Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Pacific Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 544-0500 Fax: (808) 532-5093 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 S. King Street, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.centralpacificbank.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Central Pacific Bank is a wholly owned subsidiary of Central Pacific Financial Corp, a Hawaii corporation that is publicly traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol: CPF. They offer a full range of banking and financial services, including consumer and business loans, mortgages, deposit accounts, merchant services, wire transfers, safe deposit boxes, trust, investments, electronic and mobile banking, and other specialized financial services. There are 36 branches and 110 ATM's throughout the State of Hawaii.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Pacific Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Pacific Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Pacific Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1954 Business started: 02/15/1954 in HI Business started locally: 01/15/1954 Business incorporated 03/16/1982 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40665910-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Ching, SVP/General Counsel Ms. Christine Daleiden, VP/Legal Counsel Mr. Denis Isono, EVP/CFO Mr. Wayne Kirihara, SVP/Chief Mktg Off. Mr. Lance Mizumoto, EVP/Chief Bankg Off. Mrs. Melissa Moniz, AVP, Corporate Communications Manager Mr. Norman Nakasone, VP/Svc Quality Mgr. Ms. Catherine Ngo, EVP/Chief Admin Off.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Daleiden, VP/Legal Counsel
Business Category

Banks Loans Trust Companies Financial Services

Industry Tips
ADVANCE-FEE LOANS ADVANCED FEE LOAN PROMOTION COLLEGE FINANCIAL AID INTERNET FINANCIAL PRIVACY

Additional Locations

  • 1018 Bethel Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 532-8111

  • 1030 Makolu St.

    Pearl City, HI 96701

  • 1173 21st Ave Ste 1

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 1338 S. Beretania Street

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 594-7400

  • 1535 Dillingham Boulevard

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 1538 Kapiolani Blvd Ste 103

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 1600 Kapiolani Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 2002 S. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96826

  • 2024 North King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 832-6677

  • 2061 Wells Street

    Wailuku, HI 96793

  • 207 Piikea Avenue

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 2119 N King St

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 832-2470

  • 220 S. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 544-0793

  • 2615 South King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96826

  • 333 Seaside Ave Ste 160

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 333 Seaside Ave Ste 160

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 345 Hahani St

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 3465 Waialae Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816 (808) 733-8188

  • 419 Kuulei Road

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 266-4765

  • 4211 Waialae Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816 (808) 733-3220

  • 4364 Rice Street

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 45-1054 Kamehameha Hwy.

    Kaneohe, HI 96744 (808) 233-4750

  • 46-007 Kamehameha Hwy.

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 505 Ward Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 525 Kilauea Ave Ste 100

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 6600 Kalanianaole Highway

    Honolulu, HI 96825 (808) 397-2626

  • 680 Kamokila Boulevard

    Kapolei, HI 96707

  • 75-1010 Henry Street

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

  • 801 Kaheka Street

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 85 West Kaahumanu Avenue

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 850 Kamehameha Highway

    Pearl City, HI 96782

  • 909 Kapahulu Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 935 California Avenue

    Wahiawa, HI 96786

  • 94-210 Pupukahi Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 94-615 Kupuohi St

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 95-720 Lanikuhana Avenue

    Millani, HI 96789

  • 960 Mapunapuna Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 98-150 Kaonohi St

    Aiea, HI 96701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I got a promotion and I had to spent $1k within 90 days to get a $200 bonus. Central Pacific Bank took so long (I said - SO LONG) to send my card to my address. After I received the card, I started to use it, willing to spend $1k to get my $200 bonus. I've tried to contact Costumer Service by email and phone and they are not giving me my $200 bonus as stated in the promotional offer that I got. They are saying that I had a period of 90 days to spend $1k (actually I did not have a period of 90 days, because they took so long to send my card!) I even asked how can I could use my card without having it on my hands? I had no plausible answer. What if the card take 30 or 40 days to be delivered? It means that the client have only 60 or 50 days to spend the amount? It does not make sense at all!It is not the client's fault!!! Actually I spent 1k within 91 days - 1 day after 90 days period - to get a $200 bonus (because the card took so long to be delivered. If they take in consideration the date that I received my card, I dint even take 60 days to spent over $1k. I have cards with many other companies such as **** ******** ********* and they deliver the card really fast... Could you, please, add a $200 bonus credit towards to my account? I was over 1 day only of the 90 days period to spent a $1000 to earn $200 bonus. The card took so long to be delivered in my residence and it is not my fault at all. Can I have an update, please? Thanks, *******

Desired Settlement: Please, add a $200 bonus credit towards to my account.

Business Response:

Mr. ** ** complains to Central Pacific Bank that he did not receive a $200 bonus from a credit card promotion due to the delay in the receipt of his card.  He requests that the $200 bonus be credited to his account. 

In trying to resolve Mr. ** **’s complaint, Central Pacific Bank reached out to its credit card vendor and was informed that Mr. ** **’s account would be credited 20,000 points (equivalent to $200).  We believe that this resolves the issue. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ** **

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a member of Central Pacific Bank ... and my credit and personal information has been all messed up because someone with the same name as I came to the bank to change her address and they confused my account with hers and I am doing the suffering !!!! My credit has dropped and the bank says there is nothing they can do about it .... I am very upset and don't know what to do .... Can you please help me ???? or what can I do myself !!! Trying to pay my bills to the ***** Credit Company and ******** ******* and they can not receive my payment cause the bank did not fix the problem !!! now I'm getting the late fees and all the head aches .... Hoping to hear from you soon !!! Mahalo !!!

Desired Settlement: Get everything back to normal again !!!!

Business Response:

This response letter was sent to our customer to confirm that the concerns were taken care of. 

Dear Ms. ******** ,

Thank you for your inquiry regarding your address on file with Central Pacific Bank. During our review, we detennined the following:

•On September  14, 2015, your address was erroneously changed.
•Central Pacific Bank was made aware of this error on October 14, 2015.
•On October 14, 2015, your address was immediately changed back to the correct address at **** **** ** ****** ** ** **********.

According to our files, as of October 26, 2015, everything is in order. Central Pacific Bank has assisted with closing the account affected, opening a new account, setting up bill pay for your creditors, and contacting the creditors in question. If you continue to have problems resulting from this, please contact me so that I may be of assistance.

We sincerely apologize for the error and any inconvenience this has caused. Please let us know if we can do anything to help you update your files in the future. Our customer experience is very important to us and we look forward to serving you again .

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of CPB for a couple of years. Opened my account because I was in need of a debit card so I could make purchases online. Never had a problem until now. I made a few purchases online and the payments came back as DECLINED. I know that I have the funds in my account, so this has to be an error. So I called the main office of CPB on 7/23/15. Verified all info requested. The customer service rep.informed me that there was a hold on my account. I asked her why that is happening. She said that online purchases would be declined due to fear of fraudulent use of my card.I reassured her that it is me that is trying to purchase these items. the amounts are small,$28.19,$12.64,$4.97. All declined. She claims to allow these payments to go through. okay, so I reprocess my orders again ,for it to be declined again. now im upset, this is embarrassing and very time consuming. I call the bank again. Now the cust.serv.rep. tells me that I have to call the bank everytime I want to make an online purchase. I expressed my concerns of this being ridiculous. So I asked to speak to the supervisor. The lady that answered name started with a J. by this point I want to take my money out of this bank and go somewhere else. she informed me that there is nothing she can do. this bank is picking and choosing which transactions will be approved or declined. I again explained my point of view, she didn't seem to want to satisfy me. I want to know why there are flags on my account that has never had any overdrawn checks.I was never notified of any suspicious or possible fraudulent use of my card. and after notifying them that the purchases that were attempted was done by me.But still I have to call every day to get approval before I can spend my money. I would understand if these purchases was large amounts , and I realize that they are trying to protect me. But this bank offers fraud protection, (no responsibility by account holder). So doesn't this sound like they are trying to protect themselves.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Central Pacific Bank to lift all holds they have on my account and allow all purchases,except if the funds is not available. I don't have time to be dealing with this nonsense. If the bank will not cooperate then I will withdrawl all my funds and find another bank that will provide better service.

Business Response: The attached letter was mailed to the customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:
I dont feel as if CPB tried to contact me as seriously as they claim. I recieved no email. and or mail. If they were worried about FRAUD. send me something via email. I think that they could have tried a little harder to contact me. also feel it was premature to suspend my account without any notifications or verifications. I have CARD VALET so i can tuirn my card off when not in use. So they wont have to monitor my account so closely. I will contact the bank if my card is lost or stolen.
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I am trying to change my physical address on my personal account in Central Pacific Bank for the last two years since 2013 from this address - ****** ***** *** *** ****** ** to my real and present physical address- ********** ****** **** **** ********* ********. I have been filed three times a request of change my physical address at the three different Central Pacific Bank branches, and three times I spoke with three different CPB managers. The CPB has been sending my bill statements and other letters and bank important documentations to the ****** ***** *** *** ****** **, in which I am not a resident in there since 2013. There are a lot of roommates people lives in ****** ***** *** *** ****** **, and some one of them is constantly receiving my personal and private bank information. I told to CPB three managers in three different CPB branches that it looks like it is identity fraud, but somebody from Central Pacific Bank personal is keep changing my personal address from ********** ****** ********* ********* ** ***** (as my present physical address) to ****** ***** *** *** ****** ** since 2013. I have checked today on my online CPB account my personal and current address, and I see it as ****** ***** *** *** ****** **. CPB personal does not want to change my correct address and I really need a help, because people at Central Pacific Bank are committing identity fraud since 2013. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Please investigate this Central Pacific Bank identity fraud, and help me to change my physical address on my CPB account. Also, your advise to whom of Law enforcement I shall file identity fraud complain would be greatly appreciated.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *********,

Thank  youfor your inquiryto the Better Business Bureau regarding your changeof address requestssent to Central Pacific Bank.We appreciate your patience  as it was necessary to investigate what occurred.    Please know that we take customer  service very seriously here at Central PacificBank and appreciate knowing when we have fallen short of your expectations.

We have learnedthe following:


• Your physical addresswas updated to **** ********* ***** *** ******** **  *****onMay22, 2015.
•    Your mailing addresson file is ** *** **** ******** ** since July 22,
2013.
• Your previous physicaladdress was ****** ***** ** *** ***** **.

As of July 2013, all correspondence from the bank has been sent to your mailing address on file and we found no mail that was addressed tothe ***** ***** address.  In fact, we reviewed your statements and found that each and everystatement from July 2013 has beenmailed to the mailing addressthat you had provided. In addition,we confirmed that no marketing materials have ever been sent to anywhere otherthan your mailing  address.

We do apologize for the confusion you encountered inattempting to update your address butwe have not find any instances  where mail was delivered to your ***** ***** address after your address changein July 2013.  Pleaselet us know if we can do anything to help you updateyour files in the future.








Sonya G****

Business Response: Dear Mr. *********,

Thank  youfor your inquiryto the Better Business Bureau regarding your changeof address requestssent to Central Pacific Bank.We appreciate your patience  as it was necessary to investigate what occurred.    Please know that we take customer  service very seriously here at Central PacificBank and appreciate knowing when we have fallen short of your expectations.

We have learnedthe following:


• Your physical addresswas updated to **** ********* ***** *** ******** **  *****onMay22, 2015.
•    Your mailing addresson file is ** *** **** ******** ** since July 22,
2013.
• Your previous physicaladdress was ****** ***** ** *** ***** **.

As of July 2013, all correspondence from the bank has been sent to your mailing address on file and we found no mail that was addressed tothe ***** ***** address.  In fact, we reviewed your statements and found that each and everystatement from July 2013 has beenmailed to the mailing addressthat you had provided. In addition,we confirmed that no marketing materials have ever been sent to anywhere otherthan your mailing  address.

We do apologize for the confusion you encountered inattempting to update your address butwe have not find any instances  where mail was delivered to your ***** ***** address after your address changein July 2013.  Pleaselet us know if we can do anything to help you updateyour files in the future.








Sonya G****

Consumer Response:  Hi,

First of f all, I was changed my physical address on May 22,2015 to **** ********** ****** Appt ***, **** ** *****, and not the Appt *** as you claimed in your letter, Ma'am. 
Secondly, it was the fourth time that I am changing my physical address and this time I did call to HPD from Central Pacific Bank and filed a complain with explanations.
And finally, when I have changed my physical address for the first time in 2013, I did called to Central Pacific Bank and someone was verified that CPB has been sending my letters to the Ewa Beach when I was living in Downtown Honolulu for several month already. In fact, I have received several phone calls from my former roommates in Ewa Beach that I keep receiving Central Pacific Bank letters and some documents.!!! And this was after when I have changed my physical address by submitting a written form in CPB Downtown brunch. So in the beginning of 2014, I went to the different CPB brunch near Tripler Army Medical Center and requested to change my physical address again in written form. It was no result again, becaus e CPB changed my address, and about 3-4 month later when I found out that my physical address has been changed to Ewa Beach again, I went to the third CPB different brunch and changed my physical address request in written form. Some one from Central Pacific Bank was constantly changing my physical address to Ewa Beach in which  I lived only one month February 2013, and since then I am a resident in Downtown Honolulu for almost two years! During these two years I did occasionally received a phone calls from Ewa Beach from people who lives there that I have a Central Pacific Bank letter. I did asked my former roommates to mail to me those CPB letters, but never got them, because nobody cares about it.

Now, since I have BBB and HPD witness of these horrible CPB actions, I am hoping that person who was constantly changed my physical address on my CPB account will lived alone my account whoever he/she is. Police said it is more like humiliation civil action by the CPB employee to disturb me and humiliate me. But where is the American justice and righteousness for which I was fought in the U.S. Army from 2005 to 2010? Where is my human rights as I am an American Citizen?
May I live in the country freely without these kind undeserved humiliation actions since I was serving the USA in the military, or people just say,"Who cares?"

Still very respectful

***** *********
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** *********

Consumer Response:  Hi,

First of f all, I was changed my physical address on May 22,2015 to **** ********** ****** Appt ***, **** ** *****, and not the Appt *** as you claimed in your letter, Ma'am. 
Secondly, it was the fourth time that I am changing my physical address and this time I did call to HPD from Central Pacific Bank and filed a complain with explanations.
And finally, when I have changed my physical address for the first time in 2013, I did called to Central Pacific Bank and someone was verified that CPB has been sending my letters to the Ewa Beach when I was living in Downtown Honolulu for several month already. In fact, I have received several phone calls from my former roommates in Ewa Beach that I keep receiving Central Pacific Bank letters and some documents.!!! And this was after when I have changed my physical address by submitting a written form in CPB Downtown brunch. So in the beginning of 2014, I went to the different CPB brunch near Tripler Army Medical Center and requested to change my physical address again in written form. It was no result again, becaus e CPB changed my address, and about 3-4 month later when I found out that my physical address has been changed to Ewa Beach again, I went to the third CPB different brunch and changed my physical address request in written form. Some one from Central Pacific Bank was constantly changing my physical address to Ewa Beach in which  I lived only one month February 2013, and since then I am a resident in Downtown Honolulu for almost two years! During these two years I did occasionally received a phone calls from Ewa Beach from people who lives there that I have a Central Pacific Bank letter. I did asked my former roommates to mail to me those CPB letters, but never got them, because nobody cares about it.

Now, since I have BBB and HPD witness of these horrible CPB actions, I am hoping that person who was constantly changed my physical address on my CPB account will lived alone my account whoever he/she is. Police said it is more like humiliation civil action by the CPB employee to disturb me and humiliate me. But where is the American justice and righteousness for which I was fought in the U.S. Army from 2005 to 2010? Where is my human rights as I am an American Citizen?
May I live in the country freely without these kind undeserved humiliation actions since I was serving the USA in the military, or people just say,"Who cares?"

Still very respectful

***** *********
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** *********

Consumer Response: Aloha,

Yes, I prefer to Central Pacific Bank to send all my mail, documentations, and anything else to my mailing address:
***** *********
**** *** **** ********* ** *****
However, CPB has never ever send me anything to this my P.O. Box address even I have changed in this address long time ago, but I have received several phone calls within 2013-2014 from Ewa Beach former roommates (My former physical address)  that I have a letter from Central Pacific Bank.
Thank you for your clarifications
Very respectfully
***** *********

Consumer Response: Aloha,

Yes, I prefer to Central Pacific Bank to send all my mail, documentations, and anything else to my mailing address:
***** *********
**** *** **** ********* ** *****
However, CPB has never ever send me anything to this my P.O. Box address even I have changed in this address long time ago, but I have received several phone calls within 2013-2014 from Ewa Beach former roommates (My former physical address)  that I have a letter from Central Pacific Bank.
Thank you for your clarifications
Very respectfully
***** *********

Business Response: Attached is our response.  Sorry, I thought it was sufficient to email this on the due date.

Business Response: Attached is our response.  Sorry, I thought it was sufficient to email this on the due date.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting the response, because

My physical address on attachment is incorrect
This is my physical correct address
***** *********
**** ********** ******* **** *** ********* ** *****
Thanks
***** *********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting the response, because

My physical address on attachment is incorrect
This is my physical correct address
***** *********
**** ********** ******* **** *** ********* ** *****
Thanks
***** *********

Business Response: During the course of Central Pacific Bank receiving and responding to Mr. *********'s complaint, Mr. ********* changed his physical address again through our online banking channel.  He changed the apartment number on the ********** ****** property from **** ** ****.  Apartment **** is properly in our system.  However, as he states, he has changed his physical address only.  His mailing address continues to be his post office box, and he has not asked to change that.   If this is what he would like to change, we invite him to visit a branch or call the Bank's customer service center.  We apologize for any confusion.

Business Response: During the course of Central Pacific Bank receiving and responding to Mr. *********'s complaint, Mr. ********* changed his physical address again through our online banking channel.  He changed the apartment number on the ********** ****** property from **** ** ****.  Apartment **** is properly in our system.  However, as he states, he has changed his physical address only.  His mailing address continues to be his post office box, and he has not asked to change that.   If this is what he would like to change, we invite him to visit a branch or call the Bank's customer service center.  We apologize for any confusion.

Consumer Response: Dear 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

In addition, in May month, 2015, I have requested electronically through the CPB online in my account page for the fourth time to change my physical address from apartment *** to apartment *** at the same **** ********** ******, **** ** *****.  However, when I have checked my physical address to see if the Central Pacific Bank did changed my appt from *** to ***, I founded that my physical address was changed on Ewa Beach 2 years old address for the fourth time within two years and it was disregarding my will again. This is the reason why I have asked BBB to help me to result my customer's right. I am a CPB customer since 2005! And I made a HPD police report to have their number of report for a purpose to have a witnesses that I am trying to do something right as a customer,as an American Citizen, and as an American Armed Forces Veteran who is being humiliated by the CPB's clerks within two years by keep changing customer's physical address how CPB clerks want it and not by the customer's will. 
Thank you CPB representative for your understanding of my concern and thank you for responding me properly at this time by writing me and not just submitting me an attachment again for the third time with wrong apartment *** on ********** ****** (it was looks like that you didn't even bather to check your attachment before sending me it for the second time).
Thank you to the BBB representative who was working with me diligently and patiently all these time to help me to result the problem between CPB and my customer's rights. I do express my deep appreciation for the BBB of Hawaii. 
Sincerely,
***** *********

Consumer Response: Dear 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

In addition, in May month, 2015, I have requested electronically through the CPB online in my account page for the fourth time to change my physical address from apartment *** to apartment *** at the same **** ********** ******, **** ** *****.  However, when I have checked my physical address to see if the Central Pacific Bank did changed my appt from *** to ***, I founded that my physical address was changed on Ewa Beach 2 years old address for the fourth time within two years and it was disregarding my will again. This is the reason why I have asked BBB to help me to result my customer's right. I am a CPB customer since 2005! And I made a HPD police report to have their number of report for a purpose to have a witnesses that I am trying to do something right as a customer,as an American Citizen, and as an American Armed Forces Veteran who is being humiliated by the CPB's clerks within two years by keep changing customer's physical address how CPB clerks want it and not by the customer's will. 
Thank you CPB representative for your understanding of my concern and thank you for responding me properly at this time by writing me and not just submitting me an attachment again for the third time with wrong apartment *** on ********** ****** (it was looks like that you didn't even bather to check your attachment before sending me it for the second time).
Thank you to the BBB representative who was working with me diligently and patiently all these time to help me to result the problem between CPB and my customer's rights. I do express my deep appreciation for the BBB of Hawaii. 
Sincerely,
***** *********

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I try it to open a secured credit card with a $ 2000.00 I have waited for 5 weeks with no result.I cancelled the account so far it has been about 5 weeks I never received the card or my money back please I need some help to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my $ 2000.00 .

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

 

Thank you for allowing us to address this concern.  Mr. ******* complains that he did not receive a Secured Credit Card that he funded with $2,000.  As this product is provided by Central Pacific Bank’s third party credit card vendor, ****, we immediately contacted **** for information on this issue and **** asked to resolve the problem and make contact with the customer through its Office of the President.  

 

**** has informed us that it has provided Mr. ******* with a full refund of $2,000 and has reversed any fees that may have inadvertently appeared on his statement.  **** will be following up with Mr. ******* by letter regarding this issue. 

 

We believe that this issue has been resolved but are happy to address any further questions. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Christine E******

Central Pacific Bank

9/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ILLEGALLY HOLDING MY ACCOUNTS AND FUNDS We have a business checking account and a business auto loan with the bank. We were given permission to ship our auto to Chicago from Hawaii. We put the truck on a boat on 7/22/14 and the auto arrived in LA. The shipping company has refused to release the auto to us claiming the bank has held it. On Aug 15, 2014 I contacted the bank for help in this issue and was told they will call me back within 15 minutes. They never called back. I tried accessing my checking account and found it had been blocked. I called the branch and they refuse to answer my calls and return them. I called customer service and was informed the branch has blocked my checking account, which has around $700 in there, and another deposit coming on Monday. They have blocked it and holding my money because there is an issue with the auto loan. They refuse to release my money, and have been told they are zeroing out my accounts to place on the auto loan. This is against the law and I want them help accountable for this. I never signed anything giving them permission or agreeing to them holding my money should their every be any issues with my auto loan.

Desired Settlement: My money to be returned to me within 3 business days, and all account closed with this branch. As well as this bank to be held accountable for their actions

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/02) */ August 29, 2014 ************** *********************** ************************** HONOLULU HI 96814-1822 Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint BBB Case #********* Dear Mr. ****: Thank you for the opportunity to address the concerns that you raised in your complaint to the Better Business Bureau on August 18, 2014. Thank you also for your patience in allowing us to investigate this matter before providing you with a response. In your complaint, you expressed that you believe that Central Pacific Bank ("Bank") has illegally blocked the ************************'S checking account due to an issue with an automobile loan. Our understanding of the facts is as follows. On July 3, 2014 *********************** and ****** **** (collectively "ASG") co-signed a loan with the Bank to purchase a 2014 Nissan Frontier. The contract, Which was signed by you individually and on behalf of ASC, requires that the automobile that you purchased remain on Oahu. The contract specifically states that the automobile is not permitted to be removed "from the island in Hawaii Where you first keep it . . . without our permission." (Credit Sale Contract dated July 3, 2014, S 3(b)). You also agreed under the contract that the Bank had a right of setoff: "[W]e may set off amounts due under this Contract against any amounts We may owe you, such as your checking and savings account, to the extent permitted by law and Without advanced notice." (Credit Sale Contract dated July 3, 2014, S 3(d)). In addition to the automobile loan with the Bank, on July 8, 2014, ASG ****************** opened a business checking account with the Bank. Our account opening documents indicate that ************** and ******************* are signatories on the account. When you signed the signature cards, you agreed to be governed by the Bank's Deposit Account Agreement & Disclosure, which allows the Bank to block accounts, and also provides for the exercise of setoff: Freezing of Accounts. We may suspend or freeze your account if we believe your account is involved in or affected by legal proceedings or if there is a dispute as to ownership of your account, until the matter is resolved to our satisfaction. We will not be liable for suspending your account so long as we acted in good faith and in accordance with the law. Right of Setoff. Subject to applicable law, we may exercise our right of setoff or security interest against any and all of your accounts without notice, for any liability or debt of any of you, whether joint or individual, whether direct or contingent, whether now or hereafter existing, and whether arising from overdrafts, endorsements, guarantees, loans, attachments, garnishments, levies, attorneys' fees, or other obligations. If the account is a joint or multiple-party account, each joint or multiple-party account holder authorizes us to exercise our right of setoff against any and all accounts of each account holder. The Bank exercised its right to freeze the ASG account after several events occurred. On July 17, 2014, prior to the first payment being made on the vehicle, ASG made a request to the Bank to ship the vehicle to *******, Illinois. You told the Bank that your aunt died and you had to go to the mainland to sell her house. You told the Bank that you probably would not be back for 3 to 6 months. ln order to accommodate this family emergency, the Bank proposed that ASG could ship the Vehicle, on the condition that the first two payments on the loan were made prior to shipment, totaling $1,126.04. ASG agreed to make the payments. These payments were never subsequently made. On August 6, 2014, however, the Bank became aware that the Vehicle was shipped out of state Without the Bank's Consent. The Bank was informed that the shipping company was holding the vehicle in Los Angeles due to insufficient payment. The Bank was also provided with a copy of an authorization letter, purportedly from the Bank, which was accepted by the shipping company as consent from us to ship the vehicle. You have explained that you "went into a local branch and spoke with a manger on duty, and explained the problem and what loan services told ************************. She informed [you] that she would override this, and supply a letter to ship the truck to *******, without making us pay $1.127.00." We have no evidence that any manager at the Bank overrode the initial decision to prevent shipping without the submission of the first two payments on the loan, nor do we have any policies that allow for such an event to occur. The purported authorization was dated April 17, 2014, which is before your account was opened and before the vehicle was even sold to you. The Bank also confirmed that no one at the Bank prepared the authorization or signed that letter. As a result, the Bank filed a police report and legal proceedings began. Based on these circumstances, the Bank legitimately blocked the ASC checking account in conformance with the terms in both the Credit Sale Agreement and the Deposit Agreement and Disclosure, which held approximately $700.00 of ASG's funds. We hope that this letter has helped provide some clarity regarding your concerns and sufficiently addresses your concerns. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at (808) ********. Sincerely, ****************** Senior Vice President Senior Legal Counsel & Assistant Corporate Secretary Central Pacific Bank

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was buying $68 worth of groceries at Foodland Market City. My card would not authorize. Very humiliating. On 5/18/2013 I was trying to buy $68 worth of food at Market City Foodland. I used my CPB Master Card debit card, but it would not clear and I was not able to get any groceries. I went home and looked at my account online, which had over $1600 and the same amount for "available balance." There had been no charge to the account since 5/13, and there were no charges pending. I called the CPB contact number on the back of the Mastercard, contacting them today, 5/19/2013, but they really couldn't tell me what happened or offer any compensation. I wasn't surprised by that, but it did seem unfair that CPB had the overdraft scandal, for which their compensation was a fraction of how much they ripped people off (including me) for, but when their service humiliates me and others publicly, they get off with no penalty, even though what they did is worse than an alleged overdraft.

Desired Settlement: They should apologize to me and compensate me for my time, gas, and humiliation. I wasted about 35 minutes, will have to make another trip to see if maybe my money will be available, and spend money on gas to get back to the store, as well as doing the half hour of shopping again. A gift card for 100 dollars for Foodland sounds about right. To be fair, a manager from CPB should also accompany me to Foodland and publically apologize for me having to be turned away and my groceries taken back in front of about 5 customers, a cashier, and others in the vicinity. My suggestion is for what would actually be fair, not for what I expect anyone to do. But also, CPB should give me about a thousand dollars for the overdraft charges and disruptions to my checking payments they caused a few years back, but again, I understand the exploitation here goes one way from the ruling class to the working class.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/03) */ From: ********* ******** Sent: Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:48 PM To: ***** *. ***** Subject: Re: Case # ********: Mr. ***** **** *****, I was unable to upload our response letter to your website, but I am attaching it here. Thanks! Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It's wonderful that no one can be held responsible when the liability would fall to a business. But if the bank customer is overdrawn by a penny, due to some creative bookkeeping on the bank's part, fines flow freely. Thanks for nothing CPB.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Totally Free Checking Dormant Account Fees I had deposited $200 in CPBs totally free checking and was only contacted recently about the account because it had a negative balance. Cone to find out that I had an open checking account that had no activity since July 2008. The bank is saying they sent a dormant notification and that I was supposed to be getting statements. I did not receive statements and therefore did not think I had an account. If the dormant notification letter was received it had no indication of what the balance on the account was. It's amazing how a totally free checking ended up costing $200. I'm disappointed in the banks communication, and feel as if the bank wanted to take my money. They did not make a good faith effort to warn about the dormancy and only called when they wanted to close the account. Dormant letters should say what the balance on the account is - I had spoken to customer service and they said the letter does not. I have crit union accounts that aren't touched but something like this never happened before. I did make an effort to go to the bank to talk with them but that was just as frustrating. I had gone to the Kahala Branch and after waiting while to be helped was told that they couldn't help and I would have to go to Hawaii Kai and they would also call Hawaii Kai and have someone contact me. Ended up going to Hawai Kai and the customer service manager said I'd have tot all wi the branch manager but she wasn't' in and that we could come back later in the day. Came back later and the branch manager wasn't told about our case so had to explain things again, this would be the third time. She said she would have to research and would call back. The branch manager calls back to say we can get back $25. I wasn't pleased but she said it was all she could do. She even sounded annoyed that we had contacted so many areas of the bank as if we had wanted to do that.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $200 returned to me. Annoyed that the customer service manager said the least we would get is $100, and then to be told they'd give us only $25. It felt like they were accusing us of lying about what happened. Why would we want to go thru this much trouble. If we had known the account had $200 and was gonna go dormant we would have closed the account. No statements and no account balance on the dormant letter really doesn't help. And once in dormant they don't even send statements. It's as if they want accounts to go dormant to get the fee and the poor customer is left with no money because they weren't told. This dormant process needs to be changed to protect the consumer.

Business Response: April 30,2013 Mr. **************** *********** ******************* Re: BBB Complaint Case No- 52021?64 Dear Mr. *********, We are in receipt of your complaint to the Better Business Bureau dated April 17, 2013. Your complaint was regarding your checking account with Central Pacific Bank (the "Bank"], which entered dormant status in July 2009 and was closed by the Bank on December 24, 2012 due to overdraft fees. You attempted to dispute the fees charged against your account with employees cf the Bank's Hawaii Kai branch, but did not receive the full refund you desired. Mr. *********, the Bank is hereby willing to go above and beyond in our customer service to you. Enclosed please find check no. *** in the amount of $200.00 which is the full amount of dormant fees charged against your account in $5.00 month increments since your account went dormant in July 2009. Please note that the Bank followed its procedures and acted within its due diligence requirements with respect to your account. We provided you with the proper notification, and when we heard no response from you, we put the account on dormant status. Even during the 90-day period prior to dormancy of your account, we extended an additional call to you to inform you that the account would go dormant, which is beyond our requirements for upcoming, dormant accounts. In response to our call, you informed the Bank's Hawaii Kai branch that you would come into the Bank to take care of the account to prevent dormant fees from accruing. However this was never done. We also notified you when we decided to close the account, but there was no communication from you. Despite this, the Bank hopes to keep your business, and is therefore willing to reimburse you for the full amount of your balance prior to the dormancy of your account. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions regarding the foregoing. As always, we thank you for choosing Central Bank. Enclosure Cc: BBB Complaint Department