Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Queen's Federal Credit Union (The)?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Queen's Federal Credit Union (The)

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 547-4521 Fax: (808) 547-4522 715 S King St Ste 110, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.queensfcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Queen's Federal Credit Union (The) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Queen's Federal Credit Union (The) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Queen's Federal Credit Union (The)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1944 Business started locally: 01/01/1944
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40394080-01.

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314
www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (703) 518-6300
oigmail@ncua.gov
The number is 5099.

Business Management
Ms. Edwina Suzuki, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Edwina Suzuki, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Financial Services

Licensing

Please be advised that this type of business is required to be chartered by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA). You may call NCUA at 800-778-4806 or visit their website at http://www.ncua.gov/indexdata.html for the most current and accurate information regarding federal credit unions.


Additional Locations

  • 1301 Punchbowl Street #139

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 585-5225

  • 715 S King St Ste 110

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 547-4521

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have accounts with Queens FCU and kept the proper balance since opening to keep from fees being charged dormant account fees without any notice. I was never notified by email or regular mail of the fees being charged to me or that they were declaring my account dormant. I was leaving this account for possible emergency money in the case of illness or other need. They just sent me notices for my monthly statements while deducting fees until almost all my money is gone. Business as usual or so I thought meanwhile exhausting all my funds, shame on them. I think they should have tried to reach me by phone, email or letter to let me know my account was going dormant. They have email notices for statements and they had my email but because I moved and my mail was forwarded i did not get a letter sent by an accounting firm dated 7/24/14 until 8/9/14. Only because of this letter sent from this firm with the Queens Logo on the letter head did I discover that my saving was all gone from dormant account fees, no one up until now had contacted me to even see if I was alive or not. There is not an option to change your address on their website only by mail. I have been under a lot of stress moving and working a very stressful jobs at night barely sleeping for the last 2 years. I would like my money returned to me for these fees that I should have been notified of and given the opportunity to close my account if this was the case. I really feel violated and ripped off by an institution I should be able to trust. I belong to other institutions that have even called me with any problems with my account to ask me a question or notify me of a problem. They should inform, in writing, that they are planning to close or that the account is going dormant before steeling a persons money.

Desired Settlement: My money back for all the unjust usury fees charged to me without my being informed or even being attempted to being informed of. My beginning balance was 300 the subtracted 170 in fees without notice. This is more than half of the money in the accounts.

Consumer Response: I contacted the business directly and they said they tried to contact me but I looked through e mails and and forwarded mail and could not find a letter or email.
They said they would refund a part of the money but not all .

Business Response: She emailed us on Sunday, 8/10 the same date as the notice to the BBB. We promptly contacted her on Monday morning and were able to resolve the problem that day.