Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Central Pacific Bank?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Pacific Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 544-0500 Fax: (808) 532-5093 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 S. King Street, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.centralpacificbank.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Full service commercial bank - deposit programs, loans, leasing, investments, trust, financial planning. 34 Branches statewide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Pacific Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Pacific Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Pacific Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1954 Business started: 01/15/1954 Business started locally: 01/15/1954 Business incorporated: 03/16/1982 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40665910-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Dean, President & CEO Mr. Glenn Ching, SVP/General Counsel Ms. Christine Daleiden, VP/Legal Counsel Mr. Denis Isono, EVP/CFO Mr. Wayne Kirihara, SVP/Chief Mktg Off. Mr. Lance Mizumoto, EVP/Chief Bankg Off. Mr. Norman Nakasone, VP/Svc Quality Mgr. Ms. Catherine Ngo, EVP/Chief Admin Off. Ms. Jacy Youn, AVP/Corp. Comm. Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Daleiden, VP/Legal Counsel
Principal: Mr. John Dean, President & CEO
Business Category

Banks Trust Companies Financial Services


Additional Locations

  • 1018 Bethel Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 532-8111

  • 1030 Makolu St.

    Pearl City, HI 96701

  • 105 Uluniu Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 1173 21st Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 1338 S. Beretania Street

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 594-7400

  • 1535 Dillingham Boulevard

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 1600 Kapiolani Boulevard

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 2002 S. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96826

  • 2024 North King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 832-6677

  • 2061 Wells Street

    Wailuku, HI 96793

  • 207 Piikea Avenue

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 2119 N. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 832-2470

  • 220 S. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 544-0793

  • 2250 Kalakaua Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 2615 South King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96826

  • 345 Hahani Street

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 3465 Waialae Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816 (808) 733-8188

  • 419 Kuulei Road

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 266-4765

  • 4211 Waialae Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816 (808) 733-3220

  • 4364 Rice Street

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 45-1054 Kamehameha Hwy.

    Kaneohe, HI 96744 (808) 233-4750

  • 46-007 Kamehameha Hwy.

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 505 Ward Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 525 Kilauea Avenue

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 6600 Kalanianaole Highway

    Honolulu, HI 96825 (808) 397-2626

  • 680 Kamokila Boulevard

    Kapolei, HI 96707

  • 75-1010 Henry Street

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

  • 801 Kaheka Street

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 818 Keeaumoku Street

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 85 West Kaahumanu Avenue

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 850 Kamehameha Highway

    Pearl City, HI 96782

  • 909 Kapahulu Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 935 California Avenue

    Wahiawa, HI 96786

  • 94-210 Pupukahi Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 94-615 Kupuohi Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 95-720 Lanikuhana Avenue

    Millani, HI 96789

  • 960 Mapunapuna Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 98-150 Kaonohi Street

    Aiea, HI 96701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ILLEGALLY HOLDING MY ACCOUNTS AND FUNDS We have a business checking account and a business auto loan with the bank. We were given permission to ship our auto to Chicago from Hawaii. We put the truck on a boat on 7/22/14 and the auto arrived in LA. The shipping company has refused to release the auto to us claiming the bank has held it. On Aug 15, 2014 I contacted the bank for help in this issue and was told they will call me back within 15 minutes. They never called back. I tried accessing my checking account and found it had been blocked. I called the branch and they refuse to answer my calls and return them. I called customer service and was informed the branch has blocked my checking account, which has around $700 in there, and another deposit coming on Monday. They have blocked it and holding my money because there is an issue with the auto loan. They refuse to release my money, and have been told they are zeroing out my accounts to place on the auto loan. This is against the law and I want them help accountable for this. I never signed anything giving them permission or agreeing to them holding my money should their every be any issues with my auto loan.

Desired Settlement: My money to be returned to me within 3 business days, and all account closed with this branch. As well as this bank to be held accountable for their actions

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/02) */ August 29, 2014 ************** *********************** ************************** HONOLULU HI 96814-1822 Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint BBB Case #********* Dear Mr. ****: Thank you for the opportunity to address the concerns that you raised in your complaint to the Better Business Bureau on August 18, 2014. Thank you also for your patience in allowing us to investigate this matter before providing you with a response. In your complaint, you expressed that you believe that Central Pacific Bank ("Bank") has illegally blocked the ************************'S checking account due to an issue with an automobile loan. Our understanding of the facts is as follows. On July 3, 2014 *********************** and ****** **** (collectively "ASG") co-signed a loan with the Bank to purchase a 2014 Nissan Frontier. The contract, Which was signed by you individually and on behalf of ASC, requires that the automobile that you purchased remain on Oahu. The contract specifically states that the automobile is not permitted to be removed "from the island in Hawaii Where you first keep it . . . without our permission." (Credit Sale Contract dated July 3, 2014, S 3(b)). You also agreed under the contract that the Bank had a right of setoff: "[W]e may set off amounts due under this Contract against any amounts We may owe you, such as your checking and savings account, to the extent permitted by law and Without advanced notice." (Credit Sale Contract dated July 3, 2014, S 3(d)). In addition to the automobile loan with the Bank, on July 8, 2014, ASG ****************** opened a business checking account with the Bank. Our account opening documents indicate that ************** and ******************* are signatories on the account. When you signed the signature cards, you agreed to be governed by the Bank's Deposit Account Agreement & Disclosure, which allows the Bank to block accounts, and also provides for the exercise of setoff: Freezing of Accounts. We may suspend or freeze your account if we believe your account is involved in or affected by legal proceedings or if there is a dispute as to ownership of your account, until the matter is resolved to our satisfaction. We will not be liable for suspending your account so long as we acted in good faith and in accordance with the law. Right of Setoff. Subject to applicable law, we may exercise our right of setoff or security interest against any and all of your accounts without notice, for any liability or debt of any of you, whether joint or individual, whether direct or contingent, whether now or hereafter existing, and whether arising from overdrafts, endorsements, guarantees, loans, attachments, garnishments, levies, attorneys' fees, or other obligations. If the account is a joint or multiple-party account, each joint or multiple-party account holder authorizes us to exercise our right of setoff against any and all accounts of each account holder. The Bank exercised its right to freeze the ASG account after several events occurred. On July 17, 2014, prior to the first payment being made on the vehicle, ASG made a request to the Bank to ship the vehicle to *******, Illinois. You told the Bank that your aunt died and you had to go to the mainland to sell her house. You told the Bank that you probably would not be back for 3 to 6 months. ln order to accommodate this family emergency, the Bank proposed that ASG could ship the Vehicle, on the condition that the first two payments on the loan were made prior to shipment, totaling $1,126.04. ASG agreed to make the payments. These payments were never subsequently made. On August 6, 2014, however, the Bank became aware that the Vehicle was shipped out of state Without the Bank's Consent. The Bank was informed that the shipping company was holding the vehicle in Los Angeles due to insufficient payment. The Bank was also provided with a copy of an authorization letter, purportedly from the Bank, which was accepted by the shipping company as consent from us to ship the vehicle. You have explained that you "went into a local branch and spoke with a manger on duty, and explained the problem and what loan services told ************************. She informed [you] that she would override this, and supply a letter to ship the truck to *******, without making us pay $1.127.00." We have no evidence that any manager at the Bank overrode the initial decision to prevent shipping without the submission of the first two payments on the loan, nor do we have any policies that allow for such an event to occur. The purported authorization was dated April 17, 2014, which is before your account was opened and before the vehicle was even sold to you. The Bank also confirmed that no one at the Bank prepared the authorization or signed that letter. As a result, the Bank filed a police report and legal proceedings began. Based on these circumstances, the Bank legitimately blocked the ASC checking account in conformance with the terms in both the Credit Sale Agreement and the Deposit Agreement and Disclosure, which held approximately $700.00 of ASG's funds. We hope that this letter has helped provide some clarity regarding your concerns and sufficiently addresses your concerns. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at (808) ********. Sincerely, ****************** Senior Vice President Senior Legal Counsel & Assistant Corporate Secretary Central Pacific Bank

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was buying $68 worth of groceries at Foodland Market City. My card would not authorize. Very humiliating. On 5/18/2013 I was trying to buy $68 worth of food at Market City Foodland. I used my CPB Master Card debit card, but it would not clear and I was not able to get any groceries. I went home and looked at my account online, which had over $1600 and the same amount for "available balance." There had been no charge to the account since 5/13, and there were no charges pending. I called the CPB contact number on the back of the Mastercard, contacting them today, 5/19/2013, but they really couldn't tell me what happened or offer any compensation. I wasn't surprised by that, but it did seem unfair that CPB had the overdraft scandal, for which their compensation was a fraction of how much they ripped people off (including me) for, but when their service humiliates me and others publicly, they get off with no penalty, even though what they did is worse than an alleged overdraft.

Desired Settlement: They should apologize to me and compensate me for my time, gas, and humiliation. I wasted about 35 minutes, will have to make another trip to see if maybe my money will be available, and spend money on gas to get back to the store, as well as doing the half hour of shopping again. A gift card for 100 dollars for Foodland sounds about right. To be fair, a manager from CPB should also accompany me to Foodland and publically apologize for me having to be turned away and my groceries taken back in front of about 5 customers, a cashier, and others in the vicinity. My suggestion is for what would actually be fair, not for what I expect anyone to do. But also, CPB should give me about a thousand dollars for the overdraft charges and disruptions to my checking payments they caused a few years back, but again, I understand the exploitation here goes one way from the ruling class to the working class.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/03) */ From: ********* ******** Sent: Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:48 PM To: ***** *. ***** Subject: Re: Case # ********: Mr. ***** **** *****, I was unable to upload our response letter to your website, but I am attaching it here. Thanks! Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It's wonderful that no one can be held responsible when the liability would fall to a business. But if the bank customer is overdrawn by a penny, due to some creative bookkeeping on the bank's part, fines flow freely. Thanks for nothing CPB.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Totally Free Checking Dormant Account Fees I had deposited $200 in CPBs totally free checking and was only contacted recently about the account because it had a negative balance. Cone to find out that I had an open checking account that had no activity since July 2008. The bank is saying they sent a dormant notification and that I was supposed to be getting statements. I did not receive statements and therefore did not think I had an account. If the dormant notification letter was received it had no indication of what the balance on the account was. It's amazing how a totally free checking ended up costing $200. I'm disappointed in the banks communication, and feel as if the bank wanted to take my money. They did not make a good faith effort to warn about the dormancy and only called when they wanted to close the account. Dormant letters should say what the balance on the account is - I had spoken to customer service and they said the letter does not. I have crit union accounts that aren't touched but something like this never happened before. I did make an effort to go to the bank to talk with them but that was just as frustrating. I had gone to the Kahala Branch and after waiting while to be helped was told that they couldn't help and I would have to go to Hawaii Kai and they would also call Hawaii Kai and have someone contact me. Ended up going to Hawai Kai and the customer service manager said I'd have tot all wi the branch manager but she wasn't' in and that we could come back later in the day. Came back later and the branch manager wasn't told about our case so had to explain things again, this would be the third time. She said she would have to research and would call back. The branch manager calls back to say we can get back $25. I wasn't pleased but she said it was all she could do. She even sounded annoyed that we had contacted so many areas of the bank as if we had wanted to do that.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $200 returned to me. Annoyed that the customer service manager said the least we would get is $100, and then to be told they'd give us only $25. It felt like they were accusing us of lying about what happened. Why would we want to go thru this much trouble. If we had known the account had $200 and was gonna go dormant we would have closed the account. No statements and no account balance on the dormant letter really doesn't help. And once in dormant they don't even send statements. It's as if they want accounts to go dormant to get the fee and the poor customer is left with no money because they weren't told. This dormant process needs to be changed to protect the consumer.

Business Response: April 30,2013 Mr. **************** *********** ******************* Re: BBB Complaint Case No- 52021?64 Dear Mr. *********, We are in receipt of your complaint to the Better Business Bureau dated April 17, 2013. Your complaint was regarding your checking account with Central Pacific Bank (the "Bank"], which entered dormant status in July 2009 and was closed by the Bank on December 24, 2012 due to overdraft fees. You attempted to dispute the fees charged against your account with employees cf the Bank's Hawaii Kai branch, but did not receive the full refund you desired. Mr. *********, the Bank is hereby willing to go above and beyond in our customer service to you. Enclosed please find check no. *** in the amount of $200.00 which is the full amount of dormant fees charged against your account in $5.00 month increments since your account went dormant in July 2009. Please note that the Bank followed its procedures and acted within its due diligence requirements with respect to your account. We provided you with the proper notification, and when we heard no response from you, we put the account on dormant status. Even during the 90-day period prior to dormancy of your account, we extended an additional call to you to inform you that the account would go dormant, which is beyond our requirements for upcoming, dormant accounts. In response to our call, you informed the Bank's Hawaii Kai branch that you would come into the Bank to take care of the account to prevent dormant fees from accruing. However this was never done. We also notified you when we decided to close the account, but there was no communication from you. Despite this, the Bank hopes to keep your business, and is therefore willing to reimburse you for the full amount of your balance prior to the dormancy of your account. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions regarding the foregoing. As always, we thank you for choosing Central Bank. Enclosure Cc: BBB Complaint Department

10/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues