This business is not BBB accredited.

Ohana Control Systems, Inc.

Phone: (808) 842-5888 Fax: (808) 842-3535 View Additional Phone Numbers 2123 Eluwene St Ste 101, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://www.ohanacontrols.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, maintenance, and installation of building automation, life safety, fire alarm, and access control and surveillance systems.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

On March 18, 2014, it came to Hawaii's BBB's attention that Ohana Control Systems, Inc.'s (Ohana) brochure displays the BBB Accredited Business Seal. This Seal is for BBB Accredited Businesses' use only. Ohana is not a BBB Accredited Business. Hawaii's BBB contacted Ohana about this and asked them to remove the BBB Accredited Business Seal from their brochure. Ohana responded "this was last years pamphlet left overs."


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ohana Control Systems, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Ohana Control Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ohana Control Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2009 Business started: 04/17/2009 Business started locally: 04/17/2009 Business incorporated 04/17/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C31765.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C 20689.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is EJ-6929.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Amir Borochov, CEO Mr. Danny W Colton, Vice President / RME Ms. Linda Kinjo, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Amir Borochov, CEO
Business Category

Automation Systems & Equipment Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service Access Control Systems


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2123 Eluwene St Ste 101

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 842-5888 (808) 842-1919

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to comply with following on submetering contract with ***** *****: 1. Install meters on written contract (not same as listed) 2. Obtain all permits and drawings for the project 3. Meter Reading for 5 years

Desired Settlement: After 1) two years of waiting for installation to be completed and then 2) two more years of continued request for getting the submetering system to work reliably, and finding roadblocks and non-responsiveness, RESOLUTION: we are resorting to find another company to install a reliable, operational submetering system. Therefore, we are subsequently requesting a REFUND.

Business Response: The system did work and was working as proposed, labor and received proper billings as desired, all work was completed, we even gave them all the software they desired and credited back approximately $7000.00, also maintained the system for 2 years we did not agree to do the billing we helped their resident manager did not understand how to do the work and refused to do the work.


all software and training was provided to all required personnel

I am happy to meet and discuss the issue with ***** anytime

Mahalo,
**** ********






Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

as of 3/15/2016,   in regard to Ohana’s 3/11/16 Response:

A.  Letter from Ohana:  In June of 2014, we received a letter of apology from Ohana for the two-year delay due to “obstacles” and “lack of experience.” Along with other contents, was “I believe we have reached the point where the system is operational and functioning properly.”  However,

B.  Monitoring the System: Submetering system was then monitored by director with engineering background, and data was found to be too inconsistent to bill owners.  For this reason the system was not activated and decision made to not send out billing until we were certain the system was accurate. 

C.  Follow-up:  Property manager and president continued to follow up with Ohana.   Said Engineer reported that Ohana came to fix the system; it worked for couple of months and then reverted back to inaccurate data.  

D.  Minutes of August 4, 2015: “Ohana was to report back on the zero-out usage of the units for testing and adding the two common area meters to the submeter bill system so the common area usage can be tracked; this has not been done yet by Ohana.  Contact with Ohana has been poor, with no return calls or follow-up.”

E.  Letter TO Ohana:  On August 7, 2015, putting Ohana “on notice that the submeter system is not working properly.  Tracking of the usage every month for over the past year has been done and inconsistencies with large variances have occurred.”

F.  Due to continued inconsistently working system and lack of response from Ohana, this complaint was filed with BBB on March 10, 2016. Note that complaint was listed as CONTRACT ISSUES, of which the above are symptoms, and failure on Contract Issues are probable causes.

Items in question from CONTRACT SIGNED 5/3/12, “Scope of work:” (4 out of 6 items) 

2) “OCS (Ohana Control Systems) will also Install 56 Leviton Electrical Mini Meters …)    another brand was installed without a *****e order.

3)   “OCS will obtain all permits and drawings for the project.”  We have no drawings.  In checking with City and County, we have been informed that there are no permits for ***** *****.

5)  “5-year meter reading and bill calculation service to be included with the entire bid for fifty six (56) units/meters.  This includes the daily meter readings posted on multifamilyutility.com, the monthly bill calculations for each unit and e-mailing the monthly meter reads, usage totals and total cost per unit (in Excel format) to the management company on a monthly basis.  …”  None of this has been done.  Moreover, there is nothing in this scope of work involving the resident manager as alleged in 3/11/16 response by Ohana. 

6)  ****** ****** would rebate $150 per meter back to the property when the Electric Submeters are installed.   “This will reduce the total cost of the project by $8,400.00”  Although we were credited $8400, ****** ****** reports that they have no record of issuing ****** Rebate to ***** Manor. ****** ****** has stringent requirements and policies for the Submeter Rebate which are likely not being met.

If there is still a desire on the part of Ohana to meet, it will only be held with Property Manager and President present as both were the parties continuing to call, follow up and faced rebuff.  I will be there with documentation, and trust that a Better Business Representative will be there also.

Sincerely,

***** *******

 

Consumer Response: Requested evidences have been gathered and are ready for submittal: 

1) written verification: photos with labels of installed meters which do not match the one listed on the contract.

 2)  City and County verification on official letterhead as well as copy of Building Permit Search showing “OCS did not obtain all permits for ***** Manor.

3) Written Verification from ***** ***** of ****** ****** confirms that there is no record of issuing ****** Rebate to ***** *****. 

                   ****** ****** has stringent requirements and policies for the Submeter Rebate which are likely not being met.

4)  Copy of our contract with OCS and highlighted sections we are referencing.

 

May I have an appointment to bring down documents?  I am available tomorrow (Tuesday) after 12 noon, or Wednesday before 12.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: I will be out of the office for 2 weeks and will respond shortly after we get back



11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Ladies & Gentlemen,We invited company Ohana Control Systems, Inc for a walk through our premises in October 2013.Scope of work: Security enhancement with installation of new security equipment.The walk through was attended by **** ********, President of the company and employees.Back then we invited several companies for the same work scope. We re-invited Ohana Control Security in March 2014 to summaries and review the work scheduling.We signed the Estimate with outlined terms and send a check with $3456.25 on 04/04/2014.A day later we decided otherwise and I called the company immediately to have the check send back but I received the reply that the check was already cashed in.I have been following up with the company every since. I have called **** ******** (***) ******** who never returned any of my calls as well as Employee ****** (***) ******** at the company phone line.20 days ago I have been promised by **** & ****** that a check is in the mail and will arrive in the next couple of days and I have also been informed that there will be minor charges on equipment storage with my reply that of course we understand.I am contacting the company daily and we are waiting for our refund over 5 month.Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $3456.25 and I would like to be billed for the equipment storage charges as I cancelled the work scope a day later and I do understand.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ohana Control Systems, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)