Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wong's Drapery Shoppe, Ltd.

Phone: (808) 596-2722 Fax: (808) 593-2024 1330 S Beretania St, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://wongsdraperyshoppe.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Window treatments - contract/residential/commercial.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wong's Drapery Shoppe, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Wong's Drapery Shoppe, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wong's Drapery Shoppe, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 1984 Business started: 04/01/1950 Business started locally: 04/01/1950 Business incorporated 04/01/1950 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20270504-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Melvin Wong, President Ms. Marieta Lamug, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Melvin Wong, President
Business Category

Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom


Additional Locations

  • 1330 S Beretania St

    Honolulu, HI 96814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to ****'s for an elderly neighbor who asked me to get her new curtains on Saturday 4/2/16. They charged me $142.41 for 2 63x63 curtains. I went back Monday 4/4/16 because they were too big and I only needed one. When I went back to return them, the owner found one 48x63 which was what I needed. But he said it would be an exchange cause the way they package it if he had two he would have to charge more blah blah blah. I disagreed with him but he persisted. So I made him write on the paper receipt that it was an exchange and left. The next day 4/5/16 my elderly neighbor stated the curtains were too expensive so I went to return them. Neither package was open and there is a sign that states open packages will be charged a 20% restocking fee. Since mine were not opened I never thought there would be a problem. On my receipt they stapled a copy of the return policy which states "if returned drapes are accepted by ****'s for refund, a restocking fee of 20% per item will be assessed to buyer. (The whole policy is typed except for the 20% is hand written) I disagreed with the employee stating mine were not opened due to a sign hanging that stated only opened curtains will be charged a fee to repackage. He informed me to read the paper attached to my receipt and I would only be given 80% back. I argued and he stated a policy is policy and there was nothing to be done. The policy hanging in th store does not match the policy on paper and the policy on returns is only provided to the customer after purchase. I was refunded $113.93 after spending $142.41 on something returned within 4 days and never opened.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and I would like the company to post their policy for all to see prior to purchase.

Business Response:

We will accept and learn from criticism when the proper facts are given. This customer returned her drapes twice. The first return was because she wanted a single panel instead of a pair. She understood she was receiving a pair that first time, as I remember the purchase well. When she returned I broke a larger pair to accommodate her, so she could receive a single panel. She also understood this was done for her with the agreement that it could not be returned. When she tried to return them a 2nd time, the salesperson did the right thing. One-half of a pair requires repackaging and re-stocking. We would accommodate her provided she forfeit the re-stocking charge.
I would like to commend ****** ****** for helping her elderly neighbor. She made it abundantly clear that she was doing a good deed, right from the moment I helped her the first time. I can only hope she shows this elderly neighbor more patience and grace than she displayed in our store. The Kupuna hold a special place in our hearts here at ****’s. I would like to personally return the price of the purchase to her elderly neighbor if I could meet her.  I must confess that I hold an unfair bias toward the elderly, maybe because I consider myself to be elderly too. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******** To whom it may concern, I am unable to respond to complaint due to unable to open link with companies response. The only text I can read is refer to link, which I am unable to open on apple and HP computer. Can you send link in PDF form for me to open please. Thank you ****** ******

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In regardings to the situation I remember the owner stating he had one in the back and never mentioned having to make a special package for the drapes.
Also I never charged my elderly neighbor. I made the purchase on my credit card and when the woman stated it was too expensive I returned the curtains without taking money from the woman. So if Mr. **** would like to return any money it would be to me. Since I did not take money from my neighbor without providing a product. 

If he wishes to return money to me I will accept the offer. But I can not provide him with a home bound elderly neighbor. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response: I have no prof of that statement but that is what was told to be before the owner walked to the back. Then he reappeared bout 2-3 minutes later with new curtains. Never once mentioning repacking. I even asked him to write on the receipt exchanged occurred in "case the woman wanted them returned. You know how older woman are picky" and the owner smiled. Never once stating a no return policy or only 80% return for the repackaging.  


I have the receipt with the hand written exchange on it. 

****** ****** 

Business Response:

We have a sign that is posted in clear view: "20% re-stocking charge on returned items that are not packaged in the original condition".  When I gave ****** ****** 1/2 of a pair, I told her that I was breaking a set for her so I could help her to get a single panel in a size that is not offered as a readymade.  I was surprised at her animosity because I had made an extra effort to help her.  That being said, I would like to issue her a full refund if she returns the draperies to me.  I do not wish to make any customer keep a purchase that they don't want. Hopefully we can part on good terms, I believe that is most important. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


I appreciate the refund. I also already returned the item and have a return receipt. 



Sincerely,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wong's Drapery Shoppe, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)