Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gutter King, Ltd.

Phone: (808) 621-5115 Fax: (808) 621-4633 View Additional Phone Numbers PO BOX 84, Waialua, HI 96791 http://www.808gutterking.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company fabricates, delivers and installs seamless aluminum & copper gutters--residential & commercial.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gutter King, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gutter King, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gutter King, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 06/01/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20573840-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C22641.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C23936.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J. Manning, President Ms. Sandy Manning, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J. Manning, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandy Manning, Vice President
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gutter King, Ltd. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO BOX 84

    Waialua, HI 96791

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had brand new roofing put in first then had Gutter King put in gutters right after.One corner had a leak (holes). I called to have it repaired. The first call, the girl said they were going to send someone out on Saturday to repair the leak but no one came. I waited until after all the hurricanes then I called the second time and they apologized and they will see why no one came and they will call me back but no one called me back. Then I waited one week and called the girl back again and they didn't know anything about the repair not being done and apologized again. I had to tell the girl everything that happened again and the girl said oh yeah, I have to tell my supervisor because she stepped out and we'll call you back but no one called back. It has been one month already to have the leaking gutter and nothing is being done.

Desired Settlement: Just have it repaired. It's not a difficult repair. If they don't want to do it, send another gutter company out at their expense.We already paid them in full. With all the bad weather I don't want to have problems with our brand new roof. If I do, I will make them pay for damages and repair.

Business Response:
Dear Ms. *****,
Thank you for talking to me today. 

Our most sincere apologies for not taking care of the issues with Mr. ****'s gutter system in a quick enough
manner.  We encountered two storms shortly after installation as well as very rainy conditions during that time. We were also shorthanded with installers.  We did attempt to rectify the issues but realized we needed some more material that we did not have on hand at the time.  We have since been in contact with Mr. **** regarding the issues and are in the process  of fixing the problem.  

Please note we were unaware of the complaint filed against us until yesterday and that was after receiving the letter from the BBB.  The first two letters sent to us from the BBB were issued via email.  That account had been closed for a while due to someone hacking it.  I do think a phone call to any company

Gutter King, LTD
**** ** ******* **** ******* **** *** ** ******** ** ***** *** ************  **** ************ ********  *****************

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** ****

4/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company seems to be reluctant to resolve our rain gutter issues regarding the proper drainage of rain water. Rain gutters were installed by Rain Gutter King on our new home construction thru our contractor, ****************** (2012) On or about mid Nov/2013, at our request, their service technician was sent to our home to check on our supposedly dripping problem regarding our rain gutters. Upon his inspection, he claimed the dripping problem was being caused by our lanai poly carbonate cover which we had installed by ***. *** checked on this problem and advised us the raingutters were not properly installed on a slanted pitch which has caused the rain water to collect and unable to drain properly. This applies to several sections of the installed rain gutters. Since late Dec/2013, we relayed this information to Rain Gutter King so that we could have this problem resolved. But, to date, they have yet to take any action. We have been constantly met with numerous excuses (staff shortage, heavy workload, broken promises, no return of our phone mssges, etc.) We cannot understand why Rain Gutter King has chosen to ignore this problem. Their lack of response is ridiculous. We would like to have closure on this problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our rain gutter's slant pitch corrected by Rain Gutter King. Or, have another rain gutter company correct the problem and have Rain Gutter King absorb the cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/15) */ We did not receive the initial complaint from BBB and are very sorry for the late response. We would be more then happy to fix the pitch of the gutters if that is the problem. Sometimes standing water is due to clogged downspouts, or the roof itself and can not be helped. We would like to resolve your problem. Please let us know when someone can be available to meet us on site to make sure the customer is satisfied. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are willing to agree to accepting their response, however we want clarification regarding their comments about the construction of the roof. Assuming the problem is not the clogged downspout, shouldn't they be able to adjust the pitch of the gutters? *** ** **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/23) */ Yes, we should be able to adjust the pitch of the gutters. I was just saying that sometimes there are other factors involved that may cause standing water in the gutter systems and it is not always due to the pitch(slope) of the gutters. Sandy Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Gutter King, Ltd.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart