Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Town & Country Builders, LLC

Phone: (808) 737-7766 Fax: (808) 395-6868 115 Hoolako Place, Honolulu, HI 96825 http://www.townandcountrybuildersllc.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting services for residential & commercial work: remodeling, additions, custom homes, design-kitchens, and baths.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Town & Country Builders, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Town & Country Builders, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Town & Country Builders, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1982 in HI Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 04/08/2004 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W45376646-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BC11768.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BC26340.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John D. Mowry, Owner/General Contractor Ms. Pearl Wolfe, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John D. Mowry, Owner/General Contractor
Customer Contact: Ms. Pearl Wolfe, Office Manager
Business Category

Building Contractors Contractors - General Contractor - Home Performance Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Method(s) of Payment
cash or check
Service Area
Oahu
Alternate Business Names
Town and Country Builders

Additional Locations

  • 115 Hoolako Place

    Honolulu, HI 96825 (808) 737-7766

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a leak in the roof and the ceiling and walls got wet and need to be replaced. Town & Country Contractor said it is not him and I have to call the subcontractor to fix it. I called and after a couple of days someone came to or place and looked at it but said they call me but Town and Country still owes him money. I don't think this should be my concern what is between those companies and Town and Country should be responsible for the damage since this is still under warranty and Town and Country was the company we hired.

Desired Settlement: Have someone redo the portion of the roof and fix the ceiling and the walls inside the house.

Business Response:

I  phoned *** ******* ******* who provided the roof warranty to the customer to find out why they would tell that to the customer? As soon as I have a response from them then I will update you regarding resolution.

 

John M****

for Pearl W****

Town & Country Builders LLC

************

Consumer Response:
The Contractor did not finished the work yet and will come to the property today to look at the damage.
******* 

Sent from my ******


Business Response: ***** *********************** ********************************  ***** ******** ******* *** **** ***** ** *** **** ********************* ******** ********** *** ******************

We resolved the issue with Mr. ******* ***** and repaired the leak and the water damage at the interior of his home.Case should be removed or closed.

John M****
General Contractor
Town & Country Builders LLC
********
************ 


Consumer Response: ***** ******* ***** *****************************  ***** ******** ******* *** **** **** ** *** *** ********** ****************************** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ** ****** ********* ********* *********

Hello BBB,
Yes the Contractor came and attempt to fix the damage. Here are some pictures of the work done. There was no communication whatsoever between the time the workers try to fix the problem. Also I was asking the Contractor to inspect the Roof and make sure everything is up to Standard before the warranty runs out. I did not hear anything from them so I don’t know if the Inspection took place. Also I was providing them with the paint to finish the job but unfortunately they mixed up the ceiling with the wall paint. The also took all the leftover cans of paint with them which were marked very clearly what was inside. So it is frustrating and very disappointing to see what this Company’s Standard are.
At this point I do not care for them to return and do more damage to our property.
******* *****

******* *****
** * ***** ********** ******** ****** ******** *** *** ****** ***** ***       ************ ****      ************ *****     ************ **************** 

Business Response: ***** *********************** ********************************  ***** ******** ******* *** **** ***** ** *** **** ********************* ******** ********** *** ******************

We resolved the issue with Mr. ******* ***** and repaired the leak and the water damage at the interior of his home.Case should be removed or closed.

John M****
General Contractor
Town & Country Builders LLC
********
************ 


Consumer Response: ***** ******* ***** *****************************  ***** ******** ******* *** **** **** ** *** *** ********** ****************************** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ** ****** ********* ********* *********

Hello BBB,
Yes the Contractor came and attempt to fix the damage. Here are some pictures of the work done. There was no communication whatsoever between the time the workers try to fix the problem. Also I was asking the Contractor to inspect the Roof and make sure everything is up to Standard before the warranty runs out. I did not hear anything from them so I don’t know if the Inspection took place. Also I was providing them with the paint to finish the job but unfortunately they mixed up the ceiling with the wall paint. The also took all the leftover cans of paint with them which were marked very clearly what was inside. So it is frustrating and very disappointing to see what this Company’s Standard are.
At this point I do not care for them to return and do more damage to our property.
******* *****

******* *****
** * ***** ********** ******** ****** ******** *** *** ****** ***** ***       ************ ****      ************ *****     ************ **************** 

Business Response:

Town & Country Builders LLC completed a remodeling project  for Mr. ******* ***** about seven years ago and re-roofing the house was part of the remodeling project.  Recently the roof had a water leak and damaged two interior sheets of

gypsum board, eight square feet of ceiling gypsum board and insulation, and floor covering adjacent to the laundry room. The owner phoned the roofing sub-contractor who re-roofed the  house and he completed the exterior roof repair under

his warranty agreement with the owner but refused to complete the interior repairs. This was clearly the roofer's responsibility under his warranty agreement with the owner. Mr. ***** made a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and felt

like  Town & Country Builder's LLC. should be responsible  for the repairs because the roofer was our sub-contractor on the project seven years ago.

The Hawaii State law requires the General Contractor to honor a one year warranty on all work but Town & Country Builder's LLC.  warranty with the homeowner had expired six years ago. After Mr. ***** made his  complaint with the BBB then T&CB

phoned him to discuss the nature of his complaint and decided to meet with him to inspect the interior damage claim.  Although the warranty from T&CB had expired, but in the spirit of community relations, we decided to proceed with the

repair at NO COST to the owner. At our meeting at the owner's home it was mutually agreed and accepted that T&CB would proceed with the work and that the owner would place a house key in an exterior lockbox so that the T&CB team  could have

access to the  home to complete the repair. It was also agreed upon that the owner would provide the paint. In our meeting with Mr. ***** we communicated about the scope of repair work and anytime he called we responded. The T&CB team

completed the repair work but when our project manager returned to the house to inspect the repair work he discovered that the key had been removed by the owner and therefore he could not obtain access to inspect.

The items referred to in the photograph are all minor and require possibly two hours to complete. Two items required caulking and the painting work could be easily corrected. The photograph of the gypsum board adjacent to the pocket door

opening was not part of the scope of work because it was outside of the water damage location.

The T&CB worker's removed the paint cans from the property because they were empty. If they had left them then  the homeowner would have probably photographed them and made a complaint to the BBB about it.

I don't know what damages Mr. ***** is referring to as the mentioned items are only minor punch list items. The contractor's repair act notice Chapter 672E of the revised statues of the State of Hawaii  requires that the contractor  be

given an opportunity  to complete the repairs under the law. A simple phone call from Mr. ***** to T&CB would have resolved the matter and we could have scheduled a time with him to complete the aforementioned items  but he never

phoned us, after all, communication is a two way street. Normally  all other avenues are explored before a complaint is filed but that was not the case here. Instead the owner preferred to use the BBB platform to discredit the contractor.

There are laws in existence that protect companies against defamation of character from consumers .

In conclusion, this complaint is about not applying caulking to two small areas and a mismatch  of paint colors.. Had the owner called us an given us access to his home then we would have scheduled with him to complete the work at

no charge.

Town & Country Builders LLC has been in the general contracting business in the State of Hawaii for the past 35 years and has completed millions of dollars worth of home improvement work without any complaints. We presently have a

A+ rating with the BBB and have worked very hard to keep it. We maintain high standards but need the homeowner's cooperation to complete work. Our history and record with the BBB speaks for itself.

We always  satisfy our customers requests before departing from the project. The complaint has not merit!  The owner does not want  T&CB to returned and we rendered a free repair at no charge. As far as we are concerned the case is closed.

Business Response:

Town & Country Builders LLC completed a remodeling project  for Mr. ******* ***** about seven years ago and re-roofing the house was part of the remodeling project.  Recently the roof had a water leak and damaged two interior sheets of

gypsum board, eight square feet of ceiling gypsum board and insulation, and floor covering adjacent to the laundry room. The owner phoned the roofing sub-contractor who re-roofed the  house and he completed the exterior roof repair under

his warranty agreement with the owner but refused to complete the interior repairs. This was clearly the roofer's responsibility under his warranty agreement with the owner. Mr. ***** made a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and felt

like  Town & Country Builder's LLC. should be responsible  for the repairs because the roofer was our sub-contractor on the project seven years ago.

The Hawaii State law requires the General Contractor to honor a one year warranty on all work but Town & Country Builder's LLC.  warranty with the homeowner had expired six years ago. After Mr. ***** made his  complaint with the BBB then T&CB

phoned him to discuss the nature of his complaint and decided to meet with him to inspect the interior damage claim.  Although the warranty from T&CB had expired, but in the spirit of community relations, we decided to proceed with the

repair at NO COST to the owner. At our meeting at the owner's home it was mutually agreed and accepted that T&CB would proceed with the work and that the owner would place a house key in an exterior lockbox so that the T&CB team  could have

access to the  home to complete the repair. It was also agreed upon that the owner would provide the paint. In our meeting with Mr. ***** we communicated about the scope of repair work and anytime he called we responded. The T&CB team

completed the repair work but when our project manager returned to the house to inspect the repair work he discovered that the key had been removed by the owner and therefore he could not obtain access to inspect.

The items referred to in the photograph are all minor and require possibly two hours to complete. Two items required caulking and the painting work could be easily corrected. The photograph of the gypsum board adjacent to the pocket door

opening was not part of the scope of work because it was outside of the water damage location.

The T&CB worker's removed the paint cans from the property because they were empty. If they had left them then  the homeowner would have probably photographed them and made a complaint to the BBB about it.

I don't know what damages Mr. ***** is referring to as the mentioned items are only minor punch list items. The contractor's repair act notice Chapter 672E of the revised statues of the State of Hawaii  requires that the contractor  be

given an opportunity  to complete the repairs under the law. A simple phone call from Mr. ***** to T&CB would have resolved the matter and we could have scheduled a time with him to complete the aforementioned items  but he never

phoned us, after all, communication is a two way street. Normally  all other avenues are explored before a complaint is filed but that was not the case here. Instead the owner preferred to use the BBB platform to discredit the contractor.

There are laws in existence that protect companies against defamation of character from consumers .

In conclusion, this complaint is about not applying caulking to two small areas and a mismatch  of paint colors.. Had the owner called us an given us access to his home then we would have scheduled with him to complete the work at

no charge.

Town & Country Builders LLC has been in the general contracting business in the State of Hawaii for the past 35 years and has completed millions of dollars worth of home improvement work without any complaints. We presently have a

A+ rating with the BBB and have worked very hard to keep it. We maintain high standards but need the homeowner's cooperation to complete work. Our history and record with the BBB speaks for itself.

We always  satisfy our customers requests before departing from the project. The complaint has not merit!  The owner does not want  T&CB to returned and we rendered a free repair at no charge. As far as we are concerned the case is closed.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

***** ******* ***** *****************************  ***** ********** ******* *** **** ***** ** *** *** ********** ****************************** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ** ****** ********* ********* *********

Hello,
I just want to clarify I did not removed the Key from the lock box. As I came home from work this day the key was inside the house and the door was looked with one of the looks. The reason I made pictures was to show you what was not completed and if your person came to inspect the work he would had to see this. Yes it is a two way street and I was assuming your communication to tell me you finish was the Key inside the House with the door locked.
Case closed.
*******

******* *****
** * ***** ********** ******** ****** ******** *** *** ****** ***** ***       ************ ****      ************ *****     ************ **************** 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

***** ******* ***** *****************************  ***** ********** ******* *** **** ***** ** *** *** ********** ****************************** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ** ****** ********* ********* *********

Hello,
I just want to clarify I did not removed the Key from the lock box. As I came home from work this day the key was inside the house and the door was looked with one of the looks. The reason I made pictures was to show you what was not completed and if your person came to inspect the work he would had to see this. Yes it is a two way street and I was assuming your communication to tell me you finish was the Key inside the House with the door locked.
Case closed.
*******

******* *****
** * ***** ********** ******** ****** ******** *** *** ****** ***** ***       ************ ****      ************ *****     ************ **************** 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Town & Country Builders, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)