Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Allen Canter Contracting

Phone: (808) 282-8922 1276 Young St, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.woodflooringhonolulu.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a flooring contractor and offers installation and inspection services in the area of hardwood flooring, as well as installation of ceramic and vinyl tile.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Canter Contracting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Canter Contracting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Canter Contracting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1979 in HI Business started locally: 09/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W00238962-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C13096.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Allen T. Canter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allen T. Canter, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor and I signed a contract whereby we agreed to a three year warranty. Workmanship issues are now a issuse and he is ignoring the contract. We signed a contract during September 2011 to install tile in the kichen/hallway and storage closet. Contractor was paid in full $2100 per the contract. During May 2013, I purposely inspected the property since my tenant moved out. I noticed that the grout in the kitchen and hallway was cracking and there was loose tile. Contractor inspected the tile as well stating he would repair the grout as a "courtesy". He failed to do it during my week stay. Subsequent emails later resulted revealed he forgot he signed a contract until I sent him a copy. We argued back and forth as to the cause and repair the grout was a cosmetic approach. In a subsequent email from the Contractor (enclosed), he finally admitted that his son failed to follow the Tile Council of North Amercia recommendations regarding the preparing of the subfloor. He offered to replace the tile that I furnished, prepare the subfloor and re-install for a price of $1000 plus a letter absolving him from further warranty issues. I counter offer inthe spirit of cooperation to pay $500 plus the letter but the warranty remained for the storage closet floor. He agreed but the job had to be done before July 1st. About 5 days before July 1st, he sent an email claiming he could not do the job before July 1st and offered to reimburse us for $1700 plus supply the tile that needed to be replaced. I agreed but wanted him to send me a sample of the tile for my approval. He never responded and failed to answer further email inquiries asking for a status and what he was planning to do. He appears to have ignored the issue. My last email (enclosed) was sent on July 3rd. No response.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for reimbursement for the full $2100 that he was paid. That was the price for the labor to install. The tile cost me $486.00 from Home Depot (I have the receipt).I am willing to accept $2100 and forget about the cost of the tile that has to be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/08/19) */ From: *************@aol.com To: ************* Subject: Re: Case # ********: Mr. ****** ******** I had agreed to take care if this problem in previous emails to him. He then filed this complaint. He has a tenent living in the unit. We had scheduled replacement. So, it's up in the air. Final Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2013/09/12) */ From: *************@aol.com (mailto:*************@aol.com) Sent: Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:03 PM To: ************* Subject: Re: Case # ********: Mr. ****** ******** He has agreed to take $1700 to settle this. Sent from my iPhone Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 43, 2013/11/18) */ November 17, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1132 Bishop ST 615 Honolulu, HI 96813 Ref: Case ******** Dear ******* ********, The purpose of this letter is to notify your office We received a check in the amount of $2000 from Allen Canter, Contractor, who we had a complaint against for failure to comply with his contractual obligations. However, Allen Canter who agreed to fully reimburse us for the labor and materials short changed us by $49.28. The total cost of the labor and materials Was $2049.28. He was fully aware of the dollar amount he owed us. Consequently, since we have not been fully reimbursed and made whole, We still stand by our complaint against Allen Canter. Should you have additional questions or need clarification concerning the complaint, please call me at my work or home number listed below. ****** & ***** ******** **** **** Street ***** *****, ******** *****