Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McDonald's Restaurants of Hawaii, Inc.

Phone: (808) 585-8570 Fax: (808) 532-1580 View Additional Phone Numbers 1132 Bishop St Ste 2000, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.mcdonalds.com


Click for BBB Rating on McDonald's Restaurants of Hawaii, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fast food.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McDonald's Restaurants of Hawaii, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for McDonald's Restaurants of Hawaii, Inc.. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for McDonald's Restaurants of Hawaii, Inc..


Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 1983 Business started: 11/02/1968 Business started locally: 11/02/1968 Business incorporated 11/26/1973 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20075486-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Veronica Kaneko, Managing Director Ms. Joanne Hara, Administrative Manager Ms. Melanie Okazaki, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Joanne Hara, Administrative Manager
Principal: Ms. Veronica Kaneko, Managing Director
Business Category

Foods - Carry Out Restaurants


Additional Locations

  • 1132 Bishop St Ste 2000

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 585-8570

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Location Address: 1058 Keoulu Drive Kailua, Hawaii 96734 Occurred: 09-19-13 8:10pm I went to the mcdonalds store 3845 drive through to buy dinner for my son and i and used a gift card that my wife purchased for me.This card was verified earlier in the day to have a balance of 25.00 on the McDonalds website. Upon handing the card to the cashier, the cashier told us there was no balance on the card. I explained that we just checked the balance earlier in the day, but they said that it was a unactivated card. I had no money with me so i had to use my bank card which i didnt want to use. The next day i called mcdonalds corporate and they said i did indeed have a 25.00 balance on the card and that it was probably damaged and they would send another one to me but it would take 30 days to come. I explained to the person on the phone that the reason i used the card is because my wife was on a trip and she gave it to me to buy my son and i dinner. I need the card now not 30 days from now. I feel pretty mad about this whole incident and should get reimbursed for the 13.16 that i paid that nite. the card itself looks brand new. it does not look damaged to me. This experience makes me unsatisfied with the whole situation.

Desired Settlement: i want to be remimbursed for the 13.16 that i paid. I did everything right. I buy a gift card, use it for a purchase and get denied payment. How humiliating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, Cust. Exp. Contact Phone: 808-******** Dear Mr. **, Thank you for contacting our office via the Hawaii BBB office. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our McDonald's of Enchanted Lake restaurant when your Arch card did not work. I realize our corporate office will be sending you a replacement Arch card, but I will also be sending you $20 in McDonald's gift certificates via certified mail today, 10/07/13. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your son on a future visit. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SEVERE BURNS INCURRED FROM MCDONALD'S COFFEE even though McDonald's claims that " temperature of their brewing coffee found it to be within the acceptable range to serve to patrons."After taking first sip, she inadvertently spilled the coffee because it was so scaldingly hot. Doctor thought that 88 year old grandmother may have suffered from possible 3rd degree burns on hand, wrist, and thigh. Grandmother suffered great deal of pain due to this injury which took several weeks to heal.McDonald's only concern was to clean up the split coffee. At no time did any McDonald's personnel ask if 88 year old grandmother was o.k.88 year old grandmother notified McDonald's of this possible safety concern so that other senior citizens who frequent McDonalds would not be hurt as she was. McDonald's only response was via a law firm who sent a letter stating: "At the time you called to report your burn to the restaurant, the store management immediately tested the temperature of their brewing coffee and found it to be within the acceptable range to serve to patrons. The coffee cups supplied by this store carry a cautionary warning that the contents are hot."88 year old grandmother has been going to drink coffee at McDonald's in Kahala Mall for over 30 years. She has never remembered the coffee being so scalding hot as the coffee served to her on January 26, 2013.Our concern is that a person can possible be badly burned from coffee whose temperature is deemed "to be within the acceptable range to serve to patrons." We are concerned that this may be a potential safety issue, especially as many senior citizens frequent McDonald's to drink hot coffee. Product_Or_Service: coffee

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Customers are notified that coffee is hot. Warning label on coffee cups may not be a sufficient warning, as it may not be noticed by customers.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/03/13) */ We are pleased to have a conduit such as the BBB to enable the consumer in achieving understanding of a retail situation that arises. We have been in contact with the customer and have been able to understand their position. We have also been able to implement improvements in are customer hospitality program. We believe through this open dialogue this situation is resolved.