Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rachel's Tax Service

Phone: (808) 836-0008 Fax: (808) 836-0080 View Additional Phone Numbers 2045 Kamehameha IV Road, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://www.rachelnakooka.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax preparation, bookkeeping & payroll services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rachel's Tax Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rachel's Tax Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rachel's Tax Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated 05/29/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W26133884-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rachel Nakooka, President Ipo Cullen, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rachel Nakooka, President
Business Category

Bookkeeping Service Tax Return Preparation

Alternate Business Names
Helpppp!!! Business Solutions Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 2045 Kamehameha IV Road

    Honolulu, HI 96819

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to prepare OIC for IRS and 2014 tax return. Paid by check $1000 for OIC; check cleared our bank account. Paid for service never received. In November 2013, retained Rachel's Tax Service to prepare and overnight to our new residence in *** *******, GA, and offer in compromise to sign and file with the IRS. We were moving from HI to GA and paid her by check $1000.00. The check cleared our account on November 22, 2013. Upon giving her the check she informed us she was going to Las Vegas and would work on the OIC when she returned and would get it to us by December 2013. In December, she said she had not completed the OIC, was working on it and asked that we receive it by Jan 2014; she agreed to do so. Numerous phone calls were made to her and I was told "she was with a client". I left my name and phone number with her receptionist several times but did not receive a call back. I finally spoke with her early April 2014 and asked when we could expect the OIC and 2014 tax return - she promised absolutely no later than April 15th, in time to file before the IRS deadline. The OIC and 2014 tax return were never received. I emailed her the copy of the tax return extension I filed on April 15, 2014 and again asked why we had not received the OIC. I received no response. I sent a letter dated May 17th asking that she return our payment of $1000 and/or at the very least, let me know if she intended to complete the OIC and tax return as requested. To date I have received no response nor the return of the pre-paid fee of $1000.00. The information in the OIC would be too far out of date to submit to the IRS and would now have to be updated; therefore, we only want our $1000.00 returned asap.

Desired Settlement: $1000.00 pre-paid fee to prepare OIC.

Business Response: Business Dropped off a cashier's check in the amount of $1,000, issued by American Savings Bank (#5300348609).

(check.pdf)

Business Response: I JUST GOT YOUR MESSAGE TODAY, FRIDAY. I BORROWED THE MONEY AND WANTED TO COME TO YOUR OFFICE TODAY BUT FOUND OUT THAT YOU ARE CLOSED AT NOON ON FRIDAY. MY ASSISTANT WILL BRING THE CASHIER'S CHECK AND INFORMATION ON MONDAY MORNING. THANK YOU. ****** *******

Consumer Response: Receipt for the check (return receipt.pdf)