This business is not BBB accredited.

Giant Solar, LLC

Phone: (808) 721-3722 94-1147 Hina St, Waipahu, HI 96797 View Additional Web Addresses ! Giant Solar, LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers solar water heating systems and provides installation, maintenance & repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Giant Solar, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2008 Business started: 01/21/2000 Business started locally: 01/21/2000 Business incorporated 06/10/2008 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C26914. BBB confirmed that the license from DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing expired. BBB confirmed that Giant Solar, LLC had not obtained a necessary license from DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C29920. BBB confirmed that the license from DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing expired. BBB confirmed that Giant Solar, LLC had not obtained a necessary license from DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W01896822-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W22279061-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andre McBride, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andre McBride, Manager
Business Category

Contractors - Solar Energy


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    94-1147 Hina St

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 721-3722

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Giant Solar was contracted to install a 30 panel photovoltaic system. On February 20, 2014, the solar PV system was installed. Even after a few months, the **** *** credits for solar production, were not being credited by ****. On July 9, 2014, I contacted the sales person, ***** ******************, to question this. She claimed the problem was on ****s side. I later found that Giant Solar did the work without a permit. **** will not allow solar production credits to be earned until the permit is closed. On July 17, 2014, I sent a text message to the owner, *****, because the permit still had not picked up. *****s only response, was to blame the electrician, ***** ********. I then contacted ***** ********. ***** ******** stated that it was Giant Solar's responsibility to pick up the permit. He stated he would contact Giant Solar to straighten this out. No results was achieved from this. On July 26, 2014, I sent an email to Giant Solar using four email addresses, all of which were for either Giant Solar sales or service. I received no response. On July 28th, 2014, I contacted ***** again. No response again. I then contacted Honolulu *** about the situation. Later that day, ***** picked up the permit. Giant Solar did the work, without a permit issued. The side effect is that they cost me a loss of $624.20, from a net metering loss of 1803 Kilowatt Hours. **** would not credit energy production without a closed permit. I am now paying for this during the winter months, in the form of increased electric bills, since I am short 1803 Kilowatt Hours I should have had. It took numerous calls, texts, and emails to get Giant Solar to obtain the permit, five months after the installation. The permit issue was finally resolved, but the loss is being ignored by Giant Solar. I have had no response from my subsequent calls to the owner *****, to resolve the loss. The most recent attempt was 1/15/2015. I left voice mail on *****'s cell phone. I did not receive a call back. The contract is clear. Giant Solar is responsible for the permit.

Desired Settlement: A reimbursement of $624.20, to cover the 1803 Kilowatt Hours additional incurred and thus paid to ****, due to Giant Solar's negligence.