Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kingdom Builders

Phone: (808) 254-8255 Fax: (808) 254-8256 99-1191 Iwaena St Ste D, Aiea, HI 96701 http://kingdombuildershawaii.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers General building contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kingdom Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kingdom Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kingdom Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 1999 Business started: 05/26/1998 Business started locally: 05/26/1998 Business incorporated 05/26/1998 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20536520-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C21566.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C20533.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kim Cordery, President Mr. Gary Cordery, RME Ms. Gretchen Padeken, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kim Cordery, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Gretchen Padeken, Manager
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Commercial Facility's Specialists, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 99-1191 Iwaena St Ste D

    Aiea, HI 96701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** ************ ****** contracted with Kingdom Builders to build a number of projects at our Mililani location. For the most part, we were satisfied with their construction and positive attitude to help us expand our desire to increase the size of our preschool.However, in a couple of areas we've discovered we have some issues. First and foremost is the drainage system connected to a new lanai cover they installed. With the recent heavy rains these past several months we've discovered that the drainage system was not installed in a way to ensure the water would drain correctly resulting initially in a major sink hole on our playground. Following notification of this issue, Kingdom Builders dug up the sink hole area and replaced a section of the drainage pipe; however we continue to have drainage problems (i.e., playground swelling and back up water). We believe this to be a design problem, i.e., the installed system cannot handle heavy rains. A new related issue is that the lanai flooring is starting to crack and we believe it is related to the drainage problem. A 2nd issue is that we discovered the wiring in a new 3 wing building is not in conformance with state code, i.e., there should have been wall outlets every 6 feet around the room. Instead, outlets were only installed in the front and back walls and not the side walls.Numerous emails to Kingdom Builders have not been responded to; thus, we taking this course of action as a way to (hopefully) open up the lines of communication we once had.

Desired Settlement: Reconfigure the overall drainage system to ensure water from heavy rains no longer cause problems with our playground.Repair of the several cracks in our lanai flooring which we anticipate will only worsen unless the drainage issue is resolved.Installation, at no additional cost, of the required electrical outlets in the 3 rooms of the new education/preschool wing.

Consumer Response:
Aloha BBB
 
I'm writing to provide an update to my complaint submitted on October 5, 2015.
 
Today, I received an email from Kingdom Builders' owner, Gary C******, in response to receiving a copy of my complaint.
 
At his invitation, I have requested he and I meet to see if we can find a way to resolve our issues. 
 
I will provide an update accordingly.
 
R/
 
**** ********
******** ************ ******
********

Business Response:
  Aloha *****,
  Thank you for your notification regarding the complaint you received for **** ********.
  I am grateful for the method the bbb uses to manage these complaints, I have never received one before and was very surprised to receive this one. 
  Over the years I have assisted the *** community on multiple occasions, helping them work through numerous problems, advising them how to reconcile the problems they had with there ****itect and finding ways to reduce the cost of projects through value engineering.  
  I did reach out to **** after receiving this notice, I told him I was disappointed, and would be glad to look at his concerns, if he would provide the corrections to you for the untrue items in his complaint.
 I also reminded him that we completed this work in three years prior to his first communication, well beyond any contractor warranty. In addition, I reminded him, although we assisted the ****. with the systems design, we only provided a method to achieve his intent. We installed the system that was approved by the ****. 
  As you stated, there is always two side to every story, as assumed, there are regarding this complaint.
I will will as brief as possible, there are three items mentioned by ****. The first is the drainage issue. When **** first called me I about a "sink hole" which was actually a depression of about three inches deep in an area of about 10'x 10'. (not a sink hole) 
  I thought maybe, a water line has began leaking, I sent a man and inspected the area, tested the line, their was no leak. We did find the entire area had been landscaped by volunteers at ***. (sink hole)
  After another call, I met with **** on property,  he mentioned the drain lines were backing up. During our meeting I explained the system and its operation, I told him by design, the system can handle only so much capacity, it is a "on property dry-well" (a hole in the ground filled with rock) it is designed to receive the water from the gutters then, percolate into the existing soils. I informed him at that time, we could enlarge the drywall to provide more capacity but, the design was for it to fill to capacity then overflow onto the grass then, off property and into the city storm drain system. 
  Never the less, I again sent another man, he removed the soils around the inlets, checked to see if the lines were clear and put the system back together. I thought that this was the end of this issue.
 At the time of his additional emails, which included requests for us to provide estimates for additional new projects. I was simply overwhelmed with our work on hand and did not read the last item regarding this drainage issue.
  Currently, my assumption is, because of the extremely heavy rains, the existing soils can no longer absorb down spout water, creating the standing water and inability for the downspouts to keep up with the rainfall. as seen in the photographs. 
  The other two items mentioned are one, the electrical spacing of wall plugs, this is not accurate, the plug locations are code compliant, this work  was inspected and approved by the city's building inspector.
  The final issue mentioned, the cracks in the concrete,
I have seen some cracks in this slab over the years since its placement, these types of cracks occur  almost without exception over time, and impossible to control. 
  I have not seen, the cracks **** mentioned to date, in fact, the first time I heard or knew anything about the electrical or crack issues was in the notice I received from your office. 
  I went back and read every email received, there was never a mention of these two additional issues. 
These are the two issues I told **** I was very disappointed about, I also told him, I am not an email guy! He could have simply picked up the phone and called me.
  In summary, I am sorry, the bbb has been used as a tool to provoke a conversation, I will reach out to **** again and set up a meeting to discuss his options.

 Thank you, 
 Gary C******
 RME Kingdom Builders

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I sent a follow up email after receiving a direct email from Mr. C****** (see attached) in which (a) he apologized (at least 3 times) for not responding to my requests for updates which is the crux of my frustration and basis for my original BBB complaint. 

Much of what he said in his official response to you counters what he provided me in his direct email of Oct. 7. Of most interest is his saying in his official response the  sink hole was only 3 inches. If that was the case, why would he have his workers dig up and replace  several feet of drainage pipes which by the way, per his workers, said were installed with the drainage holes upside down (not mentioned in Mr. C******'s letter).

Concerning his statement that the playground was leveled by volunteers is not entirely true. We had a professional landscaper level the ground and it was done a second time by Hawaii Turfgrass prior to their installing sod and a sprinkler system.

I felt in my 2nd response to BBB, which I shared with Mr. C******, I acknowledged that he had in fact helped us out in many ways and that I was open to meeting with him. With his response to you, I'm now unsure that such a meeting would be productive.


Sincerely,

**** ******** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kingdom Builders
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)