clogged downspouts, or the roof itself and can not be helped. We would like to resolve your problem. Please let us know when someone can be available to meet us on site to make sure the customer is satisfied. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are willing to agree to accepting their response, however we want clarification regarding their comments about the construction of the roof. Assuming the problem is not the clogged downspout, shouldn't they be able to adjust the pitch of the gutters? *** ** **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/23) */ Yes, we should be able to adjust the pitch of the gutters. I was just saying that sometimes there are other factors involved that may cause standing water in the gutter systems and it is not always due to the pitch(slope) of the gutters. Sandy Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.