Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poke Stop LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 676-8100 View Additional Phone Numbers 94-050 Farrington Hwy. #E-4, Waipahu, HI 96797

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a casual restaurant, plate lunch and seafood take outs and catering services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poke Stop LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poke Stop LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poke Stop LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 01/28/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W10287121-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Elmer C. Guzman, Member Ms. Samantha N. Guzman, Member Mr. Radrigo Rabang, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elmer C. Guzman, Member
Business Category

Caterers Foods - Carry Out Restaurants

Alternate Business Names
Chef Emer Guzman's Island Cuisine

Additional Locations

  • 94-050 Farrington Hwy. #E-4

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 398-5395 (808) 626-3400 (808) 676-8100

  • 95-1840 Meheula Pkwy

    Mililani, HI 96789


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chef Elmer did our wedding catering. At our tasting we were served Macadamia Nut crusted Red Snapper and Beef short ribs. They were both delicious and we asked the server (the chef was not there) if we could be sure and get the same thing at our wedding. She said that was fine, just respond with exactly what we would like and the chef would let us know if that wasn't alright. We specifically requested Red Snapper and were not told that this would be a problem. We were served a brown, oily fish (that no one has ever heard of) and it was breaded with soggy panko. Most of our guests, including myself, thought the "fish" was rotten pork because of the color, texture, and flavor. It was completely rank! The beef was edible, but it was not "fall off the bone" tender like at the tasting. It was also overseasoned/sauced and was too salty. We learned the chef didn't prepare the food at all, but we have no idea who actually did. Whoever they were; they should not be cooking for anyone. Even if the chef had replaced the red snapper with a fish of equal type, that would have been fine. But it was completely inedible and we had to pull it off of the serving table. So for guests that don't eat meat they were left with salad, asparagus, and starch; no main. We have made our complaints clear with the chef and have received no actual response from him at all. We have heard from an employee of his named ******* who offered us a $280 refund; even though we spent $690 on the food. I don't believe $690 is too much to ask; seeing how we spent over a $1000 to fly there for a tasting, and how they completely ruined the most important part of my wedding. It was the main dishes that were disgusting, not some dinky little salad. We feel that we were intentionally defrauded. We were given the best at our tasting to reel us in; and then dumped with rotten fish. Also, in my email to them when I gave my food choices, I specifically asked for red snapper and was never told this would be a problem. Product_Or_Service: Catering Order_Number: ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the remaining $410 refunded to us. I would also like an explanation from the chef as to how he thinks it is acceptable to bread and oily, brown fish and serve it the same way you would a delicate white fish? I'd also like to know why panko was used when it says macadamia nut crust everywhere? There was NOT a single nut in that breading.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/08/14) */ Dear **** **********, Chef Elmer Island Cuisine received your complaint via the BBB and appreciates the opportunity to respond. Specifically, ****, complains that the Red Snapper and Beef short ribs she received at her food tasting was not the fish nor the fall of the bone beef rib served at her wedding. She is requesting 100% refund of the food served to her by Chef Elmer's Island Cuisine, including refunds for the salad, asparagus and starch. Catering event research regarding this complaint shows that the fish served was in error and Chef Elmer offered his apology and a refund of $200, **** declined. She also requested Chef Elmer to contact her regarding her event. 99.99% of the time Chef Elmer responds, however, due to the opening of two new locations and the possibility of opening stores abroad the chef was not available to respond and his assistant, *****************, responded on his behalf by refunding **** $280 which covered the cost of the fish and beef short ribs. To date, the refund check of $280 has not cleared the bank. Subsequently, **** sent another email expressing her discontent and unhappiness by stating anything short of a full refund will not be acceptable. We felt the $280 was fair. A full refund was not an option as guests at the event consumed the other food items as we were left with approximately 8% of food left over from the buffet which is very little in catering event consumption. Chef Elmer sincerely regrets any inconvenience this issue may have caused. Please feel free to contact me directly ****************** if you have additional questions or concerns in this matter. Name: *****************, Catering Events Manager, Executive Response.