Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Volcano Fine Electronic Cigarettes

Additional Locations

Fax: (800) 385-7134 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.volcanoecigs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electronic cigarette through its online store.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Volcano Fine Electronic Cigarettes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Volcano Fine Electronic Cigarettes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Volcano Fine Electronic Cigarettes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2009 Business started: 07/28/2009 in HI Business started locally: 07/28/2009 Business incorporated 07/28/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W02833247-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Josh Burnette, Owner Mr. Sumo Kaneaiakala, CS Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Burnette, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Sumo Kaneaiakala, CS Manager
Business Category

e-cigarettes Internet Shopping Product Sales - General

Alternate Business Names
Jocor Enterprises LLC
Industry Tips
CYBERSPACE SHOPPING ON-LINE SHOPPING TIPS ONLINE CAR PURCHASE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Volcano Fine Electronic Cigarettes has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 197 Sand Island Access Rd #213

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 197 Sand Island Access Rd., #213

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • Volcano Vapor Cafe

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • Volcanoecigs - Ala Moana

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • Volcanoecigs - Pearlridge (Downtown)

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • Volcanoecigs - Prince Kuhio Plaza

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • Volcanoecigs - Queen Ka`ahumanu Center

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Volcanoecigs - Tyrone Square Mall

    St. Petersburg, FL 33710

  • Volcanoecigs - Windward Mall

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Volcanoecigs - Yorktown Center

    Lombard, IL 60148

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: LavaTube V2.5, warranty: 1 year limited Purchase date April 27, 2014Problem: Upon requesting RMA for warranty replacement (related to product malfunction error code 03), Volcanoecigs customer support representative ** *****, inquired about which products I used with the device, which I was assumed to be in troubleshooting the malfunction. Upon giving my explanation, or rather, giving them grounds to invalidate my warranty, which is exactly what they did.Per, Volcanoecigs customer support representative ** *****:This error code is an error code indicating a short. This type of short can be caused by the batteries you are using. Unfortunately, as our terms and conditions explain, use with other vendors products or products not sold by volcano does void the warranty. This is explain in the terms and conditions found at the following link and must be agreed upon at the time of each purchase; http://www.volcanoecigs.com/warranty Unfortunately, we will not be able to process a warranty on your device.The business practices here I am seriously concerned for, especially others, as this inquiry may invalidate many others warranties also. I have previously purchased, through myself, or close family referral over 6 of these devices, not one of them making it past the 1 year mark. However, this is the first time I have encountered this warranty problem with the company, understandably, since all the others were replaced under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to honor their warranty as I have done nothing to the contrary to void the product warranty terms and conditions, as they have done in the past.

Business Response: Aloha To Whom it May Concern,

 The customer contacted us yesterday regarding the issues he was having with his device. After some troubleshooting questions we agreed to have the device looked at by the RMA department to test the device for any manufacture defect. We did inform the customer that the use of non volcano products may cause damage to his device and that it also voids our 1 year limited warranty that we offer. For customer satisfaction we are still going to look at his device to ensure that it isn't a manufacture defect. 

12/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought their Inferno Ecig Kit on June 15, 2014, which totaled over $100 and had it shipped to my grandson who has been using ecigs for several years and was very knowledgeable; plus he read all their material on this particular cigarette and knew how they recommended it be used. He had it a very short time (first time was like within a week or so) when he started having problems with it having a burnt taste and smell. He replaced the coil one by one with the 3 coil accessories that came with the shipment and it continued to taste and smell burnt. I contacted them July 19, 2014, and when I told them about it and they gave me all the instructions of how he was suppose to check it out to see if it could be fixed, he had already done all of those steps and nothing help. We couldn't let him smoke it around us it smell so badly. However, I picked him up an ecig for $30 at a 7-eleven store and he has been smoking it for months now and it has a slight delightful smell as he smokes it and dissipates quickly and works great. We did a lot of research before we bought Volcano and I am so upset about this. When I emailed them and told them the problem, they said they don't cover those parts under the warranty. Of course I did not see that mentioned in their description when I purchased it for my grandson. They would not help us. If this problem had arose in 6 months, I might have been a little more understanding, but to pay over $100 for a product and it start to have burnt taste and smell after a week, that is not acceptable. I did not report to you until now because I have not been feeling well for a quite a while now. But it should not go unaddressed.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should replace it. I don't believe it would do any good to give him new heating coils. That is not where primary problem is. If they don't replace it, I believe they should refund $79.99 which is price of actual kit today (less e-liquid, etc.). I'm not looking for any refund except for the e-cig kit price itself.

Business Response: We have reached out to this customer multiple times, however it doesn't seem she wants to work with us to resolve this matter. 

She initially contact us on July 19 through our email support system explaining the issues she was having. On the same day we contacted back through the email support offering troubleshooting advice. On July 23 she replied stating she would forward the information to her grandson and if that the troubleshooting advice did not work she would be contacting the BBB. We had no way of knowing that the advice we gave her did or did not work. On Dec 2 we reached out to her via email to offer support on Dec 3 she replied with
 
"I don't know why after all this that you want to "support" him. When I first contacted you people in about a month after purchasing and you refused to replace anything, at that time you provided this long list of things that you said would help. I gave it to him and we sat and talked about it and as he reviewed it, he said he had done all of those things you require for "troubleshooting". I don't understand after almost six months you want to "support" him. By this point I don't know if he wants to be bother, but since I was the one who paid over $100 for all I bought, I thought you ought to be accountable for your products. I told the person I spoke with at Volcano back in July, that I was going to report you to BBB and I feel that is the only reason that you want to "support" us now. So can you tell me how you want to "support" him now? 
***** *****"

we replied on the same day

"My name is ******* and I am the Customer Service Manager here at Volcano E-cigs. You contacted us back on July 19 where you corresponded with ****** *****. You explained the issues that your grandson was having with his device, the customer service agent responded the same day with troubleshooting tips and tricks. On July 23 you replied that you would have your grandson attempt the troubleshooting advice, you also stated that if it didn't work that you would contact the BBB instead of contacting us to further assist you. So we had no way of knowing whether or not the troubleshooting advice helped. We are requesting to speak to your grandson because he is the one who is using the device, so we can get a better idea on how to fix this issue. If you had contacted us after the troubleshooting advice did not help we would have been more than happy to assist you further. The agent stated that heating elements are not covered under our warranty and that is why we wouldn't be able to send a replacement, we would have been more than happy to come to a resolution. We would still like to speak to your grandson to offer further support. If you could provide a contact number or have him call us at ************** if he is unable to reach a live representative please be sure to leave your name and number and we will call back right away."

Again we had no way of knowing whether the troubleshooting advice worked or not, if they had contacted after the tips didn't help we would have been more than happy to give further assistance. We did explain that the heating coils (tank) is not covered under the warranty which is why we wouldn't be able to send out a direct replacement. If the customer is stilling willing to work with us we would like to get this matter resolved. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I told them the first time that my grandson had tried all of that list of things they sent me but I would give to him. And since they blantly told me they did not warrant certain parts of the ecig even though he had problems from first few days. I also told them at that time I would not go back and forth with them that I would just contact you. I told them I was going to contact you. They knew that. It should not be a surprise to them Now they are coming back and wanting to go over the same list of stuff in supporting him that they told my grandson to do at the beginning. I really don't understand what support is at this stage of the game. Anyway they are not wanting to make things right. They are just saying they want to provide support after all these months. He doesn't even have all parts of the ecig at this point. I am not satisfied with their customer service. It is evident they only want to talk to my grandson and not back up their advertising of how great their product is. The product literally started having problems within a few days of use. He has used many ecigs and never had a problem with them in such a short period of time and volcano's ecig was the most expensive one we have ever bought also.

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a volcano e-cig to help me with my smoking habit. since purchasing the volcano inferno e-cig a month ago, I have had nothing but problems with their product from flooding and leaking to inconsistent puffs . I have took head to their solutions to the problems that I am experiencing to no avail. They refuse to return or replace their faulty product. I feel as if I wasted my hard earned money on their product, which wasn't cheap.

Desired Settlement: would like a refund or replacement

Consumer Response:

From: **** **** [mailto:******************

Sent: Monday, December 01, 2014 5:29 PM
To: Info
Subject: ID ********

I was contacted by Volcano and am satisfied with the outcome and their quick response..... ******* ****.


Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response: Aloha To Whom it may Concern,

This Customer made initial contact through our email support on 11/27/2014 he was given troubleshooting tips and tricks. On 11/28/2014 he was called through our phone support to get a better understanding of what was going on with his device. In the end though our policy states that heating elements are not covered under our warranty, on 11/28/2014 a replacement heating element was sent out to him. The Customer seemed satisfied with this resolution. 

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The wont offer any sort of refund or exchange or store credit at all. They are using the excuse that this is a consumable product. Only the ecigs TIP that contacts the mouth and the fluid that is consumed would fall under the heading of consumable. there is no reason to refuse to issue a partial credit or refund for all other parts of my 100 dollar order.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund - minus the cost of a 15ml bottle of fluid, the price of the reservoir tip and the price of shipping. That is a fair and LEGAL use of refunding items considered to be "consumable goods"

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/15) */ Volcano E-cigs has reached out to the Customer. We were able to trouble shoot the issue and Identify the problem. We are having the customer send back his items and giving him a credit so that he can purchase a device that is more suited to his needs, which is not our normal procedure. The customer was satisfied with the solution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They agreed to my offer of allowing me store credit for my returning of the defective product.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the volcano inferno kit for $79.99. Less than seven days later the product fell apart; the tank completely separated from itself. On March 22nd 2014 I purchased the volcano inferno starter kit for $79.99 from volcanocigs.com. The product was delivered at my house on March 27th 2014. I read the instruction book and started using my product the next day. April 3rd 2014 the tank fell apart while using it. It literally separated towards the bottom of the plastic completely around in a jagged circle leaving e-juice on my clothes as it fell to the ground. On April 4th 2014 I contacted Volcano cigs via email telling them what had happened and wanted to send the defective product back for a refund. I used this product less than a week and it fell apart. They replied that the tanks are not covered under warranty. However, this item was obviously flawed and defective when volcano cigs sent it out to me. The tank is plastic and separated completely at the bottom rendering the product unusable unless I purchase a brand new one which I will not do from this company volcanocigs.com. I think volcanocigs's customer service is simply a ploy to blow off hard working paying customers in the hopes that they will go away. This is unacceptable to me. I was sent a defective tank from the start and it fell apart. I did not pay $79.99 to have a product fall apart on me in less than 7 days from little use. As a customer, I want my money back for a faulty product.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to send volcanocigs the fall apart inferno kit back. I would like a full refund of my money for $79.99.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/23) */ Volcano Ecigs have reached out to the Customer. We were able to Trouble shoot the issue and Identify the problem. We sent the customer a replacement before we received the defective Item back, which is not our normal procedure. The customer was satisfied with the Solution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Volcano Cigs contacted me and explained that it is very rare to have a bad tank, but it can happen. After our conversation, they quickly sent me a new tank in the mail. I mailed the defective tank back to them also. The new tank works without any problems. I am satisfied.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned my entire volcano inferno vapor tube "KIT" because it was broken. They only sent back 1 battery and nothing else. I called volcano e cigarettes about a broken battery on July 18 2013 . They sent me an email with a pre paid shipping label. On July 24 I called volcano to tell them I sent back the entire inferno kit because the other battery was broken as well. The man I spoke to on the 24th said no problem. They would check out the problem. I did not hear or receive anything for a week. Made lots of calls to volcano, left numerous messages on there answering machine. 2weeks later I got ahold of a customer representative and told him my situation. I was told they received it but they can not find it. So I ended that conversation and called later to get some one else and told them my problem again. This person told me they could give me some store credit and I would have to purchase the parts that I sent in. On August 13,2013 I received a package in the mail from volcano. It was 1 battery. I now have just a battery. The small battery, tube tank , 5 cartamizers ,charger and drip tip are the parts I now do not have. This is the items volcano has lost. I only have one large battery that goes to nothing. I only wanted a product that was not broken. Volcano has also sent me an email saying they will charge me for this battery I now have 'IF I FONT SEND THE OLD BATTERY BACK'. INFERNO KIT WAS 74.99$ PLUS TAX. I HAD PURCHASED 2 INFERNO KITS AND AN E LIQUID FOR A GRAND TOTAL OF 162.97$. My other inferno kit for my girlfriend works great. All I have is a battery. The purchase date was July 17,2013. Order # is ********* paid by credit card with free 2 day shipping via FedEx. Now I can't get my product back or my money. I contacted volcano again on 8_12.2013. I told them my situation they said they can not do anything. I called them later that day in hopes to get a different person and I was told they would Skype the manager and call me back. I have received nothing.

Desired Settlement: Please return my 74.99 plus tax or send me the whole kit minus the large battery. The color is black. I have tried nicely just to get my product back in working condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/04) */ Attempted to contact customer to resolve missing item issue. Voicemail was left asking for return call and for him to ask for ****. Plans are to replace all claimed missing items.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible customer service experience involving returns. Retaliatory Customer Service Department uses fake names and unethical tactics to avoid returns I had an issue with a product. I was upset. I called to complain, and after 5 years of being a customer I was treated like I was trying to rip them off. After all was said and done, I apologized for being rude and then I asked them what they could do about the broken cartomizer they sent me and the Cotton candy E-Liquid that taste like garbage. I interacted with "****** *****". ****** told me that the instructions that they sent with the Inferno kit I purchased were incorrect, and that I had possibly filled my cartridge incorrectly, making their E-liquid taste like burning plastic or smelly feet. They showed no care about the potentially harmful E-Liquid as opposed to ************ who demanded I send their item back and called me non-stop until it was resolved to determine that their fluid was not going to hurt anyone. I wasn't expecting that from Volcano but I really didn't expect to be harassed this afternoon by E-Mail. After explaining that the cartomizer didn't work. This individual ****** ***** told me that they have updated their instructions for how to fill their device since I have purchased it but fails to realize the whole time that the failing device and the bad E-Liquid are two different issues. The device itself doesn't work. it doesn't vape. They told me I was filling it wrong, or didn't convey the message appropriately in the first place but the point is, after 6 months of buying and filling cartomizers and the knowledge their customer service department has at their disposal about my orders; you figure that they would see I have been having no issues with them, but when I did, it was an immediate assumption that I was at fault and there was no way their device was broken. ****** ***** was upset because I called them on their name, calling them out for being fake, and they told me their parents gave it to them, I apologized and I have received nothing but the run around. When I brought up the BBB to ****** *****, I got a response from ****, who told me everything including how he quit smoking cigarettes, and how he can walk up stairs now without panting. Wonderful, I told them stop E-Mailing me and that I wanted nothing to do with them but they are continuing to E-Mail me. I don't need this. I told them to forget the return and to stop contacting me through E-Mail and now they are sending me E-Mails explaining more of their personal issues that we are tired of seeing. I stressed several times that they not contact me this morning. This person has gone and contacted me again, agitating my wife and I further. Not acceptable. I want it to stop now. I do not want another E-Mail from volcanoecigs.com or cali.volcanoecigs.com or any of their affiliates.

Desired Settlement: I want the harassment (the act of systematic and/or continued unwanted and annoying actions of one party or a group) to stop. I do not want any further E-mails from anyone at Volcanoecigs.com or any of their affiliates. I requested my information be removed, I requested I not be contacted and as soon as they got that E-Mail they did it anyway. They had no reason to, we had no further business together, but their customer service person decided that they had more to explain to me. STOP E-MAILING ME NOW VOLCANOECIGS!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/09) */ Per customer request, we will not be contacting the customer anymore in the efforts to rectify the issue. However, if the customer changes her mind, they are more than welcome to call us with any further questions. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response is as useful as BBB Hawaii is sane. This entire process has been one big joke. I don't see why Volcano cares, or why I cared enough to even complain. I ordered a replacement for their Tube Tank from **** which fits perfectly and exceeds my expectations. I no longer need Volcano. I suggest anyone reading this public response not waste their time with Volcano or BBB Hawaii. The BBB phone rep tried talking in a sexy voice to me on the phone, my wife and I had her on speaker, we looked at each other and smiled so I talked all sexy back and the BBB rep said, "OH WELL I SENT THE EMAIL TO YOUR WIFE SO....ANYTHING ELSE?" How does Volcano remain with an A rating? Sincerely, ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Volcano Fine Electronic Cigarettes
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart