BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and consumer banking services, and engages in equipment and vehicle leasing and offers trust, investment and insurance products.

It is a State of Hawai'i-chartered bank that has 58 branches in Hawaii, three in Guam and two in Saipan. It is a subsidiary of BancWest Corporation, a regional financial services company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Hawaiian Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Hawaiian Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on First Hawaiian Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1945 Business started: 08/17/1858 Business started locally: 08/17/1858 Business incorporated: 02/04/1974 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40402708-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Harrison, President/CEO Ms. Gina Anonuevo Mr. Tom Dixon, BBB Board Member Mr. Brandt Farias, Executive Vice President Mr. Donald Horner, Chairman Mr. Kimo Mills, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Gina Anonuevo
Principal: Mr. Robert Harrison, President/CEO
Business Category

Banks

Alternate Business Names
BancWest Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Mapunapuna St

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 1111 S Beretania St

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 120 Sand Island Access Road

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 120 Waianuenue Ave

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 1205 Kilauea Ave  Hilo Shopping Center

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 1348 Hunakai St

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 1420 Liliha St

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 1580 Kapiolani Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 161 Wailea Ike Pl Ste A101

    Wailea, HI 96753 (808) 874-7575

  • 2 N King St

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 525-6888

  • 20 W Kaahumanu Ave, 2nd floor

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 215 Papalaua St

    Lahaina, HI 96761

  • 2181 Kalakaua Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 2250 N King St

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 2411 S King St  University Banking Center

    Honolulu, HI 96826

  • 250 Ward Ave Ste 140

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 27 N Market St

    Wailuku, HI 96793

  • 2764 Woodlawn Dr  Manoa Marketplace

    Honolulu, HI 96822 (808) 973-6481

  • 3-2600 Kaumualii Hwy, #1023  Kukui Grove Center

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 30 Hickam Ct # 1

    Honolulu, HI 96818

  • 3506 Waikomo Raod

    Koloa, HI 96756

  • 3599 Waialae Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 4-1366 Kuhio Hwy

    Kapaa, HI 96746

  • 41 E Lipoa St Ste 28  Lipoa Shopping Center

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 433 Kapahulu Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 438 Hobron Lane  Eaton Square

    Honolulu, HI 96815 (808) 973-6463

  • 4423 Rice St

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 445 N King St

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 4469 Waialo Rd  Eleele Shopping Center, Bldg. #606

    Eleele, HI 96705

  • 45-3538 Mamane St.

    Honokaa, HI 96727

  • 45-480 Kaneohe Bay Dr Bldg H

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 4525 Panako Road

    Waimea, HI 96796

  • 46-047 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 5-4280 Kuhio Hwy

    Princeville, HI 96722 (808) 826-1560

  • 5095 Napilihau Street  Napili Plaza

    Lahaina, HI 96761

  • 56-565 Kamehameha Hwy  Kahuku Sugar Mill Shopping Center

    Kahuku, HI 96731

  • 590 Farrington Hwy  Kapolei Shopping Center

    Kapolei, HI 96707

  • 644 Lanai Avenue

    Lanai City, HI 96763

  • 66-135 Kamehameha Hwy

    Haleiwa, HI 96712

  • 67 Makawao Ave

    Makawao, HI 96768

  • 67-1189 Mamalahoa Hwy  Kamuela Shopping Center

    Kamuela, HI 96743

  • 68-1845 Waikoloa Road  Waikoloa Highlands Shopping Center

    Waikoloa, HI 96738

  • 705 Kailua Rd

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 7110 Kalanianaole Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96825

  • 730 California Ave

    Wahiawa, HI 96786

  • 74-5593 Palani Rd

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740

  • 81-6626 Mamalahoa Hwy

    Kealakekua, HI 96750

  • 820 W Hind Dr Ste 129  Aina Haina Shopping Center

    Honolulu, HI 96821

  • 86-020 Farrington Hwy

    Waianae, HI 96792

  • 888 Kapahulu Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 890 Kamehameha Hwy

    Pearl City, HI 96782

  • 91-919 Fort Weaver Rd  Ewa Beach Shopping Center

    Ewa Beach, HI 96706

  • 94-205 Leoku St

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 95-390 Kuahelani  Mililani Shopping Center

    Mililani, HI 96789

  • 98-1071 Moanalua Rd

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • 999 Bishop Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (800) 545-6300 (808) 525-7000

  • PO Box 1959

    Honolulu, HI 96805

  • PO Box 3200

    Honolulu, HI 96847

  • PO Box 648  Government Main Road

    Pahoa, HI 96778

  • Schofield Barracks, Bldg. 3321

    Wahiawa, HI 96786

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 545-6300(Phone)
  • (808) 525-6250(Phone)
  • (808) 525-7000(Phone)
  • (808) 525-7086(Phone)
  • (808) 844-4444(Phone)
  • (808) 844-3476 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put in some request both, in person and via phone and none of them have been fulfilled. I visited the Kaimuki branch due to my relocation. I requested my credit card billing statement to be sent to my updated mailing address. The teller gave me a form to fill out; I asked her if my billing statement had already been sent out. She asked me if it was sent out to my previous address would there be anyone to receive it. I answered, "No," and told her that it would be problematic. She said that she was going to put in a note to send another billing statement to my updated address. On 06/30/2014 I had to make a payment and noticed an unauthorized charge; I called customer service. When I was talking to the rep, I was informed that my address had not been updated. She said that she was going to send me the dispute form and the address update form. However, I had not received neither of the form and called the customer service again on 07/07 and explained that I still had not received the forms and how I was in the time limit due to my over seas travel. I was transferred to another person. She had no compassion, no sympathy whatsoever and just said that the paperwork was sent out on 06/30. I explained to her that I am scheduled to leave the country and asked if there was any way that she could help me expedite the process for me. She said the mail was sent out on 06/30/2014 and it will take 7-10 business days. I asked her if my best bet was to wait to see if I would receive the mail before I leave; she said, "Yes." I asked her what would happen to my dispute if I am not able to respond in a timely manner due to my absence. She said that they will cancel and close the dispute. I am surprised by the complication of the dispute process. All the other credit cards that I have only required my phone call saying that I don't authorize the charges.

Desired Settlement: I still have not received any of the paperwork and I am leaving tomorrow. Due to my absence, the complication of the process, delay of the process, etc. I ask First Hawaiian Bank to take charge of my dispute and refund me for my dispute of 101.57. This is a double charge by the ***********************. I should have been charged one time but I was charged two time for the same amount on 06/24 and 06/25. I stayed at the hotel for 06/21/2014-06/22/2014 and I have been charged for two nights. Since I would be out of the country, the best way to contact me would be via e-mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ July 22, 2014 Ms. *********** ******************* *********************6 Dear Ms. ***: We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, inc. (Case # ********) on or around July 10, 2014, regarding your credit card account with us. According to our records, you completed the Bank's Change of Address Form on June 16, 2014, for your checking and credit card account. We apologize for the delay in processing the change of address for your credit card. We are able to confirm that, as of July 11, 2014, your credit card account was updated to reflect your address in *******, **********. Additionally, our records show on June 30, 2014, the ***************** transaction in the amount of $101.57 was placed into dispute. As provided in the letter dated July 11, 2014 (see enclosed), which was sent to you, we have concluded our investigation and an adjustment in the amount of $101.57 was credited to your account. We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your letter. Should you have any further questions please contact me, at (808)********. Sincereiy, ********* Vice President BankCard Center Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/08/12) */ August 11, 2014 Ms. *********** ******************* ********************* Re: Complaint Activity Report Case ******** Dear Ms. ***: We are in receipt of the response you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. (Case # ********) on or around July 27, 2014, regarding your credit card account with us. According to our records, your credit card account is paid in full. Accordingly, there were no late fees or finance charges assessed against you. As we stated in our response letter to you dated July ll, 2014, the address on your account was updated as of July 11, 2014. To clarify, the Bank credited your account for the transaction involving the ******************** on July 11, 2014. ln reviewing your account, we realized that the merchant had also issued a credit to your account on July 23, 2014. 0n August 6, 2014 the Bank processed an adjustment to your account to reverse the duplicate credit of the ******************** transaction. You should see the merchant's credit, as well as the Bank's reversal of credit, on your August 19, 2014, statement. Although your account was originally charged for the transaction involving the ********************, you were not provided any rewards points. You are not eligible for rewards related to transactions that you claim you are not responsible for. We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your letter. Should you have any questions, or if you have any additional information you would like us to consider, please contact *********, our BankCard Center Manager, at (808) ********. Sincerely, ********* Vice President BankCard Center Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am disappointed by the fact the First Hawaiian Bank does not recognize its inconvenience that has caused me by providing confusing information regarding my address update. I am also disappointed that First Hawaiian Bank is losing its focus and trying to justify its stance by all means. I mentioned I did not receive the address update letter since I left on July 12, 2014; First Hawaiian Bank says that my address was updated on July 11, 2014. I was trying to say that I was provided with confusing information. In this letter again, First Hawaiian Bank is saying that my address was updated on July 11, 2014. That is not the point! I took care of the matter in mid June, when I called around the end of June, I was told that my address was not updated. I complain and First Hawaiian Bank says that my address is updated. This lack of understanding and inconsistant information given every step without any apologies. Throughout this episode I deeply lost my confidence and respect for First Hawaiian Bank. When I called to dispute my charges, I was told that I had to fill out a form which I have not received. First Hawaiian Bank did not apologize neither explained what happened till today. If I need to dispute my charges in the future, I should file a complaint via BBB to avoid the hassle? First Hawaiian Bank failed to respond in a timely fashion to assist me for my refund; I got my refund by contacting various sources. I requested for the reward points because First Hawaiian Bank has shown no initiation, no sympathy, no customer service, no apologies for nothing. And, of course, you can't provide reward points for a long, loyal customer with good credit and payment history. When I called from overseas, worried about my payment, I asked the rep if I would be charged for any late fees, or if I even have any late fees/interest. Basically her answer was, "I don't know; you have to call back tomorrow." Seriously? That's the only way? I suspect First Hawaiian Bank could have initiated to reached me via e-mail. But no! I clearly understand that First Hawaiian Bank is saying my address is updated, I have not been charged for any fees, and since I successfully fought for my refund, First Hawaiian Bank is withdrawing the refund and no rewards points. This solved all the issues, case closed. Very well. I do not wish to be bothered regarding this matter by First Hawaiian Bank. I do ask BBB to take note of First Hawaiian Bank's customer service. Throughout this whole process, First Hawaiian Bank did not show any sympathy, no customer service, no initiative. I am deeply disappointed by First Hawaiian Bank with this matter.

7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FHB has twice put an excessive insurance policy on my auto loan when I already have complete coverage. I have a car loan # ******** and today for the second time in less than a year the bank has stuck an excessive insurance policy on the loan for $3049.00. I have had insurance coverage thru *************************** in Honolulu since the car was purchased. I am very unhappy and tired of dealing with this so I am trying to get rid of the loan but the payoff of the car was just jacked up 3049.00. I have sent them copies of my insurance but they still pull this stunt again. This is totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want this insurance policy removed and an apology from the bank. I will never do business with FHB again either for myself or for my business due to their business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ July 9, 2014 Re: BBB Case Number: ******** Loan ******** Dear Mr. ******, This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding the insurance that was added to your auto loan. On May 23, 2013, we financed your loan to purchase your vehicle. As a condition of the loan, the vehicle must be insured and if proof of insurance is not received we purchase insurance on your behalf. We received a cancellation notice on April 29, 2014 effective May 14, 2014. (See Exhibit A). We mailed the first notice on May 16, 2014 due to your policy was cancelled. We mailed a second notice on June 13, 2014. The third notice and placement was mailed on June 27, 2014, whereby CPI was placed on your loan in the amount of $3,049.00 as a result of no response to the previous letters. We then received a *************** reinstatement notice on July 3, 2014, effective May 14, 2014. This will support a CPI flat cancellation with a full premium refund. We have attached a copy of the refund letter for your review (see Exhibit B). We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hope you are satisfied with the knowledge that a full refund of the premium add was credited to your account. Sincerely, **************** VP & Indirect Retail Manager

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delay in service. Walk in to get new debit card but form wasn't process till 1 week later. I had walk in to FHB Waikiki branch on 5/5/14 due to my debit card with them was demagnetized. The lady who assisted me helped me verify my address which turns out to be incorrect so it was updated at the same time so I would get my debit card. No estimate time of when I would get my new card from FHB was told to me. No one told me there will be a delay in the process of a debit card. Every other bank I am with was able to sent me a debit card within 5 working days. One week later I still haven't gotten my debit card so I called FHB on 5/14/14 to check on the status. The phone representative told me my debit card reissue request was not process till 5/12/14. I asked her why and she just said it just wasn't process till 5/12/14. No apology or reason could be given to me of why my request was not process till 5 working days later. I've been unable to get cash out and could only purchase items online since my debit card doesn't work. Had I known it'll take over a week to get a replacement, I would have been more prepare for this delay from the bank and taken out additional cash. As of right now, the bank is close by the time I get off work. They aren't open before I go to work. The only time I could go is during my lunch break or on Saturday.

Desired Settlement: I wish for FHB to provide better customer service and take the few minutes it'll take to tell their customer things like by the way, it could take up to 2 weeks for you to get your debit card or giving an explanation of why customer request was delay. A 5 working day delay in paperwork process is not acceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/03) */ June 2, 2014 Dear Ms. ***, We are in receipt of the complaint information you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii ("BBB"). The BBB forwarded the complaint to us on May 16, 2014 for response. We apologize for the customer service and inconvenience you experienced when requesting a new debit card. It is our practice to provide customers an estimate on the time it will take to receive a new debit card, and We apologize if this information was not given to you. Our records indicate that you ordered a new debit card on May 5, 2014 and your new card was sent on May 13, 2014. Due to the address Change that was made, the process of issuing a new card was slightly longer to ensure the Card was sent to the right address. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We value our relationship with you and trust that this response has fully addressed your Concerns. Sincerely, **************** Executive Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer Corporate Compliance Division

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was fined $7 to my FHB account due to my employer's FHB payroll check bouncing. I was informed that this is company policy to fine both parties. I received notice in the mail from First Hawaiian Bank that the payroll check I had received and deposited on 4/25/2014, issued by my employer ***********************. via First Hawaiian Bank Manoa Branch in the amount of $154.73, had bounced due to the employer's lack of sufficient funds (NSF), and I was charged an additional $7 by First Hawaiian Bank for the employer's bad check. Speaking with a teller, the teller's supervisor, and finally ********************, Senior Vice President and Area Manager of the University Branch of FHB, I was informed that it is company policy to charge a fee to both parties when a check from one party bounces, and I was also informed that whether it is a payroll check or not, or whether it is issued through FHB accounts or not, or whether the check is being sent or received, has no bearing on the fee being issued. I informed Mr. ******* as well as the teller and teller's supervisor that this company policy is unacceptable and needs to change, because an employee should not be charged a fee for their employer's bad check bouncing. FHB should be responsible to their customers and not allow employers (i.e. *************************) to issue payroll checks with insufficient funds in their accounts, nor should they be charging fees to recipients of bad checks issued via FHB. Although Mr. ******* listened to my case, I explained that I am dissatisfied with the policy and asked that he do all he can to change this, but he replied in a curt manner that he there was no way to change the policy. I obtained his contact information as well as his supervisor's contact information, and I am now making efforts to change this bad business policy that will adversely affect all First Hawaiian Bank customers. The burden of this bad policy unfortunately falls on the employee who may be struggling to make ends meet, paying rent and buying groceries, when his or her payroll check issued by their employer bounces as a result of the employer's FHB account lacking sufficient funds to begin with, and then the employee as a result having insufficient funds to pay rent or buy groceries for the week so their relationship with their landlord or theirs and/or their family's well-being is threatened by this policy. Thank you for your earnest investigation of this problem affecting the people of Hawaii.

Desired Settlement: I seek policy change to address the failures of the current policy in providing good and just customer service. Firstly, First Hawaiian Bank should not allow employers with FHB accounts to issue payroll checks when they do not have sufficient funds in their account to begin with; there needs to be greater accountability in the case of an employer issuing a payroll check. Secondly, and needless to say because the first policy change will render this second clause obsolete, First Hawaiian Bank should not be charging fees to customers for an employer's bad FHB check bouncing. The financial burden for a check being issued should rest entirely on the person issuing the check, not on the check's recipient; and in the case of a lack of sufficient funds on the part of the person issuing the check via a FHB account that results the check bouncing, the financial burden of compensating for the bounced check rests on the one who issues the check -- and FHB is also financially accountable for this bad check because it was a payroll check issued through their services and linked to a FHB account with a lack of sufficient funds to issue that payroll check. I am also able to provide records of the correspondence which shows the not sufficient funds fee that was charged to my account. Thank you for reading my case and for your commitment to this policy change that will improve the livelihood of working families of Hawaii and hold banks and businesses more accountable to and responsible for their customers and employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ May 19, 2014 ****************** ******************** ********************** Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc.; Case #******** Dear Mr. *******: We are in receipt of the complaint you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. on or around April 30, 2014, and which we received on May l, 2014, regarding your deposit account with us. According to our records, you deposited a check drawn on *************************'s ("***") business account (check no. ****, dated April 22, 2014) on April 24, 2014, in the amount of $154.73. Because ***'s check was drawn directly on the company's business account, it was not a "payroll check." A "payroll check", as we define the term, is a check drawn on a separate payroll account established as part ofthe business payroll services offered by the bank. With such payroll services, payroll checks are not released until adequate funds are deposited into the payroll account to ensure that all payroll checks can be honored. ***'s check that was issued to you is simply considered a "business check." As with any "business check", the bank has no knowledge ofthe purpose behind any check issued (e.g., whether it is a payment to a vendor or to a supplier or to an employee). The company issuing the check is solely responsible for ensuring sufficient funds are available to clear any business checks issued. Because sufficient funds were not available at the time this check was processed, it was returned unpaid (i.e., "bounced"). First Hawaiian Bank had no obligation to honor this item against insufficient funds since it was not a payroll check as defined above, but was simply a business check drawn on ***'s own account. Furthermore, on April 25, 2014, you were assessed a $7.00 fee for the return of the deposited *** check. This "Returned Deposited Check" fee is for processing the "bounced" *** check that was deposited to your account, and is described in the section entitled "Other Account Fees" in your fee schedule. A copy of the fee schedule applicable to your account is enclosed for your reference. We appreciate your suggestions, but this fee is assessed to the depository account because of the processing required to charge back the depository account and to provide the depositor with notice regarding, and a copy of, the returned item. As a courtesy, the fee was waived and your account was credited by the University Branch on April 25, 2014. We trust that this resolves all ofthe issues in your letter. Should you have any questions, or if you have any additional information you would like us to consider, please contact me at ********. Sincerely, ******** Vice President Deposit Products Department Enc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The policy of charging both the recipient and originator a fee for a bounced check is an unfair practice. It is reasonable to charge a fee to an individual who writes a bad check, but it is not reasonable to charge a fee to an individual who receives a bad check. This policy needs to change, and First Hawaiian Bank is responsible to its customers to change this policy immediately.

11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought car thru FHB. Had insurance but they said none found so FHB added $3329 ins. policy. FHB refuses to refund full amount. I purchase a vehicle thru FHB and my insurance company sent proof of coverage. FHB said no proof was found so they added a arbitrarily high premium of $3229. When the paperwork was finally straighten out after three attempts by my insurance company they refused to credit back the full amount, instead they prorated it and still charged me $1259. This sort of business practice is unacceptable to me and is dishonest. I don't like the First Hawaiian Bank business practices and will recommend to anyone that they are not a customer friendly bank.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for First Hawaiian bank to refund me the full amount of $3329 they charged me for the unnecessary insurance policy instead of the prorated amount. I will never buy a vehicle thru FHB because of their suspect business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ Dear Mr. ******, This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding the insurance that was added to your auto loan. On May 23, 2013, we financed your loan to purchase your vehicle. As a condition of the loan, the vehicle must be insured and if proof of insurance is not received we purchase insurance on your behalf. We did not receive proof of insurance so reminder notices were sent to you on July 12, 2013 and August 9, 2013. (See Exhibit A.) We received proof of your insurance policies on September 27, 2013 (policy effective date of October 8,2013) and on October 11, 2013 (policy effective date of October 8, 2012). Upon receipt of both policies, we processed two refunds: a partial refund of $2,070.00 on October 8, 2013, and a second partial refund of $1,259.00 on October 11, 2013, for a total refund of $3,329.00. These amounts were credited to your account. (See Exhibit B.) We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and trust that this issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Sincerely, ******************* Vice President and indirect Retail Manager Hawaii Dealer Division Enclosures Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank honored a check that was dated over two years old and reported stolen in the past. I have been with this back for over ten years and have referred many clients, new to the island, to this bank as well. Which I no longer do for obvious reasons. I was notified that I was delinquent a significant amount of monies in my account. When I looked further into it I noticed a check was cashed in 12/2012 that was written out/dated in 2010 AND reported lost in the past and this bank actually honored it! When I went to the branch nearest me I was told a stop on a check is only good for six months and there was nothing I can do to dispute it. Which is absolutely absurd! The even shocking part is there were not any funds or any activity to this account for nearly a year (as I have started to bank with another institute). So why they honored it is beyond me. When I argued the reasoning for honoring a check that was not only two years old, reported lost in the past, but on an account that had no monies in it with no recent activity all I got in return was "it is because I was a long time customer and a formula we used determined it was OK to honor this check". What formula? The "head teller" at the bank could not tell me as she was not fimiliar with it. Go figure. I wrote a letter to the FHB Headquarters in Honolulu and no reply. Go figure. I did take care of the delinquent amount as they threatened to report it to the credit bureau. This bank did not look out for my best interest as a long time customer. Lack of better words this bank has helped someone STEAL money from me and would not help me dispute it. Needless to say I have closed my account with this bank and no longer refer clients to this institute.

Desired Settlement: Dispute the cashed check. If this bank can honor a two year old check then I don't see why they could not dispute a check that was cashed seven months ago. I would like my funds returned. I should not be held responsible for poor practice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ On July 17, 2013, the following letter was sent to the customer for additional information regarding her complaint. As of July 29, 2013, we have not received a response from the customer. July 17, 2013 **************** ************ ***************** Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii (Case # ********) Dear Ms. ********: This is in response to your Better Business Bureau complaint, which was referred to me. I was unable to locate your account and check in question. Please call me at (808) ******** to clarify the details so that I can further investigate your complaint. Sincerely, ************* Assistant Vice President Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Information needed from business has been provided.

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: horrible customer service. delayed, igorned and eventually forgotten. notified $100 taken out on funds transfer on 4/30/13 to ***********. We do not have ***********. Called and put on hold for 9 minutes. Hung up. Called again and said supervisor would call back. No call back. Called again after several hours passed and advised all supervisors had gone home due to "bankers hours." Together this has been at least a 5 hour long frustrating process and I still have not been helped.

Desired Settlement: customer service and explanation of why funds were withdrawn from our account and an apology and money put back into our account immediately.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/06/07) */ June 5, 2013 ************ ****************************** ****************** Re: Better Business Bureau complaint Dear Ms. ***: Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today. I'm sorry to hear about the poor phone service you received when you called us regarding the debit to your account. I have already discussed it with our Call Center Manager. Please accept our apologies. I am glad to hear that your question on the *********** transaction has already been resolved. If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me at ********. Sincerely, D************ Assistant Vice President

6/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Hawaiian Bank charged my $20.00 in inactivity fees. I was never advised that this fee would ever happen. Now I cannot get access to my funds. I opened a First Hawaiian checking account before I went to Afghanistan with the plans of moving back to Hawaii when finished. I was never told when opening the account that there would be fees for inactivity. I called today and spoke with several agents refused to activate my account, and give access to my funds. I spoke to ****** the supervisor and she refused to give me access to my money. First Hawaiian Bank has stole my money.

Desired Settlement: Please mail me a check for $100.00 to ************ ******************* ****************

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/31) */ May 22, 2013 ************ ******************* ******************** Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Case #******** Dear Mr. ******: Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today. I have credited your account $20.00 to reimburse you for two months of inactive account fees and as requested your account has been closed. Enclosed you will find a check for the balance of your account and the authorization letter. Please sign and return the authorization in the enclosed envelope. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at (808) ********. Sincerely, ************ Vice President __________________________________________________ FIRST HAWAIIAN BANK RE: ************ Checking #********* The above account is currently inactive and has been charged a $10 monthly inactive account fee since April 2013. Please reverse the fees totaling $20, close the account and mail the check to me at the following address: ******************* ******************** Signed by___________________________ ************ Date:__________ (Please sign and return in the enclosed envelope) Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am extremely upset with the service I received from a lady named *******. The service she gives is way below acceptable. In Oct, 2012 I walked in to see if I can refinance my mortgage. **** was nice and helped me & gave me an application and list of things I needed and told em that I would be then working w/*******. I called ******* couple times to make an appt. We finally hooked up and she was at first very nice and helpful. On 11/21/12 ******* called me and said my application was denied because of my credit score, but she then said "Let me see what I can do." I appreciated that she was still going to try to help me. She said that she was going to print out my credit and see what's going on. I asked her at that time if I wrote a letter, if it would help by knowing me better. On 11/23 I emailed her the letter and asked if she could let me know if I need to include anything or if I should omit anything. I called almost everyday and she never called me back. I have been there when she had a phone call and when she looked at the number she would comment that she didn't need to talk to that person. I'm thinking that she was avoiding me because she recognized my phone number. I fanally got a hold of her and she said that she wasn't going to show that letter to the loaner officer. I was upset at that time because I spent half a day composing that letter and whatt, for nothing. On 12/7 I called her and ******* said that she was going to walk in some paper next week and that she was going to talk to the person who denied my loan. I thought I would be patient and wait, but on 2/1/13 I finally called to see what's going on and she gave me the excuse that I was denied and that was that. Apparently she did not do as she promised to help me and just strung me along. Now, I have to scramble beacue I don't want to be one of those people who has to foreclose on their home. I'm trying my be to bring back my good credit I had before getting my mortgage. I had to wait almost four months total to find out jack. I chose FHB because I liked them and when I needed help in getting a better rate on my credit card Pauline was very helpful and I thought I would get the same service if I went to refinance my mortgage. Well, I will work my hardest now to make sure everyone I know does not deal with FHB.

Desired Settlement: I really don't know how to reply to this. Maybe I should get something for the time ****** was stringing me along ffrom 11/21/12 to 2/1/13. I could have been tring to look for another establishment that would help me. At ********** 5.25% minus the 3.25% I was waiting for maybe that's what I should get for my troubles and STRESS for waiting for nothing. A friend of mine told me about this broker on Monday, 2/4/13, I left a message that night, she called the next day (yesterday 2/5/13) I gave her some information and she called me back in a couple hours to give me good news. How can a broker help me that fast and I have to wait months from FHB.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/22) */ This response was mailed to Ms. ****** on 2/22/13. Dear Ms. ******: It is unfortunate you did not have a favorable experience at First Hawaiian Bank during the application process of refinancing your existing mortgage held with ***************. Your loan application was received on November 2, 2012. Unfortunately, First Hawaiian Bank denied your application on November 21, 2012. I reviewed the total application and I do agree with the credit denial. An adverse action letter was issued to you on that same day, which indicated the reason for the credit denial based on your delinquent past or present credit obligations with others. As required by law, the adverse action letter references the credit agency used to obtain your credit report. As suggested, it would be in your best interest at this time to obtain a copy of your credit report from the consumer reporting agency and you then have the opportunity to dispute the matter. As is First Hawaiian Bank's policy, we have reviewed your concerns with ****** **************, the private banker who was assisting you with your loan application. Ms. ************** confirmed that she did receive your letter indicating you were not happy with the decision of your loan application. Ms. ************** agrees that while she does not always have the ability to return calls immediately, she did communicate to you on the day she received the information that your loan application with First Hawaiian Bank had been denied. Ms. ************** further confirmed that she did investigate the reasons for your loan application being denied, but ultimately there was nothing she could do to reverse the decision. While I apologize for any inconvenience in this matter, the denial of your loan application with First Hawaiian Bank continues to stand. I encourage you to work with your current lender, ***************, for your financial needs. Mahalo, ***************** Vice President and Manager Residential Credit Center Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/04/04) */ Your BBB website was closed and was not able to respond by the due date. FHB responded back that Ms. ************** further confirmed that she did investigate the reasons for my loan application being denied, but ultimately ther was nothing she could do to reverse the decision. So why is that I did not get any calls. She was stringing me along and I thing that is extremely bad business. The last time I talked to her was on December 7th and she was going to check. The next time I talked to her was on February 1, 2013. I couldn't wait any longer. She knew very well my situation and I didn't want to to end up forclosing my home. Well, this proves that your slogan is incorrect. You should change it to "NO, We Can't". You know two days after I talked to ******, I called a Broker and I was approved for refinancing in 30 minutes. How is that for service. If anyone else were to read the letter I wrote, my credit score should not be a problem, especially since I am working hard to restore my credit score and it has risen and still rising. That letter should have been a cruetial part of your desicion making. Other banks asks for that, well at least my FCU did. They even helped me with the wording. I understand the denial process, but my biggest gripe is that ****** did not give me the courtesy of calling me back with a final decision. I heard that the worst thing a bank establishment can do is to string someone along, which is waht ****** did to me. Also in record, I beleive *************** is worse thatn FHB, if that is possible. ****** knew how bbadly I wanted to get out my obligation witrh BOA. I will never do business with FHB ever again and I will let everyone I know to do the same.

4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wallet stolen with All id/cards in it. First Hawaiian charged me $ to replace my stolen card. Teller made it sound like it was my fault. I had my wallet stolen with all cash, id's, and credit/debit cards. On January 29th, 2013 First Hawaiian Bank charged me a $***** replacement fee for my debit card. This is absurd. I wanted to go with a local bank to support the local economy, and chose First Hawaiian for one of my accounts. I am strongly considering leaving and letting anyone I know to reconsider using this bank. I have some of my direct bill payments, and direct deposit going through this bank. However, as much as a hassle it would be for me to change all of them and cancel my account I may do it because this is a fine example of a corporation trying to squeeze out any penny they can out of their customers. When I walked in to the bank and talked to the woman she made it seem like it was my fault for not securing my wallet. After losing a large amount of cash and replacing my Id, $** seems trivial, but this practice is absolutely inconsiderate of what the average working person is doing when trying earn and save. None of my other banks charged me a replacement fee!

Desired Settlement: My money back. Also, exclude this from the First Hawaiian Bank Standard Operating Procedures.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, ******13/03/19) */ March 19, ******13 Mr. ****** ****** XX-XXX ******** Street *********, Hawaii XXXXX Re: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. REDACT32XX-XXX 33REDACTCase # 5******XXXXX REDACT32XX-XXX 33REDACT Dear Mr. ******: We are in receipt of the information you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. ("BBB") (Case No. 5******XXXXX) ("complaint"). The BBB notified us about your concerns on March 5, ******13. According to our records, you were charged a $****** replacement fee because you reported on January 21, ******13, that you lost your debit card. As provided in section III(a)(1) of your agreement, we can apply this fee when we have been asked to replace your card. A copy of your agreement is enclosed for your reference. Although the replacement fee was properly charged to you pursuant to your agreement, we will waive the fee as a courtesy. Going forward, however, please understand that we may charge you for the replacement of your card. We trust that this resolves all of the issues in your letter. Should you have any questions, or if you have any additional information you would like us to consider, please contact *********, our BankCard Center Manager, at (808) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***************** Vice President Card Services Division Enclosure

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See attached letter to CEO First Hawaiian Bank. Refusal to close deceased father's bank account and honor his trust. See attached letter to bank CEO

Desired Settlement: To close my deceased father's bank account and honor his trust instructions.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/11/12) */ Regarding the above-referenced case and as discussed with you over the phone today, the 11/07/12 BBB complaint sent in by our customer mirrors the same complaint that was originally received by the bank on 10/18/12. At that time, we responded via letter dated 10/23/12. Since ***** has not provided any new information, our response is the same as originally written. Please let me know if you require any additional information. Thank you. ***** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 10, 2012/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response I received from FHB asst. vice pres. was inaccurate. He stated that I need to redo the trust and assign an alternate trustee, which i cannot do as both my father and brother are deceased. The trust clearly states that in event of their death that all proceeds be equally divided between my eldest brother and myself. Fhb than states it's because of taxes...taxes is not their business, my father is deceased and his account needs to be closed and the trust administered as stated. FHB advertises "the bank that says YES", *****, it's the bank that tries to keep their customers money.

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues