BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Hawaii

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2010

American Electric Company, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (808) 848-0751Fax: (808) 842-7980View Additional Phone Numbers315 Sand Island Access Road, HonoluluHI 96819 Send email to American Electric Company, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electrical contracting services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2010

BBB has determined that American Electric Company, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Electric Company, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Electric Company, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: We were promised to Zero out our electric bill, but we are still paying up to $300.00 in electric
When the salesman from American Electric came to our house we were asked if we wanted to cut our electric in half or zero out our bill, we chose to zero out our bill and that's what was promised to us that our bill would be under $50.00 a month, but since having this PV system installed we have paid from $200.00 - $300.00 a month. Prior to having the PV installed we paid on the high side $500.00 a month. I was told that the reason for this is because we have increased our usage but we have cut back by removing key appliances and other things in my house that was there prior to installation. I have called American Electric several times and each time I am yold by them that it is my fault. Another problem that I am having is that since the installation, every time it rains my master switch box kicks the switch I have notified AE of this problem but they say that the switch is not connected to the PV. The Pv is hooked up to that switch box. I have asked both *** *** & AE to have someone come and check this system to see if there is something wrong but they keep saying it's my fault. I have never had electrical issues before this system installation.
I was promised a bill under $50.00 or if I didn't have enough panels they would install more free. I was mislead many times by this salesman, every time I asked him if he was sure that I had enough panels he said" yes don't worry". I have had to change my life style for this system and the company doesn't want to even come to check to see if anything is actually wrong. I am not complaining about the PV productivity I can see that it works but I am complaining about why I have to pay so much electric and what is causing my switches to kick, something in this system is draining in electric. I have had an electrican come out to check my home to see if anything was wrong in the home and he could not find anything but he would not touch the PV hook ups due to the warranty. My panel box gets so hot that we can not touch it and thus all started happen after the PV installation.

Business' Initial Response
American Electric sent an electrician many times to the ********* household to see if there was anything wrong. There was nothing wrong with any of the PV or electrical work. American Electric also checked the production of the PV system(which reports online and is viewable for the customer) and it is producing within 5% of what was estimated. American Electric does not guarantee production or "promise" free panels. ****** does guarantee a level of production from the PV system. Mr. ********* in fact does not have a contract with American Electric he has one with ******. AE installs systems for ******. However, we have tried to resolve their issues to the best of our abilities. Since we have not been able to communicate effectively to resolve the issues with Mrs.********* we have since turned the matter over to ******. We will now be following ******'s direction as they hold the contract with the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been contacted by Mr ***** on January 09,2013 about sending someone out here to check my house but since that date no one has contacted me. today I sent Mr. ***** an email inquiring about this and I am waiting to hear from him. On Monday Jan. 14th when it rained, my breaker panel kicked the switches that caused a major power outage to my whole house, this has never happened before the installation of the panels. I would like to keep this case open until I am contacted by Mr. *****.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************************
On January 18 customer complained of lights being out. American electric immediately sent an electrician who found a faulty circuit breaker and replaced at no charge(A $300 time and material value). This had nothing to do with the PV system American Electric installed. It was due to an arc caused by a gecko that had made it's way into the box. American ELectric then sent an electrician on January 28th to do a whole home inspection($1500 value) at no charge. The report was sent by email on January 29th detailing all the electrical issues. None of these issues have anything to do with the PV system. We feel we have gone above and beyond with the *********'s. If they have any other questions we would be happy to address them.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/25/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Solar Energy System Design & Installation, Controls, Control Sys & Regulators, Pole Line Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/09/1980Business started: 11/01/1946
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425
Honolulu, HI96806-1425
(808) 587-4242
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors
Honolulu, HI96813
(808) 587-4272

BBB records show a license number of W20010860-01 for this company, issued by State of Hawaii Department of Taxation. Their web address is http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app.

Type: General Excise Tax

BBB records show a license number of C24422 for this company, issued by DCCA Consumer Resource Center. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Type: Contractor

Check License Status: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/info/CT-24422

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of C20956 for this company, issued by DCCA Consumer Resource Center. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Type: Contractor

Check License Status: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/info/CT-20956

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of EJ3519 for this company, issued by DCCA Consumer Resource Center. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2017.

Type: Electrician - Journeyman

Check License Status: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/info/EJ-3519

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Sumpf (General Manager)Mr. Bob Dewitz (Owner)Mr. Ray Hose' (President)Mr. Tom Vincent (CEO)
Business Category

Electricians, Solar Energy System Design & Installation, Controls, Control Sys & Regulators, Pole Line Contractors

Alternate Business Names
HSI Electric Inc.
Industry Tips
Scam Artists Create Phony Regulators to Bamboozle

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Electric Company, LLC

315 Sand Island Access Road

Honolulu, HI 96819

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 315 Sand Island Access Road 

    Honolulu, HI 96819(808) 848-0751
    (808) 440-5098

  • 73-4097B Hulikoa Drive, Bay 4 & 5 

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740(808) 334-1238

  • 3061 Aukele Street, Ste 201 

    Lihue, HI 96766(808) 245-3727

  • 360 East Uahi Way 

    Wailuku, HI 96793(808) 986-0818

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Hawaii. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Electric Company, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 440-5098
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Hawaii's BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 02/01/2013 for complaints filed on 11/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.