Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jungle Fun

91 246 Oihana St, Kapolei, HI 96707 http://www.junglefunhawaii.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jungle Fun meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jungle Fun include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jungle Fun
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2005 Business started: 02/02/1996 Business started locally: 02/02/1996 Business incorporated 02/02/1996 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40734154-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Linda Fernandez, President Mr. Warren Asing, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Linda Fernandez, President
Business Category

Games & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Retail Entertainment Concepts

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I played cube stacker and won the "major prize." Upon request, Jungle Fun failed to provide me my prize and openly accused me of being a lying "jerk." January 11, 2014, approximately 6-6:30pm, using token credit off my Jungle Fun token card I played the arcade cube stacker game and won the "major prize," an iPad Air on first try. The lights on the arcade machine flashed and indicated I had won and random Jungle Fun customers who witnessed crowded around to watch me claim my prize. I asked my friend who was standing next to me while I was playing to ask an employee to assist me given that the there was only a picture of the iPad in the machine labelled "major prize," and the actual physical device was obviously stored somewhere else. The lights were blinking and flashing and I did not touch the machine. I was under the impression that I had completed the one and only task needed to claim my prize which was stacking the moving cubes till I had reached the "major prize," row at the top of the game screen. The first employee, let him be employee A, walked up to me and asked what I needed. I informed him that I had won and I wanted to claim my prize. While tapping the buttons on the machine he shot back at me tersely " Nah you didn't win anything." Trying to keep my composure I explained how I had completed what was required to win the game and employee A continued to insist that I didn't win. With a very rude and condescending tone he tried to make me seem as if I was a liar openly so other customers would hear and see. I will admit that it was this point that I became an irate customer however I tried my best to refrain from profanity and hostility. I argued with passion that I was not lying and more than 5 people who witnessed my winning the prize attested to my statement. Employee B approached and I demanded he gave me my prize. He check the drop box to check for anything that dropped as if to mock me and shrugged saying there was nothing they could do. I asked him if he could "check the cameras." He said "No more." I demanded an explanation and he asked me to wait while he went "to check the log." I waited by the machine for 10 minutes then asked my friend along with my girl-friend who had just arrived to the scene to go ask what the employees were doing to get me my prize. When they asked employee A what was going to be done he said " well if he wasn't being such a jerk maybe we could've helped him out." I approached the desk and employee B directed me to follow him back to the machine where he gave me a card with his manager's name and the number for Jungle Fun. "Come back tomorrow and talk to my manager or call this number tomorrow," employee B said. Not satisfied I asked who was in charge for the day and employee B acknowledged that he himself was assistant manager but he needed a password from the manager to find out if I had really won. Witnesses standing around told employee B that they saw me win and he still shrugged and insisted he couldn't do anything albeit claiming himself a person of management authority. I requested he put his name along with his manager's name on the same paper he passed me and he wrote: "***** Manager ****** ***-****" I am assuming employee B is ******. I may be wrong given I was too frustrated to clarify what was on the piece of paper. Before leaving, I stood by the machine to try and figure out how I could possibly prove my winning the prize. While standing there I could hear behind me employee B giggling with customers who had just walked in to the crowed area trying to explain how I didn't win. At this point I left and took note of the time which was 6:50pm. Employee A and B created a very harsh and unfriendly environment for me and provided very rude and unprofessional service. Not only did they not provide me my prize but they made me out to be a lying crazy person in a children's arcade room openly and with no sense of professionalism at all with how they handled the situation. I believe the name of the game is "cube stacker," or just "stacker." The approximation of 6-6:30 is based off my taking note of the time upon leaving.

Desired Settlement: A person of management from Jungle Fun stated that there are no cameras in the facility and that brings up an issue of security and trust that customers will be guaranteed their winnings on any arcade machine in the facility. This business is not operation on the street therefore there should be a sense of security and trust for customers to spend their money and not have to prove whether or not they won prizes fair and square. Circumstantial obstacles such as "no more," video footage should not deprive a paying customer from collecting what they won. Secondly, I strongly suggest some kind of disciplinary action be taken on the employees who so poorly handled my experience with them as a customer. It would be a shame to the business and misfortune to future customers if this behavior is condoned and not addressed right away. Finally, I would like to be able to claim my prize as soon as possible. This is all because they didn't give me my prize and it should not be my fault they can't explain my winning the prize. They should have cameras to make sure customers are safe and secure from ending up like how I ended up. Employees should be trained well enough to know how to find the facts on the games and machines they are paid to facilitate and maintain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/02/20) */ We often have customers communicate that they have won a prize from our games with no prize present in the Prize Chute. We're not sure why they insist because these games are "Smart" in terms of measuring skill and determining a "Win" scenario versus a "Non-Win" action. To compound the Non-Win issue, they become belligerent when provoked by others in their group and in his words "argued with passion". Mr. ******'s desired outcome is unacceptable to us. While we will counsel our employees regarding conflict resolution, we will not award him a prize he hasn't won. ****** ***** VP/COO Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company's response and decision is unacceptable and insensitive to the facts from the actual experience they had with me as their customer. In reading my initial complaint they will find that I did not press anything after I had won. Hence there was nothing in the prize chute. I was unaware of the company's negligence in pointing their cameras everywhere but at the game with ipad as the prize. It is almost as if they set up customers to go through the trouble I went through. Mr. ***** states that they "often," have this problem with customers saying they won but no proof. If this happens so often then there should have been something done the first time to prevent this problem. Cameras should have been pointed at the game and as this problem was in fact foreseeable. "Smart," is probably not the best word to describe a machine that doesn't take log when a win scenario occurs. If the company does not have camera footage or a log to refer to it seems the problem is meant to persist and customers without an employee witness are never going to win a prize. The last and final fact that was totally ignored by the employees that day was that I had multiple witnesses both people I knew and people I didn't know. The employees working that day can attest to my statement that I had multiple witnesses. The company has proven their negligence in their response. They knew this problem was foreseeable and they chose not to do anything about it. There is already a preponderance of the evidence against them being guilty of negligence.