Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Adon Solar?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Adon Solar

Phone: (808) 236-1110 Fax: (808) 236-1700 45-781A Kamehameha Hwy., Kaneohe, HI 96744 http://www.adonconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting & solar renewable energy contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Adon Solar meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Adon Solar include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Adon Solar
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 1997 Business started: 01/02/1991 Business started locally: 01/02/1991 Business incorporated: 01/02/1991 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C16511.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20435960-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is AC-32769.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Chen, President Michelle Wai, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Chen, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Solar Energy System Design & Installation

Alternate Business Names
Adon Construction, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 45-781A Kamehameha Hwy.

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Solar panels were installed the day after we signed the contract in June 2013. As of this date (5/28/14), the last service item has not been rendered, which is to teach us how to monitor the efficiency of the solar panels. It has been at least 2 months since I have requested this service without any response. I have experienced poor communication with management, in that, as new personnel took over a position, little or no follow-up on pending services were fulfilled. There seems to be a "revolving door" situation in personnel. I have written to the owner of the company, ******* **** without any reply. Product_Or_Service: solar panels/service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like ADON Solar to teach us how to monitor the efficiency of the solar panels. Almost a year to complete this project is so unacceptable and a response by the owner would be very nice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ Aloha and to whom it may concern, We at Adon do our best to accomidtae our clients needs. In response to ***** formal complaint we would like to mediate and remedy the issue. In defense of Adon we would like to take this time to respond and share our side. Homeowners **** and ***** received a Proposal on June 13, 2013 and signed proposal acceptence on June 14, 2013. Permits for a new phtotvaltic and meter upgrade where pulled 06/18/2013 and executed in 2014. Invoices where followed and broken down by deposit, completion and permit closure ( 50% upon signing of contract, 40% due on completion of work and 10% upon completion of CCH inspections.) As of January 20, 2014 **** and *****s Photovaltic system has been in Technical review and then approved and executed on 03/24/2014. Since I opperations support new with company I apologise if Adon had drop the ball prior and would help resolve her issue at the best of my ability. Adon has been in contact with **** since March of 2014. Per ***** request to monitor her system through *** (this is optional to customers only per their request they will receive a personal login). We then Generated a user login and password for her use. She also requested cleaning of panels Adon immediately sent someone out to wash and clean her PV system. With in the process our Tech whom was working wih **** parted with the company and we assumed this was completed. **** then contacted us again which we promptly replied and apologise for any miss understanding. Adon emailed **** once aagin explaining *** "Alternate power systems" and if she needed any furture help we would be glad to assist her needs. We where under the empression she was happy and needed no furture asistance. In June of 2014 we received a formal letter of complaint with your company "BBB" indicating we have failed to meet Mrs. and Mr. ********* needs. We have emailed her and called but no repsonse, Its seems we are playing tag. June 10 our Tech decided to nolonger wait and knock on her door to help **** with understanding monitoring her system and was informed by Mr. ******** **** is out of town. Adon Tech Team informed Mr. ******** system is up running perfectly fine, left a business card and told Mr. ******** upon ***** return please have her call us to schedule an appointment if she still needs some assistance. I have attached all emails and service call form for your review and hoping to have this complaint nuld and issue remedied as its our goal to ensure every customers satisfaction. If you have any questions please feel free to call our office at ******* and ask for Solar operations. Sincerely Adon Operations Support Team Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, I was successful in login into ***, but I don't know how to interpret the solar graph. I requested this help and was told that someone knowledgeable would teach me how to interpret the solar graph via email, which I have not received. An on site visit was not expected. I also emailed ADON that I would be away from home for 2 weeks during which time an on site visit was made and not appreciated or productive. I mentioned a "revolving door" syndrome in my initial complaint in which the "ball is dropped." We have had several experiences when the contact person is no longer employed by ADON. Some situations are: I have called to request a "paid in full" statement necessary for tax purposes and was told that the accountant is new and the statement is forth coming. Yes, I expected the solar panels to be washed because it was almost a year since it went up and the connect person agreed that it was necessary...I believe this contact person is no longer with ADON. In December, 2013 of this project, a new electrician was hired and by January, he was no longer employed by ADON. This "revolving door" left us wondering what's next and who would be coming to our door. Assumptions were made which did not "connect the dots" including us and so we were left time fleeting and wasted. I believe we have done our part and ask that ADON complete their end by teaching me how to interpret the solar graph. I regret doing business with ADON. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/20) */ Aloha and to whom it may concern, Please see additional emails in regards to Case #******** **** ********. *** our Lead Tech has been in close contact with **** also physically met with **** to go over PV Monitoring training. I hope these emails help we will also give a discount on her finally billing. If you have any questions please contact me via email. Mahalo and have a great weekend ************************** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As stated, ***, ADON's Customer Service Manager, came to my home and had a training session on the monitoring system with me. He also answered my question re: why electricity failed when power was interrupted. I am able to contact him for future concerns/questions. I am satisfied with the resolutions.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM INSTALLED APRIL 2013. NEM INSTALLED AFTER 10 MONTHS. ELEC. BILLS STILL HIGH. ASKED COMPANY TO CK ON SYSTEM. NO ISSUES FOUND. PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM WAS INSTALLED IN APRIL 2013. THERE WERE VARIOUS DELAYS IN GETTING THE CONTRACT TO HAWN ELEC. I REQ. COPY OF CONTRACT AND RECEIPT OF PAYMENT BUT TO DATE, I STILL DON'T HAVE EITHER IN MY POSSESSION. EMAILED THE COMPANY ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS BUT EXCUSES WERE MADE AND ACTION VERY SLOW. I ADVISED THEM THAT I WAS NOT A SATISFIED CUSTOMER AND WOULD BE FILING A COMPLAINT WITH BBB BUT STILL NOTHING POSITIVE ABOUT MY EXPERIENCE WITH THEM.

Desired Settlement: IT SEEMS THAT THE SYSTEM THAT THEY INSTALLED, IS NOT PRODUCING AS IT SHOULD. I WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE ANOTHER SYSTEM INSTALLED BUT AT THE LAST MINUTE THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HAVE IT AND WAS GOING TO USE ANOTHER SYSTEM WHICH WAS COMPARABLE. OBVIOUSLY IT WAS NOT. I WOULD LIKE THEIR BETTER EQUIPMENT INSTALLED SO IT COULD LIVE UP TO THE HYPE OF THE PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM AND ITS LOWERING OF MY ELECTRIC BILL.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/03/28) */ From: ******* * **** (mailto:*******@adonconstruction.com) Sent: Friday, March 28, 2014 9:29 AM To: **** ******** Cc: *****@adonsolar.com; ******** Subject: RE: Case # ********: Ms ***** *** Aloha **** - Thank you so much for the email. ***** informed me that the issues with Ms. *** have been resolved. She will be following up with you shortly. Mahalo, *******

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service