Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pacific Home

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 596-9338 Fax: (808) 596-9337 420 Ward Ave, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.pacific-home.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pacific Home offers stylish furniture and accessories inspired by the unique flair of the Pacific Islands. The design-driven environment combines quality, imported, exotic merchandise with the newest, sharpest trends in U.S. brands of home furnishings.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pacific Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2011 Business started: 06/01/2011 in HI Business started locally: 06/01/2011 Business incorporated 05/26/2011 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W79981394-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Eden Nunnery, Member Mr. Scott Nunnery, Member Mrs. Kamala Scalf
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Eden Nunnery, Member
Principal: Mr. Scott Nunnery, Member
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kamala Scalf
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Interior Decorators & Designers

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Check, Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
Returns: All Sales are Final. All sales of upholstered items, furniture, case goods, linens, and items marked as Sale are final. FINAL SALE items cannot be returned for exchange or store credit. Accessories may be eligible for return within in five (5) days and for STORE CREDIT ONLY. All returns will incur a 10% merchandise re-stocking fee. ALL return items must be accompanied by the
original sales receipt and in their original condition, original packaging and with tags attached. All Sales are Final.
Service Area
Hawaii, Australia and Asia
Alternate Business Names
Elysium House LLC
Industry Tips
GETTING THE MOST FOR YOUR FURNITURE DOLLARS

Additional Locations

  • 221 Lalo St

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 420 Ward Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 596-9338

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm contacting the Hawaii Better Business Bureau after repeated attempts to recover $924 I have on credit at Pacific Home.

In 2012, we spent approximately $8,000 on furniture at Pacific Home. All of our purchases were made with our personal sales assistant, Ann. She was extremely helpful,gave us excellent customer service, and always greeted us warmly when we came to the store. One item, a coffee table we purchased, was on order and expected to arrive in September. When the table arrived in December, we picked it up on a Saturday and took it home. It was not as we had seen in the store, didn't match our other purchases, and we returned it to the store within two hours. Ann was not at the store that day, but I returned on Monday to talk with her. She was apologetic as she knew we had been waiting for a long time, and said it was not the table she would have selected to be reserved for us knowing our previous purchases. We agreed to keep looking as new merchandise was always arriving in the store.

I came to the store every monthor so and never found an item we needed (bought another coffee table). One day I was in the store and I asked after Ann and was told she was no longer working there. Since she had always taken care of us, I asked to verify that we still had our credit on file.It was found with no problem.  I checked again on the status of the credit on January 21,2014 as I was making a small cash purchase of housewares, and was told by then manager, Kristen,that the credit was on file, no problem. Later in the year, I was attempting to use the credit, but was informed there was no record of our transactions. I was told that they had changed to a new computer system and they would have to recover it with their computer/accounting department. I have gone through several attempts at email conversations to resolve this (see the most recent attached). They require me to spend more money($2,500) in order to honor my credit.

I have no desire to give any more business to this store.They trade on "Aloha" in their marketing,but although I was a good customer, the attitude in Lia's email to me is more arrogance than aloha.  I did not get a receipt for my return. One was never offered, I didn't ask, and I almost felt it was "old fashioned" of me to ask as everything seemed to be stored on their "cloud". This practice did not seem unusual to me, as I have more than half a dozen"cloud" accounts at businesses in town and all function with integrity. We have been doing business in Honolulu for more than 30 years with many Honolulu businesses (Baik, lndich Collection,Robyn Buntin ,the Wine Stop, and even personal shoppers at the big stores) that operate with real Aloha and integrity. These fine businesses recognize their customers, and often don't require our copy of receipt to collect items we have bough tor ordered. I made the error of assuming that this store that actually claims "Aloha" in their advertising might know what it means.

I would like to have my money returned, or at the very least, my credit restored (without the condition to spend $2500+). Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****-


We have thoroughly and completely gone through all communication with Ms. ******* in regards to to issue at hand. Upon contact from Ms. ******* we did everything in our power to find evidence of the alleged store credit for the client that purchased. There is no purchase history for Ms. ******* and the credit in question is for a purchases made by a Mr. **** *******.  The initial communication from Ms. ******* was not in regards to a store credit but was a demand for a cash refund of $924 for a return of a coffee table that may have been purchased by Mr. ******* in 2012. Unfortunately the client has no receipt of purchase, no receipt of return and no documentation that could identify a return or subsequent issue of a store credit. The last purchase made by Mr. ******* was in 2012 and was in the amount of $1865.97.  We do have a copy of that particular transaction which was provided to us by Ms. *******. The transaction is a deposit transaction (a 50% deposit for a custom order item) . There is no item name, item code or item description on the deposit receipt that was provided. This receipt does not identify the purchase or return of a coffee table nor does it identify that a credit for that item exists.  

 All store credits are processed at the time of item return. The system processes the return and the salesperson is asked to identify the mode of return. The options are credit, cash or refund to credit card. The transaction between and store return and the issue of a store credit are synonymous and the credit receipt is printed and recorded in the system at that time.  We do have a master list of all credits processed. There is not a credit or return history for Mr. ******* or Ms. ******* in the amount of $924 or any other amount and unfortunately we were not provided with a return receipt, credit receipt, gift card, or communication stream with anyone in the employ of Pacific Home that could identify the existence of a coffee table return or credit. We would never under any circumstance not honor a credit however for obvious reasons, like any store or business we do require documentation of an item purchase, return and subsequent credit issued. Without proof of return and proof of mode of return (credit, cash or refund to credit card) we cannot confirm that a credit exists.  We believe this to be a reasonable, fair and very standard practice of business. 

 All of our clients are of the utmost importance and store protocols in regards to documentation of purchase, return and credit are put in place to protect both the client and the business. If Mr. ******* could provide documentation f the credit issued we would be more than happy to honor the credit.  As an act of good faith in hopes of providing some resolution we did offer Ms. ******* a very specialized 35% discount off a future purchase of $2500 are more. This offer was made in September of 2015 and we have received no communication from the client since. We are truly sorry to hear that the client has filed a complaint. We do believe we did everything possible to identify a solution for this situation. Please don't hesitate to contact us with further questions.

Kind Regards,
Kami S****
Pacific Home Management 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The business simply says it has no records. Has not offered or made any attempt to contact former employee that has knowledge of the transactions. Has made no sincere effort to acknowledge the issue.

Sincerely,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Home
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)