Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd

Phone: (808) 680-7332 Fax: (808) 483-5443 View Additional Phone Numbers 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd, Waipahu, HI 96797 http://www.tonygroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of new and used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2003 Business started: 04/25/1990 in HI Business started locally: 04/25/1990 Business incorporated 04/25/1990 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20425988-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-774-1.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-774-3.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3849.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3888.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-4167.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3776.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-774.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stanley Masamitsu, President Ms. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stanley Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Business Consultants Car Wash & Polish

Products & Services

Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd sells the following brand(s): Honda, Nissan, Volkswagen, Hyundai and a variety of pre-owned vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Autoplex Car Wash Tony Group Autoplex
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR

Additional Locations

  • 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 680-7332

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my **** ***** ******** to the Tony Autoplex Car Wash. After going through the car wash, we noted new scratches along the driver front and rear doors. There were no scratches on the door prior to going into the car wash. We brought it to the attention of the supervisor and discussed it with the manager. They are denying any responsibility.

Desired Settlement: We would like the scratches in the driver front and rear doors repaired.

Business Response:

** **** *****

Better Business Bureau of Hawaii
1132 Bishop Street Suite 615
Honolulu, HI 96813

Re: Complaint from ***** *****

 

July 14, 2015

 

Dear Ms. *****

 

Thank you for allowing the Tony Group the opportunity to respond to the complaint from Mr. *****.

He did present his 2011 ******** for service at the Autoplex Car Wash on June 11, 2015 and purchased a full-serve wash. The vehicle was washed in our wash tunnel at approximately 14:06. After exiting our tunnel car wash the customer drove to the finish area where our staff completed the service by vacuuming the interior and wiping the windows. The vehicle was returned to the customer at approximately 14:25 and the customer left our facility about 2 minutes later.

Subsequently, the customer returned and spoke with one of our Supervisors and claimed that there were scratches on the left front and rear doors that occurred on their visit to the carwash. The Supervisor examined the vehicle and explained to the customer that the damage claimed was not consistent with the operation of the carwash equipment and could not have been caused by the equipment. The customer was not satisfied with that evaluation. The Supervisor took still photos of the damage and took the contact information from Mr. ***** and let him know that the information would be forwarded to the carwash Manager.

I received the information the next day and initiated an investigation including discussing the issue with the Supervisor and reviewing surveillance video of the vehicle while it was at the carwash. I then called the Mr. ***** and explained that in my investigation I could not see anything on the images from our cameras that matched the images from the still cameras. I also reiterated the Supervisor’s conclusion that the type of damage on the vehicle is not consistent with the motion of the friction components of the carwash equipment and that there were no other claims of damage by other customers before or after his wash. Additionally, the carwash tunnel was used throughout the day to wash our internal vehicle jobs including brand new vehicles. None of those vehicles experienced any damage. Additionally, there was no report of any equipment issues that weekend that might have caused any damage to a vehicle washed in the tunnel.

I also reviewed surveillance video of the vehicle in the finish area and there does not appear to be anything out of the ordinary that could have caused the damage to the vehicle.

I informed Mr. ***** that as a result of my investigation it did not appear that the damage occurred during their visit to the carwash that day and as a result we would not accept responsibility for the damage.

 

Respectfully

 

Dean M*********

Manager

Autoplex Car Wash

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

Dear Ms. *****,
I am rejecting this response because:
These scratches were not present prior to our car wash visit that day.  The damages are very obvious, and we would've noticed the scratches when we got into the car to drive to the car wash.  
After the cars go through the wash, it gets wiped down and vacuumed.  When this process is complete, they normally drive the vehicle up to the waiting area for you.  On this day, they didn't drive the car up, but instead honked at us to pick up the car from the wipe and vacuum area.  The driver's side door were left open, so we didn't notice the scratches upon retrieving the car.  It wasn't until a few minutes later that the scratches were noticed, when we were at the ****** gas station which is immediately across the street from the car wash.  The scratches were outstanding and noticeable upon entry when opening the door after pumping gas.  We drove the car to a parking stall to do a quick look over and noticed additional lighter scratches running along the side of the car.  We returned to the car wash immediately after.
They say they didn't see anything on the still images from their cameras.  Their cameras did not pick up any of those damages when the vehicle entered the carwash, so this does NOT exclude the possibility that the damages were sustained in the carwash.   The supervisor on duty that day who initially examined the video even admitted to me that their cameras would not pick up those types of scratches on dark colored vehicles (and our ******** is metallic black).  
They claim that there is NO way the scratches could've been made by the car wash because they would've seen damage to the entire side of the vehicle. However, there were scratches down the side of the vehicle.  Most of them I was able to buff out, but the most significant ones on the driver door were too deep to buff out.  They argue that there were no other cars that were damaged?  How do they know there weren't other cars damaged and the owners just didn't notice it like we did?  If only 1 car gets damaged, it automatically excludes the possibility that it was damaged in the car wash?  Is this company the type of business that needs more than one complaint per day in order to accept responsibility?
I've attached 3 images of the damages.  The camera doesn't do a good job capturing the extent of the damages.  However, the areas of damage that I managed to pickup through the camera appears as white lines or scratches above the door handle area, and off to the side of the door handle area. 

Sincerely,

***** *****

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went in for a car wash, and truck sustained damage, manager refuses to pay for damages. On 1/15/14 at 545pm I went to Tony Autoplex to wash my truck. I paid for an ultrawash with hot wax. The wash went through ok, but on the drive home I hear flapping noises coming from my truck. When I got home I noticed that he front left mud guard had been nearly ripped off. I called the manager the next day (*****) and agreed to send her pictures of the damages. She told me that **** the weekend manager would follow up. Speaking to **** on the weekend he stated that the mud guards looked worn and that they will not claim responsibility for the damages. The best they could do was refund my wash. Refund was received for the wash, total 21.98, but I believe they should be held responsible for the damages to my mud guard. I don't understand how a company can damage someone else's car and not own up to pay for the damages, especially one as large as Tony Auto.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for replacement and installation of my mud guard.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/04) */ Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. **'s concerns. We received a call from him on 1/16/14 and then received an email photograph of his damaged mud flap. After reviewing the photo, ****************, Carwash Manager, spoke with Mr. ** on the phone and informed him that the photo appears to show extensive wear and tear to the mud flap. Under normal circumstances we would not be responsible for damage to items that exhibit this kind of wear and tear however, as a customer relations gesture we will agree to pay for the replacement of the front driver mud flap on this customer's 2005 Tacoma. Mr. ** should contact ******* in the Tony Volkswagen Service Dept. to arrange for the replacement. His number is ********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)