Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hale Kua Guests

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 332-8570 View Additional Phone Numbers 4896-E Kua Rd., Lawai, HI 96765

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers vacation rentals.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hale Kua Guests
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W00055188-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W00055188-01.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Catherine Cowern, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine Cowern, Co-Owner
Business Category

Bed & Breakfast

Additional Locations


    4896-E Kua Rd.

    Lawai, HI 96765


    PO Box 649

    Lawai, HI 96765


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business advertises themselves as a bed and breakfast, but does not operate as a bed and breakfast. Business advertises as a bed and breakfast ********************** but does not operate as a bed bed and breakfast. It appears that they feel providing 2 cold muffins, and a coffee maker makes them a bed and breakfast. If one accepts that definition, then most major hotel chains today would be considered a bed and breakfast. When I asked the owner about the B&B advertising, he tried to distance himself from it, but indicated that they did provide muffins to guests that booked through *******.

Desired Settlement: Be a man of integrity and quit your deceptive advertising.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ As always we are very saddened when a guest is unhappy. However, I have to take exception with this guests comments as we did in fact provide a continental breakfast of coffee, teas and homebaked muffins as we are required to do by the online booking services he make his reservation through. This guest booked the room two days prior to arrival and apparently didn't take the time to do his homework. If he had bothered to contact us or to read any of our reviews, it would have been very clear that to most guests we do not in fact provide breakfast as our units are all equipped with kitchens. There are ample comments regarding the nature of the breakfast provided being only muffins and coffee. So while I am very sorry they were not satisfied, we did in fact provide that which was advertised. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You choose to use an online booking service. That booking service tells customer that there is no need to contact you. The appropriate place to make it clear would be the homepage of your web site. This would be an easy fix, and eliminate the perception of bait and switch advertising. This would be better for your customers, and better for your reputaion. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/03/18) */ First let me apologize to this guest for their bad experience with us. Our goal is to make sure that a guests visit to Kauai is the best that it can be and we are always sad when this goal is not met. Guests who book with an online booking service, as this guest did, are provided with a continental breakfast of homemade muffins, coffee and tea as mentioned in the advertising for the online service. We encourage guests to contact us prior to making a reservation so we can get to know them and explain exactly what we offer for services. Some folks find that what we offer is not what they are looking for an choose to stay elsewhere. This guest unfortunately did not contact us prior to arrival so we had no way of knowing what their expectations were. Again, we are sorry that their expectations were not met and hope that they were able to find an accommodation more suitable to their needs.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hale Kua Guests
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)