BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Sunlight on Water

Phone: (808) 896-2480 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1209, Kailua Kona, HI 96745 http://www.sunlightonwater.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sightseeing tours, boat charters, dolphin swim & whale watching and night manta snorkles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunlight on Water meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunlight on Water include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunlight on Water
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 09, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2002 Business started locally: 11/01/2002 Business incorporated: 05/10/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20154458-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W08566050-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Yee, President Ms. Melainah Yee, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Melainah Yee, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Michael Yee, President
Business Category

Boat - Charter Sightseeing Tours Tours - Operators & Promoters Sightseeing Tours

Alternate Business Names
Golden Dragon Sportfishing, Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1209

    Kailua Kona, HI 96745 (808) 896-2480

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 326-1373(Phone)
  • (808) 495-4186 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible service On January 7th 2013 we scheduled to do a swim with manta rays. The Manta Rays failed to show up. We understand they cannot control nature, but while we were trying to leave the boat would not start. So the crew spent an hour trying to fix it. While waiting for them to fix it my 7 year old daughter got really sick. Also while they were fixing it, I over heard the crew saying it happened the night before. The company offered to reschedule for a new watch date or swim with the dolphin's but we have to pay an extra $35 per person. We have already scheduled events for the rest of our stay on Hawaii. I also didn't appreciate staying out in the cold longer than normal. They knew the boat had problems and failed to fix the problem before the trip was made. My wife called to complain and told them we should have some kind of refund and they said no its not in their policy.

Desired Settlement: I believe some kind of refund is in order.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/05) */ Aloha, We understand it is very disappointing when the Mantas do not show up. We do not offer a guarantee that you will see Mantas, we do however extend the offer to return another night at no cost as our schedule and the guests allow. We will additionally offer, if we have space available, to upgrade to the Dolphin Swim which is a more expensive tour for the difference in price of $35. Many guests will choose do to that. From our perspective, either way guest are given the opportunity to go on 2 tours for the price of one. We will even extend the return offer until their next trip to Hawaii. Many companies do not offer any type of return. We do not give refunds for the Mantas not showing. The remarks about the engine not starting is a bit misleading in that he fails to mention that we have 2 very big engines, and only one did not start right away. The Captain did spend approx 20 minutes working on starting the 2nd engine. He could have elected to return to the harbor on one engine, it just would have taken much longer. This guest's assumption that the issue had not been address is incorrect. The batteries had been replaced and a new alternator installed. The boat had been out earlier that day with no problems. There were no problems with either engine starting when they left the harbor for the Manta site. It turned out that one of the lights used at night was shorting out and draining even the new batteries for that engine. That has been corrected and not been a problem since. Maintenance checks occur daily. The guest stated that his desired resolution is a refund of some type. That perhaps may have been a consideration had he not already written negative reviews in numerous other review forums. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again I understand that they cannot control nature when the manta rays did not show. As to rescheduling for another night or scheduling for a dolphin watch. We could not have done either because we have already scheduled for other event for the remainder of our stay. I do not agree when they said they would have considered given us some kind of return if we had not written a negative review. My wife had called and talked to them about a refund before we made a review.