This business is not BBB accredited.

Terrie Easley Designs

Phone: (808) 595-3536 View Additional Phone Numbers 2502 Klebahn Pl, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://www.easleydesigns.com ! There is an alert on Terrie Easley Designs !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local flowers, floral deliveries, free wedding consultation and total customer service during weddings.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Terrie Easley Designs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2000 Business started: 04/01/1975 Business started locally: 04/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W04811310-01.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Jill Easley, Co-owner Ms. Terrie R. Easley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jill Easley, Co-owner
Business Category

Florists - Retail Wedding Supplies & Services

Out of Business

Correspondence received from the principal, on January 13, 2012, advises this business is no longer in operation. It has been purchased by Easley Wedding and Event Designs. A separate report for Easley Wedding and Event Designs is available here


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2502 Klebahn Pl

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 595-3222 (808) 595-3536

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After paying a $****** retainer per the attached email a contract was to be provided. A contract was never sent in any form. Oct 2010 contacted ****** designs regarding wedding flowers. ****** designs asked for a $****** retainer (with out a singed contract), upon receipt of this $****** a contract was promised. This was the company request so we agreed with the expectation that a contract would be provided. Since that time the groom has been dealing with critical health care issues since Jan/Feb of 2012 which are still on going. We had to post pone the wedding and ****** desings agreed to hold our deposit until we were able to reschedule. Due to the circumstances with the illness this will not be able to occur. I contacted ****** designs several days ago to let them know we would not be able to make any travel arrangements for a wedding in Hawaii and asked for a copy of the contract to review. ****** designs first stated they did not have a contract, then stated it was "knee deep" in storage , then stated they only keep contracts for a year. I have asked several times for the contract and over the past week and still have not received one. Money was given to this company and there was no contract received for the money paid.

Desired Settlement: The first request made was the full $****** for breach of verbal and written agreement/contract, for not providing us with a contract. I am willing to negotiate for $****** since ****** designs did send me 10-12 emails requesting information and making a few suggestions as well as a few phone conversations.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: (808) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@gmail.com In October 2010, ****** ****** Designs was contacted by ****** ****** and her mother who was a family friend of a cousin in Albuquerque, NM coming here as a destination bride. At the time I was an employee of ****** ****** Designs, which was owned and operated by my mother ****** ******. The booking fee was paid to ****** ****** Designs and the contract was through that company. ****** Designs purchased ****** ****** Designs in December 2010. All weddings were taken over by ****** Designs and we continued to work with their clients. ****** ****** Designs is no longer in existence and this case/contract concerning the booking fee is not the responsibility of ****** Designs. Having said that, I have all information on what took place and all documentation. Both ****** Designs and ****** ****** Designs requires a $*** non refundable booking fee which allows the company to reserve the day and to continue to plan and design their wedding. This has been company procedure/policy since the first company started 33 years ago. In fact it is the policy of most wedding vendors here in Hawaii. Once the fee is paid the contract is typed and sent to our client, which is what was done in this case. There is no signature required for our contracts, as the booking fee is the agreement that they have hired us as their designers for their wedding date. ****** contacted ****** ****** Designs in October of 2010 to hire them as their floral designers for their March 26, 2011 wedding date at Turtle Bay. We mailed her the contract and receipt of the first contract. We planned with ****** through several emails and telephone calls over the months and after several months later she called to inform us that her fiancé was ill and she would need to postpone the wedding. A month or two after we received a call from her, she moved the new date to June 25, 2011, which we did at no additional fees because of the circumstances. We then mailed her the second contract. At no time did ****** say that she did not receive the contract. In fact, in the emails she thanks us for planning and helping her make color choices on linen. From October 2010 through April 2011 we honored our booking fee by planning with ****** even on linen, which was not in the contract. We moved the date for her once at that point and any wedding inquiries that came in for March 26, 2011 and June 25, 2011 we turned away because she had it booked. Shortly after April, we received a call from ******'s mother stating that her fiancé was sick again and they were going to have to postpone the wedding again but this time they were not sure if and when they could reschedule. I told her that they both understood that the booking fee was non refundable but what we would be happy to do is hold her fee open for a year from the date and would be happy to reschedule their wedding date within one years time at no additional charge due to circumstances. She understood and thanked us for all the planning that we did with her and holding two separate dates for her. She never once disputed the booking fee, never once was mentioned not receiving the contracts and that was the end of all contact from the ******. On April 13, 2013 TWO YEARS LATER we receive an email addressed to ****** ******. It stated "Hi ******- My name is ****** ******. I'm not sure if you remember me but I was recommended by a family member of yours (I believe your cousin) from New Mexico for flowers for the wedding that my fiancé and I were going to do in Hawaii in March/June 2010. Can you please send me the contract that we had for the flowers. Thank you." We have had no contact with ****** and did what we could to make things right by moving her date twice and allowing her to reschedule the wedding for a year at no additional charge. It is very sad that she does not see the effort ****** Designs made to work with her on a contract that she initially booked through ****** ****** Designs. Three years later, from October 2010 through April 2013 she now is stating that she never received any contracts from our Company. This is very odd that this should only come up now and goes against our company procedures of making sure that all clients receive a contract over 33 years in business and an A+ standing with the Better Business Bureau. I am sorry her fiancé was sick and had she kept in touch and not let two years lapse we may have been able to help her further. I understand that Turtle Bay returned her deposit but after talking with the representative of the hotel they informed me that she kept in constant contact with them and informed them every step of the way. She did not due this for us. ****** Designs has done nothing wrong and we feel we made every effort possible to help the ******'s with their circumstances and went above and beyond. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from ****** Designs because this is not a "truthful account of the experience". ****** Designs has been asked multiple times to supply a contract before and after the dates of planning and one has never been supplied. There have been several excuses given by ****** Designs as to why a contract cannot be provided by ****** designs, ranging from "they don't keep them after a year" or they are "knee deep in storage" or they do not have the time to look for the contract and now the most recent in the above response by ****** Designs "We mailed her the contract and receipt of the first contract" is also a false statement. (all above statements can be provided via email correspondence from ****** Designs) I have been told by ****** Designs that I have not been truthful about receiving a contract from them and this is also a false statement. If a contract was provide to us why can't ****** Designs show proof of said contract. I have given ****** designs ampule time to look for the contract that is"in storage" or "was mailed to us" and one still has not been provided. The reason for this is because there never was a contract provided. In addition, Hawaii has a 6 year statute of limitations on all contracts written, verbal or other wise, ****** Designs has repeatedly told me two years is the limitation, this is also a false statement made by ****** Designs. The 6 year statute of limitation entitles me the right to challenge anything related to the "contract" with in that 6 years. I am sorry that ****** Designs feels that my request for the contract is not appropriate but I am with in my legal right! Turtle Bay as well as other vendors have refunded our money because they understand that the reason for the change in wedding plans was due to a legitimate reason that is beyond our control. I have offered to provide over 2 years worth of medical documentation to ****** Designs which they have had no interest in. I have been very open to coming to a compromise with ****** Designs because I do recognize that I had 10 email correspondence and phone calls with ****** Deigns,and that they are due some fee for that but not $****** worth. However, ****** Designs has not stood by their reputation nor their company policy to provide a contract once a $****** deposit is paid. ****** designs has breached their own policy per contract by not providing this "contract" after a $****** deposit was made regardless if it is non-refundable or not ****** Designs did not stick to their part of the email attached which states "A contract will be provided once the $****** retainer is received" ****** designs had the choice to tell us they would not work with moving our wedding date when that time came or to hold our deposit. We have made every possible attempt to have a wedding in Hawaii because of the large sum of money that went into our original plans and unfortunately we were not able to do this due to my fiances medical condition(s). Turtle Bay and other vendors refunded our deposits because as mentioned above we went above and beyond to communicate at all times our situation, including the 4 months of communication with ****** Designs. They were made aware at all times what was going on and why. I have email documentation as well as having family members assure communication was happening with ****** Designs. Lastly, regardless if ****** ****** Designs was changed to ****** Designs in 2010 this was not communicated with myself as a "contracted" client at that time, also as stated above by ****** Designs they were working for ****** ****** Designs at the time so ****** Designs was fully aware of the communication and situation with our wedding as all email and phone correspondence is with this exact employee (now owner) of ****** designs at that time. Claiming that ****** designs is not responsible for ****** ****** Designs is also a false statement. As per the above statement by ****** Designs that "all weddings and clients were taken over" now becomes the responsibility of ****** Designs. It is also a false statement that all vendors in Hawaii function off of paying a retainer than receiving a contract. All vendors I contracted with in Hawaii provided us with a contract first to review and agree to prior to putting a deposit down. ****** Designs/****** ****** Designs request for money prior to a written contract to review is NOT the standard or the norm to business practice. If said contract had been provided to review prior to the $****** retainer this depute would not be happening. If this is the norm for their company than ****** Designs is not following their policy as ****** Designs stated to me via email that they have "contracts" from business that they lost from changing our wedding date. If ****** Designs does not provide a contract until a $****** retainer is paid then how do they have contracts from business lost if those clients did not pay a $****** retainer prior to contract per ****** Designs "policy". In finality I do have 2 emails to ****** Designs asking if they received the $****** retainer and what the next step was because I did not hear from them for sometime after making the $****** deposit. I was told at that time ****** Designs had been busy and that they would send a contract. That again was never received, I also have email correspondence that states we were uncomfortable with paying a $****** deposit without a contract and I was told by ****** ****** now ****** Designs that is their policy. We agreed to the terms of their policy and ****** Designs did not follow through. I am still requesting the $****** retainer or a reasonable compromise to close this dispute.