This business is not BBB accredited.

ChrisContract, Inc.

Phone: (808) 263-2288 Fax: (808) 263-2258 View Additional Phone Numbers 1349 Aalapapa Dr, Kailua, HI 96734


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting which includes residential homes, small commercial work, residential development and spec home marketing.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for ChrisContract, Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ChrisContract, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2006 Business started: 06/19/1987 Business started locally: 06/19/1987 Business incorporated 06/19/1987 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

GET-Oahu District Office
830 Punchbowl St, Honolulu HI 96813
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20390372-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is BC14229.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is BC15882.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher R. Johnston, President Ms. Linda N. Johnston, Treasurer Ms. Mary M. Johnston, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher R. Johnston, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Builders Construction & Remodeling Services Contractor - Commercial Building Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1349 Aalapapa Dr

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of 1/28/16, ChrisContract, Inc, directed by Chris J******* & Polly K********, stopped well short of completing contracted work on a major home addition & remodeling project. J******* stated that he is out of money, has admitted to misappropriation of contract funds, but has not declared bankruptcy & continues to operate. Further, he is significantly delinquent in payment ($85K+) of subcontractors & suppliers & well past the 190 days of contract duration. The home is unlivable and unsecured with no finish electrical, an unconnected sewer line, a non-functional kitchen & laundry, & fall hazards due to lack of banister & stair railings. Minimal flooring is installed. A major door remains uninstalled as do other windows & doors. There is no finish interior/exterior paint, considerable finish carpentry remains, & the driveway & walkways are not poured. Prior to 1/28/16, Mr. J******* failed to provide us with any notice of financial distress. As of 1/24/16, he sent a completion schedule which showed significant activity resulting in completion on 3/21/16. Also on 1/24/16, he sent a spreadsheet showing executed vs. bid dollars. Analyzing this spreadsheet with the assumption that contract payments were applied solely to the job, J******* should still have been solvent & current with all subcontractors & suppliers. J*******'s work stoppage & significant overrun of contract duration continue to cause our family of seven children ages 14-3 considerable hardship & expense as we remain in a cramped rental home (3 bedroom, 2 bath - 1,679 square feet) & are now financially compelled to move back into an unfinished & unsafe home, faced with construction liens, while we attempt to raise the money to make the home safe, if not comfortable. Note that on the business website home page, www.chriscontract.com, BBB Accreditation is indicated. Yet, this business is, in fact, not accredited with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Prompt fulfillment of the contract & all additional work/change orders. Remuneration for work, otherwise covered in the contract, paid for by us since work stoppage 1/28/2016. Payment currency with all subcontractors & suppliers pertinent to this contract. Remuneration of rent paid for time spent in rental beyond contract duration (12/2015, 1/2016, & 2/2016 x $3,195/mo = $9,585).

Business Response:

The client was sent a cost break down spread sheet statement showing the cost of the project up to the date in question. The cost of the project was documented on emails per weekly reports form the start of the project to the time when the allocated contract funds were no longer available per owners request.  We were told by the owners request per email and signed document dated Jan 26, 2016 to suspend work personally and all subcontractors effective at that time.  

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

We reject ChrisContract’s reply.  It neither addresses  our complaint nor offers any resolution. 

As stated in the initial complaint, ChrisContract, Inc. remains in default of our fixed fee contract for major home addition and remodeling.  The basic facts of the complaint remain unaddressed:

-          --As of 1/28/2016, ChrisContract stopped well short of completing the contracted work

-          --ChrisContract failed to complete the project within the contracted 190 days duration

-          --ChrisContract has accumulated significant delinquent debt to subcontractors/suppliers pertinent to the contract.  That debt remains unpaid and exceeds $85,000.00 (15% of the total contract).  Some of this debt is nearly 1 year overdue.  ChrisContract failed to advise us of his non-payment. 

The following addresses ChrisContract’s statement:  “We were told by the owners request per email and signed document dated Jan. 26, 2016 to suspend work personally and all subcontractors effective that time.”  Indeed we did suspend work for a single day due to mounting evidence of financial irregularity and likely fraud.  Please consider the following:

-         --On 12/10/2015, the ChrisContract’s painting subcontractor inquired of us (homeowners) directly why ChrisContract had laid him off.  In his email, the painter recognized the substantial amount of painting work remaining and stated his desire to work through the holidays.  We addressed this with ChrisContract at the time and received a response discrediting to the painter.

-        -- On 12/21/2015 and 12/22/2015, ChrisContract’s electrical subcontractor contacted us directly to ascertain why he had received no progress payments for electrical rough-in (rough-in inspection passed 9/29/2015).  We addressed this with ChrisContract at the time and received and unsatisfying response.

-         --During the week of 1/18/2016, our architect relayed disconcerting news from his colleague, ChrisContract’s cabinet/ door/window supplier, that ChrisContract was deeply indebted to said supplier who had provided substantial material for our home’s construction.

-        --On 1/24/2016, ChrisContract provided us with the “spread sheet statement showing the cost of the project up to the date in question” (as stated in the ChrisContract BBB response).  Line 13i (Overhead & Profit 12%) indicated expenses of $41,200.00 and line 10a (Rough Electrical) showed $0.00.  See "Expenses to Date" column of the attached ****** Spread Sheet 01-24-2016.  The previous such spreadsheet provided 9/20/2015 indicated values of $0.00 (13i) and $16,000.00 (10a).  See "Expenses to Date" column of the attached ****** Spread Sheet 09-20-2015.  Why would the rough electrical expense disappear, particularly in light of the electrician’s payment queries?  Why would ChrisContract be collecting profit and overhead while his project electrical subcontractor and cabinet/door/window supplier remained unpaid or non-current on payment?

-          --On 1/25/2016, our architect told us that ChrisContract had informed another common client of theirs that he was defaulting on his contract with them.  The architect advised that we get an attorney and brace for similar news at our scheduled meeting with ChrisContract the following day.

Given our faithful and current payments to ChrisContract and the above evidence, we felt it prudent to take a one day pause to have our scheduled meeting with ChrisContract and the architect to review the financial standing of the contract.  Following our 1/26/2016 meeting, we stressed the importance of ChrisContract meeting his obligation to provide lien releases.  We directed resumption of work effective 1/27/2016.  My email to ChrisContract of 1/27/2016 stated, “Recapping our conversation this morning, we would like to resume work pertinent to our contract.”  ChrisContract acknowledged this email on 1/28/2016 replying:  “As we disused (sic) in the meeting I have no way of paying for any additional work whether it be for labor or materials until we figure out the finances.  If you can’t make any of those payments to those venders or suppliers then I can’t move forward with the project.”

As of 1/28/2016, the project stood vastly incomplete and uninhabitable as detailed in the original complaint and 298 days from Notice to Proceed (4/6/2015) on a contract that specified 190 days duration.  Additionally, the expenses reported on the 1/24/2016 spreadsheet referenced above and referenced in the ChrisContract BBB “Message from Business” showed expenses 15% below the revenue collected via our contract payments, despite the inclusion of ChrisContract profit!    

Regarding ChrisContract’s statement:  “The cost of the project was documented on emails per weekly reports form (sic) the start of the project to the time when the allocated contract funds were no longer available per owners request”, the phrase “per owners request” does not apply.  We did not request the above mentioned weekly reports and we certainly did not request that contract funds be no longer available.

The lack of availability of contract funds is the substance of this complaint.  We responded promptly and in full to every ChrisContract invoice.  During the 1/26/2016 meeting mentioned above, ChrisContract stated that he had misappropriated our contract funds, using them to pay delinquent General Excise Tax for renewal of his contractor’s license and to pay unrelated credit card debt.  These statements are validated by a written witness statement from our architect who attended this meeting (see attached).  This misappropriation of funds resulted in the lack of fund availability for the purpose it was intended and contracted for

In order to resolve this complaint, ChrisContract must take responsibility for this misappropriation of contract funds that has resulted in his contract default, pay the delinquent debt to the subcontractors and suppliers who furnished labor and materials under the contract, complete the contract, and pay for the mounting damages associated with his ongoing failure to meet contract duration.  Failing the above, we request that the Better Business Bureau continue to investigate this complaint and reflect its findings in ChrisContract’s BBB accreditation and ratings.  

Sincerely,

******* ******

Business Response:

Complaint ********.


We still contend that we were herby contacted by owners on Jan 26th 2016 to suspend all work effective immediate and then subsequently that same day by written notification by owners.  We have asked the owners if we can be on site during weekly business hours to do work but have been told not to show up during those working hours. 


Mahalo


Chris J*******


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********


We categorically deny ChrisContract’s rebuttal that we suspended work beyond 1/26/2016. 

Our attached email to ChrisContract of 1/27/2016 (quoted in our previous rebuttal) speaks for itself “Recapping our conversation this morning, we would like to resume work pertinent to our contract.”  ChrisContract acknowledged in the attached 1/28/2016:  “As we disused (sic) in the meeting I have no way of paying for any additional work whether it be for labor or materials until we figure out the finances.  If you can’t make any of those payments to those venders or suppliers then I can’t move forward with the project. “

Our position remains unchanged – ChrisContract is not only invited, but expected to perform under contract.  We invited ChrisContract to meet with us this past Friday/8APR2016 to discuss and restate this position, but ChrisContract refused to meet with us.




Sincerely,

******* ******

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on ChrisContract, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)