Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

First Hawaiian Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 525-7000 Fax: (808) 525-8708 View Additional Phone Numbers 999 Bishop Street, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.fhb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and consumer banking services, and engages in equipment and vehicle leasing and offers trust, investment and insurance products.

It is a State of Hawai'i-chartered bank that has 58 branches in Hawaii, three in Guam and two in Saipan. It is a subsidiary of BancWest Corporation, a regional financial services company.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Hawaiian Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Hawaiian Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on First Hawaiian Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1945 Business started: 08/17/1858 Business started locally: 08/17/1858 Business incorporated 02/04/1974 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40402708-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Harrison, President/CEO Ms. Gina Anonuevo Mr. Brandt Farias, Executive Vice President Mr. Kimo Mills, Executive Vice President Mrs. Susan Soken, Vice President/BBB Board Member
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Gina Anonuevo
Principal: Mr. Robert Harrison, President/CEO
Business Category

Banks Loans Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
BancWest Corporation
Industry Tips
ADVANCE-FEE LOANS ADVANCED FEE LOAN PROMOTION COLLEGE FINANCIAL AID INTERNET FINANCIAL PRIVACY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

First Hawaiian Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 999 Bishop Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (800) 545-6300 (808) 525-7000

  • PO Box 3200

    Honolulu, HI 96847

  • PO Box 648
    Government Main Road

    Pahoa, HI 96778

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been a customer of FHB for 16 years, and every month I get several spam mails asking me to buy insurance coverage that I don't want. The spam comes in envelopes with FHB logos. I have to open it to make sure it is not important communications from my bank. It is a waste of my time. I DON'T WANT INSURANCE, I WILL NEVER WANT INSURANCE FROM FHB. All I want is banking services without being hassled by my bank. I went to the bank approximately 2 weeks ago and told the teller I don't want to get any more of this spam mail. She turns to another woman walking by and says "Do you know how to turn off the spam mail?". She didn't know either. This is no way for FHB to treat a loyal customer. TURN OFF THE SPAM. TURN OFF THE SPAM. TURN OFF THE SPAM. YOU'RE WASTING MY TIME. I'M SICK OF IT.

Desired Settlement: i WANT THE SPAM TURNED OFF AND $100 FOR MY EMOTIONAL DISTRESS.

Business Response: Please see the attached bank response. Thank you.

12/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an Equity FirstLine Plus account with First Hawaiian Bank. The annual percentage rate is 3.0011% for the first two years. I requested to do a rate lock at the end of the two year period on 11/17/2015 at a rate of 4.5016%. I received a letter stating that I will be billed for $1581.85 starting with the first payment due December 27, 2015. First red flag is this letter stated "...with an estimated balloon payment of $225,227.12 at the end of the lock period". Second is the actual bill I received for the payment due December 27, 2015 showed a Minimum Payment Due of $2010.73, not the $1581.85 as stated in the letter. I received a very cryptic explanation: "It is tied to when your rate lock was made versus when the line's payment was due. If we did them both on the same day of your full interst only payment there may not have been any accrued interest due." And on the actual bill, it showed 3.0011% interest charged to a balance of $133,333.33 and 4.5016% interest charged to a balance of $250,000.00. My total balance is $250,000.00 but I was charge interest TWICE.

Desired Settlement: My billing statement for 12/27/2015 should be pro-rated to reflect the 3.0011% interest from 11/01/2015 to 11/16/2015 - $616.66/month - and the 4.5016% interest + principal from 11/17/2015 to 11/30/2015 - $1581.85/month. 616.66*14/30+1581.85*16/30=$1131.43 + $100 annual fee = $1231.43. Going forward, terms of any agreement need to be spelled out in very clear and unambiguous detail and IN WRITING. Please no redefining "balloon payment" or other terms, and no ambiguous verbal agreements.

Business Response: The bank's response to this complaint is attached. Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

It is clear to me from this resolution that First Hawaiian Bank had to go through extraordinary measures to provide a resolution. Hopefully they have fixed their accounting system and internal communication protocol so customer confusion referenced by this complaint doesn't keep recurring.

Sincerely,

****** ****

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Hawaiian Bank filed a judgment on my personal residence for unsecured debt my now deceased father incurred via a corporate credit card account. While I was listed as the Secretary/Treasurer of his company, I had no involvement whatsoever in anything having to do with his company. I had a 25-year continuous career working as a administrator for my local government municipality. I never worked a day in my father's company. He listed me as Secretary/Treasurer in an effort to simplify probate court requirements (that's what I was told) in the event he passed away unexpectedly, which he unfortunately recently did.After I explained this situation to First Hawaiian Bank, they still filed a significantly large (+$100,000) judgment against my personal residence.I am, and have been a completely physically disabled for several years now. I do not have any type of opportunity to ever be gainfully employed again and this bank, that I've never had any type of business with is well aware of that fact. I have notified them numerous times in writing.I sincerely offered them $1000 for the settlement of this unjustified issue and they suggested I start making payments instead. The basic relevant facts of this matter are:I have never had any type of business relationship with this bank. This Hawaiian bank is attempting to extort someone else's debt from me via a deceptively acquired judgment on my personal residence.This corrupt bank has had this intentionally deceptively acquired judgment on my personal residence for over seven-years now waiting for me to pass away so they can steal what little equity I may have earned of the past 15-years of living here.I offered this corrupt bank a payment of $1000.00 to settle this fraudulent matter and they refused to accept it (because they have a fraudulently obtained judgment on my home). Despite the fact I had nothing whatsoever to do with the incurring or expenditure of the debt they are purposely attempting to extort from me and my family.

Desired Settlement: First Hawaiian Bank needs to accept the $1000 offer I sincerely made to them for the settlement of this issue. I had nothing whatsoever to do with this debt. Yet I offered them $1000 to settle this matter. They are knowingly well aware of all of the facts surrounding this fraudulent judgment and refuse to settle. I live solely on a fixed disability income and they are also well aware of that. I made them a sincere offer to settle this issue that has nothing to do with me.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******:
We are in receipt of your complaint to the Better Business Bureau (BBB Complaint ID ********).
According to our records, you applied for a Business ********** account on April 13, 2004. As indicated on the second page of the application (see copy enclosed), your signature confirms that you are the owner of T** ******* ***** *** and guarantor of this agreement. As stated in our approval letter to you dated April 21, 2004, by signing the Business Credit Application and Agreement, you agreed to be bound by the terms and conditions of the Business Credit Card issued with a total credit limit $50,000. A card with a $10,000 limit was issued to you and a card with a $40,000 limit was issued to ***** ******* at the time of approval. Due to the usage of both cards issued for the business and the subsequent default of debt, a judgement was obtained against you on April 24, 2009 and renewed on March 4, 2015.
Most recently, we sent you a letter dated October 2, 2015 after we received your $1,000 settlement offer. At that time, we explained to you that we would not settle for that amount. We expressed our willingness to work with you to help resolve the situation by accepting monthly payments. As of October 30, 2015, the total judgement is $138,870.79, inclusive of all costs and fees, along with interest accruing at 18% per annum from April 24, 2009, the date of judgement. If you choose to begin monthly payments as an acceptable resolution to the issue please contact Brandon S****** toll free at ************** or directly at ****** *********

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


First Hawaiian Bank is intentionally ignoring the background information pertaining to this wholly unjustified situation.  First Hawaiian Bank is fully aware that at no time was I ever personally employed by, nor was I ever an owner of the company that they are attempting to collect this debt from.   First Hawaiian Bank is knowingly attempting to collect a corporation's debt from an uninvolved individual whom they are fully aware never had any degree of involvement with the corporation they know is solely responsible for the debt they are attempting to collect. 

In addition, subsequent to being informed of the same background information, First Hawaiian Bank's local attorney intentionally deceived me of my opportunity to represent my position in court.  Specifically, prior to the court date wherein this matter was to be heard, First Hawaiian Bank's local attorney informed me that they were no longer going to pursue this matter in consideration of the fact that I had been intentionally deceived / victimized concerning this matter.  Nonetheless, after being notified by First Hawaiian Bank's attorney that the matter had been settled, First Hawaiian Bank's attorney deceptively continued to seek out, and eventually be awarded this unjustified judgment against my personal residence without my knowledge and / or any opportunity to even attempt to defend my position of innocence. 

In fact, once I was able to contact First Hawaiian Bank's attorney's office via telephone shortly after they intentionally lied to me, I was informed by their staff member that I was naïve (stupid) to ever believe anything that they had previously told me.        

Regardless of the deceptive actions of First Hawaiian Bank's attorney, First Hawaiian Bank is still attempting to collect this debt that they knew without any doubt was 100% originated by my deceased father's corporation.  First Hawaiian Bank has been notified numerous times that I am the individual that's being victimized by this unwarranted situation, nevertheless they continue to pursue the matter.

First Hawaiian Bank has also been notified that I am 100% disabled and hereafter forced to survive solely via monthly disability payments.  Nonetheless, First Hawaiian Bank is still requesting that I somehow make monthly payments towards this debt that they know that I had nothing to do with at any time.  

In summary, it appears that First Hawaiian Bank is knowingly attempting to force me to file personal bankruptcy.  Because there is no possible way I would ever be able to pay even a small portion of the corporate debt they are illegitimately attempting to extort from me. 

I contacted the Better Business Bureau because I'm honestly trying to do everything within my power to avoid being forced into filing for personal bankruptcy.  

Consumer Response:

Dear Ms. ***** *****:

Thank you very much for your timely and informative response.

Unfortunately, I do not presently have any document from the Court (or Government Agency) that specifies that my physical disability exempts me from Judgments.  Nor was I aware that any such document would potentially be available to me short of filing for personal Bankruptcy protection from the Court.  Which is exactly what I am trying to avoid.  Which is also why I initially contacted the BBB with hopes of possibly finding some other reasonable alternative.  Nevertheless, filing Bankruptcy may be the only feasible alternative remaining for me at this point.

In consideration of the aforementioned facts, it would now seem appropriate for the BBB to close out this complaint.

Thank you again for your consideration regarding this matter.

I was sincerely appreciated.

******* ** *******

 

 

 

 

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Hawaiian Bank has taken over a month to send a title after an auto loan was paid off, and has lied on multiple occasions about timeliness and when the title was sent. I still do not have the title, we cannot afford to pay off another loan since our original buyer backed out after a month, and it will be difficult for me to find another buyer since I am a full time student and my husband is deployed.Overall, we started the process on August 31st, 2015, they received the money September 4th, and as of today (October 7th, 2015) we still do not have the title. I was apologized to but it is too late! The loan payment is due October 10th, and since I received confirmation this morning that the buyer is no longer interested (understandably), we cannot afford to pay it off. My husband and I basically live paycheck to paycheck since Im a full time student, and the little savings we do have is going straight to the loan, which only covers ~1/5. Because of First Hawaiian dragging their feet, Im dreading the immense amount of interest that will accrue until we find a new buyer. This will also be incredibly difficult as I am living by myself in south east Louisiana while he is deployed, and feel incredibly unsafe allowing others to test drive his truck especially after meeting some of the potential buyers while he was still here! Throughout the process, if the loan department was unavailable for my call (multiple instances due to working with another customer or the wrong hours), customer service asked me to leave a message and was told I would get a call back which only happened once. I spoke primarily to two individuals, one of which was VERY rude and disrespectful, the other was much easier to talk to and work with, but she also gave false information (told me that title was sent September 24...later said September 30th). I have a full outline of the date and what was said for each call. Please let me know if there is any confusion or if additional information is required.

Desired Settlement: The business practices illustrated by First Hawaiian Bank are completely inexcusable, and have induced an unneeded amount of stress and monetary cost. At this point, I am hoping some sort of compensation will be offered to cover the cost of the interest until the truck is sold or paid off, which should have been done several weeks ago.

Business Response: First Hawaiian Bank has taken over a month to send a title after an auto loan was paid off, and has lied on multiple occasions about timeliness and when the title was sent. I still do not have the title, we cannot afford to pay off another loan since our original buyer backed out after a month,  and it will be difficult for me to find another buyer since I am a full time student and my husband is deployed.
Background: My husband was attempting to sell his truck prior to deployment and put it up for sale early August, 2015. He found a buyer by the end of the month, and decided to pull out a loan from his current bank to pay off First Hawaiian and have the title sent to us.
Overall, we started the process on August 31st, 2015, they received the money September 4th, and as of today (October 7th, 2015) we still do not have the title. I was apologized to but it is too late! The loan payment is due October 10th, and since I received confirmation this morning that the buyer is no longer interested (understandably), we cannot afford to pay it off. My husband and I basically live paycheck to paycheck since I’m a full time student, and the little savings we do have is going straight to the loan, which only covers ~1/5. Because of First Hawaiian dragging their feet, I’m dreading the immense amount of interest that will accrue until we find a new buyer. This will also be incredibly difficult as I am living by myself in south east Louisiana while he is deployed, and feel incredibly unsafe allowing others to test drive his truck… especially after meeting some of the potential buyers while he was still here!
Throughout the process, if the loan department was unavailable for my call (multiple instances due to working with another customer or the wrong hours), customer service asked me to leave a message and was told I would get a call back – which only happened once. I spoke primarily to two individuals, one of which was VERY rude and disrespectful, the other was much easier to talk to and work with, but she also gave false information.  I was asked for the power of attorney since the loan was under my husband’s name, and it took 3 attempts until they got the fax! It was difficult and costly for me to send by fax so I requested several times to send a scanned copy over e-mail, but they REFUSED that form of correspondence, for a reason I am not aware of.
The majority of the experience is listed below (I will provide the names of who I spoke to when if required):
My husband called First Hawaiian to begin the process August 31st, was told he needed to mail in his change of address, which he did so with the check by overnight mail on September 1st. He also called on September 2nd and 5th, and was told the process should take about a week. He deployed shortly after.
September 15th:  I called to check on the status and was told that there was a 10 day waiting period before any paperwork was sent out, and since they had received the money on September 4th, I was assured that the title would be sent on September 18th.
September 28th: I still have not received the title and was told that it was sent September 24th. The individual did not know why the title was sent 6 days late, but insisted it was in the mail. Was informed there would be a fee to have another title sent. In addition, the buyer is very frustrated but agreed to wait until September 30th.
September 30th: No title, called to have a copy sent, was asked to wait until Friday to see if the original showed, and if not they will order a new copy.
October 5th: Still no title, demanded a copy be sent that day just in case the original was lost in the mail, was told that I would be called back once her supervisor approved it. Never received a call.
October 6th: Called and same individual said she would walk it to the appropriate office at that moment and they would call once ready. Never received a call so I called back by 4PM HAST, was told it would still be ~a week until I got the new title, but ***it was confirmed that the title was sent out September 30th***. This was same person who told me it was sent out on September 24th, and when I ask why I was given incorrect information – the person did not have an answer except for “short staffed.” At this point I asked to speak to a supervisor, who apparently had just heard about the situation and gave a long apology and was told it will be taken care of and a copy will be sent this week by certified mail.
October 7th: Received notice from the buyer that he was no longer interested. Still don’t have the title.
The business practices illustrated by First Hawaiian Bank are completely inexcusable, and have induced an unneeded amount of stress and monetary cost. At this point, I am hoping some sort of compensation will be offered to cover the cost of the interest until the truck is sold or paid off, which should have been done several weeks ago.
Please let me know if there is any confusion or if additional information is required.
Regards,
Jerilyn M******

9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested for a cash redemption of $1000 some time around end of February and I still have not received my check. I called in several times and was told that someone was going to give me a call, however, I have not been reached out by any of the employees.

Desired Settlement: I want my cash redemption of $1000 ASAP mailed to the address of**** ** ************* **** ** *****Thank you.

Business Response: Please see attached bank response.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   However, I do wish to know when the check was sent out and when I can expect to receive the check.

Sincerely,

*** ***

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently applied for a loan with First Hawaiian Bank and was denied. I writing because I applied for this same loan in May of 2014 and was also denied because I had two hits on my credit report. I had no ideal what was on my credit report so I decided to buy a credit report a few months later. I found out I had a charge off for a medical bill and a unpaid traffic ticket. I was able to get the phone numbers to each company and paid both marks off. I decided to go back to FHB to apply for the loan again because this was the bank I been doing business with for 9 years. This time I decided to go into the bank so I explain my new situation to the loan officer because the last time I did over the phone. I explain to the loan officer I had just paid off my debts and provided the officer with proof. I was also told to bring in 2 years of taxes to verify my income(I have direct deposit with the bank). I than explained to the officer I want to make sure I will get the loan. The officer than look at his computer screen and the paperwork I had given and said everything looks good. I was still a little worried so I asked the officer what is the least I could request and was told $2500 and should I just apply for this amount. The officer I can apply for what I want, so I applied for the same amount as last time. On my first loan denied letter in May the letter stated limited credit, collection and charge off. The second letter I received in February stated limited credit and poor credit performance with us. I did not know what FHB loan department and contact them to get a answer. I was told I had a credit card with FHB 15 years ago was charged off. I explain to the officer I never applied for a credit card and the officer asked for my checking account #. The officer then explained I was a co signer for a **** ****** 15 years ago. I than asked for proof and was told it will be a few days. After a few days the original loan officer told me he was unable to produce the information. Never had credit with FHB

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the complete original application for the supposed $500 credit card and a copy of driver license or id used 15 years ago (fraud) . I would also like a answer to why on the first deny letter FHB loan department did not state I had a poor credit performance with them as stated on the second letter. I would also like to know why the either loan officer never mention the charge off with FHB and is it a practice of FHB to go back 15 years to deny a long time customer a loan.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau (“BBB”) (Complaint ID# ********) on March 18, 2015, regarding your attempt to apply for a loan through First Hawaiian Bank. We also received a complaint through the ******** ********* ********** ****** (“****”) regarding the same issue (Case No. *************) on March 6, 2015. We responded to the **** Complaint on March 31, 2015 and trust that it addresses all of your concerns.  Please contact me at ***** ******** if you have any questions.

 

Lance K*****

Assistant Vice President

First Hawaiian Bank, Consumer Service Center

 

 

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****:

We are in receiptof the additional comments you submitted to the Better Business Bureau ("BBB") (Complaint ID# ********) on April 6, 2015, regardingyour attempt to apply for a loan through First Hawaiian Bank.

As mentioned in our Consumer Financial Protection Bureau ("****") response letter dated  March 31, 2015 ("**** Response"), according to our records and the documents you provided,you received two denial letters dated May 12, 2014 and February 13, 2015. You had stated in our phone conversation on April 2, 201 5 that had you known about the credit card charge off reflected in our records in the first denial letter, you would not have applied a second time. As discussedin our phone
conversation, we agreed to submit a request to remove the second credit inquiry, which was done on April 2, 2015. Equifax will be updated with this change.

In our **** Response, we also explained that we had no cause to believe there was fraud on your credit card account due to our correspondence and application records.At your request, we further investigated your credit card fraud claim. We have determined that we can reasonably confirm your identity in relation to the cred it card account based on the following.

(1)  When we approved the credit card account in 1999, you went to our Waipahu branch on or around April 15, **** and took a photo, at which time you were required to present a valid ID. This photo was added to the credit card. The photo in our records matchesyour physical appearancebased on your visit to the University branch.
The signature on your debit card application dated June 30, 2006 (connected to your checking account number *********), matches the credit card application dated March 17, 1999.
The social security number and date of birth from your credit report pulled to review all of your loan applications matched and was consistent with the information provided on each of the applications received, including the **** credit card application and your checking account records.
One of the addresses on file for the **** credit card account matched an address in your cred it report which is listed as **** *** ****** *** *** *** ******* ** ** ******
The employer on file for the **** credit card account is also reflected in your credit report which is listed as ***** **** ********
We contacted you on November 6, **** and January 13, 2000, and you also called us on March 21, 2000 to negotiate payment on the past due credit card account.

For the foregoing reasons, we do not believe the **** credit card account you were a joint account holder on was opened fraud ulently.  We trust that this response fully addresses you r concerns.

Sincerely,

Lance K

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I am still not getting the information I requested nor has this information been submitted to ****.  All I need is a copy of the identification card used to apply for the credit card in **** and all the proof Mr. Lance K***** says he have from letter dated April 13, 2015. First Hawaiian Bank was the ones to go back 15 years, so I feel its fair for you to provide proof to me as a consumer who has been banking with you for 9 years and this matter never came up.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

From: ***** ****** ************************
Sent: Thursday, April 16, 2015 1:35 PM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: RE: ID ********

Aloha *****,

If Mr. ***** desires to see further documentation regarding his credit card account, please have him call and make an appointment with the branch. The contact and phone number is listed below.

*** **

***** ********

We are able to provide a photo that was attached to his credit card file. He will have to make an appointment at the branch to view it.

Thanks

Lance

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I can make an appointment with FHB bank to see credit card documents for the fraudulent credit card from **** with First Hawaiian Bank. I would also like the bank to provide me a copy of every document its presenting as proof for the said **** credit card I applied for via co-sign or joint with First Hawaiian Bank on the day of the appointment. This means identification cards, pictures, statements, email, phone contacts, credit card picture and addresses. If First Hawaiian Bank do not agree to these terms than there will be no need to set up a appointment. If Lance K***** would just send me a copy of the identification card used to apply for the **** credit card this complaint could have been resolved last month.

Sincerely,

****** *****

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had the misfortune of being duped by a company called **********. All I had wanted was a credit report for the cost of $1. They debited my account a total of $808.65. I filed a complaint with Dallas, Texas BBB and found out that thousands had filed a complaint against **********, the FTC has ordered ********** to pay consumers a refund of $22 million! The Attorney General of Texas "Stops Online Scheme that Claimed to Offer "Free Credit Scores but charged Monthly Fees." I will attach the first two(Tex. BBB complaint and FTC) and can attach the Attorney General of Texas later. I sent the above to ***** *** and CC'd ****** *******. I received no help in getting anything back from ********** via First Hawaiian Bank. I did manage to get $120.80 on my own. In fact, ***** *** determined that this was my fault and that the FTC and the Attorney General are wrong. I have been with FHB since 1983, have paid off car loan, mortgages, and had over $100,000 in their bank. No more, I opened an account with First American Savings today and will be depositing a large sum with them. They are a breath of fresh air!

Desired Settlement: I want FHB to do what they said and challenge them for five months of $29.95.

Business Response: Dear **** * *******:

This letter is in response to your recent written notification of various suspected error(s)involving ****************** from November 2012 to current and also to acknowledge receipt of your letter dated February 18, 2015 addressed to me with a copy sent to ****** *******.

When a customer notifies us of an error we take it seriously and investigate it promptly. As we understand your dispute, you engaged in an initial trial offer with the merchant, which you later cancelled on February 4, 2015.  Upon investigation, it was found that by acceptingthe trial offer.you authorized the merchant to bill you on a recurring basis until your cancellation was processed. Although this may not have been your intention, your acceptance of the company's offer makes the charges considered valid and not an error under the regulations coveringcredit/debit card transactions. Therefore we were not able to obtain the return of the funds toyou from the merchant on this basis.

However,in reviewing the recent activity in your account,we noticed that you received credits from the merchant in the amountof $240.60. The credits posted to your account on February 6, 2015 and February 12, 2015. Also, as a one-time courtesyon February 11, 2015,we credited your account for $24.95(this generated my letterto you dated February 11).

We advise our customers to review their bank statements as soon as it is received or to review their account activity regularly using our free FHB Online service so they can report any suspicious transactions as soon as possible.Please refer to your most recent bank statement for instructions regarding errors and note you must contact us in writingwithin sixty (60) days after you see an error on your statement. This helps get you the best possible results.

If you should have any further questions, please contactany Dispute Specialist at 847-4444 or 1 (800) 342-2778.

Sincerely,


***** ***

Consumer Response: Of course I have documentation to support my complaint.  I have the letter attached from ***** *** that states they will only credit my account $29.95 even though they told me they would help me get back 5 debit reversals of $29.95 each.  I have also attached my response to Fhb, which is very similar to what I stated.  I have since gotten ********** to debit back more, however I am still owed quite a bit of money.  I have also found out, from those I have communicated with, that my bank is the only one not to help their client.  As I stated before this company is being taken to task by the Federal Trade Commission for $22 million dollars and I attached docs to prove it. 

3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My no annual fee card was changed to a $39.00 annual fee card without prior notification. I first noticed the annual fee charge on my February 2015 statement. I called customer service to close my account and waive the charge. The agent didn't seem to know about the new annual fee. I was told to write a letter to Bankcard Center to close the account.

Desired Settlement: I want Bankcard Center to notify its customers in advance via mail and email when the terms of their accounts are going to be changed. I received no advance notice of this change, and I want Bankcard Center to know that this is no way to do business, but it is a good way to lose customers. They have lost this customer.

Business Response: Please see attached response.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Furthermore, I want First Hawaiian Bank to know that I was mistaken about there never being an annual fee on the credit card account in question.
Please accept my thanks for clarifying the matter, closing the account, and waiving the annual fee for 2015.

Sincerely,

***** *****

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made two disputes lately with First Hawaiian Bank involving fraudulent charges on my account. Both disputes were handled extremely unprofessionally and neither were resolved. Instead the bank and its employees ducked and dodged me and rarely got back to me. The first dispute was for 2,300 and I was only supposed to be charged 500. The bank gave me a temporary credit then took it back. The lady in the card department was extremely rude as I am finding most people who work at First Hawaiian Bank are. The next dispute was for a double charge on my car payment. I was paying my car payment twice every month by accident. I was only refunded 25% of that bank error. Its so frustrating that and scary that I feel as my own bank can't protect and then throws me under the bus when a situation arises. I don't trust First Hawaiian Bank at all. I think they rip people off and wash their hands of any responsibility for their customers. Today was the last straw. I was hung up on a man named ***** ******* who was loud and demeaning the whole conversation he almost called me a liar and insinuated it the whole time. Finally he just hung up on me when he got frustrated cause that was the easy way out. I then called his Manager Mr. ****** *** who left little to be desired. I accomplished absolutely nothing with this man. I waited for a couple hours for his lunch to be over with, when I finally heard from him he just minimized my issues. I lost close to 10,000 dollars and this guy had a completely care free attitude and even blamed me multiple times on the phone. He constantly interjected when I was speaking and I had to ask him quite a few times to show a little respect. I am disappointed in ****** because I wasted the whole day waiting on him to call me a second time to give me no news. Again he did absolutely nothing and even made me more angry. When I mentioned I was in the military he even chuckled in a belittling manner. Overall I am disgusted with First Hawaiian Bank and their piss poor attitude!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a verbal and written apology from ****** *** for insulting my employer the "Army" and me! I would like him to apologize to my brothers and sisters in arms that fight and die for him to be free. Then maybe he won't take his freedoms so lightly and try and demean soldiers and laugh at them because he feels that he is better then them because he is a bank manager. Second I would like to be refunded for both disputes and stop having my integrity questioned!

Business Response:

January 16, 2015 

 

***** *****

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU

  

Re:       ID ********

  

Dear ***** *****:

 

This letter is in response to a recent complaint the Better Business Bureau received from our customer, ***** *****. Mr. *****’s complaint stems from his dissatisfaction with the resolution of two recent disputes:

 

·         Dispute # 1 – “Fraudulent” charges involving merchant *****

·         Dispute # 2 – “Fraudulent” charges involving merchant ******** ********

 

Dispute # 1 – Merchant *****

This was reported to First Hawaiian Bank (“FHB”) as “incorrect amount charged,” not “fraudulent” as noted in the complaint. Mr. ***** was charged $2,412.50 but claims it should have been $600. FHB’s BankCard Dispute Department sent five letters requesting additional information (e.g., invoice with the “correct” amount) as required by MasterCard dispute procedures. Since Mr. ***** did not respond with the requested information, the temporary credit of $1,812.50 was debited from his account and the case was closed. Mr. ***** called the Dispute Department to request that we reopen his case. Unfortunately, because FHB did not receive the additional information, the window in which to dispute the transaction through MasterCard closed and we were unable to proceed with the dispute.

 

Dispute # 2 – Merchant ******** ********

This was reported to FHB as “duplicate charges,” not “fraudulent” as noted in the complaint. Mr. ***** authorized automatic transfers of $552 per month to the merchant from his FHB account. He stated that in 2013, he authorized automatic transfers to be deducted from **** and assumed the payments from FHB would stop. FHB did not receive any revocation notice, and thus continued to honor the original authorization.

 

According to FHB’s Deposit Account Rules and in accordance with Regulation E, customers must report errors within 60 days after the statement on which the error first appeared to avoid liability for transactions that occur beyond that time period. The deductions continued until the customer called on December 19, 2014 to dispute all transactions from August 2013 through December 2014 and requested we stop any future payments to ******** ********.

 

On December 26, 2014, we provided a temporary credit in the amount of $2,388 (for the transactions that occurred in August 2013-October 2013, November 2014 and overdraft fees) while we conducted our investigation. As part of our investigation, we submitted a special request to ******** ********’s bank attempting to return the disputed transactions.

 

On January 14, 2015, we were notified by ******** ********’s bank that they had no record of any other payments to credit his account with the merchant and the requested return was denied. ******** ********’s bank recommended that the customer contact ******** ******** to resolve this matter. Based on our investigation, we concluded that the transactions were authorized, they were not duplicate payments, and no revocation of authorization went into effect. Therefore, the temporary credit for the August-October 2013 payments will be debited from Mr. *****’s account. The credit for the November 2014 payment will stand as we were able to return that transaction, in accordance with NACHA rules.

 

We will continue to block all future payments to ******** ******** as requested by Mr. ***** until we receive a request to remove the block. We also recommend that Mr. ***** contact **** to dispute the payments that he stated were deducted from his account but not credited to ******** ********. Mr. ***** was provided both verbal and written notification of our investigation of his dispute with ******** ********.

 

We also investigated Mr. *****’s allegations that he received poor customer service and was treated rudely by FHB personnel.  We did not find any evidence to support Mr. *****’s claims.  Instead, our investigation determined that interactions with Mr. ***** were conducted in a professional and appropriate manner. 

 

If you have further questions about this matter, please contact me at (808) ********.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******** ***, CRCM, VP

Corporate Compliance Division

First Hawaiian Bank

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First Hawaiian Bank is once again being dishonest and lazy. They have made no attempt to contact me and rectify the situation! Instead they are being lazy like usual. I am very concerned for other First Hawaiian Bank customers I feel like they might get scammed as well by this crooked instituition. This bank constantly dodges my calls and makes promises to help then don't hear back from them. The worst part is they seem to be more disrespectful to military and from what one employee told me they don't like mainlanders... She said that the bank would rather only have locals as their customers! That's terrible and kind of racist. I would like my money back and a formal apology to me and my brother and sisters in arms that help protect this great country that First Hawaiian Bank clearly has no respect for!!! They have completely stopped trying to help and now hangup on me as did ****** on a couple occasions! This bank owes me over 8,000 dollars and I won't let them get away with defrauding me or other customers!!!

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Hawaiian Bank (FHB) offers a rewards service called FHBrewards. This service has erroneously or fraudulently billed me for two separate purchases of $250 of points.Day 1: I first called FHB to report the fraud. They insisted I call FHBrewards. FHBrewards then insisted I call FHB. I called back FHB and they said they would call me back. In the meantime my account was debited the total of $500.Day 2: I called FHB, they asked me to call FHBrewards. I reiterated that I have called before about this issue. They said they would look into it and call me back. In the meantime my account was still debited the total of $500.Day 3: I called FHB, and asked for my case number. They stated I have no case number, however they have a record. I asked why did you not call me back? They said they are looking into the issue and will call me back. In the meantime my account is still debited for $500.Day 4: My account is still debited for $500, as well as overdraft fees of $50.

Desired Settlement: 1. Reverse charges2. Reverse overdraft charges3. Unlink my account from FHBrewards4. Provide an explanation5. Investigate FHBrewards for ongoing fraud with other customers

Business Response:

First Hawaiian Bank
BankCard Center
**** *** ****
********* ** *****

November 20, 2014

Mr. ***** ***** **** *************
**** ******** **** *****
********* ****** *****

Re:      Better Business Bureau
Complaint  ID# ********

Dear Mr. *************,

We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. (Complaint  ID# ********  (********)  on or around November  7, 2014, regarding  transactions on your debit card which posted to your checking account.

According to our records, you contacted our Call Center on November 4, 2014, while you were traveling in Thailand. You claimed that there were two unauthorized transactions each in the amount of $250 to purchase 20,000 CashPoints through our rewards web site.   We have credited your checking account for these transactions (2 at $250) on November 13, 2014.  In addition, we have reversed the $60 Special Handling Fee and the $10 Continuous OD Fee which were related
to these transactions. You should be able to see these credit transactions on your December  checking account statement.  We have  also reversed the purchase of the 20,000 CashPoints from your rewards account.

Based on the information you provided to us and our records, we were not able to confirm any fraudulent activity with regards to this situation.  We suggest that you change your password for fhbrewards.com in an abundance of caution.  Per your request, we have unlinked your debit card account from your rewards
account.  Going forward, if you wish to make any purchases, you will have to re-enter your debit card information.

We understand that our communications with you about this issue were intermittent.  We assume that this is because of the time difference or because you have been traveling.  Nevertheless, we apologize for any frustration you may have felt about this.

We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your letter.  Should you have any questions, please contact me at (***) ********.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Vice President
BankCard Center

Business Response:

First Hawaiian Bank.
BankCard Center
**** *** ****
********* ** *****

November 26, 2014

Mr. ***** ***** **** *************
**** ********  **** ***** *********

****** *****

Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint ID# ********

Dear Mr. *************,

We are in receipt of the follow up letter you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. on or around November 24, 2014, regarding your credit card account with us.

We responded to your initial complaint in our letter dated November 20, 2014, and stated the reversal of the $60 Special Handling Fee and the $10 Continuous
OD Fee would be reflected on your December statement.  Our records show a credit of $70, for the $60 Special Handling Fee and the $10 Continuous OD Fee, posted to your checking account on November 24, 2014.

We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your follow up letter.  Should you have any additional questions please contact me at (***) ********.

Sincerely

***** ***
Vice President
BankCard Center

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

However your delay in solving the problem, as well as the fact I had to open up a BB case to have it resolved, reflects very poorly on your business.

Sincerely,

***** *************

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was parked and unknown person(s)damage my vehicle. Contacted Insurance Co and fill necessary forms. After numerous attempt to call them, they haven't returned my call. As if they don't care.

Desired Settlement: Fix my car

Business Response:

First Hawaiian Bank
Hawaii Dealer Division

November 20, 2014

Mr. ******* ******
****** ******* ***

********* ** *****

Re:        Better Business Bureau Complaint ID# ********

Dear Mr. ******,

We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. (Complaint  ID# ********) on or around November 2, 2014, regarding the insurance associated with your automobile  loan (Account# xxx-xx****).

We were able to follow up with the insurance company, *** *************, to address your concerns. In general, it takes approximately thitiy (30) days to process a settlement claim.  According to their records, your car was damaged on or around October 8, 2014.  You submitted a claim form to them on October 16, 2014, and then submitted additional infonnation on or around October 24, 2014. On November 14, 2014, the settlement of your claim was approved.  Therefore, a credit in the amount of five thousand, seven hundred ninety-five dollars and seventy-two cents ($5,795.72) was applied to your loan account.

We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your Complaint.  Thank you for considering First Hawaiian Bank for your financial needs.

Sincerely,

******* ********
VP & Indirect Retail Manager.

First Hawaiian Bank • **** *** **** • ******** • ****** ********** • *******

Consumer Response:

From: Ohana [mailto:*******************] 

Sent: Friday, November 21, 2014 8:22 PM
To: BBB Complaints
Subject: RE: You have a New Message from BBB of Hawaii Regarding Complaint #********

Thank You very much for resolving this issue and keeping me informed.  I am very happy with the outcome. I only wished they could inform me of the status instead of being left in the dark.

Thank You,

******* ******

 

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank has repeatedly taken money from my account for unsubstantiated insufficient funds fees. They are VERY fast on posting withdrawals but intentionally withhold deposits for days after the deposit is sent. This has happened on several occasions throughout my 9 years with them and occasionally they would post "some" of the funds back after I complained. The last time will be the last as they took 2 insufficient funds fees at once without notice and I canceled my account via email. Instead of being happy with the $60.00 they stole, they also proceeded to also take another deposit that was too late to be cancelled. They took both my automatic deposits but did not pay the withdrawal. I have another bank in Texas where I have been a costumer for longer than I have been with First Hawaiian bank and have NEVER had an insufficient funds fee against my account. It points to dishonesty by First Hawaiian Bank. I will bank across the street at their competition when I return to Kailua Kona.

Desired Settlement: Obviously, they would never refund all the monies that they have taken over the years, but they should refund the last 2 taken from my account while I was closing my account.

Business Response:

First  Hawaiian Bank

October 23, 2014

**** *** *******
***** **** **** Dr. *** ***
********, ** *****

Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii (Case# ********)

Dear Mr. *** *******:

We received your emailed letter to the Better Business Bureau dated October 17, 2014.

In your letter, you described being assessed special handling charges as a result items presented to your account before your deposits are made.  Please be assured that all items, debits or credits, are posted to accounts on the same day they are presented to First Hawaiian Bank. I have researched your account and the following is a recap:

On October 1, 2014:   your beginning balance was  $1.35.
Funds Transfer to eBay     -$16.62
Funds Transfer to USAA   -$20.00
-$35.27- Ending balance

On October 2, 2014:   Direct deposit from USAA    +15.00
Two Special Handling charges for the 2 FTs above  -$60.00
-$80.27- Ending balance

On October 6, 2014:    Direct deposit from Amazon  +$75.37
-$4.90

You emailed FHB to close your account. We credited.     +4.90
-0-

On October 7, 2014:    Funds Transfer Capital One  -$60.00  (returned)

On October 8, 2014:    Direct deposit from Half.com  $6.63
Check mailed to you   -$6.63
-0-

No other charges were assessed to your account.  We hope that this has been helpful to you.

Sincerely,

****** ** ***
Vice President

Business Response: see attached

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: As I stated, the numbers dates and amounts have been adjusted to fit the means of the bank.  This bank has stolen more than $130.00 in supposed insufficient funds fees.  If you look at the amounts involved there was always enough in their processing system to cover all withdrawals but they choose to hold incoming deposits that are electronically deposited until after the funds are withdrawn.  I don't much care that they stick to their dishonest claims.  The public needs to be warned about their tactics.

Sincerely,

**** **********

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put in some request both, in person and via phone and none of them have been fulfilled. I visited the Kaimuki branch due to my relocation. I requested my credit card billing statement to be sent to my updated mailing address. The teller gave me a form to fill out; I asked her if my billing statement had already been sent out. She asked me if it was sent out to my previous address would there be anyone to receive it. I answered, "No," and told her that it would be problematic. She said that she was going to put in a note to send another billing statement to my updated address. On 06/30/2014 I had to make a payment and noticed an unauthorized charge; I called customer service. When I was talking to the rep, I was informed that my address had not been updated. She said that she was going to send me the dispute form and the address update form. However, I had not received neither of the form and called the customer service again on 07/07 and explained that I still had not received the forms and how I was in the time limit due to my over seas travel. I was transferred to another person. She had no compassion, no sympathy whatsoever and just said that the paperwork was sent out on 06/30. I explained to her that I am scheduled to leave the country and asked if there was any way that she could help me expedite the process for me. She said the mail was sent out on 06/30/2014 and it will take 7-10 business days. I asked her if my best bet was to wait to see if I would receive the mail before I leave; she said, "Yes." I asked her what would happen to my dispute if I am not able to respond in a timely manner due to my absence. She said that they will cancel and close the dispute. I am surprised by the complication of the dispute process. All the other credit cards that I have only required my phone call saying that I don't authorize the charges.

Desired Settlement: I still have not received any of the paperwork and I am leaving tomorrow. Due to my absence, the complication of the process, delay of the process, etc. I ask First Hawaiian Bank to take charge of my dispute and refund me for my dispute of 101.57. This is a double charge by the ***********************. I should have been charged one time but I was charged two time for the same amount on 06/24 and 06/25. I stayed at the hotel for 06/21/2014-06/22/2014 and I have been charged for two nights. Since I would be out of the country, the best way to contact me would be via e-mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ July 22, 2014 Ms. *********** ******************* *********************6 Dear Ms. ***: We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, inc. (Case # ********) on or around July 10, 2014, regarding your credit card account with us. According to our records, you completed the Bank's Change of Address Form on June 16, 2014, for your checking and credit card account. We apologize for the delay in processing the change of address for your credit card. We are able to confirm that, as of July 11, 2014, your credit card account was updated to reflect your address in *******, **********. Additionally, our records show on June 30, 2014, the ***************** transaction in the amount of $101.57 was placed into dispute. As provided in the letter dated July 11, 2014 (see enclosed), which was sent to you, we have concluded our investigation and an adjustment in the amount of $101.57 was credited to your account. We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your letter. Should you have any further questions please contact me, at (808)********. Sincereiy, ********* Vice President BankCard Center Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/08/12) */ August 11, 2014 Ms. *********** ******************* ********************* Re: Complaint Activity Report Case ******** Dear Ms. ***: We are in receipt of the response you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. (Case # ********) on or around July 27, 2014, regarding your credit card account with us. According to our records, your credit card account is paid in full. Accordingly, there were no late fees or finance charges assessed against you. As we stated in our response letter to you dated July ll, 2014, the address on your account was updated as of July 11, 2014. To clarify, the Bank credited your account for the transaction involving the ******************** on July 11, 2014. ln reviewing your account, we realized that the merchant had also issued a credit to your account on July 23, 2014. 0n August 6, 2014 the Bank processed an adjustment to your account to reverse the duplicate credit of the ******************** transaction. You should see the merchant's credit, as well as the Bank's reversal of credit, on your August 19, 2014, statement. Although your account was originally charged for the transaction involving the ********************, you were not provided any rewards points. You are not eligible for rewards related to transactions that you claim you are not responsible for. We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your letter. Should you have any questions, or if you have any additional information you would like us to consider, please contact *********, our BankCard Center Manager, at (808) ********. Sincerely, ********* Vice President BankCard Center Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am disappointed by the fact the First Hawaiian Bank does not recognize its inconvenience that has caused me by providing confusing information regarding my address update. I am also disappointed that First Hawaiian Bank is losing its focus and trying to justify its stance by all means. I mentioned I did not receive the address update letter since I left on July 12, 2014; First Hawaiian Bank says that my address was updated on July 11, 2014. I was trying to say that I was provided with confusing information. In this letter again, First Hawaiian Bank is saying that my address was updated on July 11, 2014. That is not the point! I took care of the matter in mid June, when I called around the end of June, I was told that my address was not updated. I complain and First Hawaiian Bank says that my address is updated. This lack of understanding and inconsistant information given every step without any apologies. Throughout this episode I deeply lost my confidence and respect for First Hawaiian Bank. When I called to dispute my charges, I was told that I had to fill out a form which I have not received. First Hawaiian Bank did not apologize neither explained what happened till today. If I need to dispute my charges in the future, I should file a complaint via BBB to avoid the hassle? First Hawaiian Bank failed to respond in a timely fashion to assist me for my refund; I got my refund by contacting various sources. I requested for the reward points because First Hawaiian Bank has shown no initiation, no sympathy, no customer service, no apologies for nothing. And, of course, you can't provide reward points for a long, loyal customer with good credit and payment history. When I called from overseas, worried about my payment, I asked the rep if I would be charged for any late fees, or if I even have any late fees/interest. Basically her answer was, "I don't know; you have to call back tomorrow." Seriously? That's the only way? I suspect First Hawaiian Bank could have initiated to reached me via e-mail. But no! I clearly understand that First Hawaiian Bank is saying my address is updated, I have not been charged for any fees, and since I successfully fought for my refund, First Hawaiian Bank is withdrawing the refund and no rewards points. This solved all the issues, case closed. Very well. I do not wish to be bothered regarding this matter by First Hawaiian Bank. I do ask BBB to take note of First Hawaiian Bank's customer service. Throughout this whole process, First Hawaiian Bank did not show any sympathy, no customer service, no initiative. I am deeply disappointed by First Hawaiian Bank with this matter.

7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FHB has twice put an excessive insurance policy on my auto loan when I already have complete coverage. I have a car loan # ******** and today for the second time in less than a year the bank has stuck an excessive insurance policy on the loan for $3049.00. I have had insurance coverage thru *************************** in Honolulu since the car was purchased. I am very unhappy and tired of dealing with this so I am trying to get rid of the loan but the payoff of the car was just jacked up 3049.00. I have sent them copies of my insurance but they still pull this stunt again. This is totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want this insurance policy removed and an apology from the bank. I will never do business with FHB again either for myself or for my business due to their business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ July 9, 2014 Re: BBB Case Number: ******** Loan ******** Dear Mr. ******, This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding the insurance that was added to your auto loan. On May 23, 2013, we financed your loan to purchase your vehicle. As a condition of the loan, the vehicle must be insured and if proof of insurance is not received we purchase insurance on your behalf. We received a cancellation notice on April 29, 2014 effective May 14, 2014. (See Exhibit A). We mailed the first notice on May 16, 2014 due to your policy was cancelled. We mailed a second notice on June 13, 2014. The third notice and placement was mailed on June 27, 2014, whereby CPI was placed on your loan in the amount of $3,049.00 as a result of no response to the previous letters. We then received a *************** reinstatement notice on July 3, 2014, effective May 14, 2014. This will support a CPI flat cancellation with a full premium refund. We have attached a copy of the refund letter for your review (see Exhibit B). We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hope you are satisfied with the knowledge that a full refund of the premium add was credited to your account. Sincerely, **************** VP & Indirect Retail Manager

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delay in service. Walk in to get new debit card but form wasn't process till 1 week later. I had walk in to FHB Waikiki branch on 5/5/14 due to my debit card with them was demagnetized. The lady who assisted me helped me verify my address which turns out to be incorrect so it was updated at the same time so I would get my debit card. No estimate time of when I would get my new card from FHB was told to me. No one told me there will be a delay in the process of a debit card. Every other bank I am with was able to sent me a debit card within 5 working days. One week later I still haven't gotten my debit card so I called FHB on 5/14/14 to check on the status. The phone representative told me my debit card reissue request was not process till 5/12/14. I asked her why and she just said it just wasn't process till 5/12/14. No apology or reason could be given to me of why my request was not process till 5 working days later. I've been unable to get cash out and could only purchase items online since my debit card doesn't work. Had I known it'll take over a week to get a replacement, I would have been more prepare for this delay from the bank and taken out additional cash. As of right now, the bank is close by the time I get off work. They aren't open before I go to work. The only time I could go is during my lunch break or on Saturday.

Desired Settlement: I wish for FHB to provide better customer service and take the few minutes it'll take to tell their customer things like by the way, it could take up to 2 weeks for you to get your debit card or giving an explanation of why customer request was delay. A 5 working day delay in paperwork process is not acceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/03) */ June 2, 2014 Dear Ms. ***, We are in receipt of the complaint information you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii ("BBB"). The BBB forwarded the complaint to us on May 16, 2014 for response. We apologize for the customer service and inconvenience you experienced when requesting a new debit card. It is our practice to provide customers an estimate on the time it will take to receive a new debit card, and We apologize if this information was not given to you. Our records indicate that you ordered a new debit card on May 5, 2014 and your new card was sent on May 13, 2014. Due to the address Change that was made, the process of issuing a new card was slightly longer to ensure the Card was sent to the right address. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We value our relationship with you and trust that this response has fully addressed your Concerns. Sincerely, **************** Executive Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer Corporate Compliance Division

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was fined $7 to my FHB account due to my employer's FHB payroll check bouncing. I was informed that this is company policy to fine both parties. I received notice in the mail from First Hawaiian Bank that the payroll check I had received and deposited on 4/25/2014, issued by my employer ***********************. via First Hawaiian Bank Manoa Branch in the amount of $154.73, had bounced due to the employer's lack of sufficient funds (NSF), and I was charged an additional $7 by First Hawaiian Bank for the employer's bad check. Speaking with a teller, the teller's supervisor, and finally ********************, Senior Vice President and Area Manager of the University Branch of FHB, I was informed that it is company policy to charge a fee to both parties when a check from one party bounces, and I was also informed that whether it is a payroll check or not, or whether it is issued through FHB accounts or not, or whether the check is being sent or received, has no bearing on the fee being issued. I informed Mr. ******* as well as the teller and teller's supervisor that this company policy is unacceptable and needs to change, because an employee should not be charged a fee for their employer's bad check bouncing. FHB should be responsible to their customers and not allow employers (i.e. *************************) to issue payroll checks with insufficient funds in their accounts, nor should they be charging fees to recipients of bad checks issued via FHB. Although Mr. ******* listened to my case, I explained that I am dissatisfied with the policy and asked that he do all he can to change this, but he replied in a curt manner that he there was no way to change the policy. I obtained his contact information as well as his supervisor's contact information, and I am now making efforts to change this bad business policy that will adversely affect all First Hawaiian Bank customers. The burden of this bad policy unfortunately falls on the employee who may be struggling to make ends meet, paying rent and buying groceries, when his or her payroll check issued by their employer bounces as a result of the employer's FHB account lacking sufficient funds to begin with, and then the employee as a result having insufficient funds to pay rent or buy groceries for the week so their relationship with their landlord or theirs and/or their family's well-being is threatened by this policy. Thank you for your earnest investigation of this problem affecting the people of Hawaii.

Desired Settlement: I seek policy change to address the failures of the current policy in providing good and just customer service. Firstly, First Hawaiian Bank should not allow employers with FHB accounts to issue payroll checks when they do not have sufficient funds in their account to begin with; there needs to be greater accountability in the case of an employer issuing a payroll check. Secondly, and needless to say because the first policy change will render this second clause obsolete, First Hawaiian Bank should not be charging fees to customers for an employer's bad FHB check bouncing. The financial burden for a check being issued should rest entirely on the person issuing the check, not on the check's recipient; and in the case of a lack of sufficient funds on the part of the person issuing the check via a FHB account that results the check bouncing, the financial burden of compensating for the bounced check rests on the one who issues the check -- and FHB is also financially accountable for this bad check because it was a payroll check issued through their services and linked to a FHB account with a lack of sufficient funds to issue that payroll check. I am also able to provide records of the correspondence which shows the not sufficient funds fee that was charged to my account. Thank you for reading my case and for your commitment to this policy change that will improve the livelihood of working families of Hawaii and hold banks and businesses more accountable to and responsible for their customers and employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ May 19, 2014 ****************** ******************** ********************** Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc.; Case #******** Dear Mr. *******: We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. on or around April 30, 2014, and which we received on May l, 2014, regarding your deposit account with us. According to our records, you deposited a check drawn on *************************'s ("***") business account (check no. ****, dated April 22, 2014) on April 24, 2014, in the amount of $154.73. Because ***'s check was drawn directly on the company's business account, it was not a "payroll check." A "payroll check", as we define the term, is a check drawn on a separate payroll account established as part ofthe business payroll services offered by the bank. With such payroll services, payroll checks are not released until adequate funds are deposited into the payroll account to ensure that all payroll checks can be honored. ***'s check that was issued to you is simply considered a "business check." As with any "business check", the bank has no knowledge ofthe purpose behind any check issued (e.g., whether it is a payment to a vendor or to a supplier or to an employee). The company issuing the check is solely responsible for ensuring sufficient funds are available to clear any business checks issued. Because sufficient funds were not available at the time this check was processed, it was returned unpaid (i.e., "bounced"). First Hawaiian Bank had no obligation to honor this item against insufficient funds since it was not a payroll check as defined above, but was simply a business check drawn on ***'s own account. Furthermore, on April 25, 2014, you were assessed a $7.00 fee for the return of the deposited *** check. This "Returned Deposited Check" fee is for processing the "bounced" *** check that was deposited to your account, and is described in the section entitled "Other Account Fees" in your fee schedule. A copy of the fee schedule applicable to your account is enclosed for your reference. We appreciate your suggestions, but this fee is assessed to the depository account because of the processing required to charge back the depository account and to provide the depositor with notice regarding, and a copy of, the returned item. As a courtesy, the fee was waived and your account was credited by the University Branch on April 25, 2014. We trust that this resolves all ofthe issues in your letter. Should you have any questions, or if you have any additional information you would like us to consider, please contact me at ********. Sincerely, ******** Vice President Deposit Products Department Enc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The policy of charging both the recipient and originator a fee for a bounced check is an unfair practice. It is reasonable to charge a fee to an individual who writes a bad check, but it is not reasonable to charge a fee to an individual who receives a bad check. This policy needs to change, and First Hawaiian Bank is responsible to its customers to change this policy immediately.

11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought car thru FHB. Had insurance but they said none found so FHB added $3329 ins. policy. FHB refuses to refund full amount. I purchase a vehicle thru FHB and my insurance company sent proof of coverage. FHB said no proof was found so they added a arbitrarily high premium of $3229. When the paperwork was finally straighten out after three attempts by my insurance company they refused to credit back the full amount, instead they prorated it and still charged me $1259. This sort of business practice is unacceptable to me and is dishonest. I don't like the First Hawaiian Bank business practices and will recommend to anyone that they are not a customer friendly bank.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for First Hawaiian bank to refund me the full amount of $3329 they charged me for the unnecessary insurance policy instead of the prorated amount. I will never buy a vehicle thru FHB because of their suspect business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ Dear Mr. ******, This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding the insurance that was added to your auto loan. On May 23, 2013, we financed your loan to purchase your vehicle. As a condition of the loan, the vehicle must be insured and if proof of insurance is not received we purchase insurance on your behalf. We did not receive proof of insurance so reminder notices were sent to you on July 12, 2013 and August 9, 2013. (See Exhibit A.) We received proof of your insurance policies on September 27, 2013 (policy effective date of October 8,2013) and on October 11, 2013 (policy effective date of October 8, 2012). Upon receipt of both policies, we processed two refunds: a partial refund of $2,070.00 on October 8, 2013, and a second partial refund of $1,259.00 on October 11, 2013, for a total refund of $3,329.00. These amounts were credited to your account. (See Exhibit B.) We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and trust that this issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Sincerely, ******************* Vice President and indirect Retail Manager Hawaii Dealer Division Enclosures Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank honored a check that was dated over two years old and reported stolen in the past. I have been with this back for over ten years and have referred many clients, new to the island, to this bank as well. Which I no longer do for obvious reasons. I was notified that I was delinquent a significant amount of monies in my account. When I looked further into it I noticed a check was cashed in 12/2012 that was written out/dated in 2010 AND reported lost in the past and this bank actually honored it! When I went to the branch nearest me I was told a stop on a check is only good for six months and there was nothing I can do to dispute it. Which is absolutely absurd! The even shocking part is there were not any funds or any activity to this account for nearly a year (as I have started to bank with another institute). So why they honored it is beyond me. When I argued the reasoning for honoring a check that was not only two years old, reported lost in the past, but on an account that had no monies in it with no recent activity all I got in return was "it is because I was a long time customer and a formula we used determined it was OK to honor this check". What formula? The "head teller" at the bank could not tell me as she was not fimiliar with it. Go figure. I wrote a letter to the FHB Headquarters in Honolulu and no reply. Go figure. I did take care of the delinquent amount as they threatened to report it to the credit bureau. This bank did not look out for my best interest as a long time customer. Lack of better words this bank has helped someone STEAL money from me and would not help me dispute it. Needless to say I have closed my account with this bank and no longer refer clients to this institute.

Desired Settlement: Dispute the cashed check. If this bank can honor a two year old check then I don't see why they could not dispute a check that was cashed seven months ago. I would like my funds returned. I should not be held responsible for poor practice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ On July 17, 2013, the following letter was sent to the customer for additional information regarding her complaint. As of July 29, 2013, we have not received a response from the customer. July 17, 2013 **************** ************ ***************** Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii (Case # ********) Dear Ms. ********: This is in response to your Better Business Bureau complaint, which was referred to me. I was unable to locate your account and check in question. Please call me at (808) ******** to clarify the details so that I can further investigate your complaint. Sincerely, ************* Assistant Vice President Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Information needed from business has been provided.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on First Hawaiian Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart