Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mattos Electric, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 969-7982 Fax: (808) 969-3012 View Additional Phone Numbers 48 Wiwoole St, Hilo, HI 96720 http://www.mattoselectric.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electric contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattos Electric, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mattos Electric, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mattos Electric, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 2008 Business started: 12/04/1996 Business started locally: 12/04/1996 Business incorporated 03/04/2008 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W30268775-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C23041.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is ES7827.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C32112.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ernest M. Mattos, Manager Grace Gonsalves, Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernest M. Mattos, Manager
Business Category

Electricians – Residential Electricians Contractors - Solar Energy


Additional Locations

  • 48 Wiwoole St

    Hilo, HI 96720 (808) 969-7982 (808) 960-2586

  • PO Box 4280

    Hilo, HI 96720

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had solar electric installed on my house since 2013 with M***** Electric as the contractor. Since that time the electric company sent me two notices, a letter, and a door tag to shut off my solar electric due to the NEM agreement not being complete. My solar electric has been locked in the off position since August of 2015 and as a result I can not collect energy from my panels. I have asked Earnest M***** to submit a new NEM agreement several times and because of his delay I am no longer allowed to continue under the original NEM contract which would have been more cost effective than the new DER agreement. After a few calls to Earnest M***** I had assumed that he would not fill out a DER agreement for reasons like, my leaving a message and no one replying, being on the Mainland but magically appearing back home within 30 minutes, not knowing how to fill out the papers, and needing to go to class to learn how to fill out the papers. Because of these reasons I had taken it upon myself to fill out the forms to submit a DER agreement and as a result I have made many mistakes and the DER agreement has not been approved. My complaint is M***** Electric is doing nothing to help me or my situation despite receiving the same emails I receive from the same electric company, despite my calls, and despite my emails to M***** Electric.

Desired Settlement: I would like my photovaltaic panels turned on. To turn on the photovaltaic panels I would need ****'s approval and I would need **** to remove the lock. To get the approval and to remove the lock, M***** Electric needs to submit a DER agreement to ****

Business Response: We are currently working with Keoni to resolve this situation.  Our representative has been in contact with Keoni to see what steps need to be taken to help him out as our arrangement was to provide labor and labor only.  We did not provide the material nor the processing of the paperwork as we normally do for our PV projects.  I believe this is where this fell through the cracks.

We will be happy to resolve this matter in a timely matter to get his PV system up and running. 

Consumer Response:

I accept two parts of this response.  1st Their representative has been in contact with me and 2nd they are working to resolve this matter. 
 
I reject one part of this response.  "our arrangement was to provide labor and labor only.  We did not provide the material nor the processing of the paperwork". 
In order to reply to this response I need to explain a little.  I originally signed the paper work for the representative to process.  Due to complications the project was delayed for over two years and as a result the paperwork was no longer valid due to an upgrade in the forms required. 
My reply:  If the arrangement was to provide labor and labor only then why did the represenatative process the paper work the first time?  Why was the business not returning my calls?  Why was the business making unrelated excuses about not filing the paper work?  And my most important question, why did no one in this business tell me that they will not file the paper work even after two years and many phone calls of trying to get service?
 
One time I called the business to ask to processes the paper work and their answer was they need to go to school to find out how to do the paper work.  If this business was never to process the paperwork and they are professionals who have gone to school to learn how to file the paperwork then wouldnt it have been easier to send me an email with all the details I would need to file the paperwork myself?  Or wouldnt it have been easier for them to tell me over any of the several phone calls that we had that they will not file instead of telling me they need to go to school?
 
If there are any questions please let me know.  Thanks
 
  


Consumer Response:

Thank you for submitting a copy of the quote.  Just to clarify, you had stated, "I accept two parts of this response.  1st Their representative has been in contact with me and 2nd they are working to resolve this matter."  So, you are in the process of coming to a resolution with the business?
 
Yes we are in the process of coming to a resolution. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mattos Electric, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)