BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers carpet, window coverings, vinyl, ceramic tile, hardwood and laminate flooring and polish and staining concrete.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Carpet One meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Carpet One include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Carpet One
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated: 06/14/1973 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C7137.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C8700.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20293820-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Arita, President Mrs. Danette Hoe, Sales Manager Mr. Irwin Nakasone, Art Director Mr. Aaron Okamoto, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Arita, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Danette Hoe, Sales Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Vinyl Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Hardwood Floor Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Carpet Shoppe, Inc. The

Additional Locations

  • 302 Sand Island Access Rd.

    Honolulu, HI 96819

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 842-0439 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested an itemized invoice twice. Once through the sales person via email and once through email ****@*****************.com. Never got one. I requested an itemized invoice twice. Once through the sales person (******* *****) via email on January 28, 2013, 1:07pm and once through their email ****@*****************.com on March 4, 2013, 2:19pm Ms. ***** told me she could not provide me with an itemized invoice. I received no response from the email request.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see an itemized invoice. At this point, I'm starting to suspect I was over charged, and if this is true, I would like a refund of that amount.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/15) */ We are very sorry for this inconvenience, but at time of request did mail out copies of your itemized invoice on two different occassions. We are happy to send to you again. Copies will be sent via email and standard mail to you today. Should you not receive within the next 3 business days, please call me directly at #********. Mahalo, ***** *******

6/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues