Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

H.K. Construction Corp.

Phone: (808) 841-1800 Fax: (808) 841-8333 View Additional Phone Numbers 905 Factory St, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://www.hkchawaii.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential & commercial construction & remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H.K. Construction Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for H.K. Construction Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on H.K. Construction Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 2008 Business started: 08/13/1993 in HI Business started locally: 08/13/1993 Business incorporated 02/15/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W24560791-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BC31400.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BC25837.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angie Kim, President Mr. Harry Kim III, Vice President Ms. Olivia Ucker
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angie Kim, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Olivia Ucker
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Improvements Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
HK Construction Corp.
Industry Tips
HOME IMPROVEMENT & REMODELING

Additional Locations

  • 905 Factory St

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 753-5637 (808) 841-1800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An HK Construction contract was signed on 6/14/2013 to repair our deck (which serves as a roof to a lower level), replace a column supporting our house and to do other miscellaneous repair work related to the deck. The completion time was estimated to take 120 days. The flooring/waterproofing/top coating of the deck did not turn out as HK expected and was also not acceptable to us. A "change order" to correct this error was signed 9/8/2014...estimated completion time 20 days. Nine months have now passed and our deck is still not completed! To HK's credit, they did run into a problem with a subsequent roofer they hired which caused some delay. We have been very patient and understanding, but two years to complete a job estimated to take 140 days is ridiculous. Each time we contact HK Construction asking for status, we are given nothing but excuses. Their main excuse is there are few contractors who apply elastomeric-type coatings on decks/roofs.

Desired Settlement: We want HK Construction to stop making excuses and placing us at the bottom of their customer list. A four generation construction company with over 35 years of experience must have many contacts with contractors and subcontractors...hire someone who will finish our job immediately and correctly!

Business Response: The contract signed on 6/14/2013 included the scope of work of a deck renovation, railing replacement, elastomeric coatings, replacing rotten members, and replacing a CMU structural column and gussets.

The original work was completed according to contract.   The subsequent work relating to re-doing the coating was covered under our warranty work for the initial construction contract.  The deck was redone and is complete.
The existing work to be done is a cosmetic repair due to rain when the elastomeric coating was applied.  With due diligence our subcontractor tried to return several times to correct the coating but was delayed by rain or other circumstances.
Due to this we at HK tried to look for another sub-contractor to redo the coating, unfortunately we have not been able to secure a licensed, reputable contractor qualified to apply this type of coating that is available and willing to do the job.
We have offered to bring back our original sub-contractor, but our client is reluctant.  
We do understand the length of time elapsed is frustrating to our clients, but in no means have we made excuses or put them at the bottom of our customer list.  Our clients are always at the forefront of our thoughts and we try our best to make sure 
our projects are completed with excellence and with client satisfaction in mind.
We are willing to complete the minor cosmetic corrections with our previous sub-contractor as no other contractor is available at this time. 
 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is reluctantly satisfactory to me. 
     The contract signed 6/14/2013 is as described by HK Construction. What they fail to include is:
     1. Our deck is approximately 12'X50', is three stories up, made of *** wood with waterproof coating and serves as a roof to two floors below.
     2. Upon stripping the original waterproof coating on our deck, rotted areas of *** were discovered. HK Constr repaired these areas with *** thinner (but largest available on the market) than our original ***.
     3. To avoid dips between the difference in size of the old *** with the new *** and to eliminate cupping of water that *** creates, HK Constr suggested 1/4" plywood be laid on top of the *** and then the waterproof coating applied.
     4. Trusting their experience, we agreed.
     5. The 1/4" plywood proved to be inadequate and a "spongy", "weak" feeling underfoot at most seams was created.
     6. HK Constr agreed this wasn't the best decision and offered three choices to fix this problem.
     7. We chose one of their choices and signed an addendum to the original contract and paid an additional $5,330 for the fix. This was executed and paid for in 9/2014 (over 1 year from the original 120-day contract).
     8. 3/4" plywood was used and was acceptable as the fix. The subcontractor, however, did poorly with the finish waterproof coating--some imperfections caused by rain but most caused by poor workmanship. This was in 11/2014.
     9. Since 11/2014, it has been a nightmare of patiently waiting and waiting and hearing excuses the subcontractor wasn't cooperating with HK and that HK was seeking a new subcontractor and couldn't find one willing to do the job.
     10. Finally after waiting 8 additional months after the 3/4" plywood was installed (and over 2 years from the initial signing of the 120-day contract), we contacted the BBB.
     11. All we want and have ever wanted is our deck completed and the walk-through on the other work completed. How long is a customer supposed to wait. Our patience finally ran out. I hope the future doesn't mirror the past and that HK completes their work without further delay. 

Sincerely,

******* *****







Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on H.K. Construction Corp.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)