BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of new and used cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 22, 2003 Business started: 04/25/1990 in HI Business started locally: 04/25/1990 Business incorporated: 04/25/1990 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20425988-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-774-1.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-774-3.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3849.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3888.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-4167.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3776.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-774.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stanley Masamitsu, President Ms. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Stanley Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Business Consultants Car Wash & Polish

Products & Services

Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd sells the following brand(s): Honda, Nissan, Volkswagen, Hyundai and a variety of pre-owned vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Autoplex Car Wash Tony Group Autoplex

Additional Locations

  • 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 680-7332

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 680-7343(Phone)
  • (808) 680-7344(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went in for a car wash, and truck sustained damage, manager refuses to pay for damages. On 1/15/14 at 545pm I went to Tony Autoplex to wash my truck. I paid for an ultrawash with hot wax. The wash went through ok, but on the drive home I hear flapping noises coming from my truck. When I got home I noticed that he front left mud guard had been nearly ripped off. I called the manager the next day (*****) and agreed to send her pictures of the damages. She told me that **** the weekend manager would follow up. Speaking to **** on the weekend he stated that the mud guards looked worn and that they will not claim responsibility for the damages. The best they could do was refund my wash. Refund was received for the wash, total 21.98, but I believe they should be held responsible for the damages to my mud guard. I don't understand how a company can damage someone else's car and not own up to pay for the damages, especially one as large as Tony Auto.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for replacement and installation of my mud guard.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/04) */ Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. **'s concerns. We received a call from him on 1/16/14 and then received an email photograph of his damaged mud flap. After reviewing the photo, ****************, Carwash Manager, spoke with Mr. ** on the phone and informed him that the photo appears to show extensive wear and tear to the mud flap. Under normal circumstances we would not be responsible for damage to items that exhibit this kind of wear and tear however, as a customer relations gesture we will agree to pay for the replacement of the front driver mud flap on this customer's 2005 Tacoma. Mr. ** should contact ******* in the Tony Volkswagen Service Dept. to arrange for the replacement. His number is ********.

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my iPod was in the center console and when I left it was gone they stole it while cleaning my car I will never go back they had no business in there Around last December I went to that place for a car wash and I had been going there a while no issues my iPod cone Ta through my center console and I play music that way when my car wash was done my dash board said no iPod found funny how u to there and don't leave with one and of course there own internal in estivation found nothing and I'm sure they all know where the dam video tapes are so I'm just letting u know that places is shady

Desired Settlement: I'd just like my iPod 16 gig touch back

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/15) */ BBB of Hawaii, Inc. Re: Case# ******** Complainant: Mr. ************ Mr. ****** reported a missing IPod on 8/31/12 to ************ (Shift Supervisor). We reviewed the video from our surveillance system and concluded that there was insufficient evidence to support the claim. Based on those findings we will not be providing any financial recompense in this case.

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i went through the car wash my car resulted in damage on 02/20/2013 i went through the car wash at the tony group and had no damage on my vehicle when i complete the wash and got out to get a drink at the snack bar i notice two long black lines on my vehicle upon Approaching the vehicle I noticed That there was a dent as well as scuff marks along the black lines i notified the manager and he it was my fault and that he would review the video tape so i waited by my car after a few Minutes I decided to go in the way he did through the snack bar and recognized him yelling At the associate that walked around my car before starting through the car wash And Asking if the associate seen any marks on my car prior to me entering the wash the associates stated no He other dissociated saying it was on the videotape and why didn't you notify m

Desired Settlement: I am looking for them to replace the cost of damages to my vehicle

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@tonygroup.com February 25, 2013 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii 1132 Bishop Street # 615 Honolulu, HI XXXXX-XXXX RE: Case # XXXXXXXX To whom this may concern, We appreciate the time Mr. ****** has taken to express his concerns with his past car wash experience. It is certainly not our intentions to provide our customers with products and services which do not meet their expectations and we do apologize for any inconveniences incurred. After reviewing the video footage of the alleged incident, we were able to determine that the areas in question were pre-existing and were not a result of our facility, personnel or equipment. We also reviewed file footage from a previous visit on February 17th where this damage existed. I have attempted to reach Mr. ****** by phone to notify him of our findings and provide him the additional information he has requested along with informing him that unfortunatly must we decline any finance assistance due to this. He has not responded back. Sincerely, **************** Autoplex Manager

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues