Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ozzy's Construction, Inc.

Phone: (808) 368-1789 Fax: (808) 259-9862 905 Old Kalanianaole Hwy Bdg 2503, Kailua, HI 96734 http://www.ozzysconstruction.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers construction and demolition services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ozzy's Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ozzy's Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ozzy's Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2008 Business started: 10/16/2006 Business started locally: 10/16/2006 Business incorporated 08/24/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is ABC30974.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is ABC27272.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W59494937-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Osborn K. Naweli, President Shontaz Naweli, Office Manager (wife)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Osborn K. Naweli, President
Customer Contact: Shontaz Naweli, Office Manager (wife)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Building Contractors Design & Build Contractor Contractors - General Demolition Contractors

Alternate Business Names
AAA Rent A Can

Additional Locations

  • 905 Old Kalanianaole Hwy Bdg 2503

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/2 Swear on phone & text, 8/30 Swear,threatened to punch my face and throw me over balcony, bullies me to pay more for service and punches my house. Today is Monday, November 25, 2013 and our home is still not completed. From no caulking on trim/ceiling above entry and deck, wet bar granite not glued down, seam not sealed, granite not polished/sealed with sealant as well as missing caulking on the backsplash, in addition to numerous of materials (wheel barrow, lock box, water hose, rebar, stake, rocks throughout) not removed; besides the numerous of touch ups still needed, which I'd really rather not have them come back to do; because every time they come it makes matters worse (ex. Paint on counter, tile, cabinet, window, toilet, etc. as well as many shavings not cleaned up and the many touch ups done without any texture are very noticeable and the touch up with texture looks different from lemon peel finish also noticeable; I believe they've removed the tape from several spots needing attention without doing any work too). They came back to fix the gutter which wasn't sloping correctly but didn't patch the holes on fascia now exposed to the elements. Little to no communications from ** or his "team" this entire project. He's unapproachable and very intimidating. Meetings changed, and he's late too most; he returns calls/texts/emails late or not at all. Several no shows - no calls. Always too busy for me; other meetings, and open houses seem more important. He took many trips during my project, five to be exact. There has never been any quality control nor project manager, no schedule, no walk-thru with sub-contractors. ** says he's not going to "baby sit" his guys; so my project suffered. Even wife ******* mentioned "***" works full time with TSA and shouldn't be a project manager; which later ** let him go. I had to constantly stay on top of this project and give **** many reminders and advise of critical corrections because of their over sight. ******** didn't have blue print for my materials until I called after the concrete pour while ** in Disneyland, neither did the plumber until the morning of as well as the electrician the morning of too; I emailed them both soft copies. No dust control, no permits posted (finally got a copy of permit from ******* on July 30th which at that point found out permit was issued on May 28th), bins never around when needed, and electrical ground never tied in to the foundations rebar. I'm stuck with over spray and stains on new sidewalk which I tried to remove myself with power washer, concrete splatter/caulking/paint/gouges on brand new CMU wall, a driveway that hasn't been floated evenly (abnormalities) fronting garage, CMU wall above 6', top of driveways finish concrete near the sliding gate and entry gate that ***** marked a line prior to pour finished well below mark now ********* (gate guy) fabricated sliding gate and entry gate doesn't match up to top of wall, finished garage floor with gouges and paint that's difficult to remove and asphalt in lane has paint, concrete spillage and gouges from bin and stuck with stone veneer I'm not even a fan of because last minute had to choose another and not too much to choose from. Too many compromises on my part: Start/Finish dates delayed causing me an extra mortgage payment $1600 and an extra month's rent $2500, no motion sensor installed, Bedroom 3 & 5 windows not centered, Sliding door opens wrong way, Pocket door in wrong place, Windows & doors not made to print, had to choose another granite countertop and stone veneer due to delay in placing orders, window installed below stone veneer, little to no clean up, one top coat in/out and spray painted doors touched up with paint brush and has dents; very noticeable. Also, many "headers/beams" installed from other jobsite, charged for electrical (light/switch for garage closet, sensor for garage door opener, kitchen 3 way switch). I was forced to sell my 2011 Toyota Tacoma and take a loss because of his bullying tactics to charge me more without change orders. Need warranty information; CONTINUED IN NEXT BOX, SEE ATTACHED

Desired Settlement: already problem with grey box for Water heater. One weekend without hot water, and for many weeks water not being reheated over night for morning shower; figured out timer keeps getting stuck at the 9 pm setting on dial. Constant reminders: Blue prints, permits, eye brow eve, holes in shingles, gutter sloping wrong, granite, stone veneer, tiled seat in shower, material in yard, master bath window too large and then no frost, wet bar granite, builder trend, schedule, termite truss, saw zaw concrete for ground (still not done), pony wall (said ugly), honey comb in footing, vents in roof for pv, bent drain near l/t, etc. In summary, I'm basically asking for: 1. Written apology for his non-professionalism, lack of communication and his behavior in regards to him swearing, threats and bullying me to pay more $. 2. Written guarantee for CMU wall since it's above 6 feet, if any alterations are needed he will come back and fix at no costs to me ($32K Cash paid) 3. Written guarantee that no mold between drywall/T1-11 behind Washer from the leak as well no mold from holes in roof shingles. 4. Written guarantee that all headers on 2nd floor and garage headers that were installed from "another job site" and since not brand new Warranty from termite. Per Honsador framing lumber to be NEW and Termite treated. 5. Follow up with Honsador (Terri) regarding written guarantee no live termite on truss above garage. 6. Updated schematic (blue print drawings) reflecting all changes (windows sizes, door sizes, which way door opens, pantry noW smaller, pocket door placement, cabinets, outlets & lighting which plans were under drawn) 7. Would like credit for my 2 gallons of exterior paint that was borrowed for color match then used to paint the house. In addition, I would like credit for 2 gallons of ceiling paint, 5 gallons of interior paint for 2nd coat for places that was touched up and lemon peel spray too finish the touch ups myself about $225. Also, will need credit to buy caulking for ceiling trim above deck and entrance which was never caulked. 8. In addition to the above credit, he needs to credit me $546 which I was bullied into paying for additional concrete; which last minute was told $24,000. Woody measured 1303 s.f. if multiplied by $18 comes out to $23,454. 9. Credit also for the following items: 67 pulls, 3 exterior lights, 2 sconce lights, 5 ceiling lights, 2 closet rod/shelves, 15-T8 (3') bulbs, 30 CFL's, 6 Towel Bars, 3 TP holders, 3 Towel Rings, Door Bell Set, 3 Tub Shower/Faucet around $1,345. 10. Credit also in the following $250 for the additional electric which I was charged and not Ozzy: rough in and install garage light & switch in garage closet, 3 way switch for wet bar, low voltage power for garage door and I had to buy my own genie garage door opener. 11. I can understand not getting credit for the mortgage $1600 because the delay was on prints because Maile's husband was sick then new drafter and then needing more structuring per engineer; however is part of "Ozzy's team, but should get credit for rent $2500. 12. I would like someone to clear all the debris/materials in my yard, but if Oz doesn't want to send someone to do the labors intensive work than credit me $500 for the time and rental of a truck to remove. I have his wheel barrow filled to the top with rock and that was only a small sections. 13. If granite guy not coming back then credit to purchase glue, caulking and sealant for wet bar granite counter top and backsplash. 14. Credit and Warranty for Beams for almost every window/door header for 2nd floor and partial of garage from another jobsite. Final Invoice should be +/- $12,000 $19,774.42 5% remaining balance -$2,465.00 credit for purchased items -$1,345.00 credit for additional items +666.00 for Stone veneer -$546.00 over charge for add'l concrete -$225.00 paint -$1,600.00 morTgage -$2,500 rent -$500 Material removal -$250 Electrical rough ins Also, credit for used beams from another project.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/08) */ December 8, 2013 Dear ****** & ***** ******, I have been forwarded by email your letter of complaint/dispute dated November 28, 2013 by Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, and I was very sorry to learn that you are still upset; despite all the meetings we've had regarding your home. I apologize for the distress you have experienced as a result. I can assure you that it was not my intention to cause you additional stress/anxiety. We want to address these issues in a way that is fair and accommodating for both parties. Having looked at our records, I noted that your home was demolished on the 3rd of June 2013 (start of project) and finished on September 14, 2013, which I had calculated as 73 working days in the completion of your home. We do offer a 90 working day build-out, but it's not guaranteed on any contract. So with that said, Ozzy's Construction, Inc. was never allowed the allotted time to finish your home. If you had allowed Ozzy's Construction the correct 90 working days we would have been done on October 9, 2013. Furthermore, by not allowing us time to finish your home, I feel that I am not responsible for crediting you the extra mortgage payment or extra months rental. On Friday August 30, 2013, my son and I arrived at your address, *************** (jobsite address). When I arrived I went to check on my concrete guy ***** who was next door pouring a driveway. I then made my way to your home up to the second floor only to find you (******) mad, upset and punching the railing caps of your own home. I did approach you (******) to ask what was wrong, and you said that you were supposed to move in today because our 90 days were up. I responded saying that those 90 days included weekdays, not weekends and holidays. Because of your verbal threats, bad attitude and physical harm, I advised all employees and sub-contractors to finish up what they were doing, so you could move in right away. You insisted that you didn't want to pay another month of rent or mortgage, so we finished as soon as we could to get you into your home, which was not finished at whole. After this incident, we returned four times on 9/14, 9/20-21, 10/3 and 11/13 to do the painting, rain gutters, electric panels and other punch list items. At this time, we believe all items were completed. Also, the two gallon buckets of semi-gloss exterior paint were only borrowed to get a paint match. The painter returned it and it's located in your garage storage. On September 29, 2013, we sent you a final invoice **********. You paid $19,774.42 with check number ***. As discussed, we credited you the amount of $2,465 for the listed purchased items, making the balance due $19,506.92. Most of the additional purchases that you made, was a result of us not being able to finish. (Most of these things are usually provided to the homeowner, except the hardware for the cabinets and drawers.) By law, a one-year warranty is required by the state and is included in the contract. (See Construction Agreement, page 2). The gutters have a 5-year guarantee against leaks and 5 year warranty on workmanship. You will also receive a 20-year warranty on your HI-Bor pressure treated lumber in the mail. As far as dust control, projects less than 15,000 square feet for Single-Family or Two-Family Dwelling uses or less than 7500 square feet for other uses, may be controlled by spraying water as necessary. (See City and County Rules and Regulations, Category 2). Lastly, the communication between ****** and Ozzy's Construction, has always been scheduled promptly. If one party was not able to meet, a call was made to reschedule the appointment with either both parties. Ozzy's Construction does not take sides to any job; every job/homeowner is treated equally and fair. At Ozzy's Construction we only hire QUALIFIED employees and sub-contractors. We are a SMALL Business company where it's just myself and my wife, there are no QC's or PM's. If we had to hire more management, than we wouldn't be able to give homeowners the affordable price we offer. I take pride in the workmanship and quality that I deliver to each homeowner. Each homeowner is given plans before we start and a jobsite copy is always present at each jobsite. Once again I am very sorry that you were upset by my manner. Your letter has given me the opportunity to reflect on this and I would like to reassure you that although it was not intentional, I have taken your feedback seriously and will endeavor to use your comments in a positive way in my future dealings with other homeowners. I hope that you will accept my explanation and apology for what occurred. We would like to arrange for a meeting to resolve all our issues, whenever it is most convenient for you. If you have any questions about my response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Respectfully submitted, ***********************, President Ozzy's Construction, Inc. Phone: (***) ******** Email: *************************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 40, 2014/02/14) */ February 14, 2014 Your final proposal is unsatisfactory, because item number 3 of my list of requests was not acknowledged. Items 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 have been met or explained to my satisfaction - pending receipt of hard documentations pertaining to item #1 (CMU wall permit) and item #2 (water leak). For review: 1) (Satisfactory agreement 2/6/2014, pending receipt of documentation) A written guarantee from Ozzy's Construction stating that because the CMU wall is over 6 feet tall, any required alterations in the future will be completed at no cost to owner. Alternately, provide permit, with engineering stamp, for wall over 6 feet tall. 2) (Satisfactory agreement 2/6/2014, pending receipt of documentation) A written guarantee from Ozzy's Construction stating that because of the leak which occurred in the garage due to plumbers pressurizing the system, any occurrence of mold between drywall/T1-11 behind the washer will be cleaned up at no cost to me. 3) (Not satisfactory. No acknowlegdement in previous letter dated 2/6/2014) Credit $2,500. Credits owed to owner for incomplete and faulty work. Due to recurrence of false statements and loss of confidence in work provided by Ozzy's Construction, no further services requested. Instead, monetary compensation is desired for materials and labor for to complete the following myself: Entire house (interior/exterior) needs 2 coat of paint Bath 1 o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges Bath 2 o Apply missing grout below window o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges o Touch ups needed Bedroom 1 o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges o Touch ups needed Bedroom 2 o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges o Touch ups needed Bedroom 3 o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges o Touch ups needed Bedroom 4 o Remove tape & scraping on carpet o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges o Bottom of door needs to be shaved; drags on carpet o Touch ups needed Bedroom Master o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges Master Bathroom o Remove paint on tile & toilet & towel bar & window o Correct textured ceiling from previous touch up; noticeably different o Remove texture spray inside ceiling fan glass o Apply missing caulking on trim behind door hinges o Apply missing caulking 2 places above tile in shower, plus grout chipped/"cracked" o Bottom of door needs to be shaved; drags on tile o Touch ups needed Master Walk-in Closet o Install missing electrical outlet, not installed because pocket door in wrong place (on print) o Touch ups needed Covered Lanai o Apply missing caulking trim to ceiling o Repair blister on railing; previous blisters were only touched up, never filled Entry o Apply missing caulking trim to ceiling o Resolve: front door pops when opened o Door needs to be sanded and painted Exterior o Resolve: ground not tied to foundations rebar o CMU wall: chips in tile from machine as well as concrete splatter from concrete pour o Resolve: abnormalities on driveway fronting garage o Resolve: over spray and stains on sidewalk o Resolve: missing caulking between bottom of windows and trim o Resolve: debris left from construction. Rebar, lock, rocks in yard o Resolve: holes from gutter on fascia need touch ups o Resolve: damage to shed o Remove paint still on flashing o Resolve: lane has paint, concrete, physical gouges from rent-a-can Family Room o Resolve: textured ceiling from previous touch up noticeably different in appearance o Resolve: garage door spring hinge broke, causing damage to trim. Door does not close correctly o Touch ups needed o Sand and repaint door to garage Garage o Resolve: extensive gouges on floor, paint on floor o Paint garage door trim, and trim around windows o Resolve: electrical box cover doesn't stay closed o Resolve: grey box timer gets stuck on 9pm and remains in the off position o Touch ups needed Hallway o Touch ups needed Kitchen o Remove paint on cabinet, granite and tile o Resolve: textured ceiling from previous touch up noticeably different in appearance o Touch ups needed Living Room o Missing caulking under trim closest to sliding door Stairs o Touch ups needed Wet bar Granite countertop not sealed, backsplash needs caulking, needs to be glued down, seam need to be filled o Paint on cabinet and on kick plate below cabinets o Touch ups needed 4) (Satisfactory agreement 2/6/2014) Credit $1,532.00. Remove charges for thin set, sealers and associated labor. This was not approved in writing prior to work. No claim by contractor for extra cost shall be made unless the work to be performed is ordered or approved by Owner in writing prior to the performance of work. Additional expenses were not made available to the Owner with written records of expense in the form of invoices or estimates. 5) (Satisfactory agreement 2/6/2014) Credit $1,077.00. Credits owed to owner for items purchased by myself in place of units provided by Ozzy's Construction. These items include 3 exterior lights, 2 sconce lights, 5 ceiling lights, 2 closet rod/shelves, 15-T8 (3') bulbs, 30 CFL's, 6 Towel Bars, 3 TP holders, 3 Towel Rings, Door Bell Set, 3 Tub Shower/Faucet. 6) (Satisfactory agreement 2/6/2014) Credit $546.00. Overcharged for concrete work on driveway and sidewalk. Actual cost was $23,464, but I was billed in the amount of $24,000. 7) (Satisfactory agreement 2/6/2014) Credit $250.00. Incorrectly charged to owner instead of Ozzy's Construction for electrical rough in and install of light/switch in garage closet, the 3 way switch for wet bar and the low voltage power for garage door included in Oahu package. 8) (Request for credit is rescinded since we moved in on Oct. 1, 2013 allowing Ozzy's Construction Inc. the 120 Calendar days to complete) Credit $2,500. Additional compensation due to unnecessarily incurred charges for rent while construction was delayed, stress due to lack of communication and not meeting stated milestones in construction schedule leading to uncertain move-in and move-out dates of rental unit and new house. I feel that several statements from your previous letter need to be addressed. Firstly, you once again falsely specify my move-in date. I will restate that my move-in date was October 1st, 2013. This allowed you 120 calendar days to complete construction. It was prior to October 1st, 2013 that Ozzy himself made the decision to abandon my project, "advising all employees and sub-contractors to finish up what they were doing." Secondly, you continue to falsely state that "work finished on Sept. 15, 2013." I have proof that this is not the case. Thirdly, your continued threats to put a Lien against my property are unwarranted, because construction remains unfinished. My home continues to be unfinished and many items were deviated from plans: smaller windows installed in all bedrooms instead of the proper windows reflected on prints, windows not centered in bedrooms 3 & 5, sliding door opening wrong way in family room which also was reflected on prints, pocket door installed in wrong place for master walk-in-closet which also eliminated an electrical outlet, bedroom 1 closet framed smaller, electric ground never tied to foundations rebar and much more has resulted because of no QC or PM. Once a satisfactory agreement is reached between Ozzy's Construction, Inc., and myself, with the oversight of the DCCA, you will receive payment promptly by certified mail. ************* Final Business Response /* (4000, 37, 2014/02/05) */ Aloha ****** & ***** ******, Since the last invoice emailed on September 29, 2013, the following FINAL INVOICE has been revised to show the credits agreed to. The attached invoice is for your review and for your records and a copy has also been cc'd to BBB (***********). On the invoice we have agreed to credit you the following: $2,465.00 (credit for purchased items-listed on your previous first letter); $1,532.00 (#4 Thin set, sealers, and labor), $1,077.00 (#5 Additional items purchased); $546.00 (#6 Over charge for concrete); and $250.00 (#7 Electrical charges). However, we are going to deny the $2,500 (#8 Additional compensation for rental fees). Your balance due to Ozzy's Construction, Inc. is $14,569.92. Failure to pay what is due may result in a Lien against your property. With regards to your request about the CMU wall, on November 5, 2013 inspector ************** met with **** at your site. Inspector ******** advised **** that everything had passed and that she will close the permit, with the exception that your dog kennel will be removed which was the only problem she encountered, which she also advised your wife about too. Upon final walk-through there was no mold surfacing behind the washer, however if any mold shall appear within the 1 year Contractor's License Board warranty, Ozzy's Construction will provide the cleanup with NO COST to you. As explained in the previous response letter regarding the denial of additional compensation for rental fees; on August 30, 2013 you clearly stated with aggression that "today is my 90 day and I'm supposed to move in", and **** tried to explain to you that it wasn't (see contract; I. Scope of this Contract), but you still insisted. So he honored your wish to have you and your family moved in. That same day he advised all workers of Ozzy's Construction and sub-contractors to come together to button up everything and finish by the 15th of September. You did not allow Ozzy's Construction to fulfill our contract up to the 120 calendar day which you signed and agreed to. Once again we offer our deepest apologies to you and ohana. There's no easy way to say this. We made a pledge, we didn't stick to it, and for that we are sorry. With that said we'd like to express our appreciation for your constructive criticism which help to shape us for 2014, we've taken the time to reconstruct the way we do business. Sincerely, **************, Office Manager Ozzy's Construction, Inc.