BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Allen Canter Contracting

Phone: (808) 282-8922 Fax: (808) 946-4692 PO Box 22685, Honolulu, HI 96823

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a flooring contractor and offers installation and inspection services in the area of hardwood flooring, as well as installation of ceramic and vinyl tile.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Canter Contracting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Canter Contracting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Canter Contracting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 23, 2005 Business started: 09/01/2002 Business started locally: 09/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W00238962-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is C13096.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Allen T. Canter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allen T. Canter, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 22685

    Honolulu, HI 96823

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor and I signed a contract whereby we agreed to a three year warranty. Workmanship issues are now a issuse and he is ignoring the contract. We signed a contract during September 2011 to install tile in the kichen/hallway and storage closet. Contractor was paid in full $2100 per the contract. During May 2013, I purposely inspected the property since my tenant moved out. I noticed that the grout in the kitchen and hallway was cracking and there was loose tile. Contractor inspected the tile as well stating he would repair the grout as a "courtesy". He failed to do it during my week stay. Subsequent emails later resulted revealed he forgot he signed a contract until I sent him a copy. We argued back and forth as to the cause and repair the grout was a cosmetic approach. In a subsequent email from the Contractor (enclosed), he finally admitted that his son failed to follow the Tile Council of North Amercia recommendations regarding the preparing of the subfloor. He offered to replace the tile that I furnished, prepare the subfloor and re-install for a price of $1000 plus a letter absolving him from further warranty issues. I counter offer inthe spirit of cooperation to pay $500 plus the letter but the warranty remained for the storage closet floor. He agreed but the job had to be done before July 1st. About 5 days before July 1st, he sent an email claiming he could not do the job before July 1st and offered to reimburse us for $1700 plus supply the tile that needed to be replaced. I agreed but wanted him to send me a sample of the tile for my approval. He never responded and failed to answer further email inquiries asking for a status and what he was planning to do. He appears to have ignored the issue. My last email (enclosed) was sent on July 3rd. No response.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for reimbursement for the full $2100 that he was paid. That was the price for the labor to install. The tile cost me $486.00 from Home Depot (I have the receipt).I am willing to accept $2100 and forget about the cost of the tile that has to be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/08/19) */ From: *************@aol.com To: ************* Subject: Re: Case # ********: Mr. ****** ******** I had agreed to take care if this problem in previous emails to him. He then filed this complaint. He has a tenent living in the unit. We had scheduled replacement. So, it's up in the air. Final Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2013/09/12) */ From: *************@aol.com (mailto:*************@aol.com) Sent: Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:03 PM To: ************* Subject: Re: Case # ********: Mr. ****** ******** He has agreed to take $1700 to settle this. Sent from my iPhone Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 43, 2013/11/18) */ November 17, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1132 Bishop ST 615 Honolulu, HI 96813 Ref: Case ******** Dear ******* ********, The purpose of this letter is to notify your office We received a check in the amount of $2000 from Allen Canter, Contractor, who we had a complaint against for failure to comply with his contractual obligations. However, Allen Canter who agreed to fully reimburse us for the labor and materials short changed us by $49.28. The total cost of the labor and materials Was $2049.28. He was fully aware of the dollar amount he owed us. Consequently, since we have not been fully reimbursed and made whole, We still stand by our complaint against Allen Canter. Should you have additional questions or need clarification concerning the complaint, please call me at my work or home number listed below. ****** & ***** ******** **** **** Street ***** *****, ******** *****