Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bank Of Hawaii

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 643-3888 Fax: (808) 694-1988 View Additional Phone Numbers 130 Merchant St, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.boh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bank of Hawaii is the primary subsidiary of Bank of Hawaii Corporation, a regional bank holding company. Bank of Hawaii Corporation through its subsidiaries provide varied financial services to businesses, consumers and governments in Hawaii, American Samoa and the Pacific Islands. The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange as "B O H." In the community, Bank of Hawaii is also known as "Bankoh."


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bank Of Hawaii meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bank Of Hawaii include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bank Of Hawaii
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 12/17/1897 Business started locally: 12/17/1897 Business incorporated 12/17/1897 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40501660-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter S. Ho, Chairman, President & CEO Mr. Ryson Matsumura, BBB account Ms. Margaret T.F.Y. Dang, SVP, Client & Employee Experience Ms. Susan L. Ing, EVP, Marketing Director Mr. Stafford J. Kiguchi, EVP, Corporate Communications & Gov't Relations Ms. Mariko White, Vice President & Client Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter S. Ho, Chairman, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Mariko White, Vice President & Client Relations Manager
Business Category

Banks Loans Financial Services

Industry Tips
ADVANCE-FEE LOANS ADVANCED FEE LOAN PROMOTION COLLEGE FINANCIAL AID INTERNET FINANCIAL PRIVACY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bank Of Hawaii has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 101 N. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 111 S. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813

  • 1196 Fifth Street Mcbh

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 120 Kaiulani Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 120 Pauahi St Ste 100

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 1279 S Kihei Rd Ste 125

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 1279 S. Kihei Road

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 130 Merchant St

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (680) 488-3338 (888) 643-9888 (808) 694-1922 (888) 643-3888

  • 1407 Kuhio Hwy

    Kapaa, HI 96746

  • 1441 Kapiolani Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 1451 S King St

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 15-2906 Pahoa Village Rd

    Pahoa, HI 96778

  • 1617 Dillingham Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 1620 N. School Street

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • 170 East Kamehameha Hwy

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 1950 N. King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 200 Hamakua Drive

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 20b Ala Malama Street

    Kaunakakai, HI 96748

  • 210 Ward Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 2105 Main Street

    Wailuku, HI 96793

  • 2228 Kalakaua Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96815

  • 2360 Kiahuna Plantation Drive

    Koloa, HI 96756

  • 2470 S King St

    Honolulu, HI 96826

  • 27 Puunene Ave.

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 270 Dairy Road, Bldg. J

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 2752 Woodlawn Drive, #5-100

    Honolulu, HI 96822

  • 277 Piikea Ave

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 2969 Mapunapuna Place, #100

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • 35 Baldwin Avenue

    Paia, HI 96779

  • 3600 Waialae Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 3764 Hanapepe Road

    Hanapepe, HI 96716

  • 377 Keahole St

    Honolulu, HI 96825

  • 417 E Kawili St

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 4211 Waialae Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 4404 Malaai Street

    Honolulu, HI 96818

  • 4405 Honoapiilani Hwy

    Lahaina, HI 96761

  • 4455 Rice Street

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 45-1001 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 45-1001 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 45-3568 Mamane St

    Honokaa, HI 96727

  • 46-023 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 460 Eighth Street

    Lanai, HI 96763

  • 4634 Kilauea Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 5-4280 Kuhio Hwy

    Princeville, HI 96722

  • 50 E Puainako St Ste 113

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 54-3888 Akoni Pule Hwy.

    Kapaau, HI 96755

  • 5501 Pukalani Street

    Pukalani, HI 96768

  • 634 California Avenue

    Wahiawa, HI 96786

  • 636 Kailua Rd

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 636 Kailua Road

    Kailua, HI 96734

  • 66-165 Kamehameha Hwy Ste 101

    Haleiwa, HI 96712

  • 67-1191 Mamalahoa Hwy

    Kamuela, HI 96743

  • 67-1191 Mamalahoa Hwy

    Kamuela, HI 96743

  • 7192 Kalanianaole Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96825

  • 727 Kapahulu Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • 75-5595 Palani Rd

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740

  • 78-6831 Alii Drive

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

  • 81-6638 Mamalohoa Hwy.

    Kealakekua, HI 96750

  • 850 Kamehameha Hwy

    Pearl City, HI 96782

  • 86-120 Farrington Hwy.

    Waianae, HI 96792

  • 91-1119 Keaunui Dr Ste 750

    Ewa Beach, HI 96706

  • 91-590 Farrington Hwy

    Kapolei, HI 96707

  • 94-661 Kupuohi St

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 94-712 Farrington Hwy

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 94-780 B Meheula Parkway

    Mililani, HI 96789

  • 94-817 Lumiaina Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 95-221 Kipapa Drive

    Mililani, HI 96789

  • 96-3167 Pikake St

    Pahala, HI 96777

  • 98-1277 P Kaahumanu Street

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • 98-211 Pali Momi St Ste 100

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • 9801 Waimea Road

    Waimea, HI 96796

  • Hana Shopping Center Rm#3

    Hana, HI 96713

  • Lahaina Shopping Center

    Lahaina, HI 96761

  • PO Box 10

    Pahala, HI 96777

  • PO Box 1312

    Pahoa, HI 96778

  • PO Box 188

    Honokaa, HI 96727

  • PO Box 2715

    Honolulu, HI 96803

  • Po Box 2715

    Honolulu, HI 96803

  • PO Box 305

    Hilo, HI 96721

  • Po Box 31

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • Po Box 406

    Kaunakakai, HI 96748

  • Po Box 508

    Waimea, HI 96796

  • Po Box 655

    Waianae, HI 96792

  • PO Box 670

    Wailuku, HI 96793

  • Po Box 68

    Kahului, HI 96733

  • Po Box 76

    Laie, HI 96744

  • Po Box 792079

    Paia, HI 96779

  • Po Box 8

    Kealakekua, HI 96750

  • Po Box 807

    Hilo, HI 96721

  • Po Box 839

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • Po Box 849

    Lanai City, HI 96763

  • Po Box 877

    Lahaina, HI 96767

  • Po Box 959

    Hanalei, HI 96714

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For 6 months I have made numerous efforts to roll over an IRA into my Corporation 401k trust. Despite providing forms, visiting the Ewa Beach branch, the Hawaii Kai branch, Bank of Hawaii has not completed the roll over request. My customer service representative with ******* ******* **** has also made numerous attempts along with with suppling the request forms.

Desired Settlement: Complete the roll over transaction as required by law from the IRA to the 401K Trust directly, not with a check but rather a direct deposit to the 401k as requested

Business Response:

Bank of Hawaii’s Deposit Maintenance Center manager called the client on April 18, 2016 and informed the client of the following:  

  • Bank of Hawaii will be fulfilling his request to rollover his IRA account and a check will be mailed to ******* ******* **** via certified mail.

  • Bank of Hawaii informed ******* ******* **** that the rollover transaction has been completed and a check will be mailed to ******* ******* ****.

On April 25, 2016, the Deposit Maintenance Center manager called the client and confirmed that the check was received and processed by ******* ******* **** on 4/23/16. Manager apologized for the situation and the client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the Deposit Maintenance Center.


5/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After becoming unemployed and homeless, I faced a bank overdraft situation with Bank of Hawaii. When I noticed that they were charging me $10 per week for continued overdraft, I immediately asked them in writing, over their account login e-mail, to either halt the weekly fees or close the account. I have now received numerous robo calls for collection, but found no way to talk to a live person when I answer such calls. I have now tried calling them repeatedly, and found repeatedly that they do not have service hours during the times I'm available to discuss the matter. I have also e-mailed them two additional times over their secure system. All three times (e-mailed) I have committed to try to pay the full amount of my overdraft plus fees due up to the date I requested that the account be closed. They have so far refused to close the account and continue to charge me $10 per week for the continued overdraft. Again, I've lived in my car. I've been focused on food and shelter. I told them in the latest e-mail that I would continue to focus on food and shelter then try to pay the full amount I owed as of the day I first instructed them to close the account. ******** ******

Desired Settlement: I request the Bank close the account effective on the date I first requested. This was March 16, 2016 according to e-mail header records over Bank of Hawaii system as I recall. I also insist that the bank remove all fees charged to the account after the date I first requested the account be closed. ******** ******

Business Response: On April 25, 2016, Bank of Hawaii Client Relations Department contacted the client and discussed what transpired and provided resolution.  Client was satisfied with the information and resolution provided as the desired settlement was met. 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

A Bank of Hawaii representative called and graciously accepted the resolution I had proposed repeatedly. As I recall, they also mentioned future plans to help prevent an identical situation from occurring in the future. 

Sincerely,

******** ******

1/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I opened my BOH Business Account, I was automatically enrolled in overdraft without my knowledge. I asked to have my account not do this in the past, but no action through Bank of Hawaii was done. Haven't used my BOH Business Account since early November and had a transaction that placed my account $2 negative. Bank of Hawaii charged me a $26 overdraft fee, plus $10 per week there after. Today, January 11, 2016 I received notification that my account was closed and I owe just over $100. I was offered a 25% reduction to my balance owed thanks to Irene with BOH, but still doesn't justify these charges.

Desired Settlement: I would like to pay what I over-drafted,which was less than $5. I did not sign up for overdraft approval and would have hoped for my card to be declined for insufficient funds, than be charged these hefty fees.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii Lanai Branch mailed a response letter dated January 15, 2016, to the client regarding his complaint. Copy of the response letter was provided via email to the BBB.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been coming to Bank of Hawaii for 3 years at the Kapiolani location right by *** *****. Not once have I ever experienced the worse customer service ever by a teller named Kayleen. I'm a business customer and she started working for the business side tellers and her attitude is UNBELIEVABLE. She's always slamming things, when I ask for change she rolls her eyes rudely tells me "is that all??" I don't know what I did to offend her but might I add I have made so many friends with the previous business tellers before her! I've never experienced such service. She has the audacity to not greet me as in standing in line but prefers to greet the men that are standing before me. She's always slamming her pens her papers! Even slamming the money into the counter giving me the idea she doesn't want to work here. Well if your so unhappy I don't see why your taking it out on me. This is ridiculous. I've never seen a worker roll her eyes this many times until I met Kayleen! She has the worse attitude here. Someone needs to talk to her! How are you treating your customer especially at a bank like this??

Desired Settlement: A manager or supervisor needs to talk to her about her Attitude and customer services! And Kayleen from bank of Hawaii *** *****'s service shouldn't vary whether or not the customer is a man or women. I've never had such horrible customer service until I had her

Business Response: We wanted to obtain additional information before asking the *** ***** Branch to research and respond to this complaint. We attempted to call the customer (***** *****) at the number provided (********) and the person who answered said she was not '***** *****'. We searched our system by the telephone number provided and found that the number belongs to someone else (not ***** *****). Can you please contact the customer (***** *****) to confirm her contact information and have her provide the name of the business she represents so we can research this complaint further and provide a response to her? Thank you, Denise F***** Bank of Hawaii ********

8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged overdraft protection $26 for four separate transactions on a single day when the balance showed positive balance prior to these transactions.I was also charged an addition charge of $10 for having negative balance for 7 days for total of $114 .Soon as I found out through the mail that I had a negative balance I contacted the bank. They told me I had went over my balance and told the don't have overdraft protection they said I did. She told me there were more transaction she transferred me so I could setup and to view my account online.I went to a branch to ask for an explanation of the charges and an to have an adjustment to my account and to pay my balance. She told me I need to go to my branch for have the fees removed. She also said people who don't use their account that should check their balance more often before using it. I told her I did. I went to my branch and she said ...Unfortunately after researching your transactions being that the transactions were not bank error we are not able to waive the NSF fees on your account. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me or my manager here at our branch.I went back to the branch and she told me there is nothing she can do but the manager will be in the afternoon and she said would tell her.. I have gotten no response from the branch manager. I also called customer service to possibly resolve this. They said back in 2012 we explain this to you and it would be one time waiver. At that time I made it clear to have overdraft protection taken off I don't want it.I also told them I have used this account with fact knowing it showed I had funds available in my account and if I was to be overdrawn the transaction would be denied. I also told them I paid what was overdrawn on Sunday and but it wasn't added to the balance until Monday night. i asked her if she would able remove/waive the fees or limit the fee not four for $26 on the same day.

Desired Settlement: I want my balance reduced or zeroed out and my account closed. I want my account closed and balanced zeroed out and a copy sent or given to me.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii’s ISB-Safeway Kapolei Branch reversed all of the fees and closed the client’s account per his request. On August 14, 2015, the ISB-Safeway Kapolei Branch contacted the client and informed him that all fees were reversed and account has been closed. On August 17, 2015, the Branch Manager followed-up with the client and confirmed the requested fees were reversed and the account has been closed. The client was satisfied with the resolution provided by the ISB-Safeway Kapolei Branch. A response letter was mailed to the client on August 27, 2015 to confirm the Bank’s actions.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10765618, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Robert Z****

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get a duplicate title mailed to either myself or the new bank i refinanced through for the last at least 8 months to find out every time i contact bank of Hawaii with this issue they take my information down and transfer me from person to person to person and then say they will call back the next day, i never end up receiving a call, so i call back and its the same process all over again, i have been going through this for these last 8 months and now have the Hawaii DMV and **** ******* ****** ***** assisting me with this issue and they are running into this same problem. Bank of Hawaii is the lien holder to my title, and without the current lien holder on it (**** *******) i am unable to register my vehicle, now i am late to register and have extra fees to pay due to the lack of care on bank of Hawaii's part.

Desired Settlement: I want a duplicate title mailed to me so i may complete this ongoing refinancing and be finished with it.

Business Response: Attached is a copy of Bank of Hawaii's response letter dated May 12, 2015 to Mr. ******* ******* regarding his complaint.

5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applied for personal flexline account for 20,000. Got a conditional approval on April 20th provided documents listed were submitted by the due date of 5/4/15. ON April 27th they sent a letter which I received on Friday, May 1st. Th letter stated that they regret to inform me that I have been turned down due to my credit score of 793 and too many inquires in the last 12 months and length of time accounts have been established!!!! Nothing about any forms that were not turned in. I receive this on a Friday evening after work which ruined my entire weekend!! It bothers me not because I really need the loan, I have other means of credit that I can use. What hurts is that if I really needed the money for an emergency, I would be struggling with them...my trusted BOH??? They do not have any considerations for their faithful customers...None what so ever!!!...try looking outside the box people!!I called their BOH line and spoke to the supervisor Linda who although could not help with the issues mentioned, at least she listened to me and was able to be professional in hearing my frustrations. I asked to have the supervisor call me after she collects all the information about my account. We will see.....I have been with BOH since the age of 20. I am almost 50. I make over 6 figures and have zero balance on my BOH charge card and owe nothing on my cover check. Another complaint is their false advertisement on their website for flexline. It states that they are available 24/7 when it's convenient to apply or have my questions answered. They even go as far as placing a picture of beautiful women with a headset on....seriously?? it's a automated message that states to leave your name and they will get back to you on Monday when they open!! I feel discriminated against by BOH!!! I have companies sending me pre approved letters for 30,000.00 credit line. I want to stay local with a bank that I have been with and this is how I get treated!!! BOH treat local polynesian female professionals unfairly!

Desired Settlement: 1. They better go back and honor their approval letter as stated. 2. I want an apology letter3. If they do not approve my loan as originally offered, I want them to be responsible to transfer my entire family accts & bills that are auto paid to a different banking institution of my choice. I want them learn to treat their faithful customers with more respect & dignity (Aloha)! People don't get nearly 800 FICO scores by being a financial risk. If you deny after approval...do your homework!

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii’s Customer Relationship Center Manager called the client on May 5, 2015 and apologized for the inconvenience when she called our Loan-by-Phone service and was instructed to leave a message rather than route to a representative. Manager assured the client that they will work to correct the system so calls will be routed to a “live” representative 24/7. Client appreciated the follow-up call from Bank of Hawaii. Also on May 5, 2015, Bank of Hawaii’s Direct Lending Manager called the client and after obtaining additional information/clarification from the client, the Direct Lending Manager was able to approve the client’s Personal FlexLine application. The Direct Lending Manager informed the client that she will work with the Kaneohe Branch in establishing the Personal FlexLine account and that the Kaneohe Branch will be contacting her shortly. Client was appreciative of the additional evaluation and satisfied with the Bank’s resolution.

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother, ******* ****** ****** passed away in Rosarito, Mexico on 01/07/15. He had a checking, savings and safety deposit box at the Bank of Hawaii in ******* ** *****. We sent a registered, receipt request letter to Bank of Hawaii, *** ***** ********* ** ***** on 02/07/2015 requesting they close his accounts and forward the proceeds to me, the Heir and Executor of his estate. All of the copies and pertinent information was included, there was never a response.The letter was delivered on 02/13/2015We then contacted the local branch MS Kehau L**, AVP and Service Manager, ************ to inquire about the Safety Deposit Box to have it opened, inspect the contents so that they could be sent to us, at our expense. We also inquired to the status of the letter we sent to the DFC with no reponse to that question to date. We have no idea what is in the safety deposit box so we have no way to insure the shipment.We spoke with her today and she informed me the account was closed and the proceeds were sent and to date we've received nothing. She didn't know when it was sent, what the amount was or where it was sent to.It is very difficult getting any information from this bank from anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know :When, to whom and what address the proceeds of the checking, savings and any other accounts were sent to. The name on the proceeds / bank draft or check.If they will grant our request to have the Safety deposit box in Kailua, HI opened, takingan inventory and informing me so I know how much to insure the contents to, at our expense.Explain why everything is so difficult with them during such a difficult and emotional time for me.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii’s Kailua Banking Center Service Manager contacted the client via email on March 17, 2015 and April 2, 2015 and provided information to close her brother’s Safe Deposit Box. Bank of Hawaii’s Main Banking Center Manager contacted the client on April 3, 2015 and discussed the following: • Client was informed that the two deposit accounts have been closed and proceeds from the accounts will be sent via Cashier’s Check directly to her. • Main Banking Center Manager apologized for the delay in processing the close request. The request was received by the branch for action on February 17, 2015. • Client was satisfied with the resolution provided by Main Banking Center and information provided by Kailua Banking Center.

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a cell phone call today March 25, 2015 at around 7:30 P.M. from an unknown number that came up as unknown with no number from a Julie who claimed to be from Bank Hawaii and she asks to speak to me by name but then says before she can continue the conversation she needs the last 4 of my social security and my birth date to confirm me. I then ask her what's this call about and she then tells me she needs my address to send the remaining refunded money from the loan to the address and that mailing address that she has on file is not the correct address. Not understanding her I asked her why when they have been sending statements to our new address that we moved to here in Virginia. So I told her fine but then she tells me she needs me to fax or email her my mailing address to confirm it. I asked her why I couldn't give it her over the phone and she says that it needs to be faxed or emailed with a signature. Frustrated with this I then told her that I don't understand what is going on? I don't know who you are and you are asking for all this information. So I told her to talk to my husband because this could be a phishing scam. My husband confirmed that it was indeed a Bank of Hawaii person because he had put a tracking number on the mail for it to be signed by someone there at Bank of Hawaii. I then asked my husband to ask her what her name was so that I could file a complaint on why is all the information given required just to give a address after confirming who I am with a social security number and birthdate right from the beginning of the cell phone conversation.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice for Bank of Hawaii to have a disclosure read to customers over the phone confirming who they are with a first and last name and a confirmation number for the conversation documented so that if an identity theft ever happens we would know what to reference it off of. Phishing Scams are a big issue in America and I would expect more out of Bank to uphold their reputation as one of the top banks in America. It is definitely a horrible practice to ask for personal information!

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii Loan Operations Department mailed a response letter dated April 3, 2015, to the client regarding her complaint. Copy of the response letter was provided via email to the BBB.

4/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Ala Moana Branch to put a stop to an unauthorized charge. I was told I couldn't stop future payments. The only option I was left with was a stop payment for that specific check number. I was told that they could just reissue another check with a different number. I asked how to stop that and again was told I couldn't. I left the bank without a resolution but paid $30 for a one time stop on that check (which was automated and not authorized by me) so I came home and tried to reach out (again) via online messaging, a few days later I checked my messages and had received a message from a specialist telling me I could fill out a form and mail it in. Since I didn't have a way of knowing if this company would charge my account again I opened another account and changed my direct deposit. Meantime I have been dealing with collections and numerous fees on top of fees and trying to stop any future debits. I can't close the account until it's current, but I also can't stop the fees without paying it in full. I am given 50 days till it automatically closes and also puts a mark on **********s. Meantime the collection department tells me that Ala moana should refund around $706 worth of the overdraft amount and I would owe around $220. Of course the amount has gone up however after talking to ala moana they only agree on $338. Thats a huge difference. The associate I spoke with kept saying "I feel like we provided you with the service you asked for", I was also disconnected while on hold and didn't get a call back for 3 hours. I have since been on the phone almost daily trying to find out what I can do to resolve the issue. I have also since been charged for checks I didn't order and then charged for "stop payments" I told would be waived and or free (considered disputes).

Desired Settlement: I would like fees refunded and a reasonable amount owed, I originally was told about $220 would be what I was liable for. That is more affordable than $1097 (current overdraft). I don't want a negative mark on **********. I would like to close the account. I also would like the correct information since I have been given the run around by various departments.

Business Response: Attached is a copy of Bank of Hawaii's response letter dated March 30, 2015 to the client regarding her complaint.

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife (Formerly ******** "****" ****; Taiwanese) has failed in attempts to get proof from Bank of Hawaii that her account was closed -- information vital to recover $588.70 from a refund that was claimed to have gone through, but did not because the account was closed:**** had an account open with Bank of Hawaii when she resided in Hawaii until she closed it in 2013 (or early 2014) before moving back to Taiwan.***** ************ ****** issued a refund of $588.70 to her debit card (account information below). The account was closed over a year ago, but ~May, 2014, this refund was issued and ***** ***/******** report that the funds were successfully completed (offering an ARN# "as proof" that Bank of Hawaii claims isn't even in their format -- and I believe Bank of Hawaii). My wife and I simply need proof *WHEN* her account was closed, via email from ******** official email OR written (we live in Taiwan, so email is preferred for both of us). Upon calling Bank of Hawaii (several times, to multiple supervisors), we were told it's impossible and that if the account was closed, it would 100% get rejected. We also have 2 email replies stating this same thing: not just phone.They had to refund the original debit card (Account#***** ***** with debit #**** **** **** **** to ******** ****) and were told (by both Bank of Hawaii and ********) that because the bank account is closed, it should reject and then they could offer us a check instead.Bank of Hawaii has not been cooperative in assisting us to prove *when* the account was closed -- they could only tell my wife that "records they could view are purged after 3 months and would need to send a letter to records to obtain proof the account was closed". We wrote a letter to the address given to us (Sent over a month ago, arriving 1-2 weeks ago), but have no way in contacting records office to follow up.

Desired Settlement: Please provide proof for my wife, ******** "****" ****, that her account was closed in a timely manner. Another BBB case and $588.70 is relying on this, solely waiting on the response from Bank of Hawaii. This is all we ask for -- nothing else. I 100% believe Bank of Hawaii that the amount was rejected: my wife simply needs proof to show it to get her refund from them directly. For extra security, her email is still the same on file a long time ago, ******************, feel free to email her.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii ISB-******* ******** Branch Manager contacted the client on February 25, 2015 and communicated with the client through a series of emails of what her inquiry/request was and action steps Bank of Hawaii has taken to resolve her request. Details of discussion and resolution will be forwarded to the BBB via email.

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/8/15,around 5:30pm, I went to BOH Times in ******** to withdraw money.I have more than $18,000 on my account and available to withdraw. However, when I handed the check to the teller to withdraw $15,250, she said they don't have enough cash with them. So, I said cashiers check is ok. Then she replied well its $10. I said why will I pay $10? You can not give the cash I need, why do I have to pay $10? I ask to talk to the manager but the manager also gave the same response, that I need to pay $10. Because they don't have cash to give me. They even told me to somewhere to cash my check.I feel that I was denied of my own money. First, there is more than enough money on my count, and its available. It's no that I'm asking for loan or anything.Second, its them who cannot provide the cash. Why do I need to pay for something that the Bank of Hawaii can not provide. I have the money in my account and there is no limitation for the amount of money I can withdraw. That's a complete violation of my right as a depositor. Because I should have complete access to my money. I was even giving them favor for accepting cashier's check because I can demand for a cash because that's my money. But, guess what they even told me to go to another bank, and make me look like I was the one asking for something.My point is the money is available on my account and I should have the right to do what I please to do with the money. I don't remember signing any document informing me that I can only withdraw limited amount.I feel like my right to my own money was denied.I hope that you can help settle with issue.Thanks,****** A. ******

Desired Settlement: I would like the staff and the manager of that BOH branch to apologize and acknowledge the mistake they did. They need to be trained more.

Business Response: The client has already contacted Bank of Hawaii regarding this situation: • On January 8, 2015, the client contacted Bank of Hawaii to voice her concern regarding this situation and the $10.00 fee for a Cashier’s Check. On January 9, 2015, both the ISB-Times ******** Branch Manager and In Store Branches Regional Manager called the client to discuss her concerns and apologize for the situation and the inconvenience encountered. The client appreciated the calls from Bank of Hawaii. • On January 16, 2015, Bank of Hawaii received the client’s complaint regarding this same situation from the ******** ********* ********** ******* The client originally submitted her complaint to the ******* ******* ******** **** ****** on January 8, 2015, who then forwarded it to the ******** ********* ********** ******* In response to the client’s complaint, Bank of Hawaii’s In Store Branches Regional Manager responded to the client via letter dated January 21, 2015. A copy of Bank of Hawaii’s response letter was forwarded to the ******** ********* ********** ****** on January 26, 2015. In response to the client’s complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau on January 8, 2015 (ID #10374013), which Bank of Hawaii received on January 26, 2015, please refer to Bank of Hawaii’s response letter dated January 21, 2015 (copy to be provided to the Better Business Bureau via email). As the client’s concern has already been addressed and resolved, please consider this matter closed.

1/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/26/2014 I entered BoH's "******* Hilo In-Store Branch" **** **** ******** ******* ***** *** ****** to cash and deposit a check. It was my first time banking at this branch but as I had grocery shopping to do, I thought I would save myself an extra trip to my usual branch. Instead, I was informed by BoH representative ******* ****** that my check could not be cashed and that my deposit could not be withdrawn and that "a hold" would placed on my check.I was very confused by this as I have been cashing and depositing these very same checks, from the very same issuing bank every month for several years with no restrictions or "holds" imposed before.I asked BoH representative ******* ****** why a hold was required she said "the computer says so".When I told BoH representative ******* ****** "I have never had a problem at any other BoH branch with these checks" her immediate, unprofessional and rude response was "maybe you should go there then" and at my look of shock followed up with "maybe they know you there".Without saying another word, I took my check and deposit slip back and drove straight to BoH's Waiakea branch where I had no issue whatsoever cashing and depositing the very same check. I specifically asked the teller at the Waiakea branch if there were any annotations or instructions in their computer system regarding holds or restrictions on my checks and she informed me that there was nothing. I then asked the Waiakea branch manager (****** *****) to review my account information to verify that no restrictions or hold instructions were present, she did so and confirmed that no restrictions or holds were in place.More confused than ever, I drove back to BoH's "******* Hilo In-Store Branch" and spoke with Branch Manager ****** ********. After informing her what had occurred, she carefully reviewed my account information and informed me that BoH representative ******* ****** had acted improperly and she would speak with her.

Desired Settlement: I would like BoH representative ******* ****** to be officially reprimanded in writing (copied to her employee file) and instructed by her superiors as to how to perform her job and conduct herself in a professional manner. It was very apparent that BoH representative ******* ****** is rude and has a very poor professional attitude; she displayed total indifference to my confusion at not being able to conduct any banking business. Her only response was to tell me to go elsewhere.

Business Response:

  • On January 2, 2015, the Client Relations manager contacted the client and discussed his complaint. A letter of apology for the service experience was mailed to the client on January 7, 2015.

11/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank of Hawaii publishes the following address on THEIR WEB SITE and on THEIR MONTHLY STATEMENTBank of Hawaii - ********** ************* ********* ****************** ** ******** POST OFFICE DOES NOT DELIVER TO THIS ADDRESS. Instead mail is returned.This makes it impossible for anyone who cannot physically go to the branch to do business.I am mobility challenged by an injured knee.I made a request to close an account by mail (BofA decided in a unilateral move to start charging an "inactivity fee" of $5 per month and they've robbed the account down to $45-- this despite the fact that at inception they said there is no inactivity fee).When I called the branch and pointed out the address problem they said "OK so it's a mix-up". I politely said it wasn't a mix up, it was BofH publishing a bad address and should be rectified. They hung up on me. So now there is NO way for disabled people to take care of their banking

Desired Settlement: BofH should refund the funds they've stolen from my account: $60 or $65 dollars by the time they finally do close the account (IF I can ever reach them).A written apology as well.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii’s Kealakekua Branch Manager called the client on October 20,2014 and informed the client of the following: •Branch Manager explained that the branch does not receive mail at the physical address, only at their PO Box. •Branch Manager informed the client that the branch would waive the four $5.00 Service Fees between July 2014 and October 2014. •A Cashier’s Check for the fee reversals and remaining account balance will be mailed to him. •Branch Manager apologized for the situation and the client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the Kealakekua Branch. Bank of Hawaii is currently working with our internal departments to update the branch address for the Kealakekua Branch on the monthly statements and boh.com.

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank of Hawaii's E-online banking is discouraging. To reset a password, you need two personal and two bank information to verify. If you don't get mail and only way to see your statement is thru e-online and you don't have the answer of where and what year you joined their bank, the phone line people can not help you. There only alternative is to go the the nearest bank. The nearest bank is Kapolei, 15 minutes out. They need to review the policy for customers to use e-online and let their customers know that if a security issue is needed, then they will need to know all of their security questions. I answered 3 of the 4 and asked if they wanted know my social security of drivers license but that did not fly. So I guess its off the the bank to either access my online or close my account.

Desired Settlement: Have other methods of resetting the online passwords. Find out what the other banks are doing so that your online manager can make your system more customer friendly.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii’s Online Banking manager contacted the customer on October 28, 2014 and discussed the following: - Apologized for the inconvenience that he experienced and customer was appreciative of the call and attention to his concern. - Discussed the importance of security and proper authentication. - Provided a secondary option to change the password through the online banking page. Bank of Hawaii continues to explore other options to properly identify customers by phone, that will support the security of personal and account information while maintaining satisfactory levels of service.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** **** 

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear *** ***

 ACTION LINE, the KHON-TV2 has recommended that I write this letter to resolve my situation. 1.  On April 18, 2014, I CLOSED my Hawaiian Airlines Bank of Hawaii credit card. 2.   I received a bill in May with a due date of June 16, 2014, even though I had closed my account.  I noticed an unauthorized charge with *******. I went to Bank of Hawaii to discuss this bill and ended up paying the bill so I wouldn't incur additional fees. The female employee attempted to call the credit card phone number to deal with the unauthorized transaction but was unsuccessful. She advised me to call ******** to check on the transaction. On May 27, I called ********. I was told it was a case of credit fraud and to can my credit card company. On May 28, I called to speak with a customer representative. I spoke to *****, ******, and ********. Due to the credit card fraud I was told that the charge would be dropped and I would be receiving a refund check. I never received the check. 3.   I received a bill in June with a due date of July 16, 2014. Although it was addressed to me, I noticed that the account number had been changed. I was charged interest for the same transaction. On June 30, I called and spoke to **? *******? I was told the charge would be cancelled and I would receive a check. On July 4, I called to verify that the matter had been taken care of. I spoke to *** who said not to pay and he would cancel the charge. He would make certain the account was closed and send me a check for the surplus payment which I would receive within 7-10 business days. I never received the check. 4.   I received a bill in July with a due date of August 16, 2014. On July 28, I called and spoke to *********? She checked with her manager, ******, and said that my account was closed. I had no balance on my account. She didn't know why this account appeared in my name and I was being charged additional fees. They checked and. found the account it was coming from and said  they would look into it. She said something went awry and to ignore it.  She said she would recut my refund check and stop the account from sending statements and zero out the account. She said I should be receiving a check in 7-10 days. I never received the check. (She gave me a Case ID #*******).

Business Response: The complaint we received from the client regarding their Hawaiian Airlines MasterCard Credit Card account should be re-directed to ******** Bank Delaware. Bank of Hawaii-branded Hawaiian Airlines credit cards are issued and administered by ******** Card Services.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To date, Bank of Hawaii has not sent me a follow-up letter as I requested. They may have sent you a response, but I have yet to receive one from them. Reading your notes, if Bank of Hawaii believes ******* is responsible to deal with the unauthorized charges, I have been in touch with ******* every month since May to no avail. Representatives identify themselves as employees of Bank of Hawaii, not *******. They assure me that the matter will be taken care of, all charges will be dropped, I will receive a refund and derogatory reports on my credit report removed. However, I continued to receive statements even though I closed my account in April. Since I forwarded the complaint, I have received two additional statements so that harassment is continuing. Since it's a Bank of Hawaii Hawaiian Air credit card, I feel Bank of Hawaii is ultimately responsible for the problem. This matter still has not been resolved and is ongoing so I'm requesting that you leave this case open until a resolution can be reached.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lost paper work leads to names not being on the account leads to bad checks. On August 2014 my fellow PTA board members and I went into the Pearl City branch to become authorized users on the PTA bank account. I had the papers in my hand from the previous president like I was directed to do and we physical signed the papers in the bank. Unfortunately, even though I had called the bank the day prior to see who needed to sign the paper and I was told just those who are on to be on the account but that was a lie. I was then told that the principal of the school needed to sign it as well. So a few days later I returned with the paper and the principals signature. I was told I was good to go and left the bank. Fast forward, two weeks ago we started wondering where our bank cards were so while our treasurer was in the bank making a deposit she asked about them. We were told that they would be here by September 15th. Well they weren't so my treasurer was making another deposit and asked about them again and was told soon. So I called yesterday and was transferred a few times and finally got in touch with a **** whose number is ************ who told me he would send a paper to our e-mail so we could get these debit cards. Two hours alter no e-mail so I went into the branch only to find out that none of us were ever put onto the bank account and it is still in the previous presidents and treasurers name! So for the past month an a half I along with the other two board members who were suppose to be authorized users have technically been writing bad checks since we are not on the account! I am appalled that 1- obviously the paperwork was not handled right since it is completely missing and our names are not on the account but 2- that we have been writing checks for an account that isn't ours and nobody has said anything. That does not make me feel good about having an account here because clearly things are not done how they should be. Once this huge mess is fixed and I hope its soon since this is affecting my ability to purchase items for the school and putting me in a difficult spot as far as paying our bills and things like insurance I plan on moving this bank account elsewhere. I don't think anything BoH does will make me feel comfortable banking here which makes me very happy I do not have a personal account with them.

Desired Settlement: I want this fixed. I want my name along with the other three board members on this account so we can sit and deliberate if we want to stay with BoH or move elsewhere. BoH better have some strong reasons why we should stay with them.

Consumer Response: After three stops to the bank all three of us are now on the account (again) and have debit cards being mailed to us. I have talked with the branch manager ****** (sp?) and we discussed this and she apologized. At the moment as a group we will be discussing switching banks.

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My BoH debit card was fraudulently charged $300. I contacted BoH just a few hours later, never received refund. On July 25/26 my BoH debit card was fraudulently charged $300. Within hours, I contacted BoH and informed them. Despite this, BoH could not stop the charge from "processing" and the funds where removed from my account a few days later. I re contacted BoH and requested they send me the forms needed to reverse this fraud. I received the forms a week later (8/1) and mailed them back on the same day. My issue is that as of today (8/6) BoH is claiming that they have never received these forms and, additionally, that they see "nothing at all unusual" about the fraudulent transaction. I clearly informed BoH that I PHYSICALLY made a deposit at their Hilo location on the afternoon of 7/25 (and have a time-stamped receipt to prove it) and that this fraudulent transaction occurred just hours later at a WALMART in Clanton, Alabama and therefore it was almost impossible to have made the near 5000 mile journey in that amount of time. BoH speculated that it might have been an on-line transaction but could not answer (logically) how someone can make an on-line purchase, to a SPECIFIC Walmart as this charge indicated the store location and not the usual "Walmart.com" that shows when one makes an on-line purchase with them. Further, the BoH representative I spoke with said that BoH saw "nothing unusual at all" with this fraudulent transaction and that I would have to wait as long as 90 days for them to render their decision. Most disturbing is that BoH continues to state that they have not received the completed forms to begin their 'investigation' and can (still) provide absolutely no details whatsoever about this fraudulent transaction i.e., whether it was done online or an in store purchase, etc.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $300 returned that was stolen from my account. I believe anyone taking the time to look into this will clearly see that it is a fraudulent transaction.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii's Card Operations Manager contacted the client on August 11, 2014 and discussed the following:

- Client voiced his concern with the way his dispute case was handled and felt that Bank of Hawaii should have been able to stop the transaction from posting to his account and should have provided immediate credit for the disputed transaction since it was unauthorized.
- Manager explained the normal dispute process to the client and apologized for the way he felt the case was handled and for the lack of information he was provided when he initially called Bank of Hawaii.
- Manager informed the client that his account has been credited for the disputed transaction and a letter was mailed to him on August 6, 2014 notifying him of the provisional credit. Manager will re-send a copy of this letter to the client.
- Manager informed the client to call him directly if he has any additional questions.
- Client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the Card Operations Manager.

Bank of Hawaii's Card Operations followed the standard dispute process and met the regulatory time frame requirements of providing provisional credit and notifying the client of the Bank's actions.

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I have been banking with Bank of Hawaii for over 2 years now jointly and myself since 2008. This complaint is solely with the Mililani Branch of Bank of Hawaii. I have had numerous problems with this branch since relocating but this is the most recent grievance I have with them. I recently tried to deposit a check on Monday from my mother-in-law into my personal account and the deposit was not accepted. On top of that, they charged my account over $100 in overdraft fees because the deposit was not accepted on that day. We have deposited checks from her before and the check amount was only for $200. Now, when we try to resolve this issue with them, they make no attempt to research or to even admit that they could have accepted the deposit at the time. They henceforth decided to mail me back the check on Tuesday. I did not receive the check until Friday but the branch was already closed. When I deposited the check at another branch on Saturday, the teller was surprised that this check was not accepted. She had no issues depositing the check into my account at that time. I have had no fee reversals or received any of my money back from this and I am working with other branches to see if someone else is willing to help me.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like all the fees that I was charged as a result of this deposit being rejected to be refunded to me and any other transactions that may be held up or returned because of their delay in processing to be refunded as well.

Business Response: Bank of Hawaii's Mililani Town Branch Manager contacted the client on August 12, 2014 and discussed the following:

Manager informed the client that the ATM deposit was made the evening of July 21, 2014. When the branch reviewed the deposit the next business day (July 22, 2014), it was found that the deposited check was payable to the client and the client's husband but was deposited into the client's sole account.
Mililani Town Branch attempted to contact the client on July 22, 2014 but was not successful and left a message for the client to contact the branch.
Client called the branch on July 23, 2014 and asked about the returned deposit and client was informed that the check was already mailed back to her.
Client received the returned check on July 25, 2014 and deposited the check at the ISB-Times Mililani Branch on July 26, 2014. The Assistant Branch Manager made a one-time exception to deposit the check into the client's sole account based on the client's previous joint account relationship with the husband.
Client was assessed (4) NSF fees because of the returned deposit. The branch waived (2) NSF fees as a courtesy on July 28, 2014.
Manager apologized for the inconvenience the client encountered with making this deposit and waived the additional (2) NSF fees.
Client was appreciative for the additional fee waivers and for the Manager's phone call to her.
Client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the Mililani Town Branch Manager.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company contacted me and apologized for what I went through. They explained their process of handling deposits and gave me a direct number for the manager and asked me to call the next time I have a deposit like this one. She said she will make sure these things never happen again. She also refunded me the fees that I incurred as a result of the deposit being rejected.

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/23) */ On June 17, 2014, Bank of Hawaii's ********** Branch Manager responded to the client via letter and explained that the Bank did investigate his claim regarding the unauthorized transactions between November 30, 2012 and April 2, 2013 and no evidence was found to support the claim that the transactions were unauthorized. A copy of this letter as well as the Bank's letter dated December 12, 2013 will be sent to the BBB via email.

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CSR was unprofessional, lied, and made me uncomfortable. I had a very unpleasant experience with a CSR by the name of ***. She lied to me about being able to place me on hold (which she later did 4 times), refused to let me speak with a supervisor, made excuse for her actions, and did not in any way make me feel like my concerns were of importance. She repeatedly informed me the supervisor was "assisting other customers", but allowed an hour's worth of other customers to be assisted before finally placing us on her queue. She also lied that she could not transfer us to her supervisor, which she thankfully finally did. The sad part is, was that this was due to a refund of airfare. I had an ****** CSR also on the line to assist in removing a hold, and witnessed the whole conversation. At times he would even speak up, to ask the BOH CSR why she lied, and would not transfer the call to the supervisor. I would like someone to address her lack of sensitivity, her willingness to lie on the phone, and her overall unprofessionalism.

Desired Settlement: Personal contact from someone in the customer service management, informing me and assuring me this situation will be rectified, as to save other customers from similar treatment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ Bank of Hawaii's Bankoh Call Center Manager contacted the client on June 9, 2014 and discussed the following: - Manager explained to the client that calls into their center are randomly recorded and monitored and his call on May 25, 2014 was not recorded. - Manager informed the client that at the time of his call, all Call Center Leaders were assisting other clients and the normal process is for the agent to obtain the client's name and contact number to be escalated in the Leader's call back queue. Because the client did not want to wait for a call back and insisted to remain on the line, the agent continued to monitor for the next available Leader. - Once a Leader became available, the agent connected the client and merchant (who was on the call with the client) to the Leader. Because the merchant was able to provide specific information regarding the authorization holds, the Leader released the funds that the merchant placed on hold as a courtesy. By releasing the hold, the funds were available to the client. - Manager apologized to the client for not meeting his customer service needs and informed the client that she would address this with those involved, look into their current 'Leader Escalation Process' and thanked the client for sharing his concerns. - Manager invited the client to contact her directly if he should need assistance in the future. - Client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the Bankoh Call Center Manager. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/07/01) */ The employee who contacted me still indicated that she was not fully aware of the situation, and since the call was not recorded, there were no significant notes as to my concerns. This frustrated me more, because I had to fully explain the situation, and because the original employee who caused the problem did not accurately notate the outcome of the call. Ultimately, the employee who contacted me assured me they would learn from this situation, and that she would look at their processes and procedures in place. Thank you for your concern.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My card was de-activated without any notice or given any information on why until I had to call and was informed by a ******* employee no Boh employee I called after being informed by ******* employee who told me BoH had fraud issues and shut down some accounts. I called and BoH employee told me yes my account was shut down and could use only at debit or withdraw cash from ATM no credit. He told me new card would be sent out. BoH didn't state any delay in getting new card. I received in a mail 7 days after my card shut down without notification that a new card wont be sent out til week of June 2? why 3 weeks after? Letter states need to use at debit or ATM withdraw cash. I am being held hostage for BoH issues. This is very poor business practice and hasn't been handled professionally at all. No notification, no communication until week later and then no new card til 3 weeks later.

Desired Settlement: I will be off island and if can't use at debit and have to withdraw cash I want all associated ATM cost paid for along with any and all late charges for online payments that process my card as credit since my credit side of card will be off for over 3 weeks completely unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ Bank of Hawaii's Retail Deposits Department called the client on June 10, 2014 and left a message inviting the client to call back to further discuss his concern. On June 11, 2014, the Retail Deposits Department responded to the client via letter and apologized for the situation and informed the client that the Bank will work with him to reverse any related fees incurred due to this incident. A copy of the letter will be sent to the BBB via email.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to close my account after sending two letters. Sent a letter before my inactivity charges began. Called and was told that I had to send another letter asking to be excused from the inactivity charges due to failure to close account. Sent the second letter and account remained open, called to confront them about the issue and was told that they had to contact the branch in order to sort things out.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the account to be closed and not charged for the inactivity fees. Would also like for any negative impacts on my credit score to be fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ Bank of Hawaii's **** ******* *** Branch reviewed their records and confirmed they had not received a request from the client to close his account until the client called our Bankoh Call Center on February 25, 2014. On February 26, 2014, **** ******* *** Branch waived the inactive fees, closed the account and sent a cashier's check for the remaining balance to the client. On March 4, 2014, Bank of Hawaii's ******* Branch Manager called the client and informed him that the inactive fees were waived, the account was closed, a cashier's check for the remaining balance was mailed to him and apologized for the situation. Client confirmed that he did receive the cashier's check and was satisfied with the resolution provided by the ******* Branch.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went through the actions to close account. The account was not closed resulting in a significant hit to my credit score. I requested to close my account and was told that I needed to send a letter with all my information to ********************************; and they would send me a cashiers check for the remaining balance of my account, which I received. I also requested a change of address that I was told was not completed, during one of my recent phone calls, even though I had gotten the letter containing the remaining balance. After this I called to gather some information and was told that for months my account had remained open, and gone dormant resulting in monthly $5 charges, causing my account to go negative $40, then closed due to the negative balance and inactivity. I have called them 3 times and was talked in a circle, and told that a supervisor would call me. But for over a week received no call. There is now a major hit to my credit score, that was not of my doing. As a young person I have been striving to have an immaculate score, but it is now ruined due to Bank Of Hawaii's ineptitude.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my credit score cleared and any charges waived.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ Bank of Hawaii's ****** Branch manager called the client on March 5, 2014 and informed the client of the following: The account was closed due to a negative balance resulting from bank fees. ****** Branch waived the bank fees and confirmed that the account was not reported to the credit bureaus or *********** and that this incident did not impact her credit score. Branch Manager apologized for the situation and client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the ****** Branch.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They always charge overdraft fees even if you have money in the account, no awareness. They aren't consistent with their history of record keeping. When you transfer money online that is your own money in another account, and make credit card transactions, they don't count the current available amount to it on the same day. They did not initially make the customer aware of this type of issue. They lack customer service and financial education, pertaining to their practices. They constantly charge the overdraft fee and make every excuses to keep the money no matter what the explanation and what you can prove is right. When we transfer funds that should be available and we charge with our debit card, the funds are on hold so we can't use what is our own money when needed. The statement balance in the online site is not consistent and not in order or what was done. Too much inconsistencies. (For ex: I made a deposit on the 6th that should be available the same day and instead they account for it the next day, on the 7th, after I have already made purchase on the day I made the deposit from another account that is a current balance.) Customer service are not as understanding and they are not customer service oriented. I am not proud to say "This is my bank" as the motto they have advertised. I don't recommend starting an account at this bank unless you are aware of their policies and practices when it comes to using credit cards and transferring own money there. They don't seem to have a compassionate nature, as I had experience with other banks before. THIS BANK IS A NEGATIVE TO ME, hoping others will voice their opinions, and experience out. This is something else I have received from a friend which her complaint was also the same...

Desired Settlement: Reversal of overdraft fee...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/25) */ Bank of Hawaii's ******* Branch manager met with the client on February 20, 2014 and discussed and explained the following: How the timing of various transactions affect the account balance Branch Manager provided supporting documents to the client to show the reconciliation of the account balance Branch Manager suggested options to the client on how to avoid non-sufficient funds (NSF) fees. Branch Manager refunded one NSF fee as a courtesy as client now understands how to reconcile and manage her account. Branch Manager apologized to the client if she felt our Customer Service Center Representative was not helpful, compassionate and thorough with explanation Client was satisfied with the explanation/resolution provided by the ******* Branch.

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BoH admits to a BoH coding error leading to a monthly checking deduction since 2010 but have not refunded my account plus interested as is indicated. I found BoH has been deducting $20/month from my account since 2010. I called and asked why. They this offered to pay 4 months and said they'd get back to me within the day. No call back. I called the next day and pressed that they look further into the situation, specifically to tell me how long this deduction had been occurring. The banking associate that called has been helpful - she researched the situation and informed me it started in 2010 when I made my checking/savings account into to a trust as part of my will. She stated that BoH made a coding error at that time and BoH failed to add a mail code for both my checking and savings into the trust. They recognize it is error, freely admitting it occurred even though both my checking and saving were made part of the trust). I was then offered a one year refund. When I said that it seemed absurd to offer me a single year when it the bank has made a clerical error leading to the deduction, they said they would have to make a case and blamed me for not noticing sooner. I was pressured to explain why, leading me to disclose personal issues regarding my parents death. Clearly this is not appropriate. Money was taken from my account in error, an error BoH freely admitted was a clerical coding error on their part. I requested that my account be refunded with interest as is appropriate. The pressure placed on me to back down is unconscionable. I am now waiting while "a case is made" including using information "in a report" about my parents illness and death, which are wholly unrelated to the issue. The bank made an error in their coding, which by their own admission was their error. The error led to a monthly deduction from my account since 2010. The refund, with any interest, should be refunded immediately without question.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the money inappropriately deducted from my bank account, as admitted by BoH, be refunded to my account immediately, with interest.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ I just wanted to add how grateful I am for the BBB as I feel that the involvement of this agency was very helpful in this situation. As an everyday person of modest means, I am appreciative to have a way to seek positive resolution in this kind of situation. Thank you for your help.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to promptly and professionally process legal documents in order to complete a simple and routine bank to bank transaction. I am in the process of purchasing a vehicle from a private owner who now resides in Indiana. I live in Kentucky. The title had a lien on it by the Bank of Hawaii and the title was held at the bank in Hawaii. My bank sent a certified check, UPS overnight, to the Bank of Hawaii for the payoff amount and enclosed a self addressed, overnight UPS envelope for the Bank of Hawaii to return the title and lien release documentation in. The check cleared on 9/23/2013. Despite numerous phone calls to several individuals (*****, ****, ***** and ****) at the Bank of Hawaii, by both the seller and my bank, they have yet to release the documents. All the while, I am incurring interest and principal costs and cannot legally take possession of the vehicle. They said they were calling UPS to pick it up this morning. The tracking number says it has not been picked up yet ******************. The UPS store is apparently right next to this office. It is apparent they are deliberately dragging their feet, as they seem to act as if there are no real repercussions for their actions, or inactions rather. There are NO outside banks in the state of Hawaii, only (2) locally owned banks. This creates a monopoly of sorts and stifles competition, which results in poor performance. The phone numbers I have on record for the loan processing office are 808-******** or 808-******** I called and they would not give me their address, so I am not certain if the address I have selected is the correct address or not. I know it is a loan processing office on the island of Honolulu. I am calling the Hawaii State Attorney General as soon as I finish processing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: The seller took vacation this week in order to deliver the vehicle and complete the vehicle transfer/transaction. Due to the lack of response, I feel this bank should not only have to compensate the seller to some degree, but compensate my bank for time lost in trying to get them to do their job in a reasonable manner, as well as interest accrued on the auto loan from October 1, 2013 until the point my bank receives the title in hand.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/18) */ Bank of Hawaii's Loan Servicing Manager responded to the client via letter and explained the circumstances that led to the delay in issuing the vehicle title and lien release requested by the client. The Loan Servicing Manager also apologized for the inconvenience this may have caused and enclosed a Cashier's Check in the amount of $50.00 to cover the cost of the UPS Carrier fees incurred by the client. A copy of the letter will be sent to the BBB via email. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although I disagree with the delay caused by not having the authorization from the seller on where to send the title, I appreciate the acknowledgement of the inconvenience incurred and the reimbursement of UPS overnight charges. I am not sure where they are sending that check, as they do not have my address. I assume they are sending it to my bank.

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged a 26 fee for a returns check. Check was allowed to be cashed a day early despite being post dated. Wrote a check to be cashed on 9/5/2013. Instead it was allowed to be cashed early. The amount written as well as the date should be honored. As a former bank teller on the mainland, we would never cash a future check!

Desired Settlement: Refund of 26 dollars credited to my account 0062195991

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/17) */ Bank of Hawaii's Branch Division Regional Manager responded to the client via letter and explained the Bank's process regarding Postdated Checks and why the fee would not be refunded. A copy of the letter will be sent to the BBB via email.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: needed a document notarized on August 8th, 2013, arrived at the branch 20 mins prior to closing. From the time we arrived, we were given reasons why the notary couldn't be done. See attatched letter.

Desired Settlement: An explanation or apology for failure to carry out a simple request to have a document notarized.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/16) */ Bank of Hawaii's Branch Division Regional Manager responded to the client via letter and explained the responsibility of a Notary Public and reason why the branch would not notarize the requested document. A copy of the response letter will be sent to the BBB.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bank Of Hawaii
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart