Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kehaulani Masonry

Phone: (808) 294-9699 1007 Alewa Dr, Honolulu, HI 96817

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


All concrete work-driveways, sidewalks and slabs; retaining walls; rock and CMU walls; Demo and Hauling. Spalling Work; Decorative Concrete.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kehaulani Masonry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kehaulani Masonry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 2007 Business started: 07/11/2006 in HI Business started locally: 07/11/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W05637234-03.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is C-28071.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Cindy Eleneki, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Eleneki, Owner
Business Category

Building Contractors Concrete - Custom Foundation Repair & House Leveling Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Contractors - Retaining Wall

Method(s) of Payment
Checks and cash
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1007 Alewa Dr

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 294-9699


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2015, I entered into 1 of 3 different contracts with Kehaulani Masonry for service on my disabled father's property. I am trustee for my father. We signed a contract for a Moss Rock wall with vinyl fence to be installed, a concrete slab to be poured for a shed, demo of existing concrete sidewalks and re-poured with a new moss rock wall and some digging and trenching to allow for drainage. Her employees showed up late 80% of the time, smoked on the property, and used excessive profanity. Also, the wrong material was purchased. A BLUE ROCK wall was installed and when I asked for a receipt of sale from the supplier, she gave me a hand written falsified document stating that it was MOSS rock. I confirmed with the supplier. A slab was laid incorrectly and now I have a lot of puddling on the back of the property. I confirmed with the Dept of Commerce and Consumer affairs and she is listed as "Sole Proprietor" meaning that she cannot employ without workman's comp OR she has to sub contract out to a licensed professional. After I pulled them off of the jobsite, I was approached by a previous employee who inquired about completing the job on the side and was informed by him that she pays her employees CASH. Most are not citizens of the U.S. Her insurance only has liability. My 7 year old daughter accidentally stepped on a old rusty wire mesh causing her blood, pain, and limping for 4 days. My driveway has increased cracking due to the jack hammer. Her employees used and broke 2 hoses, 1 shovel, and broke a spigot with a wheel barrow. She left her tools on the property, including 3 wheelbarrows, lots of rubble, and 2 trash cans full of 3 week old food left overs that with recent rainfall has filled the entire trash can full of maggots and stool from birds. I have tried to rectify this but Cindy (the owner) delays getting back to me and there is no certainty that they will or can afford to demo and do the job over, legally, and with licensed professionals. She is a licensed contractor.

Desired Settlement: 1) I want the wrong blue rock wall demo'd and a moss rock wall put up. I want the concrete slab that was incorrectly pored to be demo'd and repoured with proper drainage in mind. I want all completed in 6 weeks from today. No smoking and profanity. Punctual. All is to be done by U.S. citizens, or legal to work in the U.S., insured, subcontracted professionals. Proper clean up every day. OR 2) Refund with a release of contract with no repercussions.

Business Response: The facts as stated by complaintant are all based on her opinion and not based on facts.

I did have two workers there who were taking too long to complete the job so I replaced them with new workers. Once this change was made then all the complaints started coming in. At the time I switched personnel the work was about 80% completed and I had about 4 days left to complete everything. It's troublesome that the homeowner did not bring up any issues earlier nor did she have any problems with any of the issues that she listed in her complaint. So now I'm nearly done with her wall and she wants me to remove the whole wall because the wall has a mixture of blue rocks and moss rocks in it. It's true that my contract does say "moss" rock but I've used the same wording and same rock provider with many other customers and have never had a problem. Structurally the wall is solid; esthetically the wall looks beautiful but because the rocks are not 100% moss she wants it removed.
I did agree to remove it and have her hand pick the new moss rocks. I have never made it difficult for her to communicate with me and I was always willing to do it all at my cost. I offered this to her right from the start but she kept saying that she needed more time to think about what she wanted. I even offered to leave the wall and newly poured sidewalks in place and to walk away from the $8,500 that she still owed me. At first she said that she would accept me "putting the house back to its original state and walking away from the contracts". I said ok I'd do that then she changed her mind again and said no I want the existing 140' of wall ripped out and replaced with rocks that she approved of.
So, as of today 12/28/2015 we are working on a new contract to remove the entire wall and replace it. I've asked her not to interfere or sit outside and interfere with my workers. I did not agree to her or any homeowner dictating the time that I need to report to her house; when we can take lunch or what time we will finish. That's interfering with my ability to work and it's not necessary for her to try to micro-manage me or my work. She also agreed to stop contacting my rock provider and "other" Contractors who state that they know me and how I run my business. The President and owner of the rock quarry called me two weeks ago and said that the homeowner not only went into speak with her but continues to email her and is calling her. She felt like this homeowner was "harassing" her. I feel the same way. I have never said "No" to any of her demands. I've always been willing to work with her and she keeps threatening me with lawyers; RICO; BBB and anyone else who will listen. As I've stated to her from the first time she complained, I'm willing to work with her within reason. I don't want a gun held to meet head and I don't appreciate incorrect accusations. I've worked extremely hard in growing my business and work hard to make sure that I give all my customers "value" for what they are paying for. I also work hard for my A+ rating with you and I intend to keep it. It's unfortunate that we are here but it is what it is. I've always been willing to fix this to her satisfaction as long as she was being fair and reasonable. I hope with this new contract in place that she will let me do my job and then we can both move forward.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: Everything written in my statement are facts based on facts and I have documentation to prove it. The complaints came on day one when a worker made a slide comment on race. He was pulled off the job on day one. The other 2 remained and did work at a slower pace and there were complaints because they would show up 1 hour late every morning and leave 1 hour early every afternoon. The business owner did not find out until I personally called her and informed her that I need to leave early in the morning and was not going to be able to give them access to the electricity to the house and I needed to know when they would be arriving. Her response was "What? Their not there yet?!" It is true that I demanded to know when the workers would be here and leaving because I supplied the electricity for them to do their jobs. There is no exterior outlets. There was also a whole house electrical surge because if it which her workers failed to tell he about. No generator or bathroom was provided by the business owner. If there were no complaints with the first 2 workers, then they would not have had to be replaced. I was informed by a Geologist that my wall is blue rock and not moss rock. The rock in my wall is bluish grey, angular, and doesn't have vesicles. The business owner states that 80% of the wall is completed. That is not true. Example: If you order koa cabinets to be installed and the business then installs 80% of plywood the work really 80% completed?? As for contacting the president of the rock supplier, I have emailed her 3 times and called 2 times in the span of 3 1/2 weeks. That is not harassment. Initially, the president of the rock supplier was very helpful. She apologized that this was happening to me. She also gave me a typed computer generated receipt that she shouldn't have. I found out she broke some contractor-supplier law by doing that. Her employee also wrote the wrong amount on the hand written receipt. I see why she now wants to stay out of this. She informed me that Cindy at Kehaulani Masonry threatened to sue her after she found out certain info was given to me. I feel bad for her. It has come to my attention that there is additional damage to the property. I have agreed to allow Cindy at Kehaulani Masonry to demolish the blue rock wall, install a true moss rock wall and fix the pooling of the water, and other things in our contract. She has not mentioned how she will fix the damage as of now. It is to be completed on Jan 23, 2016. I have not seen a new contract to date. I have text messages from her stating that the project was costing her too much money and she wasn't sure how she was going to proceed. This is what caused the delay. I just want what was in the contract. I want what I paid for. I want proper clean up and no smoking or profanity. I want to know that its a good job. I want people to show up when they say they are going to, unlike 3-4 times I have gotten text messages stating that they forgot or couldn't because they were held up with one thing or another. I don't think that is too much to ask. Everything that I have stated is TRUE. Sincerely, ******* ******* in care of ***** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kehaulani Masonry
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)